reviews for: listing #52041 - New Braunfels, Texas House rental

"Gruene River Guest House" on the Guadalupe River at Gruene
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Gruene
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,400 /nt
    $5,400 - $8,400 /wk

sort by:

A great place to get married!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

There are so many wonderful things that make Gruene River Guest House an amazing spot in the middle of Texas - the two most important are the house and grounds itself which are beautifully kept and decorated, and also Cate, the owner and manager of the site. We had our wedding there and it was a perfect getaway from Austin or San Antonio, nestled right on the river in the scenic New Braunfels/Gruene area.

Cate helped us make it a truly one of a kind wedding destination, as we could host many guests on site, and also have the ceremony and reception in one spot - under the dappled light of the live oaks by the river next to the rustic gazebo (which also was the dance floor!). Our whole weekend was unforgettable and lovely, and I highly recommend anyone who is interested in hosting a party of any size or kind to seek out Cate and the Gruene River Guesthouse.

I'm hoping to make a return visit for our first year anniversary!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Place! Great Vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We planned a Christmas-New Year's vacation near San Antonio, Texas. There were 14 adults and 3 children in our party. We rented the house for two weeks arriving on 12/22/2011.

We made our rental decision based on the fact that the house looked good on the posted photographs and it had very good reviews but we honestly did not know what to expect so we were a little anxious about it. When we arrived, we were relieved to see that the entire house actually looked much better than what we had seen in the website and that the property is very well taken care of.

All the common areas, the 5 bedrooms and their respective bathrooms were clean and well taken care of. The dining table was able to accommodate 8-10 people at a time. In the kitchen there were enough pots,pans and utensils to cook meals without problems. We mostly used disposable plates, glasses, cups and utensils to make things easier for everyone.

The outside kitchen was wonderful. We used the outside icemaker and the refrigerator to store beverages and some food. Gary was kind enough to have the outdoors firepit ready for us and we used this every night.

Even though all the rooms in this house are adjacent to the main house, three of them are totally independent of the main common areas so that the people sleeping in these rooms had full privacy and independence when they wanted it. The large room (Paris Room) above the garage had plenty of space and enough beds to sleep all of the young (and one or two not so young) boys in our party comfortably.

All the bedrooms were perfect, with good quality mattresses, pillows and linen. The bathrooms were clean, in good working order and well-furnished and the owners provided all necessary toiletries.

Something very attractive to us was the fact that we stayed close to San Antonio but not in in the city itself. In addition we were close to Austin, TX and to the two San Marcos Outlet malls.

Cate and Gary live within the property but their house is far from the main house (at the end of the property, by the river) so that they provide you total privacy. However they are always available when needed. They both were truly very welcoming of our large group and graciously accommodated to all of our needs. We cannot thank them enough for their hospitality and their kindness.

Based on our experience, my wife and I would strongly recommend this property for large groups seeking to spend a great time in a first-class property near San Antonio.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect River Weekend!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We have been going to GRGH for the past 3 years and have always enjoyed our stay! The place is fantastic, they keep the place very clean and it's in the perfect location for river floating and access to Gruene! Cate and Gary are so nice and extremely accommodating and flexible with whatever you need. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Place for a Large Group

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We rented the house for two weeks. Since the reservation was made online,we mostly made our decision based on the fact that the house looked good on the posted photographs and it had good reviews but we honestly did not know what to expect so we were a little anxious about it.

We were relieved to see that the house actually looked much better than what we had seen in the website. Please be advised that the photographs TRULY do not make justice to the place.

All the common areas, the 5 bedrooms and their respective bathrooms were clean and well taken care of. The five bedrooms were perfect, with good quality mattresses, pillows and linen. The bathrooms were clean and well-furnished and the owners provided all necessary toiletries.

The common area was comfortable and cozy and the dining table was large enough to accommodate 8 to 10 people at a time. In the kitchen there were enough pots, pans and utensils to cook meals for this large group of people without problems.

The outside kitchen was wonderful and we used it frequently. This area has a flat screen TV and we watched football games there. Also Gary had the outdoors firepit ready for us and we used this almost every night.

One of the great advantages of this house is that even though all rooms are adjacent to the main house, three of them are totally independent so that people sleeping in these rooms have full privacy and independence. And the large room above the garage had plenty of space and enough beds to sleep all of the young boys in our party comfortably.

The house is strategically located, close to San Antonio, Austin, and the two San Marcos Outlet Malls. It is also near downtown Gruene and close to New Braunfels.

One final note is regarding the owners, Cate and Gary. They live within the property but their house is reasonably far from the main house so that they provide you total privacy. However they are always available when needed. They were very welcoming of our group and graciously accommodated to all of our needs (i.e. Cate arranged for a wireless internet connection system to be installed while we were there and she set up a Christmas tree in the common area for us).
We cannot thank Cate and Gary enough for their hospitality.

Overall we had a great time and keep fond memories of our stay at the Gruene River Guest House. I would definitely recommend this property for large groups seeking to spend a great time in a first-class property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Anniversary

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

We celebrated my parent's 50th wedding anniversary at Gruene River Guest House from June 13-20, 2012. It is such a beautiful house - more spacious, modern, and comfortable than even the photos show. Our group of 15 (ages 6-72) were perfectly happy there. Thank you, Cate and Gary!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Property

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had my daughters wedding reception at this property. It was perfect. The house is spacious and comfortable. It has the most wonderful outdoor kitchen where we had the grooms dinner. The owners were friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful experience for us! The photos just don't do it justice. I would recommend this property for any number of occasions. I plan to return as often as I can! It is a great location--close to everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Fantastic property

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

Really cannot say enough good things about this house. The website doesn't it do it justice for its size, comfort and ability to accommodate large groups comfortably. Every room had a tv and most even have their own fridges. Bathrooms are very modern. The cantina is fantastic. A real great gathering place. Cate is a wonderful host but the house was so well equipped we really lacked for nothing. Its a great location, right on river and close to town.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

Where do I start? Thank you so much for everything! Out of all the river rentals we have stayed at, this is the best!!! You both have been great and have gone above and beyond to make our stay amazing! Thanks again for everything! We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Top Notch

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

From the botton of all our hearts, thank you for the great weekend! The place was fabulous and top notch! Buster made us feel at home!

Helpful votes: 3 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Buster

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Buster is the greatest dong in the county. You are the perfects hosts for the house. Our group had a tremendous time and I hear there is talk of making this an annual affair. Tell Buster we will be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Home

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

This place is so much better than we ever expected! It is a dream home and so much fun to stay at. I would love to come baccck every year! Thank you so much for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

July 4th weekend

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We had a great time, thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful place! We had a ton of fun, thanks for making it great! We will be back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd stay

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

This is our 3rd stay here and as always it was wonderful.
We are so glad that ya'll were able to join us for the fajita dinner.
This place is wonderful and the dogs are great too!

Helpful votes: 2 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Buster is adorable

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

You have been more than accommodating during our stay.
Our group will be back!! You have out done yourselves with this awesome place. You guys were very lucky to have little damage from the flood and we can see why.
Thanks again, we have more than enjoyed ourselves here!

P.S. Buster is adorable!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Flood

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

Thanks from all of us for a great time!
A real expierence on a near evacuation!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Thank you so much for the great stay!
We had an amazing time and will definitely come again'
'The River Rats'

Helpful votes: 2 / 10

 

Gruene River Guest House

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

I have stayed at the Gruene River Guest House on two separate occasions in 2010 and 2009. Cate and Gary were excellent hosts and accommodated every request we had. Their rental property is amazing, comfortable, and includes everything you could possibly need. The new deck on the river added in 2010 is an awesome new addition. I would definitely recommend this rental property and look forward to staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks SKos! We enjoyed having your group both times and hope to see you all again next summer! or sooner!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review