reviews for: listing #51919 - St Joseph, Michigan Condo rental

Another Day In Paradise
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pottawattamie
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $750 - $1,350 /wk
    $800 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Family Get Away!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

The condo was very clean, well maintained, and nicely decorated. The size was perfect for our family of 5 (children ages 9, 5 and 3). The condo had everthing you could possibly need to cook and bbq. We ate our meals on the large deck looking out at the lake. The view is beautiful. Just a short walk down the path to a fantastic private beach. The owner Tony was very easy to work with, left us beach toys and umbrellas. He was more than accomodating. A short distantace into St. Joes to shop or grab a meal. A very short drive to winerys and the Chocolate Garden. Kids are already talking about next summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you for a memorable vacation!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time at Tony's condo. We didn't experience any of the negative things others have said about the resort at all. Tony was very accommodating and even let us use his golf cart without having to pay a rental fee. Also, we were able to bring our pets! It is very difficult to find a rental that allows pets these days. The beach is amazing and the view from the deck is wonderful. The location of the condo is very convenient and close to St. Joseph restaurants, wineries and shopping. Everyone else staying at the resort was very friendly. I would definitely stay there again. My friends and I have really great memories of our time spent together there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Thank you for a memorable vacation!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time at Tony's condo. We didn't experience any of the negative things others have said about the resort at all. Tony was very accommodating and even let us use his golf cart without having to pay a rental fee. Also, we were able to bring our pets! It is very difficult to find a rental that allows pets these days. The beach is amazing and the view from the deck is wonderful. The location of the condo is very convenient and close to St. Joseph restaurants, wineries and shopping. Everyone else staying at the resort was very friendly. I would definitely stay there again. My friends and I have really great memories of our time spent together there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place to get away

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

I will start with the con since there was only one minor setback that we experienced upon our arrival - the unit had not been cleaned, so we walked into a dirty condo.

While our first impression was not a good one, once the room was cleaned and we made our way to the beach, the rest of the week was wonderful. The view of the sunsets from the condo is amazing, the beach is so clean, and the condo is very comfortable.

We especially loved making smores on the fire pit every night and just relaxing on the deck when we weren't down at the beach or in St. Joseph or South Haven (both area are must sees).

Tony was very pleasant to work with and provided lots of extra amenities that you may not otherwise get at a rental property, including items that we had forgotten to bring from home and toys for the kids.

My husband compared this area to Florida without the touristy feel and long drive, which is exactly what we were looking for. We are already talking about going back in a couple years.

I highly recommend this property if you're looking for a nice quiet vacation spot.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very nice for a family with small kids

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

The view is fantastic - the lake is literally right out your back door. The beach was essentially ours for the entire weekend. Much more enjoyable than it would have been staying in St. Joseph and having to go to the public beaches. Our two small kids were well-entertained by the bunk beds and the DVD player when they weren't in the water. St. Joseph is about 15 minutes away. This was about the perfect distance away from town for us.

The owner was really easy to deal with, and communicated everything clearly. There was a fully-stocked kitchen with any dish or implement you could want. The gas grill worked well. My one gripe is that the AC is a wall unit in the front room, so it got pretty hot in the bedroom. To be fair, it was 94 outside both days we were there.

We would go back as a family of 4 in a heartbeat, but will plan on 3 nights instead of 2 next time. If you have more than 4, you might want to look for something bigger.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review!! We have had so much great feedback this year and genuinely appreciate the effort that goes into that. It was a HOT year and our rentals could not have been better. The Beach was awesome the water was warm! And yes the poor AC unit has been on since March 1st I think. That will be replaced with a new, larger unit to make sure everyone is kept cool when they want to be if we get this type of summer again! Keep an eye on #51919 as we have a great fall rental line up and will be doing some renovations/improvements for the 2013 season! We look forward to seeing you in 2013!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We had an adult weekend with a group of friends. We had a BLAST. We have unbelievable pictures of the sunset on the beach. The condo was gorgeous, the owner is a great man. It is a very short drive to a number of great Michigan wineries. This is a MUST!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What A Weekend!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We visited with a group of friends and had an unbelievable weekend. The sunset on the beach was breathtaking, the condo was gorgeous, the owner was remarkable to work with and.........it is a very short drive to a number of beautiful Michigan wineries. We did not have children on this trip but we WILL be headed back with our little guy to spend some quality family time on that perfect beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Find!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

This was a wonderful location for a family vacation. The private beach was awesome (in the words of my 11 year old son).

I was initially concerned that the 1 Bdrm condo would be too small for 5 people (3 adults, 2 pre-teens), it was not. Eveyone had enough space. The patio was wonderfully large. The hill down to & back up from the beach was challenging, but the resort workers were very friendly and offered to transport you in their golf carts.

I've already recommended this location to friends, family, & co-workers. We will definitely visit again. Yes, the owner was great to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your thoughts and especially your referrals. Our tenants are our BEST source of marketing!! I am happy you got to experience our little piece of 'Paradise'"!! See you in 2012!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay for peace and quiet.

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

My family's stay at this condo was fantastic. My two year old son could not get enough of the sunsets over the beach's cliffs. The beach was beautiful and quiet. The neighbors were more than respectful to noise levels. The drive to St. Joe was only a scenic ten minutes. The master bedroom was enormous. But best of all, the price was competitive and affordable. I highly recommend this property and its owner.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

great family vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

This was a great family vacation spot. The condo was nice and clean and loved the private beach and pool. Our 2 young kids had a wonderful time there. It was a very short drive to St. Joe, but no need to use their beach as the private beach was much nicer and didn't have to deal with any crowds. The owner was very nice to work with too and left out his beach chairs, umbrella and toys for us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice Quiet Lakefront Location

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

This property is on Lake Michigan in Coloma which is about 15 minutes north of St Joseph and south of South Haven. Its a great location if you want a quiet vacation location.

The 1 bedroom sleeps 5 if you don't mind having 4 people in the bedroom. Its comfortable for 2 people. It was clean and seemed to be well maintained. There's a nice patio and deck from which you can see the lake. There's a short walk down a paved path to the beach and if you time things right you can get a ride back up the hill in a golf cart driven by the resort employees. If you don't want to wait, you better be in somewhat good shape or you will have to stop a few times as you climb the hill.

The owner was very nice to deal with. He left out his beach chairs and umbrella for use to use. He recommended shopping locations and places for food. There is a pizza place nearby (DiMaggios) that has thin crust pizza that easily compares to some of the pizza in Chicago. We also had a great meal at the Tabor Hill Winery restaurant.

We enjoyed our stay, especially the time on the beach and on our lounge rafts in the lake.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent Value

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

I recommend this vacation rental for 3 reasons:
-The property owner was professional and courteous
-The cost is competitive
-The location is attractive

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review