reviews for: listing #52204 - Venice Beach, California Apartment rental

Quiet Garden Oasis - (Fewer Than) 99 Steps to the Sea!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $190 /nt
    $880 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,175 - $4,320 /mth

sort by:

Spectacular Location. Great price

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We had an amazing stay in this rental. We unexpectedly had to find 7 nights accommodation on our recent trip to LA from New Zealand. I was concerned that we would have to pay exorbitant amounts, especially as we were travelling with two children. Fear not! I was thrilled to find a place that could accommodate us for just over $100 a night! Linda was very helpful in allowing us to pick up the keys early and in dropping additional bedding over when we had been provided with the wrong sized sheets. The fold out bed that the kids slept on was big and a little bit hard but perfectly comfortable enough for them. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. We didn't use the wee courtyard outside much but it was really nice to have it. We had no trouble getting our good sized car into the wee parking space. It just took a little time and dedication! The shower had great pressure. The one sink in the place (no sink in the kitchen - the one glaring bummer) had a broken plug that had to be picked at with a knife and was very slow to drain which was irritating when teeth brushing, hand washing and dish washing all had to be done in the same place. Aside from that, an amazing location just steps away from the crazy goings on and white sand of Venice Beach. A lovely stroll along the boardwalk to Santa Monica and the pier. Close to the Pacific Coast Highway for a jaunt up the coast. An amazing location.
A couple more towels and a few more blankets would have been nice but, for a hundred bucks a night, I aint complainin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Better than a suite

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

What a nice place. It was everything we had hoped for. Close to the action in Venice Beach but quiet.

The storage was good (big walk in the bedroom). Shower pressure was great. The patio was as big as the whole apartment, we enjoyed the vegetation and the sun.

It was much better than a suite at the price of a hotel room.

Would go back tomorrow!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Overall Nice

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

Small and cozy once the heaters are on. Really only meant for 2 people. The bed in the bedroom is very comfortable, but the pull out couch not so much.

Wish there were a larger television in the Unit would have liked to stay in and watch a movie. Also wish we could have gotten fresh towels on a daily basis (had to go out and buy our own).

Other than that, VERY beautiful neighborhood, close to the beach. The parking is a HASSLE, and the parking spot would only fit a mini cooper/beetle/ or very small car. If you do have any thing larger, pay to park in one of the lots , (or you'll end up paying to get our car off the back of a truck!)

Great price and great place to stay when the weather on Venice is good.

Would recommend.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your suggestions -- we're always hoping to find new ways to make our guests more comfortable!

As a beach town, Venice has much lower temperatures and than the rest of LA, and lovely sea breezes, which is why we provide space heaters for the apartment. It does get cool at night, so we're glad the heaters did the trick :)

Unlike hotels, vacation rentals typically don't provide daily towel service. All our previous guests have found the towels provided -- a bath towel, hand towel, washcloth and a beach towel for each guest -- to be more than sufficient, especially for a 2-night stay like yours.

A high percentage of our guests are parties of more than 2 individuals, and 'til now we have never had a complaint about the sofabed. In fact, several guests have commented on how comfortable it is! But we'll check it out and see if a "spring has sprung."

As we remind guests via email when booking (and is noted in the Amenities section on the listing page) the available parking spot is for small cars only. That said, we have had mid-size cars, even SUVs, fit in the space. However, guests who disregard the "small-car" recommendation are often frustrated and find easier overnight street parking within 30 feet of the property. But if they ignore the posted parking regulation signs and leave their car parked past the stated time limit, they will get towed... as unfortunately happened in this case.

Thanks so much for the recommendation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very cozy and convenient

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We wished we could have spent more time in the cottage- we were in for a wedding in malibu- and spent only sleep hours and an hour or 2 there, but found it cozy, comfortable and quaint. would recommend.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location in Venice!

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

What a great place! My husband and I stayed at this comfortable apartment for an extended weekend. We loved the location and the wonderful, relaxing garden right outside our door. We even were able to reserve the parking spot in front of the property, which was very useful! Would love to stay here again!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful patio & garden

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The location to the beach was great; and not too far of a walk to Santa Monica. Very peaceful place!! My favorite was the french doors leading to the private patio and garden. The picture of the patio on this site does not do it justice! Very cozy and comfortable. The only thing missing was a sink in the kitchen.. Will definitely stay here again !!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review