reviews for: listing #522 - Pinehurst, North Carolina House rental

Arundel Garden Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Historic Pinehurst
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $325 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,250 /wk
    $2,600 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Golf Weekend

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Perfect place for a golf weekend. Perfect location for playing the resort and surrounding courses. Hot tub is like new and a huge bonus. Very comfortable place with great character.

Owners response: Thanks gentlemen! See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and relaxing

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

After driving several hours, we arrived tired and stressed. The cottage welcomed us with it's peaceful setting and beautiful flower gardens. Susan was there to meet us and answer all our questions.We were later joined by our two children who live and work in the area. It was a great place to relax and enjoy being together. The town of Pinehurst is lovely and we enjoyed walking and driving around exploring. We hope to get back to Arundel some day. Thank you Susan and David for a great visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us! We do hope you come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable Family Christmas

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

Our family headed to North Carolina to meet our daughter who was returning from Afghanistan. It was the first Christmas we ever spent away from our own home and the Arundel Cottage was PERFECT! Our son and daughter in law joined us as well and we spent one of the happiest Christmases ever in this charming home. Susan did everything to make sure our needs were met. The fireplace created a cozy Christmas morning and the hot tub was awesome. So many fun games and large kitchen to bake and cook our holiday food! Would highly recommend it to all.
FONDLY, The Fisher Family, Modesto CA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! Happy New Year to all! Hope to have you all back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Weekend

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

I would definitely recommend this properly. We also rented the "Cardinal House" so please check out my review under that house as it has a lot more information.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Great time very relaxing

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Perfect!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

THANKS for our stay at Arundel Cottage! It's such a lovely old place, clean, well maintained, SO comfortable; we found everything we needed and more. The cottage is nicely furnished with many antique pieces, and other charming bits of decor. Plenty of living & dining space, with a well appointed kitchen, and morning coffee on the front porch was sweet! The neighborhood is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, just the singing of birds in the great garden. A short walk and you're in Pinehurst, which is so pretty it looks like something out of the land of make-believe, with great places to eat and shop.
The surrounding countryside is very scenic, and we found some great bargains in local antique shops.
The owners are LOVELY folks to deal with, so nice, and helpful in every way.
We hope to return in the future, and give Arundel Garden Cottage a big thumbs up!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We look forward to having you back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quaint cottage, beautiful area

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Lovely quiet street in Pinehurst. Beautiful gardens. Hot tub is a nice bonus. Quaint, historic cottage.
On shaded gravel walking trails. Short walk to downtown Pinehurst with coffee shops/library/shopping etc.
Great cycling which is what we went for but also nice for golf I hear :-) .
Only downside is that kitchen is small and utensils/pots are limited.
Great value and we would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chris, Glad you enjoyed your stay! I took inventory of the kitchen pantry and some of the utensils and cookware ended up over at Cardinal House next door during a family reunion using both homes. So sorry about that. I would have replaced them had I known. I've restocked the kitchen for our future guests. Next time just let me know if you are in need of anything and I can get right on it. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see ya'all again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Arundel Garden Cottage

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

If you love golf, a visit to Pinehurst, NC is a must. If you love Pinehurst, a stay at Arundel Garden Cottage is a must. It is a giant step-back in time with antiquated features and this is not necessarily a bad thing. It reminded us of a cottage in England perhaps. From the cozy warmth of each individual room, to the many up-to- date amenities, to the English lace curtains to the golf clubs used as curtain rods, truly a home away from home. Hot tub, foosball table, horseshoes, every game you could ever want to play, jigsaw puzzles, at least a 42" flat screen TV, DVDs, books galore, great stereo system all add to the charm of this cottage. Within walking distance to historical Pinehurst and in a quiet, fancy-free, kick-your-feet-up neighborhood. Beautiful setting among herbal gardens and intriguing water fountains. Dugan's Restaurant was wonderful and a visit to Pinehurst #2 a must-see, especially if you're a Payne Stewart fan, as we all are. The Pinehurst Resort also takes you back in time as did the Arundel Garden Cottage. Thank you Susan. We enjoyed meeting you and enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girl's getaway spot

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

What a quaint location to have a friend's reunion. We appreciated Susan's willingness to accomodate our group and to give us helpful suggestions as to places to eat and things to do. We had plenty of space, the gardens were lovely and the kitchen great to have. Pinehurst is a lovely location for a weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Pam. We look forward to having you all back again! ~ Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

We spent Thanksgiving week 2009 with our family at the Arundel Cottage, It was perfect for our small group. I have been coming to Pinehurst for 25 years and my wife for 10 years but the balance of the group were new to Pinehurst. The cottage was a great setup for 3 couples and our grandaughter, very spacious inside and plenty of things to do outside for a 2 year old. The Raffs were nice enough to provide a swing for her. Access to the Village was a plus. Would recommend for a small group .
A very enjoyable week!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC Place...Highly Recommend this cottage!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

Charming, welcoming, and comfortable decor! Friendly, caring owners that are flexible and know Pinehurst from a local's perspective! Perfect stay place for my entire family. Everything we needed for a week''s stay, fully furnished kitchen, games, piano, card table, and TV/DVD and the hot tub was great after a long day. Forget the hotels, and try Arundel Garden Cottage!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Steve and Amy! We hope ya'all come back to visit! ~ David and Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Great golf, great weekend! Couldn't have timed it any better, WOW! And this house made it happen! Our first time and definately not our last! Comfortable and big enough for all of us! The hot tub was a great plus! And you can walk to the Pine Crest Inn! Of course, Susan and Dave are great, too! Thanks from all of us!

AJ and the Crew!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We spent Christmas week at Arundel with our children and grandchildren and had a wonderful time. Susan and Dave were very hospitable; even put up Christmas decorations and a little tree!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 19, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We cannot say enough great things about
our accommodations and the kindness of
Susan and her family. Our family
stayed at Arundel for several days in
preparation of sending our son to Iraq.
We were all extremely satisfied with
our stay and hope to be back next
December when he returns! Thanks again
for a wonderful vacation home.

Owners response: Thanks Cheryl and Jim! We look forward to seeing all of you again in a year!

Susan and David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This is our second home !! We have stayed 2 years running and will be returning for a third time. The cottage is perfectly situated in Pinehurst village and the extra touches of games and toys for the children make it a true home from home. There is nothing better than sitting in the hot tub watching the squirrels and birds in the beautiful gardens.

Owners response: Thank you so much! What a wonderful family and we can't wait to see you all again next summer! ~ Sincerely, Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 25, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our stay in paradise. your home easily housed 8 males in comfort, and our only complaint was we didnt have enough time to truly appreciate all pinehurst has to offer. you and your husband also went above and beyond to ensure we had all we needed. thx again, and we will return. peter iversen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 4, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

What a great place for a small group. This beat the socks off a tight condo or hotel room. We had 8 in our group (college buddies) and the reason we get together is to catch up and enjoy each other company. This house was perfect for that. A little golf was played in between all the fun we had while at the cottage. A great place with great host. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 27, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Great spot, great location! We had a blast and would love to return! Thanks so much!!! It was a perfect spot for an old group of friends attending a Pinehurst wedding!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

WE have stayed in Pinehurst at the Arundel Cottage for the last seven years. The kitchen, hot tub, proximity to the restaurants in the village make the cottage the perfect place to stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Our group of six switches between Pinehurst and Myrtle and have always stayed in hotel/condo. This is our first time renting a home and wish we had figured this out years ago. Arundel has been a great decision for the 6 of us. Even with poor weather conditions, being in Arundel made this trip one of the best we have been on. Perfectly located in the village and plenty of space for 6 unpredictable men. We have decided to return every year to Pinehurst and stay at Arundel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 7, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We're not golfers but we loved the beautiful village of Pinehurst and enjoyed our stay at Arundel Garden Cottage tremendously. David and Susan are great hosts - there if you need them, not there if you don't. Great location - within walking distance to the village and parks. Would highly recommend Arundel Garden Cottage for your stay in Pinehurst.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Great cottage, central location to many golf courses and close to the Pinehurst village. Very quiet and clean, would recommend to any and all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 19, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The house was spacious and clean. It was located in a great place to reach each of our destinations. The Raff's were wonderful to work with us during the holidays to make our stay marvelous! I highly recommend using there home away from home for you're stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Oct. 12 to 20, 2007
The cottage was greatfor our party of 8 golfers.I really liked the screened porch. It was great to relax there after a day of golf. Several guys enjoyed the hot tub. The cottage was large enough for 8 golfers. I look forward to using the cottage on our next golf trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 17, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Our small group of 4 have been coming to Pinehurst for the last 12 years and staying at Arundel cottage for the last 8 years.

The place is fantastic - comfortable, well located, the hot tub is very helpful after a long day of golf and the BBQ makes all makes for a perfect place to stay.

We will continue to come back as long as we are able to play golf.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 13, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Excellent accomodations for eight golfers! We enjoyed grilling on the back deck and found the cottage gave us plenty of room to eat together as well as relax in between rounds. I look forward to staying at Arundel Cottage in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 16, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We stayed in Arundel Cottage for 11 days and it was perfect in size and location and fit the description as advertised. Susan and David Raff are great hosts and have helpful info regarding the Pinehurst area. We comprised two couples and played golf and enjoyed the Pinehurst sites and dining experiences. The cottage is very clean and comfortable whether in the den, living room, front screened in porch or back yard patio. The Pinehurst Village is a short 4-5 block walk. The airport is a 10 - 15 minute drive. Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

I planned a trip to Pinehurst as a Father's Day present and staying in Arundel Cottage added so much to the trip. My dad and I were very comfortable and the cottage felt like home. After a long day of golf or getting out and about, it was great to be able to come back and relax in the hottub or curl up on the couch for a classic movie.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 18, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

My family and friends have been going to Pinhurst for the last 20 years, and about 8 years ago we found the "Arundal Cottage" on the internet and have been staying there ever since. It truly feels like home away from home. My family and I have spent Christmas and Thanksgiving there different years and always look forward to going back. We take a yearly golf trip to Pinehurst with 7 of my golfing friends, and it is always one of the best weeks of the entire year. We sit on the front porch in the evening and talk golf, we cook our own meals in the kitchen, enjoy a hot tub, it's the best. Susan and David really make us feel welcome. You would love it there! Sincerely, Glenn Schlehofer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 26, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Hi, four senior golfers from England stayed at Arundel Cottage last Oct0ober and had the time of our lives. Everything was great,even the vegetable garden was available for us, and we had great fun with the dog. Will certainly visit again. Can not recommend TOO highly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

No golf for us, but plenty of everything for our family. The kitchen was a joy to cook in. Everthing was clean and well supplied, from reading materials to indoor and outdoor games. We grilled on the patio, relaxed in the hot-tub and enjoyed the beautiful garden. We loved strolling the lovely neighboorhood and nearby shops. We biked to the nearby park and nature trails. It could not have been better. We'll return again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 11, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

A hidden gem in Pinehurst! An ideal place for a group of golfers with plenty of room and a central location. The hot tub is a nice addition, especially after a few rounds of golf. Thanks, we had a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 9, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Fabulous place for a bunch of guys who want to play golf. The cottage is very comfortable and is located within minutes of numerous golf courses and restaurants. I'll be back asap!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 10, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

The best kept secret in Pinehurst. Very clean, plenty of things to look at and read. This place is much bigger than it appears in pictures. We will be back!!!

Brian& the gang

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2003   Date of arrival: July 18, 2003

Compiled from our Cottage Guestbook since 1996

"Thanks! We enjoyed our stay and look forward to seeing you guys again. The cottage is absolutely what Pinehurst is all about! It takes you back!" Dave and Janet Rider 12/18/2000

"Thanks again! See ya next year maybe....twice!" Travis MacBride 7/8/2000

"This is a great place. A touch of holiday with the comfort of home. Your kindness has made it really easy to relax and have the time of our lives. Thanks for everything!" Derek and Vicki Pittman 3/20/2000

"Thanks you for the wonderful accommodations. We loved the cottage and your special touches (flowers, bread, magnolia bouquet). Hope to see you again next year." Annette and Mike Johnson 10/16/1999

"Good times....great golf!" Vassar Cycling Team 3/15/1999

"Great house. Perfect for a bunch of guys looking for a weekend golf retreat. We look forward to returning!" The JNI Contingent 6/8/97

"Thanks for being the light at the end of the holiday tunnel!" Mason Sumner 1/1/97

"A womderful, cozy, and inviting house - typical of Pinehurst. Best wished in your new venture!" Myrl and Al Moore 6/16/96

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review