reviews for: listing #51980 - Ocean Beach, California Studio rental

Steps From the Beach - Seahorse Cottage
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $105 - $175 /nt
    $735 - $1,225 /wk
    $2,940 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

good for the price, I loved it!!!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

The studio is clean and near the beach, downtown and good restaurants. I loved it. It was sunny and it's a calm area. The owners (Yasmin and Bill) will make you feel like home. I love San Diego, and studio in Ocean Beach. I will be back for a good time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great Place to Stay in San Diego

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 4, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The Seahorse Cottage was the perfect getaway for us. It has all of the comforts that we needed to enjoy our stay. <br/><br/>The best part was the two block walk to the beach every morning and evening. It's a perfect location for enjoying the Ocean and getting to local attractions.<br/><br/>Yasmin was responsive to anything that we needed. The cottage itself is cute, secluded and includes all of the amenities that we have at home. There were even boogie boards for us to borrow when we went to the beach. Perfect place to stay!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
At such a fair price and a block and a half from the beach, you simply cannot beat the Seahorse Cottage. My Wife and I rented bikes and checked out all of the beaches OB, PB, and Mission. Yasmin was super easy to get a hold of and very prompt on everything she does. If you are looking for the easy beach life and enjoying each others company, this is the place to do it. <br/>WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place... Great location...

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The cottage was perfect. It was clean. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. We were in a prime location yet tucked away so it was quiet (except for the planes).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location and adorable

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Rating Details:
The property manager was very helpful.
The vacation rental was spotless.
I was very happy with the location.
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
It was a wonderful and comfortable little cottage, pruvate deck and patio area, very safe and secure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a comfortable cottage close to the beach

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

From our first contact with the owner, Yasmin, when we were inquiring about the cottage, and throughout our stay at the cottage, our experience was pleasant and professional. The property was as described, and was clean and cheery, and the deck was a private retreat for our meals and/or an afternoon mojitos. The best thing for us was that it was just a short walk to the beach, which we enjoyed daily during our stay. It is also close driving distance to other beaches and attractions. We also enjoyed walking around the Ocean Beach neighborhood for shopping and eating at local establishments. We would definitely return to this cottage for future vacations and would heartily recommend it to our friends and relatives and anyone reading this review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

100% perfect!

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days... it was our first time in Ocean Beach and our first experience renting a home through HomeAway. Nothing could have been better! The cottage was clean, on a quiet street, a 1-minute walk from the beach, and had everything we needed for a wonderful vacation! Yasmin was very fast and thorough with communications before we arrived, we received check-in instructions that were very easy to follow, and all the information listed was completely accurate. On check-in there is a binder and guestbook as well as several information pamphlets which are all very nice touches.

The cottage is very well appointed, just right for a couple away from home who doesn't want to be right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown SD.. There was plenty of cookware in the kitchen, the dedicated parking spot was a HUGE plus, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the outdoor shower was ideal for when we walked back from the beach, and the cottage is behind the main house which afforded a great deal of privacy. The planes overhead (they started around 6:30/7a.m.) were actually a handy "alarm clock" that got us up and going each morning after lazing and listening to the green parrots for a few minutes and thinking about what we wanted to do each day. There is also a coin-op washer and dryer on the property, front loading and very clean, which came in handy during our stay.

The location is also wonderfully convenient: Plenty of businesses were well within walking distance (coffee, food co-op, drug store, restaurants) and it was also very easy to get on major thoroughfares for a jaunt to places like La Jolla and the Gaslamp District.

I would absolutely stay here again and have told several of my friends if they ever plan a trip to San Diego, this is the place to stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Charming cottage with a wonderful location!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

The cottage is clean, cozy, comfortable and is right in the heart of OB. If you are looking for a relaxing beach stay for a good price this is the right place for you. There can be noise from airplanes, but that cannot be avoided in OB. The person in charge of renting the cottage is sweet and very responsive to questions and booking, she makes the rental process very easy. My husband and I loved it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

3 night stay at Seahorse Cottage, Ocean Beach

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

The cottage is convenient for those without a car who want to take advantage of the local beach town, OB. It's only a couple blocks from the sand and a few from a great breakfast cafe, Shades Oceanfront Bistro, and bar, South Beach Bar and Grille. We had a car and found the available parking spot to be a great plus! The rental has a nice ambiance, beach-like. We don't try to find the negatives in any place we stay. The only thing to be aware of (if you're a light sleeper) is that you're in the flight path of airplanes coming in and out of SD International Airport. However, this disturbance is felt in many parts of San Diego city! We didn't get the opportunity to meet the owner, but they were very professional by correspondence. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great location and cute cottage

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

This is a cute cottage, in a great location, perfect for a couple. Very walkable to the beach and into town/OB where the shops and restaurants are. Great that it includes a parking spot as parking can be difficult in OB and the grounds of the property are well kept with nice plants and outdoor seating areas. The rental is in a quiet part of town, but if you want to sleep in, know that OB is in the flight path for the San Diego airport, you get major plan noise starting at 6 AM. What would take this rental from good to great would be better linens and a higher quality bed. The bedding and bathroom towels were very cheap, thin and appeared to be old. The bed was fine for the few nights that we stayed, but this was not a high quality bed if that really matters to you. Also, if you are a larger person (my husband is 6’ 4”) you will barely fit into the tiny shower. He had a really difficult time showering as he literally filled up the entire space. I am an average sized woman and I even found the shower to be a very confined space to get clean.

Owners response: We thank Rachel for the important input and take into consideration the items that can be changed and improved upon. Housekeeping is responsible for taking worn out and old linen/towels out of circulation and we will ensure they do a better job in the future. The mattresses in all our rentals are Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, which are known for their good quality. Unfortunately, we cannot satisfy all guests when it comes to mattress firmness and comfort. One of the comments we do get from guests often is how comfortable our beds are. The Seahorse is a small cottage and due to space constraints the shower is small as well. This is a cottage for budget oriented guests and is priced & furnished accordingly.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Seahorse Cottage

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Seahorse Cottage last week with my girlfriend and had a blast! Just steps from the beach and close to a ton of bars, shops, and restaurants. Couldn't ask for a better location or a better time! Also, VERY reasonably priced compared to other properties in the area. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect OB getaway!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Seahorse Cottage with my boyfriend for 3 days and it was an absolutely amazing experience. The cottage is in the perfect location - half a block to the beach and a 5 minute walk to Newport Ave where all OB shops and restaurants are. We felt like true locals during our stay here and will definitely stay again when we return to the area. The cottage itself is adorable and the perfect size for a nice romantic getaway. It is colorful and fun and even has a nice little deck outside the front door. Thank you for an amazing vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very relaxing stay!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

We spent a week at the Seahorse Cottage and had a very relaxing stay. The cottage is within 10 miles of all San Diego and La Jolla attractions with easy freeway access to everything. Definitely bring your bike to easily get around town. We had a great meal at the Pizza Port (check out their great selection of microbrews) and of course Hodad's to feel like your part of the local scene. If you are a light sleeper you might want to bring some earplugs because Ocean Beach is directly in the flight path to and from SD International airport. Also, definitely bring a few extra towels if your stay is over a few days long and you don't want to do laundry (one towel per person).

Overall the town is very laidback and relaxing and a wonderful little getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great vacation cottage

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

The place was clean and close to the beach & shops. Also it had a great deck (seperate for both units). The owners were very nice and accomodating. I will most likely stay in this exact one again, WAY better than a hotel. I am from SD and this is a great price and area, can't be beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Weekend at the Beach

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

The Seahorse was a perfect place to stay by the beach and enjoy a relaxing weekend. The owners were incredibly accommodating and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rated on Owners Customer Service

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We actually didn't end up staying at the cottage, but the owner's allowed us to stay at their Mission Hills condo instead. Their Mission Hills condo was great, It was a perfect central location to all things in SD and it was very family friendly. We wouldn't recommend the Ocean Beach cottage for families with small children because it seems like more of the party beach, but the Mission Hills condos are perfect. thx!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Seahorse Cottage

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Seahorse Cottage. It was everything we needed and MORE. We couldn't be happier. Off street parking is great, and is a MUST when staying in any beach community in San Diego. Walking distance to the main strip in OB, shopping, restaurants, bars, post office, gas station, pharmacy, you name it. We will definitely be back, and will recommend this place to ALL of our friends visiting San Diego. Thanks for a GREAT trip!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to stay!

Review submitted: October 28, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

We stayed 6 nights at The Seahorse Cottage in the beginning of October and we absolutely loved it.
The Cottage is super cozy and the outside area is great. Owners were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat in and around the area.
2 minutes walk to the beach, short walk to the supermarket, bank, coffee shops and restaurants. What more can you ask for?
When visiting San Diego again this will be our first choice to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Cottage get-away

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

This was my second time renting with Bill and Yasmin, and my first at the Seahorse Cottage. It's lovely. There's a courtyard between the cottage and the other two-bedroom rental on the property, and the property itself is fenced-in with a keypad lock on both front and back entrances. The cottage is clean, well-maintained, and cozy, with tv, cable and dvd. Full kitchen if you want to cook or just keep perishables in the fridge. Five minutes walking distance to beautiful Ocean Beach, and Newport Street for the shops. Grocery store and pharmacy are close by, as well as other interesting shops and restaurants. If you're a light sleeper, be sure to bring earplugs because the airplanes fly over Ocean Beach starting promptly at 6:30 a.m. everyday. Somehow this was not a problem when I was dozing on the beach! :) You will enjoy your stay immensely here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Seahorse Cottage April 2009

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

I stayed 8 nights in April/May 2009. The Seahorse Cottage is exactly as pictured--clean, comfortable, and well equipped. As a solo traveler, I appreciated front and back locking gates. Owners were very responsive to minor phone calls about internet service. I chose an all public tranportation trip. Beach, groceries, pharmacy are within short walking distance from the cottage. Easy city bus access to airport, train station, downtown San Diego, and Balboa Park. Enjoyed strolling throughout Ocean Beach, which is like a small town within the city. Recommend Newport Pizza and Azucar Cuban patisserie, both on Newport Avenue. [The only drawback, as throughout Ocean Beach, is plane flyovers starting at 6:30 a.m. Bring earplugs.]

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Seahorse cottage is a great place to stay!

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We had a wonderful time in San Diego at the Seahorse Cottage. It was very clean and well kept. The bed was cozy and the location is walking distance to the beach. It was fun to walk around town and see the sites.The town of Ocean Beach is very diverse with people from all walks of life. We enjoyed this aspect of the area and appreciated that it was not a tourist trap kind of place. The cottage is close enough to hwy 5 you can find your way around easily. Bill was helpful with suggestions for places to eat and things to do. The ice cream shop rocked and the flea marked on Wednesday had some really great food and shopping. They are working on having a washer and dryer which will be a great addition. I loved the little sitting area outside where I enjoyed fresh coffee every morning. The off street parking is nice Nice job on a beautiful little cottage, we will be back to stay again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review