reviews for: listing #51938 - Puerto Morelos, Yucatan House rental

Bang On theBeach!!/House with pool/Central to everything
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  punta caracol
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful, Exotic and Relaxing Hideaway

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

My family of 5 and I just spent a delightful summer vacation at this home and it was wonderful. We thought it may be hot because it was August in the tropics, and were pleasantly surprised that there was a nice breeze coming off the ocean everyday. The water temperature both in the pool and in the ocean was just right. We sat on the porch and watched the ships passing far out at sea, and played on what seemed our own private beach. Even though there were other people in residence, there are few on the beach at any given time. Antonio the caretaker, cut and opened fresh coconuts for us, and we put rum and spices in them, and drank our own version of authentic pina colladas. That was a first for all of us. The house was the cleanest beach house we ever rented, and the oceanfront garden was a delight. We grilled lunch several times right by the ocean, and went out for dinner every night. There are tons of restaurants everywhere you go. A week was not enough time. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exactly as advertised!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this property. It is very private and the owner was very accomodating. The house is set up for families with small children, with pack-and-play, highchair and even a small lawn chair. The caretaker is available as much or as little as you need him. His guacamole is to die for :-) Puerto Morelos is a small town with surprisingly many restaurants . If groceries are needed, though, make the 25 minute run into Playa Del Carmen and the Walmart. Only complaint we had were the mattresses which gave most of us a sore back. We would definitely come back and can recommend this property for anyone who is looking for some relaxing days in the sun and in the pool.

Owners response: A nice family that came down for a short getaway, that we hope to see again sometime for a longer vacation. We use orthopedic mattresses on all of our beds. We are inspected by a quality control agency every six months. When checking the sleeping accommodations they check for firmness, support, wear, condition, etc.
We realize that each persons back, comfort zone, and support needs are different, and if there are any mattress issues that have to be addressed, at any inspection, for any reason, we replace them immediately.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most relaxing vacation ever!

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

My husband, another couple, and myself spent a wonderful week relaxing at Casa Manalou. I was impressed with my very first contact with Louis. I made my inquiry via the telephone and found him to be very helpful and very efficient. I was so impressed with his prompt replies when I emailed him questions. He gave very explicit directions and we were able to drive right to the house with no problems from the airport. At first, we were hesitant to rent a car but a car is a must.The house is too far to walk to town. The driving wasn't as horrible as we anticipated. Louis and Ana were at the house to meet and greet us. Poncho carried our luggage into the house for us. Ana made a beautiful fruit basket for us as a welcome gift. We were touched by her generosity. Louis and Ana took time out of their busy schedule to show us the beach road into town. Puerto Morales is a quaint little town. We ate at Habaneros, Pelicanos, and John Gray's Kitchen-highly recommend those restaurants. We bought most groceries in Playa but picked up items as we needed them in Puerto Morelos. We absolutely adored Poncho, the caretaker. We had no idea he would make our beds, sweep the floors,and remove the garbage daily. He is attempting to learn English so it was fun trying to communicate as we did not speak Spanish. He would tell us the Spanish word and we would tell him the English word. He is so delightful and thoughtful. He brought us coconut drinks and fresh guacomole that were so delicious! We enjoyed having coffee each morning on the porch and watching the ships pass by. The ocean was extremely warm as well as the pool. We went to Cozumel for a day and enjoyed the day trip. We spent the other days relaxing by the pool enjoying the warm sunshine and the beautiful view. The house is beautiful and had all the amenities anyone could need. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the house. We had neighbors but we never heard them. It is an extremely quiet neighborhood. The ocean breeze is fabulous for sleeping with the window open listening to the ocean. Both couples went home very relaxed and enjoyed their vacation. We would definitely stay at Casa Manalou again.

Owners response: Another group of guests that were a delight to host. They reaffirmed the convenience of a car, which we always recommend, even if you can walk to the store. Car rental is very cost effective. The pyramids are far inland from the coast, and most major attractions are all day affairs. Puerto Morelos is in the center of the "Riviera Maya", and only 25 minutes from the airport,so having your own car will maximize the time you have to go sightseeing and shopping. There is alot to see and do here, and not only should you be selective in what you wish to see and do, you will have to make return trips to see it all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An enjoyable holiday

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for 2 weeks and had a lovely time. I would definitely recommend a car as the walk to town is long. The house is amply equipped with good cooking facilities and the living room with TV is comfortable. We were able to connect my husband's computer with no problem although my Ipad would not connect, however I was forwarned of this possibity ahead of time and was not disappointed. There are also 2 barbecues which we made use of especially the old fashioned charcoal one which was our favourite. There are some really wonderful things to say about Casa Manalou.
First, Anna and Louis are very helpful managers and were there to greet us as was a lovely bowl of fruit prepared for us by Anna. They visited weekly and were easy to contact if we had problems. As well, Anna went out of her way to help our friend locate something she needed for her daughter's wedding that she was hoping to buy in Cancun.
Second was Pancho, the lovely young man who looked after the house and pool area. He is learning English and is eager to chat with guests. He made us delightful coconut drinks, guacamole and chips and ceviche which he served on the patio.
Third, the pool is fantastic for a cooling dip and right outside the door. We always had a refreshing breeze and spent most of our time outside. The fellows fished from the sea wall and caught a surprising number of fish. We had sundowners on the rooftop and watched the numerous cruise ships go by. The house is convenient to both Cancun and Playa but Puerto Morelos was our favourite place and the locals are very friendly. Shopping for groceries was a breeze at the local Chedraui.
The only downside to the house was the beach because it is small and susceptible to erosion, as well as trash and seaweed being washed up depending on wind and current. While we were there is was not a particularly nice beach to walk or swim off. We believe this was partly due to a neighbouring property raking their weed and trash back into the ocean every morning.
Overall our stay was wonderful and relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: These guests were a pleasure to host, and we would welcome their return any time. They seemed to really enjoy the laid back tropical lifestyle which is what we offer. The photos are representative of our beach, and the upside of a small beach is that we don't get the day trippers, on weekends. Also, our little cove is far enough away from the hotels, that we don't get many people walking by on the beach, so it remains a very quiet peaceful place, and still close to everything. This guest is also right that a car is recommended, but a car should be in your vacation plans period, if you are going to do any sightseeing or shopping. There is alot to see and do here, and attractions and shopping are spread over a wide area. Pyramids and most major attractions are all day trips, and getting there can be tedious and time consuming if you take public transport. With the prices of taxis and busses ever going up, it's very cost effective to rent a car, and have the convenience of being able to go where you want to go, when you want to go.This is especially true when you have 4 or more in your group, not to mention the cost of to and from airport transfers. There are also hundreds of great restaurants all over the area, with every type of cuisine, and to get to them, a car is a real comfort.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can`t wait to go back

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

Can’t wait to go back
Tropical splendor is what I was thinking when we drove thru the gate to this property. The entrance is lined on both sides with coconut palms,and the tropical sun was shining thru the trees. The ocean was the most amazing shade of greens and deep blues. There was also a caretaker to unload our luggage, which is a real treat at our age, and a lovely fruit bowl waiting for us inside. We really felt welcomed. We were here for 10 days, and it was the best Mexican vacation we ever had, and we go somewhere in Mexico every other year. Our family doesn’t see each other as often as we would like these days, as we now live far from each other, so we try to get together on vacation. We spent many hours around the pool just visiting, eating, and drinking and soaking up the sun. The house is on a little bay with a comfortable little beach, with few people passing by, so you have the feeling of being on your own little island, which is different than city beaches, with someone trying to sell you something all day long.
I live in a very upscale neighborhood back home ,but I don’t have a breakfast balcony overlooking the ocean off my bedroom, or marble floors, or an ocean facing porch to sit on and watch the boats drift by. We took a daytrip to see the pyramids of Coba, which I would recommend to anyone, as they were more than amazing. My husband and father dropped us off for one day in Cancun to shop, while they went deep sea fishing. They caught some nice fish and the caretaker cooked some on the grill for us that night. We never had fish so delicious, and you can’t get it any more fresh than that. The house was comfortable, and quiet, and the cleanest rental we’ve ever been in, especially the bathrooms! The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need, but we only cook an occasional breakfast when on vacation. Who wants to cook? I do that at home. The nearby village of Puerto Morelos is a quaint little place full of friendly people and decent small restaurants. We spent a few evenings going there for dinner, and having nice conversations with people from all over. On two occasions they had entertainment in the town square. One night it was dancing to calypso music, which was another first for us. If you like to shop, there are a few curio shops, but if you go to Cancun, there are so many boutiques selling so many unique things you have a hard time deciding what to buy that you can fit in your luggage. I would recommend a vacation in here to a

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The last line should read "I would recommend a vacation in here to anyone". These folks were from Canada, and they are right about the shopping. We always tell guests to bring an extra fold up bag in their luggage to fill up with the treasures they will surely find and want to take home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach Front Villa

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

My husband, 17 year-old-son and myself had a fabulous 2 week holiday at Casa Manalou. The villa has a fantastic location right on the beach - we spent many happy hours relaxing by the pool or swimming and snorkelling in the sea. Louis and Ana, the property managers, were great! Nothing was too much trouble. Puerto Morelos is still a quaint fishing village - a very different world to Cancun and Playa del Carmen! You do need to hire a car, though, as there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. We went on day trips in our hire car to Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza, Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Valladolid, all of which were most enjoyable. Supermarkets and shops are plentiful in Playa and Cancun. We went snorkelling on the reef twice, with guides from Puerto Morelos - an amazing experience! If, like us, you are not interested in the 'all-inclusives' and prefer a relaxing, get-away-from-it-all holiday, Casa Manalou is the place for you.

Owners response: These guests were a delightful family from England that really took advantage of seeing all that they could see in two weeks, and we hope to host them again one day. They rented a car for their stay which we recommend to everybody, even if you stay in Cancun City, as they are cost effective and convenient, and these folks proved it, by seeing so much, and still having time to relax. Taxi rates have gone up considerably in the last year and airport transfers can be as high as $100US each way. Most major attractions are all day trips. A car allows you to do things at your own pace even if you are just going down the road to try a different restaurant or just spending the day shopping.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relax...unwind...ocean breezes...no worries....

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

My sister-in-law and I spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Casa Manalou and couldn’t have been more pleased. We were looking for a quiet spot to unwind and recharge. We found it! The house was very clean and comfortable. We slept each night with the windows open listening to the ocean waves on the beach. The breeze was constant and cool. We did not need to use the air-conditioning at all during the week.
The neighborhood was quiet and safe. Most days we were the only people on the beach and in the ocean even though there were other people in the neighboring houses. The water temperature in the ocean was perfect though the bottom can be a little rocky in places.
Antonio, the caretaker, was always there to lend a hand (carrying chairs to the beach, cutting up papaya, hanging up our wet beach towels, etc) and monitoring the property which made us feel more secure. He, very discreetly, made sure that the house was clean and locked. He brought us a coconut drink with flowers and straws, homemade guacamole, and a melon drink that was out of this world! Thank you Antonio!
The car ride into town was easy. We went to dinner in town each night and found the restaurants pleasant and very good. We enjoyed meeting other travelers and locals. Everyone was very laid back and friendly. There is also plenty of shopping available.
We made day trips to Tulum and to the Jungle Spa. The house is conveniently located close to the main highway. We had no trouble finding our way around.
We ate breakfast and lunch at the house every day. We arranged with Louis to have basic food items brought to the house before we arrived. It was well worth the small fee to avoid grocery shopping for the week!
We are already talking about returning to Casa Manalou next year to get away, relax and sleep while listening to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Can't wait!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Girls Vacation

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

My mom and sisters and I spent a week at the house and had a great time. The property manager Louis and his nephew, Antonio did everything to make our stay enjoyable. They met us at the property when we arrived, and showed us around the place and how everything worked. Louis then took us on a quick tour of Puerto Morelos, pointing out good restaurants, grocery store, etc.

The house itself isn't luxurious, but definitely very good given the price. Antonio kept the house and pool clean everyday and even made us some coconut drinks and guacamole too. The beach is small, so we generally used the pool or drove to another beach. The drive into Puerto Morelos is quick (10 min), though the road is in bad shape. We were thankful we rented the SUV. Some great restaurants in Puerto Morelos, and an internet cafe - just buy a cup of coffee and they give you a wifi password, or pay per 15 minutes to use their computers. The house technically has wifi, but we weren't able to get a signal. You could "plug in" but that required a computer which we didn't bring, we only had our handheld devices.

We went to one of the big grocery stores near Playa del Carmen and did a lot of cooking at the house. $100 bought the 4 of us groceries for the week, including alcohol. Everything we needed kitchen-wise was in the house including a blender for our daily margaritas.

We also drove to Playa del Carmen and some of the sites further south, like Tulum. That was the one downside of this rental. It was just too far of a drive to get to those tourist sites. 1.5 hr to Tulum. It was about 45 min to Playa, so that wasn't so bad. But I think this house would be best for those who aren't too interested in doing a lot sightseeing and more just about relaxing in a quiet private location with a cute town nearby to venture to.

Overall we really had a great time and loved Puerto Morelos. Well worth the money spent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad these guests had a good time, but I want to respond to a couple of points to put things into perspective. There were many complaints about the road,from our guests, hotel guests,and locals.Finally the government responded about two weeks ago, and repaired the road.
We advertise that we are 25 minutes from the airport, and 30 minutes from the two most important towns in the area with the most things to do, which are Playa del Carmen and Cancun. We are located in the most central location for traveling up and down the coast. I drive to Playa del Carmen and Cancun frequently in 30 minutes each, from the property. Tulum is 1.5 hours away, but guests go there maybe once during their stay to sightsee, and most don't go at all. Tulum has it's own flavor, and famous pyramids, but not the most famous, and is located at the very southern end of the Riviera Maya, which is the tourist section of the coast. People stay with us because they ARE interested in sightseeing and our location gives them the closest point to MOST things, but not ALL things.
We stress that we have the latest technology available to our area, provided by NEXTEL, for computer access at the property, but it requires a USB port. People are bringing tablets more and more these days, and no matter where you are in the Rivera Maya you can have signal problems with tablets. Weak signals, or password protected signals.We provide the signal, but it's up to the guest to bring the right equipment, and tablets can be hit or miss .Some tablets work fine, some don't.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Who could ask for more?

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Casa Manalou. I recommend this property to anyone who wants to get away from it all and just relax and take in the scenery. It was quiet and the views were spectacular. The house is even more beautiful than the photos represent. It was nice to enjoy our morning coffee on the front deck while watching the cruise ships go by . The daytime hours were spent lying by the pool enjoying a refreshing beverage. The rooftop patio was great for watching the pelicans dive for fish and viewing the stars after sunset. The house was very clean and the beds were super comfy (and I usually can't wait to get home to my own bed). The kitchen was well stocked (we only ate one meal in town). Antonio was available whenever we needed him but otherwise quietly took care of things in the morning and evening and we hardly knew he was there. He made us some fabulous coconut drinks our first full day there as a welcome and on our last day brought us a huge dish of the best shrimp ceviche I have ever had! Oh and did I mention fresh guacamole every day?(I know this has nothing to do with the house, but I’m just saying…….) We took a snorkel trip offered by the shop a short walk (south) down the beach and it was the best $25 I've ever spent. I have never been snorkeling before and I can't believe what I've missed! We look forward to returning in the not too distant future. The only negative to be aware of is that the road from the main highway has a lot of ruts and potholes so it must be navigated slowly. But what’s the hurry – you’re on vacation!
We did not try to use any internet connections while we were there so I can’t comment on that.

My response to Mar from Atlanta, Ga is Please stay at home (in the U.S.) and go to a Holiday Inn. Stop giving Americans a bad name - you were in paradise and all you did was complain.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two Weeks on the Beach

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

We had a great time and would highly recommend this villa. Communication with Lou was no problem for booking. Our connecting flight was delayed in Texas, I called Lou on his cell and everything worked out fine. He and Ana met us at the villa with a basket of fruit and veggies and even showed us where to get provisions in P.M. The directions were very clear to get to. I had mapped it out in Google Streetscape and it felt like we had been there before we even arrived. The villa was everything we needed for our two week stay with bbq, pool and beach. The roof top had great views and was good for morning coffee, sun tanning and having a glass of wine at night. We found our stretch of beach quiet and relaxing. We were within walking distance to a few all inclusives, which we tried out some day passes at. Being between Cancun and PDC we were a short distance to anything we needed...........and staying near Puerto Morelos felt like we were out of the tourist "rat race". Shopping and dining in PM was great. So relaxed. The Mayan market was layed back with good deals. And as for Antonio the live in caretaker, he was the best. You never really knew he was around, yet he looked after the grounds, pool, beach front and kept the house tidy by taking out the trash, washing the floors............etc. When ever we got in our car, Antonio would automatically be at the gate to greet us adios. Antonio would bring us coconuts and fresh made guacamole. Antonio even helped us with getting started with doing our laundry the old fashioned way, by hand and then hanging it up on the line, fun!!! The only recommendation from us would to get better Tupperware or Rubbermaid containers in the kitchen for storing food as the existing containers were a little mismatched. This point though is not a deal breaker ;-). Good times ........................we would go back!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excelentes días de descanso

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Fue maravilloso llegar por un camino muy virgen y lleno de selva por todos lados y más aún cuando vimos la casa donde nos hospedaríamos. Teníamos todo lo que necesitábamos para pasar unos días alejados de la rutina y el ruido de la ciudad y nos tocó un rico clima que cuando el calor subía nos metíamos a la alberca a cualquier hora. En realidad fue nuestra casa por unos días, no queríamos regresarnos, pero tenemos que trabajar. La gente de ahí muy linda y muy atenta. Seguiremos ahorrando para regresar un día.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is from a nice young family, who live in central Mexico, just outside Mexico City, which is about 1500 miles from here. For those that don't speak Spanish, a loose translation is, that they had an excellent restful vacation at the property, and liked the beauty of the place, and were able to swim in the pool day or night if it got warm. They also say that the house had everything they needed, and it was like being in their own home for their stay, and that they were very content being away from city life and noise, and didn't want leave and go back to work. They would like to return someday.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

My review is a little late, but I felt I needed to submit one after reading the very negative review posted a few months ago. This beach home is exactly what it says it is and even better than the photos. There is a lush garden around the pool and to the side of the home now. We had nothing but good experiences here. I would like to go back for our spring break next year. This in and of itself is a huge compliment, as we have not vacationed twice in the same place before. We find there are many great places to visit and the resorts we have stayed in didn't fit all our needs. This place did! First, this home is great for a family with children. I traveled with my husband, son and daughter (ages 11 &9) and mother. We had ample space and the kids voted this the best vacation yet (even after staying in several nice all-inclusive resorts). The kitchen had everything we needed, even fun plastic drink glasses, so we could enjoy our cocktails by the pool in style. The dining room seated eight easily, though we usually enjoyed breakfast on the covered porch. The house was very clean, even satisfying my very picky mother. The master suite was wonderful and large, with a great view. The bathroom was a bit small, but more than adequate. Yes, the shower water pressure is low, but it is a beach home and it certainly wasn't a problem for us. There are no tubs, so if you have very young children and need one, consider this.
The pool was great. A nice one was an absolute must for me. We had plenty of room for our floaties and to play and splash. The depth was nice for my children. It was about 3 feet at one end and 5 feet at the other. Even young children could enjoy it though as there are large steps leading in that they could play on.
We found the beach awesome. It is not as expansive as some resort beaches might be, but we weren't sharing it with hundreds of people. It was very private, with an occasional person strolling by. We had room to play, sun and build sand castles. How much more space can you want? The shore is protected by the reef and you can walk out a long ways, with chest deep water--perfect for children. I do recommend beach shoes, as there are areas of reef and rock--though my kids didn't wear theirs. There was sea weed and some trash washing up, but no more than we have seen else where (it's the ocean) and it was cleaned up every morning.
The location is perferct. The road wasn't a problem for us.
A great vacation!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate this guest taking the time to set the record straight. We really do try to uphold the highest standards possible, but there are people in the world that no matter what you do, they can't be pleased. Thankyou.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Another beautiful vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We are a group of 6 adults who travel together. This last vacation was our 4th trip to the Riviera Maya, and our 2nd stay at this villa. The first two times we came to the area we stayed in a condo. Condos can be very iffy, depending on the neighbors in residence during your stay. It is also like staying in a hotel. The first time we stayed in Akumal, and the second year in Playa del Carmen. Both locations involved a long drive after getting off the plane. This house advertised 25 minutes from the airport and it really is! Louis and Anna met us at the house on arrival both times, and Antonio, the care taker, was there to handle our luggage, which was great after a long flight. The house is very well maintained, very clean, and quite comfortable to stay in. The kitchen has all you need in way of appliances etc. The ocean is right in front of the house, and great for swiming with a nice sandy bottom. We spent most of our time on the porch which overlooks the pool and out to the ocean. There is also a rooftop sundeck if you want to really work on your tan, and it's also a great place to have a drink at night and just stargaze. You can walk to town on the beach if you want. This trip we didn't do much sightseeing and spent our time mostly on the porch and around the pool. We went from porch, to refrigerator, to ocean, to refridgerator, to pool to refridgerator and back to the porch and did nothing but relax. We also barbequed under the palms by the ocean and being seafood lovers, we bought fresh seafood right off the boat from the fishermen in town in the afternoon and took it back to the house and grilled it right now! If you don't get into town for the boat, there is also a co-op for seafood. There are also literally hundreds of restaurant choices in a short drive, so whatever kind of food you like, you can find it. Like most people we don't cook much when on vacation. Having stayed at this villa the last two times, I think our condo days are over. We enjoy the privacy, the quiet, and the convenience and ease of getting to everything we like to do. I would recommend this home to anyone. It's truly a tropical jewel, and offers a great vacation. We'll be back next year yet again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: These guests keep coming back, to enjoy our beautiful area . They really enjoy the property. We're happy to see them return and it validates the job we try to do for our guests. We thank them for their business and look forward to seeing them again next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful house... Lovely beach!!

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

I recently stayed at this house with my husband and baby, and my parents for the second time. The administrator asked me to please read all the reviews for this property, and write an objective, non biased review evaluating this house and the surrounding area from my point of view. I am not a professional writer, so it's in my own words. Having read all the reviews, I found they were all mostly positive with testimonials about the quality and ambiance of the property and the area, and there was only one really negative review that looked to me like someone was trying to whitewash this beautiful place and this beautiful area for personal reasons. This is my evaluation of everything I read about, and what I experienced.  My findings from my stay at this house are,  first and foremost, that the house is still exactly what the advertising says it is.  My last stay there were few palm trees, now coconut palms are everywhere. The beach is beautiful, in a natural state, and looks like the photos. The water is different shades of green and blue, mostly clear emerald green. We never had any rough surf, as it's inside the reef.  There is great ocean swimming with sandy bottom,and the house has a pool, and you can beach walk for miles in either direction. We saw few people on the beach, and just a few walkers strolling by from the nearby hotels. I read a couple of comments about the wifi internet which used to be the system used at this house, but wifi is still in the area. It has been upgraded to Nextel wireless.  I found the Nextel internet worked very well, even with a tablet. I have a tablet, but I also have a usb attachment for it that allows me to insert a usb device. Wifi is hit and miss in the entire area, and most wifi signals are security protected. My tablet didn't do well with wifi, even in town. I also have a laptop, which also worked perfectly with the nextel system, and did well with the unsecured wifi signals I could access.
The house is comfortable throughout, and has a well appointed kitchen even though we cooked very little being on vacation,  but the kitchen seemed to have everything needed. We did grill some seafood a couple of times by the pool. I saw many references to the cleanliness of the house, and I also thought it was one of the cleanest homes we've ever rented. Especially the bathrooms. The bedrooms are quite comfortable, with ocean breezes blowing in all night if you want, and also air conditioned.

There is almost always an ocean breez

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Disappointed and still waiting for refund

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

We rented this house for a family reunion. I love the Riviera Maya and I have been there many times.
I think the Riviera Maya and Puerto Morelos have the most beautiful beaches in the World. This family reunion was very important to me. I exchanged more than 40 emails with the administrator, just to be sure that this house and this location was the fit for us and what we where looking for. I rented the house for 23 days. I can tell you that this house has so many problems, that I don't know how to start. The first and most important is that this house is in front of a very disappointing beach. The beach in this sector is eroded and most of the days we stayed there was almost no beach at all. It is also full of trash and seaweed. The administrator told us that it was only because of a storm, but a neighbor told us that the beach was eroded after the last hurricane and then the resort hotel close by did some landfilling and that is making all the trash to go to this part of the beach. This home is already for sale so it's not anymore that the owners want to spend their retirement there, they want to sell it as most of the houses in this area. The road to get to the house is in very bad shape,full of holes and the house is very isolated. You have to drive 20 minutes on a very thin Rd, full of holes very dark felt dangerous at night to get there. The house doesn't have a phone, and the internet of the house is very bad, so if you have to be connected while there it is very difficult. I let the administrator know that as we will stay for such a long period We will have to work while we were there. He told us that the house had wireless internet, and we will be able to use it with modern equipment. Well we brought tablets and it was impossible to use the internet with the tablets. Other problem that the house has is the shower. They installed a tank less water heater but it is not working well because the house has a very poor water pressure. I asked the administrator that we would like to leave as I couldn't stay there for three weeks with such a poor internet as I had to work while there and for a refund. they told us that they will be giving us a refund of only ten days{of the 23 days) and we believed them. We left the house after 13 days in perfect condition (and we have all the owners emails to proof all of this), but we never got our money back. the owner and the administrator also insulted us. The owner has not responded to any emails since late july

Owners response: We are very sorry that these guests had an experience like this. Our
goal is always to do our best. I wish we could resolve everything to
everybody's taste, and make it the most wonderful vacation for everyone, but sometimes things are beyond ones control, and you just can't please everybody 100% of the time no matter how hard you try. For our future guests i will try to address the concerns listed.

The beach:.... It really is a nice little beach representative of the photos, but some weather systems and cycles produce seaweed.
With seaweed and debris, it's a delight for beachcombers, but
garbage to others. We clean the beach in front of the house for our
guests everyday when seaweed happens, but the rest of the beach doesn't belong to us. In this case we had the most stormy June
weather in 25 years. With prolonged rain the wetlands overflow into
the sea bringing nature's endless cycle of nutrients to feed the
reef, and the ocean sends seaweed to replenish the beach. It comes and goes. Some days there is a little, somedays alot, most days none
at all.

Internet:.... Our connection is a NEXTEL wireless modem that plugs
into a USB port and you can use it all around the property. We only furnish the connection, it's up to the guest to bring the proper
equipment to access the internet. We say that on our web site. Most
tablets don't have USB ports. However, we loaned these guests our
personal laptop, and sent a nextel rep out to the property TWICE when they complained it still wasn't working. It was working each
time, but not with the equipment they brought, and nextel refused to
make another redundant customer service call.

Road:.... It does take 20 minutes to get to the village, but not because the road is damaged, but because it is a narrow beach road
that goes thru a residential and hotel area and winds around,
limiting your speed. But you can go back out to the highway and get
there in 10 minutes if you wish. And finally, if you have read this far, the house is NOT for sale, the beach lot next door is for sale.

We as administrators will continue to do our best to try and make
our guests stay as pleasant as possible, and improve things where we can. It's distressing to us, when our best efforts are just not
enough. this guest had problems in the area last year also at another property. We invite constructive reviews, and our goal is to always improve. we will continue to do our best in the future. Thanks for reading.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Family vacation ever

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Thank you so much Louis and Anna we so enjoyed our stay at the casita casamanalou.
There we many high points to our visit. All though my husband and kids were disappointed in the internet reception, I found it refreshing that they were not on their electronic devices all day.
We played cards, ate together everyday, shopped and explored the rivera maya.
Antonio was a welcome addition making sure we had all that we needed. Cut us fresh coconut with straws made us guacamole.
He is a kind and wonderful young man.
What a wonderful relaxing place to be.
The house was impeccable.
Cons: Low water pressure
Wifi is not in house it is borrowed from neighbors
Directions to house confusing, but Mexican roads not up to par
doesn't have casamanalou on it just number 8
Locations of local fresh fruits and veggies would have been nice to enjoy local culture. We were able to ask and eventually found local color.

All and All we would definitely rent this casita again now that we know where things are and are prepared

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

thankyou so much

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

Louis and Ana
Thankyou so much for 2 weeks in paradise.We loved Casa manalou and WILL be back!!!Here are the books we are leaving for you. Hopefully, some of them are new to you. Until we meet again

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

We absolutely loved our vacation at Casa Manalou! Really enjoyed the great location right on the beach. It was especially convenient having Antonio around to help out with anything....in addition to serving up fresh, chilled coconuts to sip in the morning. And what a lovely surprise it was to find rose petals and chocolates adorning our king bed to celebrate our 20th anniversary! Thanks again Anna and Louis for such a great memory....we hope to stay with you again!

John and Sissi

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home from Home Paul & Fiona Devon UK

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

This was our second visit to Casa Manalou we came last year with friends and family and found it so much to our liking that we came back for our honeymoon!! we did absolutely nothing on holiday except walk on the beach with the great beach dogs Flacka and Blanca (also shy girl but she is very shy!) we also drove into town for supplies and to have lunch occasionally, the back road itself is an experience! the fish market in town usually starts selling around 2pm behind the corregated doors next to the supermarket and you can buy great lobster and fish its very reasonable. For fruit and veg you can go to the local market you have to go under the main road and out the other side into the small town.

Activities nearby some great snokelling and also very easy to drive to the local attractions we ventured out a couple of times but our holiday was all about relaxing Casa Manalou is very private with its own lovely pool and pop over the wall right onto the beach we just loved watching the seabirds diving and can recommend the villa for a great holiday the accommodation is very clean and all linens towel ect are provided the property managers Ana & Louis are delightful and nothings to much trouble.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Face à la mer mais loin de tout

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

La villa est vraiment les pieds dans l'eau, sur la plage. Ca, c'est parfait.
Mais dans la réalité, tout n'est pas idéal et s'avère plutôt "cheap" : piscine trouble et pas nettoyée, plage couverte d'algues, assiettes en plastique, pas d'internet qui fonctionne...
A noter : la maison est à 20 minutes en voiture du 1er café ou supérette, à Puerto Morelos. Village qui est très mignon et sympa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Mariel and Arturo from Mexico

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Just got back home from a wonderful vacation at Casa Manalou. We loved the relaxation, as we both needed a break from our jobs. The house was a dream, with beautiful grounds and the ocean and pool right out the front door. The only noise came from nature, and we were able to relax, sleep with an ocean breeze blowing across the bed, read, eat and be lazy. It was a true vacation. There were more good restaurants close by than we expected. I would recommend this home to anyone, and as we will be in Mexico for another four years we will return for sure. It was also an easy drive to do sightseeing, which we did little of. Why go anywhere when you are already staying in paradise when you arrive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

3 week of fun and relaxation!!! A nice break from -30C

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

Throughly enjoyed our stay at Puerto Morelos (Casa Manalou). It was a great location, because it was in the middle of all the activites and attractions. The house was very nice, and clean. It was nice to have Abel who lived in a house on the property. He was our housekeeper, security, pool cleaner and a great guitar player. He spoke little english (and we spoke little spanish) but, we always got our message across. It was nice to have the swimming pool, as it was somedays very windy. We spent every evening just before sunset on the roof for happy hour and watched the Cruise ships pass and watched the sunset complete the day..... it was awesome. The beach was great for long walks....you could walk into Puerto Morelos in about an 1 hr 20 min stop for a beer along the way it was great. Went to The Little Mexican Cooking School in Puerto Morelos only 15 min from the house and spent a really fun day cooking mexican style. Highly recommended. Also, the Jungle Spa was a highlight . If you want a massage like no other, go there and get the 90 min Mayan massage. You won't be dissapointed and it to is only 15 mins from the house. Louis and Annie were so wonderful. They were there twice a week to change the sheets and towels and gave us lots of advise on where to go and what to see. The house was well stock with information on Puerto Morelos and also, of all the tourist attratctions which you will want to go see. There is so much to see and do here you will want to come back. If you like to cook, like we do, the owner could definately improve on their pots and pans. There were no lids that matched the pots and the frying pans needed help. They also, advertised that there was a cell phone (there was not one) which would have been nice to have been able to phone to book some of the reservations instead , we had to drive to make them. There was also,no DVD player . That's the only things they could improve on. It was a great home and would recommend it for your next vacation.

Happy Holidayer's
Ernie, Cheryl, Lori & Darrell (Pigeon Lake, Alberta Canada)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: These folks were really great guests, and we do update the utensils and cooking gear every couple of years. With the technology of today most people arrive switched over to a plan on their personal cell, that will allow them to use their personal phone when in Mexico, to call back home or wherever they wish. We don't offer a phone anymore, because of too many losses and they have to be re registered when lost, which is not an easy process, and also they are difficult to use for non locals. However, it is my fault for not alerting the guests ahead of time, and remembering to remove it from our ads. We appreciate the comments from our guests when writing their reviews, as it only serves to make us better at what we do, and we thank all guests for bringing areas where we can improve to our attention.
Louis/property manager

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Erholsamer Urlaub auf Yucatan

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Casa Manalou ist ein sehr schönes Ferienhaus direkt am Meer. Wir waren als Familie (2 Erwachsene + 2 erwachsene KInder 18 und 27 Jahre) eine Woche im Februar 2010 dort und haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Das Haus ist mit allem ausgestattet, was man braucht. Sicherheitsbedenken hatten wir zu keiner Zeit -trotz relativer Einsamkeit. Die Nachbarschaft ist sehr ruhig, so dass man wirklich super entspannen kann. Ein Auto ist ratsam. Aber es gibt auch genügend Taxis, die man für Fahrten nutzen kann. Zum Reef ist es ratsam ein Boot zu mieten -direkt vom Strand ist es nur für sehr gute Schwimmer erreichbar. Auf der Rückseite des Grundstücks beginnt der Mangrovenwald, in dem man sehr gut Nasenbären, verschiedene Vogelarten und Reptilien beobachten kann.
Fazit: für Entspannungsurlaub super geeignet - nichts für Partyurlaub oder Animationsurlauber.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect place to relax and recharge

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

When we arrived at the house it was better in person than the photos we saw. We read that in other reviews, but we saw it for ourselves. It was right ON the beach as advertised, in a nice quiet residential area. My wife and I read, slept, had a cocktail. Read and slept some more, while my mother-in-law swayed in the hammock. The porch was a pure delight, as you can sit and watch the sail boats go by, and the sea birds dive for fish during the day. At night you could see the criuise ships go by way out at sea, all lit up heading for somewhere. We even had a rum and coconut drink made from the coconuts growing in the garden. A first for allof us. At the end of vacation I was completely rested and ready to go back to the stress tank. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our wonderful honeymoon

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

My new husband and I stayed at Casa Manalou about 18 months ago and we are planning on going back with our first child for our anniversary next year. It was a perfect spot for a honeymoon. Quiet, yet close to everything. The house actually looked as good as the pictures, and they delivered what they advertised and then some. We stayed at the house most of the time when there, and didn't wish to be bothered except for food delivery. It was pure bliss. We ventured out a little, and the places we went, were easy to get to just as they advertised. I'll always remember the tranquility of the place. Another thing i'll never forget was when we went up to the master suite, the property hostess Ana had scattered red rose petals everywhere. On the bed, the floor, the shower. It was delightful! We took a picture and framed that scene and have it in our living room here at home. We are looking forward to another wonderful time next year on vacation with our sweet little daughter. The house actually looked as good as the pictures, and they delivered what they advertised and then some. We would heartily recommend it for any honeymooners or any family that loves the tropics and the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A GREAT RELAXING VACATION

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

THE BEACH HOUSE IN PUERTO MORELOS LIVED UP TO ALL THAT WAS PROMISED. IT WAS A PERFECT LOCATION AND THE HOUSE WAS VERY CLEAN AND INVITING. LUIS AND HIS WIFE WERE EXTREMELY HELPFUL ON OUR FIRST DAY AND JUAN DID A GREAT JOB OF MAKING US FEEL COMFORTABLE THE ENTIRE WEEK. THE TIME WENT TO QUICK AND WISH WE COULD HAVE STAY LONGER. DEFINITELY A TRIP WITH GREAT MEMORIES.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All that was promised

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

My family of five spent 10 days in what we consider paradise. This house delivered all that was promised and then some. It was just like the pictures on the net (a first for us), and my wife was very impressed by the cleanliness. We went down to relax, and our teenagers wanted to roam. It was a perfect spot, because it really is twenty five minutes from all the things the kids wanted to do, while the wife and I were able to just read, swim, snooze and spend some quiet time together. We will return. Thanks Louis.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2008

My sister and I were looking for a nice relaxing vacation - we got that and so much more at Casa Manalou! The house is lovely and very comfortable. Though we had intended to sleep-in every single day just because we could, watching the sunrise over the water from the upper deck was too beautiful to miss!

There were lots of quiet places to sit and read a book - lounging in a hammock on the porch, sitting in the pool, on the balcony or the upper deck (best place to lay out!) Fun, food, and nightlife were just a short drive away. Puerto Morelos is quaint and offers a wide variety of places to eat or get a cup of coffee. Playa Del Carmen is charming and has lots of shops and restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

Great place, removed from the hustle & bustle, very quiet. We spent a lot of time reading and playing in the pool with Max (3 yrs). We do recommend having a car as it is far from the village. went on a fishing trip with one of the local fishermen and caught two HUGE amberjacks (really!), grilled them on our own BBQ at the house. Will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

The most wonderful place to vacation, quite, warm ocean air. The home is beautiful and it's like you are still home but you're not because the ocean and pool are in the backyard. This is a must VISIT home when in Puerto Morales, Cancun, Playa de Carmen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed in this beach house for a week. It's in a great location between Cancun and Playa del Carmen, and just steps to the pool and the beach. It's truly a lovely and comfortable home. It has all of the amenities we could wish for, the beds are very comfortable and everything is spotlessly clean.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

Just returned from a week at the house on the beach. Was a great place to stay,right on a very quite beach within easy reach by car to Playa and Cancun as well as many other activities. Abel, the onsite help was great. He was very helpful, polite and a pleasure to have around. I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice, clean quiet house on the beach.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review