reviews for: listing #52027 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

DIRECTLY on the beach, Pool, Wifi, 40 yards fr water!
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,390 - $6,190 /wk

sort by:

Great Week at the Beach

Review submitted: December 2, 2008   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

We have rented several houses in Gulf Shores but this was by far the nicest house we have been in! The view and location are perfect for a quiet week of relaxation. The house has plenty of room and privacy so everyone can enjoy there time. When we had small issues, the owners immediately took care or them and the week went on without any hitches. We cannot wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 19

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Wow, We were blown away by this house! When you book these things online you always expect that it won't quite measure up to the descriptions, but in this case it exceeded all of our expectations! The house is beautiful, clean, very comfortable and extremely well stocked. The area is quiet and peaceful and we saw the dolphins almost every day, sometimes several times a day. We all hope to come back again, we hated to go home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We just finished a week at this wonderful home. This was our first time for a Family Vacation and this property suited us perfectly. We were able to put our beach tent up on Saturday afternoon and left it and all our things out every night. It was very convenient and a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful, Relaxing Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Great Place. Beautiful Home and wonderful view and location. We had a wonderful relaxing week!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Floridian for 23 years

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

Wow, this was a spectacular week of joining my family from Texas. Although the weather was a little cool and cloudy a couple of days, the place was terrific. Waking up to the beach, seeing both sunrises AND sunsets was amazing. The amenities in the home were well thought out. The only disappointment was 7+ flashlights and no working batteries. Such a minor detail; we never even thought to bring a flashlight, let alone batteries. All was easily managed with trips to town for groceries anyway. Thank you for sharing a lovely place with so many!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation EVER!!!

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This was the best idea for a family vacation, EVER!!! Sunset was a wonderful getaway. It allowed our family to experience an AMAZING week at the beach. Our group consisted of 10 adults and 5 kids (under 18). The house provided enough space for everyone. The house was well maintained and had just about everything you would need available, both inside and out. The owner has been very helpful and easy to work with. This is a hopefully going to be our new family tradition for the years to come. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories that you allowed us to make.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super Week

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Sunset Hideaway provided a wonderful setting for a week at the beach. In our group there were 6 adults (ages 68-37) and 5 children (ages 9-3). The house provided adequate space for everyone to enjoy the week. The beach is wonderful and not over crowded. The house is well maintained but not so pristine that one is uncomfortable enjoying the beach. The pool was not a major consideration when selecting a rental; however, it proved to be a wonderful addition. (One grandson decided the Gulf was not his thing leading to him spending many hours in the pool.) Catching sand crabs was a highlight three of the evenings we were at Sunset Hideway. There is not a single thing I would change--something also indicated by my son and daughter and their families. One night we had a taco dinner and the preparer forgot to get a seasoning mix at Walmart. A convenience store about two miles from the house had the mix which was a wonderful surprise and avoided a trip to Walmart. In addition, the owner was very easy to work with. The bottom line is that I highly recommend Sunset Hideway as a wonderful place to enjoy the beach at Fort Morgan.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our entire group had a great time. Wonderful Home to spend a week on the beach!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Spring Break Fun!

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We had an amazing time at Sunset house! Everything was above and beyond the description given and the home had everything you need to enjoy your time here, except you and your clothes! I will say, there is NO need to bring or purchase beach toys and chairs because there is more than enough to keep you busy in the basement area, the kids enjoyed everything as much as the adults. The home is beautifully decorated, the beds are awesome and very comfortable, there is plenty of pots, pans and dishes, it was absolutely perfect! One of our most enjoyable moments was sitting on the deck and watching the dolphins swimming by and the kids loved feeding the seagulls from the top deck, they would come up and take the bread right from their hands. If you are looking for an unforgettable vacation, then this home is for you. This was the first time we had rented a house on the beach, usually stayed in hotels or condos, but never again, when we come back, we will be looking for Sunset house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation = Relaxation

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This home provided exactly what our family needed. Admist a large family reunion where we had houses up and down the beach, Sunset gave us our haven and each of us in it a bit of personal space. The house is as advertised and more. Bring your clothes and personal goods and be ready for a great time. Wake up to the ocean, go to sleep with the moon and the sound of waves breaking. It was truly what we needed to unwind. Would do it again in a heartbeat. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Beach Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This property is everything advertised and MORE! Truly right ON the beach, it has the shortest walkway of any of the neig bors. The beach is quiet and only has occupants from nearby homes, so essentially, you have your own playground! All my family with 5 grandsons had a wonderful time! The house is spacious and there are areas to relax away from the mainstream when privacy is needed. The kitchen is very well stocked, the games, toys and beach paraphenalia is great! No need to take chairs, rafts, swim toys...it is all there! We had the sweetest vacation ever and had great neighbors! YOU WILL NEVER BE SORRY YOU RENTED THIS HOME!!!!
Few tips: Be sure to take your own tp, paper towels, salt, pepper, etc... also bags of ice... large freezer, no ice maker. Also, if you are expecting a large pool, it is not... but it was perfect for the ages 3-11 and also the adults who just wanted to "get wet". It actually was better for us as the moms felt more comfortable with the swimmers more "contained", so to speak! Thank you to the owners. We love your home and would choose it again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

s. There were 12 of us ranging from age 12 to 83! The house was perfect. The high ceilings and the large family area and kitchen were perfect, especially the huge kitchen table. We had plenty of space and it never felt crowded. We used the grills on several nights and had some wonderful meals. It was nice having the extra chairs in the storage room for those that didn't have one. The outside deck is wonderful. Its large and was so enjoyable every night to just sit around and talk. The pool was small but nice if you had small children. We actually never really used it but it was perfect for the family on the other side that had smaller kids. They had a big time in it and we enjoyed watching them. The kitchen has everything you need and has plenty of dishes and utensils. It is good to plan ahead and make the stop at the grocery store before heading to the house since it is 20 minutes away, but there are a couple of small stores if needed. Tacky Jacks at the marina is very good and a lot less hectic than going into Gulf Shores. The ferry is a couple of miles from the house and is a cool way to cross the bay. We loved having our own beach area and it gave you room to spread out and truly enjoy the beach. This was one of the best family vacations we have ever had and I'm so glad we were able to stay at the beautiful beach house!!!! ere able to stay at the beautiful beach house!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thelma from Clymer, NY

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our family group of eleven, ranging in age from 14 to 80, all had a very enjoyable stay at Sunset. We spent a lot of time on the deck and appreciated that it is so large and has plenty of both shaded area and open deck. Having the pool right on the deck is very convenient; those in the pool could still interact with those who weren't. Everything we needed was provided. I would definitely recommend Sunset as a great place to stay. Thank you, Carla!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Libby

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We loved this property! There were 12 of us in all and we had plenty of room. It was so nice to have the large kitchen table where we were all able to sit and enjoy the seafood meals we prepared. The kitchen was well stocked with the utensils we needed. The home was very clean. We loved being right on the beach with our children! It was nice to have the pool on the deck where the younger children and babysitter could swim, while the rest of us enjoyed our beach time. The beach is very private and family oriented. It is a 16 mile drive into town, but we managed fine with that. We also had to use a beach rental company in the area to rent our chairs, stools and umbrellas. That was reasonable. We would definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home...wonderful location!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Our group of 9 recently stayed at this beautiful home. We had more than enough room and never felt crowded. We appreciated having all the beach toys, floats and chairs. We loved staying at the house and made sure we never took more than one trip to town per day. You need to allow 20 minutes drive each way to get into town. The owner is very attentive and immediately took care of a minor issue once it was brought to her attention. We were sad to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: There are a couple of small grocery stores close to the house. So trips to town are not necessary for last minute items. Also, the subdivision where the house is located is across the street from the Gulf Shores Marina. There you can find a restaurant, bar, small store with ice cream for the kids and several rentals such as bicycles, boats, jet skis and deep sea fishing expeditions. The ferry is only 2 miles from the house. A wonderful day out is a quick trip on the ferry to Dauphin Island to visit the Estuarium and Fort Gaine. My kids absolutely loved it!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Great Week on the Gulf

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Sunset was everything that was advertised. It was spacious and beautifully decorated. There was more than enough room for the six adults and three children in our party. It's distance from the commercial district and condos of Gulf Shores make the beach much more private and less crowded. The few people we met on the beach were more family oriented as well. The beach and views from the decks of Sunset are spectacular. Carla was most responsive to our questions and accommodating to our needs. We would most definitely stay at Sunset again, and if it wasn't available we would be most happy to stay at Carla's other property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, kid-friendly beach house!

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We just returned home after a week here with our 5 adult children, 3 son-in-laws, and 3,1, & 1 yr./old boys. Very kid-friendly. It had the best stocked kitchen we've ever seen in a rental. Lots of beach chairs and beach toys. The pool is small, but perfect. Short walk to the beautiful white beaches of Fort Morgan. The beds were comfortable, but the bunk room is definitely for children only. We definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

sunset getaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We had a excellent time, we had ten people and had pleanty of space . Beach was great, weather was in the low 90 s Dolphins were out everyday one day the put on a show , flipping out of the water and playing The pool was great to relax in and that dinning room table was great for family dinners.
Carla your wonderful god bless and we are looking foward to comming back .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

GREAT FAMILY TRIP

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We just had 14 people staying in the Sunset for a fabulous week of vacation. The house is large enough that we all had room to sleep, eat and play and not feel like we were on top of each other.. the large wooden table held all of us and enabled us to have family meals. The pool on the deck.. although small is wonderful. Kids could swim before breakfast, while waiting for dinner.. just about any time! The views are spectacular from the decks and to have the beach right there was a dream come true. Carla has plenty of sand and water toys for everyone and also a pack and play and high chair that was helpful to us as we had a 5 month old with us. The house has everything you will need... for a fabulous family vacation... thanks Carla!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great place to stay in Ft Morgan

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Sunrise. The house was accurately described, clean, well-maintained, comfortable and convenient to the beach. We had a huge family trip for a wedding and required rental of the adjacent property in addition to Sunrise. The owner was very helpful in working out the arrangement with the other propery owner. The kitchen was well appointed and a joy to cook in. Well worth the investment to stay in Ft. Morgan. We would recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Our group ranged in age from 78 to 14. We all had a great time. We swam, played in the waves, fished, kayaked, hunted for crabs in the dark and watched for dophins by day. Our teenagers went into town each morning to lift weights and play tennis. The facility is beautiful and reasonably priced. The weather was in the 80's. The house was very well kept and well furnished. We look forward to coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW A DREAM COME TRUE

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

THE HOME IS EVERYTHING AS SHOWN AND MORE... SO VERY COMFORTABLE, A PERFECT PLACE FOR A LARGE GROUP TO STAY, EAT AND PLAY..
LOVED HAVING THE POOL JUST OUTSIDE THE DOOR, AND THE OCEAN JUST A FEW FEET AWAY.
WE WILL COME BACK AGAIN . THANK YOU CARLA FOR SHARING YOUR HOME ..
GOD BLESS ALLTHE PEOPLE OF THE GULF SHORE REGION...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Home, Great Location

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

If you are looking for a great place to kick back and relax this home fits the bill! We recently stayed with our four adult children, their spouses, and our four grandchildren. The home is very clean, well equipped, and well-maintained. There were extras such as a high chair, pack and play, movies, games, sand toys, etc. that made the stay so much easier considering we had four small children with us.
The location is excellent if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. It is a bit of a drive from Gulf Shores but well worth it! We spent a lot of time at the house and on the beach. The beach was wonderful! You can walk for miles in either direction. We watched the dolphins every morning from the deck.
We went on a dolphin cruise, visited the zoo, the air museum, Fort Morgan and spent some time on the nearby golf courses.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend this lovely home to anyone looking for a large home with an amazing beach and lots of great amenties for a family!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We were so pleased with our stay at your beach house in Ft. Morgan. We had our kids, grand kids and great grand kids who came and went during the week of 10-3-09 while we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. The beach was beautiful, the house was wonderful and even the weather was nice. Thank you Karla for making this property available.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

MY FAMILY HAD A WONDERFUL, RELAXING VACATION AT SUNSET DURING THE WEEK OF 6/27-7/4 '09. THE HOUSE IS VERY ROOMY AND COMFORTABLE. THE KITCHEN IS WELL STOCKED. THE POOL WAS PERFECT, BECAUSE WE HAD TWO SIX YR-OLDS, AN 18 MO. OLD, & 6 MO OLD WITH US, THE BEACH WAS NOT ALWAYS CONVENIENT FOR CHILDREN. I CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING THAT WOULD HAVE IMPROVED OUR STAY. EXCEPT MAYBE A LATER CHECK-OUT TIME. WE LEFT FRI PM TO AVOID THE HEAVY CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT TRAFFIC ON SAT. MY HUSBAND, 3 GROWN CHILDREN WITH SPOUSES AND CHILDREN FOR TOTAL OF 11. NO COMPLAINTS FROM ANY. WILL DEFINITELY RETURN TO SUNSET. WE LOVED THE FACT THAT IT IS RESIDENTIAL. THERE ARE A COUPLE CONVENIENCE STORES CLOSE ENOUGH FOR ICE, MILK, ETC. AND COUPLE RESTAURANTS CLOSE. TACKY JACK'S WAS PERFECT AND CLOSE. THE GUYS WERE ABLE TO HAVE THEIR FRESH CATCH OF RED SNAPPER PREPARED RIGHT THERE AT THE RESTAURANT. THANK YOU CARLA FOR SHARING YOUR HOUSE WITH US.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

Carla, Your home was absolutely wonderful. Lots of space for everyone and the kitchen was totally furnished with everything we needed to cook for 14 folks. Large pots and pans, serving dishes, and wonderful dishes.
Our family had a wonderful vacation on the beach and we will be back. Fort Morgan is a great place for a peaceful vacation on the beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

What a delightful and beautiful place to spend a week with my family! The location was fantastic. Easy access to and from the beach! The house has plenty of places for everyone to sleep comfortably, and even more hideouts to sit and read a good book!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

Our extended family had a great time - no need to ever leave the property except to go to the grocery store! We set up our volleyball net, horseshoes, beach umbrella & chairs just steps from the walkway. Everything was so convenient. Our family groups came from Fort Smith, AR, Lexington, KY, Kansas City, KS and Tallinn, Estonia. A great time was had by all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Carla - what a great place for a family reunion, we had relatives and friends coming from Germany, Lake Placid, Chicago and Cincinnati. We loved the location off the beaten track, the gorgeous view, and friendly beach crowd. The house was perfect for playing, cooking and plenty of discussions around the large dining room table, who needs a TV here? Yes, wireless access was much appreciated by those of us who had to get a little work done. We hope to be back,

Susa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Carla,
This house was unbelievable. The location is great and we will definately be back. Thanks for tending to all of our minor needs. You have every reason to be proud of this house and I'm glad I happened upon it on this website. thanks again,
Christy Walker

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Carla,

Our stay at Sunset Hideaway was wonderful. Ft. Morgan is a special place, with a quiet, secluded, family atmosphere. Having the local store was perfect, but reasonable access to civilization (20 mins) makes it a perfect location. I appreciate your help and attention to our needs. If we return to Ft. Morgan, we have no reason to stay anywhere else. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time at Sunset. Our family is spread out across the country and it gave us a place to all be together for a wonderful week. Everything we needed was right there. We spent many great times cooking and eating together. The kids had plenty of beach toys to keep the busy, and we all loved watching the dolphins play right in front of our deck every morning and evening. We loved the quiet and secluded setting and the joy of not having to get into traffic everytime we wanted to leave. In fact it's the first beach trip we taken in a long time where no one ever mentioned going anywhere but the beach!! We will all have great memories of our week at Sunset. Thanks for everything.
Renee Scarleski
Memphis, Tn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

the house was beautiful and was everything that it was promised to be! very spacious with all the amenities one could ask for. the location is wonderful with its proximity to the beach. would definitely stay at sunset hideaway again. the owners are very pleasant and easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My extended family had a wonderful stay at the Sunset Hideaway. I really dont know what more we could have asked for. The home itself is beautiful and stocked from the kitchen to the gas grill to the storage area full of chairs, kids toys, umbrellas, etc. The location on a beautiful beach away from the busier areas was just what we had in mind. And as others have stated, it was great to seat all 13 of us at the table for dinner. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunset
Hideaway. The description and pictures on line are
a good representation of what the house looks like.
The beach is spectacular and so close to the house.
The house is nicely furnished and everything was
clean and bedding was very nice. We are a family of
13 so had every bed full. The kitchen was well
equipped and dishes and glassware were very nice.
Pots and pans were hard to use as previous renters
had not used them properly. The area was very
nice with lots to offer all of us. Golf, water parks,
great restaurants, child's arcade and race track park
and the Ft. Morgan museum was very interesting.
We also took the dolphin excursion but we saw
dolphins just off our beach at least twice a day.
The outside decks were very nice and the perfect
way to end the day watching the sun set. Look
forward to another stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 31, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

What a fabulous place for a family get together!!
The vibrant colors used throughout the house, the
joy of seating all 12 of us around one large table for
meals, the toys and beach chairs provided for all
ages, the views of the water from the two
balconies, the quality of the linens,the wifi access,
(a must these days) the layout of the rooms
provides private space when needed, and the ease
of checking in/checking out makes this the best
ever!!! If/when we return to the area, we will
definitely stay here..a home away from home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Carla,

We had a great time at Fort Morgan and it was a lot due to the very nice home you have allowed us to rent. Your home was very clean and well equipped for cooking meals. I look forward to making this an annual event.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We had a fabulous week at the beach. The house was perfect for our extended family of eight adults and five children. Each of us took a turn in the kitchen and found everything we needed to prepare meals. There was plenty of room for seating. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 15, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Great time of relaxation at Sunset. We spent many hours enjoying the beach and water. House was well appointed with many extra touches for a complete experience

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will definately be back!

Review submitted: August 9, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Thank you so much for allowing me and my family to stay in your beach house. The accomodations were great for 9 adults and 2 infants. Your description of the house was everything and more!!! We truly enjoyed the beach and most of all the beautiful sunsets in the evening. We will definately be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Dear Carla,
Thank you so much for allowing me and my family to stay in your beach house. The accomodations were great for 9 adults and 2 infants. Your description of the house was everything and more!!! We truly enjoyed the beach and most of all the beautiful sunsets in the evening. We will definately be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Carla,I would ditto the last two comments.friendly,warm,everything we needed and your responce to our questions were answered quickly.You for got to mention the closness of Tacky Jack's,what a neat place.We will be back to you for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 25, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The quality of the property was excellent. We were very pleased with the accommodations. It was an excellent location to the beach - couldn't be closer. Your home was clean and comfortable. We very much enjoyed having coffee on the porch in the mornings. Your beach toys were enjoyed by the children. You promptly responded to my many emails when making our arrangements and have frequently inquired as to our satisfaction. Thank you and we wish you the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Dear Carla, We had a wonderful vacation last week for several reasons.Your home was not only beautiful but also very "guest friendly." Also, you and your husband were very thoughtful, helpful,and cordial. Thank you for allowing us to spend a relaxing and fun week in your home.
Helen Holland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Our family had a wonderful spring break at the Sunset Hideaway! I have been working for sometime to find a place for our spread out family to spend a vacation together. Since we number six adults and nine children,
the venue for entertainment has to be simple for all. What better place than a beach! How lucky to find you,
Carla! Everything about the house
was comfortable and convenient...
The rooms are so comfortable and the kitchen so wonderful for so many cooks,and the table was big
enough for all of us to sit down together! This is such a great place
for family and friends to enjoy. I hope to get back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 23, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We had a marvelous time at Sunset...we went as a family to celebrate the Cancer recovery of my dear friend, who finished all her chemo last summer. I searched for weeks for the "right" place and Carla was wonderful to work with. The home was child friendly and worked well for us...the photographers she suggested were the best we have ever secured (they were just fabulous! with the small children)Surfside Beach Portraits. Your home was great...kitchen great...you helped us create a marvelous celebration....my deepest thanks for opening your home to us...Becky

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Carla,
We had a great time at Sunset Hideaway. Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing with all the accommodations of home. Sunset Hideaway is a great place to unwind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Carla:

The house was perfect for us. It was so beautiful and we all had the space that we needed. The kids loved having a TV in their room. Everyone could watch what they wanted when they wanted. The colors and the furniture was so beautiful and peaceful. We loved every minute of our stay. We will be contacting you again for our next trip. Thanks so much for letting us visit in your beach home.

Linda Head

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

had a great stay. the place is large and
accomodating. it really had some great funiture and
paintings and was extremely comfortable. highly
reccomended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 4, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Carla,
We were very happy with the house - it was large enough to comfortably fit our
large family, and its decor was a real treat not to mention the wonderful
location! I personally loved the large table that could singly seat all of us
for the first time on our family get togethers.
My husband and brother in-law grilled salmon on your new grill one evening.
They were very happy with its performance.
We were very fortunate to have such good weather. I know that this time of
year it's just as likely to be bitterly cold and stormy. We had a great time.
We appreciate all your effors to provide a wonderful vacation retreat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Carla, Just wanted to send a brief note of thanks for the opportunity
to stay at Sunset Hideaway. Our family had a wonderful time. You have
provided an extraordinary place. In addition to the breathtakingly
beautiful beach and the ocean's calming influence, we were surrounded by lovely furnishings, pleasing colors and a place filled with all the
comforts one needed. We were amazed that we lacked NOTHING. We love to
cook and thanks to your well designed and thoughtfully planned kitchen
we were able to feed the "gang" nicely. Apple, cherry, and blueberry
pies, homemade biscuits, gourmet meals of a wide variety.... and the
kitchen with all we needed! My mother, my grandchildren and I made
memories that will last all of our lives. Again, thanks for making it
all possible. Marsha Burris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 25, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

What a wonderful home! The accomodations were beyond our expectations. Spacious rooms, all beautifully decorated, provided us with the comfort and roominess we had sought.

Several of our toddler and infant grandchildren accompanied us and we were pleasantly surprised to find a playpen and other accessories to accomodate the little ones.

We arrived at the height of tropical storm "Arlene" and being Mid-Westerners, had a few trepidations. A couple of phone calls to Rimas reassured us. He was accessible, concerned, and more importantly, available for our questions.

Thank you Carla and Rimas for sharing your beautiful home and helping make our family vacation one we will never forget.

Mike and Mary Johnson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

If spacious seaside lodging, beautiful
luxurious decor and clean
accommodations are what you are looking
for, Sunset Hideaway is your vacation
destination! Our family gathered at
Carla and Rimas' home over Memorial Day
week. After driving over 13 hours with
two little ones, we were excited to
finally arrive at the condo to
rendevous with the rest of our family.
We were first impressed with the dining
area and were pleased that all of us
could sit together for meals. We also
appreciated the toddler-friendly
environment. Our 2 yr-old son spent
hours with a bowl of seawater, sand and
shells on the deck and our 5-yr-old
dodged waves and dug for clams while we
relaxed and watched them both enjoy the
sand and sea. Cooking for a crew as
large as ours was easy with all the
utilities and equipment available in
the kitchen. And having the laundry
facilities was a huge plus. My most
memorable moments also included waking
up to the surf and smelling the sea air
in the morning and enjoying the local
cuisine. A little of Emeril's Spice
Rub on some red snapper on the grill
was the best! A fun time was had by
all and we look forward to making this
a family tradition in the future!
Sandy, Mike, Sarah and Michael Aehle

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Like most people, one our goals upon retirement was to travel and spend more time with family. An avenue to accomplish this has been to plan an annual getaway during spring break, where we, our children and our grandchildren can enjoy some relaxation, some quality time with each other, and learn more about this great country of ours.

This year, our goal was to enjoy the
beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Since none of our family had ever visited the state of Alabama, we searched the internet for a vacation home in this area.

What a fabulous property we found! Numerous bedrooms, adequate bathrooms, a spacious dining table for family meals and a breathtaking view of the gulf with dolphins playing within view from the deck.

It was everything the ad had displayed, despite the after effects of Hurricane Ivan that were still evident in the area.

We had a wonderful, relaxing week, enjoying the beach, getting acquainted with the area, and eating lots of fresh seafood. This was yet another blessing that found its way into the lives of our family and their families.

May your stay be as rewarding as ours.

Our famililes traveled to Mobile, Alabama from Montana, Ohio and Idaho for spring break 2005.

Ken and Lyla Meske, Great Falls, MT

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review