reviews for: listing #52151 - Coos Bay, Oregon House rental

Annie's Cottage, A Quiet Getaway with a Peaceful Waterfall
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $150 /nt
    $800 - $900 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Lovely cool summer at the cottage

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

We have so enjoyed two extended stays at Annie's cottage! Annie and Paul are very hospitable hosts who include all the necessary bathroom, kitchen, and bedroom amenities. There's no sense of stinginess, but rather a warm generous welcome exemplified by top quality towels, sheets, and delicious chocolates from the local Cranberry Sweets store.

Before we even enter the house we enjoy hearing the sounds of their garden - the rushing water of the small stream and the twittering of the rufous hummingbirds as they fly in to drink from the fuschia.

It's a comfortable, clean, peaceful place in an excellent location. Everything is nearby: the coast and Charleston to the south, dunes to the north, and the town in between. It's a short easy drive to scenic walks along the ocean from Sunset Bay State Park to Cape Arago. We never tired of walking along the cliffs and watching the waves, seals, cormorants, and pigeon guillemots. Another highlight was kayaking the calm waters of the South Slough. South Coast Tours provided the kayaks plus a friendly experienced guide. And the dunes, especially on the John Dellenback Dunes Trail, were spectacular. Well, our interests were birding, hiking, photography, reading, kayaking, and swimming and this was the perfect place for all of that.

How fortunate that the Coos Bay/ North Bend area isn't touristy and is alive year round. This meant for us on an extended stay that it had 2 outstanding public pools, 2 public libraries, a great gym, a bookstore, supermarkets with organic food, a thriving farmer's market, 2 fine museums...

Annie and Paul were readily available and helpful whenever we had any questions and were a great resource for "what to do" and "where to go" in the area. They went the extra mile in ensuring our comfort.

How relaxing after a day of fresh air, hiking and being outdoors to sit upstairs in the cozy alcove on mission chair recliners and read and look out on the waters of the bay.

Thank you Annie and Paul for providing this healing cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coastal highway trip

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Quaint perfect little retreat. Loved it!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yay!!! That makes our heart sing! Thank you for coming, and thank you for saying so!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Full of beauty inside and out!

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Enjoyed our 5 day stay at Annie's cottage! Rented VRBO spots many times before and this tops them all. Annie was very responsive from my very first email to the last. She was very prompt and honest in answering all my questions. Traveling with a young child & as a parent, it was important for us to know the layout of the place and I had many questions... It was just perfect!

From the moment we stepped foot on the property we fell in love with it's beauty. It has very nice kid-friendly garden and secure place to park your car. The waterfall was a nice touch! Great green grass for Kids to run and just be kids. The cottage was very, very, very clean and had all the amenities. The kitchen was well supplied with the basics and loved the recycle bin. The reminder notes were friendly and not overbearing at all. The owner really makes you feel at home and makes sure you have it all in the cottage. If you have forgotten something, not to worry, she has you covered! Loved the simple yet personal touches from Annie. Though there's only limited TV channels, the movie/video selection was wonderful...enjoyed introducing my little one to Laurel and Hardy and also the Three stooges! Rain or shine, this is a beautiful place to stay and just relax. Centrally located and easy drive down to Bandon up to Florence. Husband enjoyed fishing with the locals on the dock nearby while I had my much needed cat nap! The photos don't do it justice as it's definitely more than what we expected. Very spacious and well decorated. It was very private and a great place to get away from it all. Coos and the towns nearby are filled with friendly people. I can't think of anything we did not like about the place except maybe consider adding a night light for the upstairs in case you need to get up or if you are travelling with a little one. Wasn't a big deal though bc we brought our own. The Jacuzzi is just amazing!

Thank you again Annie and Paul for sharing your lovely home with us!!! I asked the little one to tell me the best part about the trip and it was no surprise that the response (with great enthusiasm) was, "Annie's cottage"!!!!

Your love for the cottage definitely shines throughout the house! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the area! Hope to be back again someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That was an over-the-top review, thank you! The night light is my fault, Paul had one out and I put it away awhile back. I'll put it out again, promise! ;-)
We love, love, loved the drawings from your little one in the guest book...and your description of your stay was so fun!!! Thank you so much for celebrating here and adding to the wonder of Annie's Cottage!
Annie

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Cozy and comfy!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

This cottage has a beautiful bathroom. Water feature on property, and came with a few sweet extras which we very much enjoyed. Can't beat the location just down from charleston and sunset bay...with ease of access to coos bay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

The cottage was like an English countryside with the beautiful yard and the water feature. You don't even know you are in a neighborhood it is so secluded and serene. Sitting in the yard during the day or evening is perfect. The house is comfortable and everything we needed was there. The upstairs bedroom has a view of the sunset over the water which ends the day perfectly. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: How wonderful! Thank you for taking the time to let us know. It's just plain humbling to see so many people going out of their way to tell us why you enjoyed your stay. Your comment makes me want to go spend a weekend there myself, you painted the most lovely picture! Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4th of July!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We loved staying at Annie's cottage! It was the perfect resting place for us & our kids...the yard was beautiful and the house felt like a peaceful "cottage" getaway! Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yay for REST!!! And getting away! So glad you came!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Charming Home

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This was an excellent little house for our stay. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Close proxemity to Charleston, Coos Bay and North Bend. We also got to attend the Empire Clam Celebration. Thanks to Annie and Paul for a great stay!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! What a pleasure it was to have you come!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cottage

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Nicely located in residential neighborhood, the cottage is well maintained and well equipped with everything you need. Nice cozy atmosphere, we really loved it. Don't miss Cape Arago and hiking the Oregon dunes. Recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Comfortable!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Annie's cottage was lovely! We were surprised at how large the rooms were. It felt VERY spacious with only one actual bedroom. The landscaping was amazing, it was perfectly stocked with dishes, enough linens, etc. If you stay here you would definitely need a car as there is not much within walking distance, but so much to see in a short car ride down the coast. Be sure to check out Charleston if you stay at Annie's. I would definitely stay here again in the future. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm actually overwhelmed by your wonderful comment! Thank you so much, we so enjoy providing a place to play and rest, and it makes it all worthwhile when we know you were able to get the full enjoyment out of the Cottage! Come again :-)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

HOME AWAY FROM HOME!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay. The owners have thought of everything. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others! Very comfortable as a home away from home. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful comment!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A wonderful getaway!

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Hi Annie & Paul

What a treat!! We felt at home the second we stepped over the
threshhold. So comfortable and accommodating. Thoughtful little touches
everywhere.

Being one who suffers from a wide number of allergies, including most
perfumes and scented products, I was delighted at not finding little bowls
of potpourri everwhere (why we no longer do the B&B thing)! The unscented
laundry soap/conditioner were most appreciated, too. The house just
smelled clean ...

Oh ... I didn't see that you already had a
jigsaw puzzle (I looked for one with the games instead of the books), so I
purchased one. It is under the TV with the other one.

Thanks so much. - Cynde & Steve

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

WOW - Very Cool Accomodations

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

"WOW ... how cool" were the first words out of our mouths as we walked into the cottage ... and we were quite impressed when we drove up to the cottage and walked around the outside before entering the cottage. The entire cottage was very clean and very nicely decorated, and the kitchen was equipped with the essentials e.g. coffee maker, dish ware, glasses, etc.

Although we were only able to stay one night ... we had a GREAT weekend ... we felt like it was a "home away from home" - very comfortable environment. The cottage is in a great location (i.e. about midway between Charleston / Shore Acres / Sunset Beach area, and the Coos Bay / North Bend area). We spent the afternoon & evening exploring Charleston / Shore Acres / Sunset Beach areas ... then finished the evening with a nice dinner in Charleston.

We are already talking about plans to come back and spend a longer period on the Oregon coast, and our plans are to stay at Annie's Cottage again!!!

Great Place ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thanks! It has been a great Summer and we are so glad to see that everyone is having a good time and getting refreshed!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfy cottage

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Annies Cottage was the perfect hangout spot for my family for two nights. Outside of town on a quiet street, with bubbling water running right by the house, yet just minutes to the beach. But for the real blast of entertainment, just a short drive for dune buggy action or the beautiful Cape Arago State Park. (Coos Bay Visitors Center makes excellent suggestions.)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking wonderful care of the Cottage during your stay! Also, thanks for your suggestion regarding the dual bench. We had sort of ignored the blocked view for the one seat, but after your suggestion, we moved the bench and we like it much better! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A gem in Empire, OR

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

We came to the Coos Bay area in Nov 2010 to visit friends and decided to try a vacation rental rather than a hotel or B&B. We were not disappointed! Annie and Paul put considerable time, energy and thought into how to make their guests feel welcome and at home. We had everything we needed for our four day stay and the location made getting around the area easy. The home is in great condition and even though it was storming outside, we were cozy inside. There was enough room that we were able to host our friends and their children for a "family night" and we created some great memories. I now see Annie's Cottage as "my" vacation get-away. We'll stay here everytime we visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: A big thank you to our guests who make Annie's Cottage what it is. You are the best, and your appreciation for the Cottage has shown up in how you have cared for it during your stay. You make our job easy and satisfying. We look forward to providing you with a 'home away from home' for years to come.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Coos Bay's Best Kept Secret

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

We just returned from our trip this week (Apri 2010) to help my sister plan her wedding. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the cottage was. Annie and Paul keep it in good condition and have included many little details for your visit. We own a hotel (B&B) and expect nice rooms and many times are dissappointed. We highly recommend Annie's Cottage - its worth every penny.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 20, 2009

Last summer, July 2008, we stayed in Anne's cottage. It was nicely furnished, well kept and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. Our time their was a pleasure and a great getaway to a cool place along the Oregon coast.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review