reviews for: listing #52065 - Manistee, Michigan House rental

10%OFF, Salmon,FallColors,Lake Home,Wooded,Slps10,Irons,Mi.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Heritage Bay
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $125 /nt
    $650 - $750 /wk

sort by:

Good family weekend gathering

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our time in this property as the four bedrooms provided plenty of space for all of us. We especially enjoyed the screened porch where we could enjoy our coffee and the outdoors even when it rained. The location was very quiet and was perfect for viewing fall colors. It was good to be out of the fray but close enough to Ludington and Manistee to go and enjoy those cities.

Since we had two young children with us, the open stairwell was a bit of a worry but we managed. And, although the kitchen was roomy and reasonably well stocked with utensils and dishes, there were also not enough chairs at any table to fit the 6 of us at meals, which was disappointing. Overall, it was a better than average accommodation and we would recommend it to others.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Bass Lake

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Wonderful time again this year at Big Bass Lake. The lake is great for swimming fishing and boating. It is nice that the sand bar is right in front of the cabin
Perfect for anchoring the boat and enjoying a swim. Great family time our granddaughters love it. We really enjoy the screened porch for dining.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property but filthy house!

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We spent two weeks at Big Bass Lake and loved the location, the wildlife, and privacy. Unfortunately, the house was a huge disappointment. The carpets were filthy and had numerous pet stains. The smell (which we later learned was due to a nasty sour mop in the basement) was so powerful when we entered that I gagged. It smelled like an old wooden outhouse! I made the manager buy a new mop and come back and clean the floors in the basement. He seemed shocked that I would expect him to do this, but he cooperated. The couches were concave on the ends and extrememly uncomfortable (we fixed them by putting all of the bed pillows under the couch pillows, not attractive, but it helped). The king bed was a boxspring and wornout mattress directly on the floor. We bought two layers of foam padding and a mattress pad (didn't like the vinyl one on it) in order to sleep on it. It felt like sleeping on a floor with springs poking you! The beds in the basement did not have clean sheets on them and two beds had no mattress pads at all! The bathrooms were also dirty with mildewed walls & shower curtain. We sprayed bleach on the walls and curtain until they looked better, but the tub did not clean up at all. We also cleaned the toilets with bleach and removed most of the stains. We bought carpet shampoo and scrub brushes. We took up the really nasty stained area rug in the livingroom and hid it downstairs. We then got on our hands and knees and scrubbed as much of the carpet stains as possible before our 4-year old granddaughter arrived. We didn't want her parents to even see the filth of the place. The basement has many mice arriving almost daily. We had two mouse traps that we found in the silverware drawer in the kitchen! So, we trapped as many as we could. On the positive side, we enjoyed many campfires, watched the deer almost daily, enjoyed hearing and seeing the loons on the lake and enjoyed fireworks by the public boat dock. The night before we left, a "for sale" sign was placed on the property. If it were my house to sell, I would hire somone to give it a badly needed fresh coat of paint inside and thoroughly clean the carpets, flooring, and window blinds. I would not pay the current managers for doing any of this. I feel cheated out of the cleaning fee.

Owners response: It seems very hard to believe this reviewer stayed in the same house that the earlier and later reviewers were at!
It also is hard to believe they actually stayed 2 weeks under those alleged conditions and didn't bother to call the owners to discuss ANY of these issues. We're not sure what happened there, READ ALL The other reviews.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Summer week

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We had a wonderful week at this cottage--plenty of space, complete kitchen,screened back porch overlooking lake. Our grandchildren especially enjoyed fishing from the dock, paddling the canoe, swimming in the lake with the tubes provided. The grocery store at Dublin was convenient and fun! We day-tripped to Silver Lake sand dunes for a dune scooter ride and to the Federal Rec site at Manistee to Lake Michigan (too cold for swimming this early!).We adults liked the tranquility as well.Campfires at night to make s'mores capped off the days. I would reccomend this cottage to anyone willing to leave stress and busyness behind (cell phone reception is iffy).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Bass lake

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

This is my families second visit to your lovely home. We had a great time fishing off the dock. We had a fire outside every night. When I told the boys I was coming for a Michigan trip they both asked if we could stay in the same house. The last visit was just as wonderful and relaxing as this one. We will certainly look forward to another visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice property, Good value.

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

The house was much larger than we expected, decor was tasteful. The little dock was nice and allowed for a good view when it wasn't raining. We were very happy that they allowed us to bring our dog. Unfortunately, it rained the entire time we were there and forcasted rain for the rest of the planned stay. As such we left early to at least salvage some of the vacation back home where the weather was better. Had the weather been better it would have been the a very nice get away. The transaction and reservation process is easy and reasonable. I think this property would be a great value for families or groups of families traveling together looking for a good value on a nice lake. We would consider staying there again if we ever went back there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice property, good value

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

The house was much larger than we expected, decor was tasteful. The little dock was nice and allowed for a good view when it wasn't raining. We were very happy that they allowed us to bring our dog. Unfortunately, it rained the entire time we were there and forcasted rain for the rest of the planned stay. As such we left early to at least salvage some of the vacation back home where the weather was better. Had the weather been better it would have been the a very nice get away. The transaction and reservation process is easy and reasonable. I think this property would be a great value for families or groups of families traveling together looking for a good value on a nice lake.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic time!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We had a great time! The stay was relaxing and full of things to do. Everything we needed was right there. We went canoeing, played tennis, went to the local cafe's & bars and enjoyed bon fires at night. The home was clean & spacious & the lake was beautiful! Can't wait to go back!! A great place to go as a couple or fun to go with a group of people!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

michigan 2012

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

very nice,peaceful setting.canoe was included and came in handy.lots of room

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My family and I loved this shady, wooded location. We spent a wonderful 8 days there. This is a place that demands that you slow down and relax. The small towns near by were very friendly and the fireworks over the lake were some of the best. It is a great jumping off spot for those who want to explore the northwest part of the state. Things quiet down about 11:00 pm so there is no trouble getting to sleep. The boys want to go again next year. I sure hope we can!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun in the Forest

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying in Jeff and Judi's cottage. We found it to be just as they described it, including the linens and towels. There were some extras too like games for the kids and plenty of chairs for our party of nine.
We really enjoyed the screened-in-porch which kept us mostly bug-free while watching the wildlife or a campfire.
We would highly recommend this cottage to others and hope to return ourselves next summer.
Thanks Jeff and Judi!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Bass Lake House

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Overall this was a great place to stay. We had such a nice time using the canoe that came with the house and going on the lake (unfortunately not catching much fish). The only negative experience I would say is the woman who called to confirm our arrival time, she was quite rude. Otherwise the owners seemed very nice and answered all our questions. I would highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is a great place on a beautiful lake. Hopefully we have remedied the phone call problem, the fish thing we can't control. Fishing early morning or just before dark has always produced some nice Bass and panfish near the weed edges and close in the Lilly pads.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hunting Season 2011

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Nice place. Great location

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway place for family & friends.

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

The goal of our weekend away was to "get back to nature." This property offered everything plus. The house is beautifully maintained and sits up over the lake. We took advantage of the canoe for two fishing adventures. Frequent walks w/dog around the area. The Dublin Store was close enough to grab fresh meat and fixings for our Thanksgiving feast. Kitchen was well stocked w/everything you needed to prepare a large meal. Good size home to allow comfortable spacing. Had a great time & would love to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Absolutely wonderful vacation rental! Very quiet, relaxing, and peaceful. The house had all the pots/pans that were needed which was very convenient. The lake was very peaceful and had an awesome sandbar. Loved the screened in porch and deck. Great value! - would stay there again!

-- On a side note, the grill grate needs replaced.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another great week at Big Bass Lake!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This was our third year at this property on Big Bass Lake. Again we found it to be perfect for our family. We really appreciated the AC this summer as it was a really hot week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Lovely Lake House

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a really nice time at your Lake House. All the amenities were there and it was very spacious. We hope to visit there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun, Fun, Fun

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

We had a great time. The house was even bigger and better than we expected. Grandkids had a blast and even cried to stay longer and not go home. Thankyou Jeff and Judy for one of the best family vacations. Hope we can come again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly what we expected

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Stayed for a week with my family of seven. Plenty of room. Clean and well supplied. Am now convinced we need to add a screened in porch to our own home. I accidentally left two flash drives in a kitchen cabinet. Judi managed to get them back to me quickly. I would definitely do it again.

Owners response: Thanks for the great review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. we are also very pleased for your respect for our home in leaving it in great shape when you departed!!
You are welcome back, anytime. Jeff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly what we expected

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Stayed for a week with my family of seven. Plenty of room. Clean and well supplied. Am now convinced we need to add a screened in porch to our own home. I accidentally left two flash drives in a kitchen cabinet. Judi managed to get them back to me quickly. I would definitely do it again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We are a large family and this place was great for the price. It's difficult to find a home with 4 decent sized beds. Other than some of the beds being stiff and a bit of mold in one of the downstairs bedrooms, the house was great. Clean and had everything we needed. We LOVED using the screened in porch (although the floor could use a scrub), the path and dock were nice, the tame little chipmunks all over were fun to watch, etc. The air conditioning and heat were wonderful since we had hot and cold temps during our stay. The washer and dryer were also very handy. Again, very good and at a very affordable rate. The couple that rents the house is also great about communicating back and forth with you and getting back with you right away. Recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family escape

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We all had such a great time at your cottage. The kithcen was so well equiped it made it a joy to cook on vacation. My boys were looking forward to visiting and eating and this was just the place to do it. The lake was lovely and the sound of the loons was awesome. We did not get any mushrooms or fish, but the grandkids had lots of fun trying. My youngest son thought we should stay forever. Thank you so much for a great reunion. Rozlan

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!! It is a great quiet place in the woods where you do actually hear the loons on the lake calling, very relaxing.
Please come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay anytime!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

This property is difficult to find in the dark. I recommed arrival during daylight hours and/or use of a good GPS unit. The home is not handicap accessible. There is only one local access television station and it is a college-run station providing little/no local news or major network programming. The property is full of mature oaks resulting in leaf litter which can be an issue tracking into the home in the fall. The basement entry has a coated cement floor, making for easy cleanup/upkeep. Entry through the screened-in porch also helps keep tracking stuff into the home to a minimum. This home has a limited view of the lake but the wildlife in the area keeps window gazers well entertained. The home has ample cookware, utensils and dishes for the maximum occupants advertised. The property is clean, well-maintained and very beautiful! The decor is country/modern and up to date. The owners and local agent were easily contacted, responded to questions in a timely manner and very accommodating. I would recommed this property to everyone! Thank you for a wonderful rental experience. We plan to return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

October Fishing

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

My husband and I rented the house to go fishing. The private dock was perfect The lake was crytal clear and surrounding area lovely. We fished for bass for sport only. This was a great place if you like nature and quiet. We did not go anywhere else. We saw deer and heard the coyote howling at night. The house was clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second Time Around

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had another fabulous week this year! Your home is perfect for our family and our young (Gordie, age 4 and Robin, age 2) grandkids. This year Robin got to go out in the canoe and fish. She caught the biggest fish - a 12 inch bass! She was thrilled and terrified, at the same time. Of course we threw it back as the minimum size limit is 14 inches. Gordie caught a 10 inch bass and several bluegills. He really loves to fish!
Only had one day of constant rain - so we went to the Children's Museum in Ludington. And had our evening "campfire" on the porch with candles and popcorn. Perfect.
The new dock is great!
We're hoping to be able to book a week again next summer.
I did post a comment on the web guest book a few days ago. If it didn't go through, I'd be happy to do it again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Week!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

This was the perfect house for our family vacation! It was spacious, clean and private. We enjoyed fishing, canoeing and a nightly campfire. We took day trips to Ludington, Sand Lake, and the Little Manistee. Thanks for a great week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

Thank you for sharing your beautiful "home" on Big Bass Lake. We just returned from a wonderful weekend and the cottage is a truly gorgeous retreat in the woods. A friend from neighboring Loon Lake put his pontoon boat in at the boat launch for us to use and our son brought his boat and the dock held fast. And although the fish were on the small side we caught several. We especially enjoyed the screened porch and all the privacy. A beautiful place!! Thanks again and hopefully you'll allow us to come again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall weekend

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful fall weekend at this property. We loved paddling around the lake in the provided canoe. The woodburning stove was a cozy treat after a cool afternoon hike. The house itself was spacious and very well-equipped. We would recommend this house to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

Location, location, location. This house had it all. Clean comfortable and in a beautiful location on Bass Lake. Private dock, lighted walkway, screened in porch. Close to a couple bar & grills. 1/2 hour to 45 minutes from Ludington if you prefer a larger town. Our group was 3 couples and a single and there was plenty of room for all. Area property manager very kind and professional. I would not think twice about renting this property again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoy Bass Lake

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We enjoyed our short (4 night)escape to this cottage on Bass Lake. We used it as a place to spend the night and from there on different days we drove to Manistee, Sleeping Bear Dunes and to Traverse City. The owners are very clear in their rental agreements, professional and have excellent response time. The person who oversees getting you the key as well as cleaning service is exceptionally friendly and the home was clean and neat upon our arrival. Our kids had fun hunting in the woods for firewood (and we bought some bigger logs) and we enjoyed a campfire all 4 nights of our stay. The large screened porch was great on one afternoon that was rainy, also where my husband set up camp with his laptop(that's how he spends vacation...)By August in Michigan, weeds have usually grown to the surface of the lake, and it was true here, but my kids 9 & 7 (who are used to swimming pool clean) did not mind one bit. They used the provided inner tubes and floated/paddled out to the wonderful sandbar for swimming. There is also a cute island that was fun to canoe to and explore. My son begged to stay longer on the morning of our departure. It sure was nice to have the "extras" provided here (games, books, washer and dryer, a/c, inner tubes, lawn chairs, grill, and more.......) If we are able to get away next summer on vacation, we would return here :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review