reviews for: listing #52232 - Luray, Virginia House rental

Fern Bank Log Cabin, views, hot tub, secluded
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Shenandoah Woods
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $195 /nt
    $900 - $1,250 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing getaway

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Just spent a wonderful weekend at Fern Bank cabin in Luray. The cabin was just what we were looking for: clean, comfortable, plenty of amenities and very secluded. The cabin is surrounded by trees, with no other properties visible from the site, but still provides a gorgeous view of the mountains and valley below from the yard. We especially appreciated enjoying this view from the hot tub on the screened in porch. The house is tastefully decorated and includes a full kitchen, washer and dryer, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub, gas grill, fire pit and satellite tv. The wifi worked well, mostly. We were able to stream videos but it did cut out occasionally, which is understandable considering you're on top of a mountain! The kitchen included all the supplies you might need to make a meal, including condiments and some spices. The furniture and beds were very comfortable and linens were included. We enjoyed exploring the caverns and town of Luray, about a 20 minute drive from the property. Jason was very prompt at responding to emails and included all the information we might need. He was even kind enough to mail us some items we left behind! Overall we had a great stay and would recommend the cabin to anyone looking for a comfortable and relaxing getaway with a great view!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

this is a really wonderful little house

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

I recently spent two nights in Fern Bank Cabin with my husband and our two children, ages 9 and 6. It was a really wonderful experience overall. Working with the owners was easy, and since there hadn't been a rental the night before us, they allowed us to check in a few hours early, which we really appreciated. The cabin had exactly the right amount of space for our family, and it was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Everything we needed (kitchen gear, towels, information, directions) was available and easy to find. My kids loved playing checkers on the giant board on the back deck. The hot tub was clean and hot, and the view from it is really beautiful day and night. Best of all (for us), the cabin is totally private- we live in a crowded city neighborhood and the best vacations for us are being totally alone. We didn't build a fire in the fire pit but maybe on our next trip- we all hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing doesn't even begin to tell you

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

My hubby and I spent this past weekend at fern bank and it turned out to be our most romantic getaway in our 10 years of marriage. We have 3 kids and it was just what we needed to reconnect:). Peaceful and beautiful not to mention clean and luxurious. We were able to check in early and enjoyed a wonderful long weekend!

Thank you to JD for being so accommodating! We will be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome place

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This place was awesome. Just what we needed to get away with the family. Nice and very quiet. The view is wonderful and the sunset in the hot tub is even better. We woke up Tuesday morning and found a cute black berry wondering around in our back yard. He was cute because we were on the porch. Owners were great and really helped if we needed anything. We would definitely stay here again and the price was even better. Thanks Jason.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 22, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Absolutely gorgeous!! The cabin was spotless and very cozy. We had a wonderful relaxing weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub. Thank you, Mr. Cave, we had a great time - can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

A beautiful cabin with a beautiful view. It's new and very clean. We loved the remoteness and even got to see a few deer in the back yard. We were glad we brought the 4 wheel drive truck instead of my new car. Everything you can imagine is provided. The spices are in the cupboard and condidments in the frig. We loved being close to town to eat out and shop the antique stores. We bought all our food at Wal-Mart.
Be sure to check out the Hawksbill Diner but be prepared to wait for a table or make a new friend and share. It was a wonderful anniversary weekend.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend. Two words..."Absolutely Beautiful". Nestled away in the woods of Shenandoah, this cabin was just what we needed to get away from the everyday 9-5. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review