reviews for: listing #51936 - Webster Lake, New Hampshire House rental

Lakefront Home on Webster Lake, Franklin, NH
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $2,200 /wk
    $6,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

heaven on the lake!!!

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

This is a cozy, peaceful lake front properties, and the sunset view is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. The huge field stone fireplace is gorgeous, and the home is big, with lots of space to sleep. House was clean on arrival each time we have stayed her...this summer I will be returning with my family again. The kitchen is well stocked, theres a beautiful dock and deck on the lake, and the porch at sunset is a piece of heaven. I will be coming back to this property for many years to come...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My family and I stayed at this location last summer and absolutely LOVED it! We have already made our plans to return this year. The house was very nice, clean and well maintained. It is a classic, cozy summer cottage with a beautiful stone fireplace, large dock and plenty of space for the kids. When we arrived the house was immaculate, with more than enough space for sleeping and playing for the children. I also felt very comfortable allowing the kids to play in the water and on the sandy beach, the water and walk ways were clear of any rocks. We found the owner of this property to be more than helpful, and very pleasant to make arrangments with. This vacation is one we hope to duplicate for many years.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation spot for families

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My family and I have rented this property for several summers and were there for two weeks in August 2010. We have already made arrangements to rent again this summer. We have a young daughter and our family has several small children that visit each year – not only are the house and lakefront/swimming area safe for children – the owner kindly stocks it with toys to use in the water. A large number of games, books and children’s videos are also provided. This house is a very comfortable lake home. I have never considered renting anywhere else. It is a beautiful, older lake house with incredible views. It is exactly the type of home any family would love to come to for a vacation. It has a fireplace in case of cold weather – wood and kindling are always provided. Large fans are in each bedroom for sleeping comfort. The sunsets are beautiful and the lake is very clean and wonderful for fishing too . The swimming area is not a sandy beach – which the owner made sure we understood before we rented the first time. However, it is easily accessible for both children and adults. There are flat rocks that we use for stepping into the lake, which has a sandy bottom and deepens gradually so it is very comfortable and safe for children to swim in. The front and back yards are completely fenced for added privacy and the safety of small children. The second bathroom is perfectly accessible from the house, back yard and swimming area.

I find it impossible to believe that there was a rat –something no one in my family has ever seen – anywhere near this house or property. It is, however, New Hampshire….there are the usual squirrels and chipmunks – perhaps they were mistaken….

I highly recommend this beautiful home to anyone who is looking for a place to vacation, get away from the city and relax on a deck or in a hammock for awhile. We look forward to coming to Webster Lake this year and for many years to come

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

There are better options

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

House was not cleaned upon arrival with remnants from prior renters still in the kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms. The 2nd bathroom is in the cellar next to the boat dock so not easily accessible - esp. if you are bringing children. Power surged if too many items were plugged in at once in the kitchen. It was not a safe environment for children, only one working smoke alarm and many frayed electrical wires exposed. The waters edge is a little rocky, so not sandy for children to play in. The views are beautiful and bedrooms are plentiful...but we will be looking for a cleaner, more updated home to rent next year. We had no response from the owner when we called about a live rat in the gas grill..very disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Cluttered/ dirty/ mouse poop.

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

When we arrived for a 2 1/2 week stay the cottage was very well stocked w/ paper products and children's inflatable toys but the owner had left all her food in the frig and freezer and all her personal products in the bathroom. The second bath, although clean, was in the dark basement...too spooky for the little kids to use. Every room had dead bugs and cobwebs in the corners and hanging off the light fixtures. We used only paper plates and cups because the cupboards were full of mouse poop.
We would not have stayed but family members were on their way from out of town and we had no choice. Never will I rent from pictures only and not check a place in person again. What a disappointment.
There were plenty of fans to help alleviate the hot humid temperatues. We fixed several windows so they would open and swept the entire cottage and boathouse just so we could function. Property needs some serious TLC and a very deep cleaning. I could not in good faith recommend this property to anyone who is bothered by bugs/ spiders/clutter/mice or dirt.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great house, beautiful sunsets

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

This is a great house, comfortable and large. Kitchen has all you need and has a gas grill. The lake is clean and refreshing.
Close to tax free outlet shopping and many family activities!
Sunsets are just beautiful and the screened porch are is the best place to sit and watch one- or the loons in the early morning! Also, a great place to read.
Owner is nice and accomodating. Property was clean.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house!

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

This is a great house. Very large and open but also very comfortable and homey. Also, very clean and well kept. Very relaxing.
Has all you need in the kitchen. A good gas grill.
The owner is very nice and accomodating.
The lake is clean and refreshing. The sunsets are beautiful! There is a screened porch to sit and see the sunsets at night, and the loons in the early morning.
Close to outlet shopping and mini golf and other family activities.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review