reviews for: listing #5226 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Deer Beach Lodge - Custom Log Home with 2 Master Bedrooms
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Waters
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $625 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,850 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Home and Perfect Spot!

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

What a beautiful home and fabulous spot! I am soooo picky, and my last experience way up the other end of the public side was very muddy! The water on the private side is much clearer! The home was everything you would expect, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The walk to the waterfront is much shorter than the pictures depict, and how pleasantly landscaped. We enjoyed the swimming in warm water during the cool October climate at the beach and off of the dock. We could not get the kids out of the water. The kids (including my husband) were beside themselves over the movie room! Unfortunately the bulb broke our first night but the house and the waterfront were so much fun the wining only lasted an hour or so. We are trying out some other spots on the public side again, but for someone who likes the public side this home is worth private side stays! Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. Joel and Sylvie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect from beginning to End!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Thank you to Joel and Syliva for opening up your home to our family. Our experience was perfect from beginning to end. We felt at home the moment we walked through the door.Nothing has been forgotten. The kitchen was great to cook in, the entertainment room was perfect for the children, all the games came in handy, the beds were perfectly comfortable with very spacious rooms.We were highly impressed by the attention to all the details of your home and how meticulous everything is. Including the Pottery barn quilts on the beds and the excellent taste in decor. The yard was perfect for all of our family fun, which included the beach and the dock. We made great memories as a family. Your home is in a perfect location quite and very private. We did spend sometime at the pool as well and that was lovely. We enjoyed Lake Anna Winery one afternoon and the guys spend most days fishing. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! We felt as if we knew your family and never even met one another. Looking forward to another return very soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect from beginning to End!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Thank you to Joel and Syliva for opening up your home to our family. Our experience was perfect from beginning to end. We felt at home the moment we walked through the door.Nothing has been forgotten. The kitchen was great to cook in, the entertainment room was perfect for the children, all the games came in handy, the beds were perfectly comfortable with very spacious rooms.We were highly impressed by the attention to all the details of your home and how meticulous everything is. Including the Pottery barn quilts on the beds and the excellent taste in decor. The yard was perfect for all of our family fun, which included the beach and the dock. We made great memories as a family. Your home is in a perfect location quite and very private. We did spend sometime at the pool as well and that was lovely. We enjoyed Lake Anna Winery one afternoon and the guys spend most days fishing. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! We felt as if we knew your family and never even met one another. Looking forward to another return very soon.

Owners response: We are so happy you made great memories at Deer Beach Lodge! We hope you come see us again for more family time at the lake. Joel and Sylvie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome, Relaxing Time!

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Deer Beach Lodge is amazing; we felt at home from the moment we walked in and saw the Moose over the fireplace.
The layout of the home is conducive to gathering, entertaining and privacy simultaneously. The 2 Master bedrooms (all bedrooms actually) are cosy and private and the kitchen is well apointed, perfectly labeled and everything has its place.
We enjoyed the large dock, wonderful views of the lake and canoeing, we also enjoyed the walks around the neighborhood and the various areas of the large yard.
We were all adults so we enjoyed the tranquility but I am certain that this house would be wonderful for families with children also. We plan on returning soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Wonderful Place to Stay!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

This lake house is wonderful inside and out! The rooms are furnished so nicely. It has all the amenities that you could want including a home theater room. We enjoyed the lake view and it was easy to walk to and from the house on the gently sloping pathway. I hope that we can get back soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Our family has gathered at Deer Beach Lodge for five consecutive years and plan to do so again in 2013. The property has everything we are looking for, including a wonderful water-front area with beach, home theater, well supplied kitchen and large dining and living room areas. The community is very nice and offers a great area for walks or bike-riding. It is easily the most anticipated week for our family every year because everyone can relax together and do their own thing. We are already looking forward to our return trip.

Owners response: We are so happy that your family enjoys spending its summer vacations at Deer Beach Lodge. It warms our heart to know our home means so much to your family.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Place Ever!!!

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We have rented several homes for family vacation in the last couple years and this is BY FAR the best we have ever had. It was so clean and organized. The house just feels like a home as soon as you walk in. The weekend on the lake was busy but the rest of the week it felt like we almost had it to ourselves. We spent the majority of the time down at the boat house, fishing swimming, sunning and just relaxing.

We lucked out and had beautiful weather. The kids loved the theater room. The whole family had a wonderful time and we felt like crying when we left. We definitely decided that this is where we want to go back to!!

Thank you Joel and Sylvie for opening your home and making it a real vacation!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Memories Made

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Beautiful house, beautiful weather, a great time had by all! Wonderful memories made. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have Thought of Everything

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This home is beautiful!! You have thought of everything for a wonderful vacation. We enjoyed the beach, water, boating and all the sun. The movies and games were also great for a day out fo the sun. What a great week, we can't wait to return. Thank you so so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

45 Year Anniversary

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Our grandchildren had a wonderful time fishing in the lake and swimming at the pool. The movie theater was also a big hit. We all enjoyed family game nigthts, and your lovely home exceeded our expectations. We liked the quiet surroundings and privacy and hope to be able to return to Deer Beach Lodge again soon. Great Week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the fun family reunion!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

It was wonderful having our families from Maryland, Missouri, Minnesota, and Indiana get together for spome Virginia fun. The beach and boating were awesome. Comfy beds and wonderful decore!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Week!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our girls and boys loved: jumping off the dock, catching fish, watching movies in the amazing theater, kayaking and swimming in the lake. Took a great day trip to Monticello and stopped at a few local wineries (for the moms and dads) were lots of fun too! THank you for an absolutely LOVELY week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll Be Back!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time and plan to return soon. thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Timers

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our family's first trip to Lake Anna - beautifil home, great weather, amazing views, enjoyable fishing and swimming. We had an incredible time and made great memories. Hoping to enjoy another fun-filled vacation next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd Time at Deer Beach Lodge!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This is our 2nd family vacation here at your beautiful home. Once again, we had a wonderful time! our now 4 year old grandson remembered everything from last year and said this is the best place! Our new almost 1year old grandson wanted to be outside all the time! We loved the beach, water, boating and family dinners on the deck. This peaceful spot is a wonderful family bonding vacation place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas as the Lake

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

Being originally from NYS Finger Lakes this setting could not have been more ideal for our family. An OUTSTANDING Christmas home and thank you for the extra special touches!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall at the Lake

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Wonderful vacation! Beautiful home - fantastic beach - fun theater. THANKS!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like home away from home

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Had a great time. Kids loved fishing off the dock and playing on the beach. Had a great time! Felt like home away from home. We had a tremendous time together and a splendid vacation. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time - Except for Irene

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Wonderful vacation - thank you so much for everything. Leaving a day early due to Hurricane Irene :-( Except for that - everything was A-ONE! See you again. Thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a GREAT time

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Had a great time! Perfect Week. Thank you so much for everything. We hope to be back next year! See you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

A wonderful family vacation! The sandy beach was perfect for the 4 and 2 year olds. There was something great for all of us. Hope to come again and again. Thank you!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 4th YEAR at DBL!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This is our 4th year vacationing here at Deer Beach Lodge. It is a wonderful place for a family reunion. Every year is wonderful and every year is different. We love this place...Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to come back next year

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you for opening up your beautiful home to us. We really enjoyed the lake and beach area and the kids loved the theater room! We hope to come back again. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Exciting Year for BMW

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We love to come and are excited for another great year of boating, swimming, skiing, and tubing. We love this house! BMW Group

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd Year Back

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This is our 3rd year renting this house and we enjoyed ourselves very much once again this year. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved canoeing

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Our families converged from Dillsburg, PA, Charlotte, NC, and Columbus, GA, and enjoyed a wonderful week together here at the lake. From swimming, to hiking, to watching movies. We had a great time! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much for sharing!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The house is beautiful, we loved the organization, the pictures, the lake, the beach, and of course the theater room. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful home with our family!!! :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just like the Adirondacks

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Your home reminds me so much of my home in the Adirondacks. It was a wonderful place for our family to meet, we really enjoyed the beach, the lake, and evenings in the movie theater. We had a wonderful time. Thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grandson had a BLAST!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

You have a beautiful home! Thank you for sharing your peaceful spot here on Lake Anna. It was our first family vacation with our 3 year old grandson and he had a blast! So did the rest of us!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving 2010

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Awesome! Thanksgiving at an amazing house! We loved it and don't want to leave. Would love to come in the summer time to enjoy the water!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the Movie Theater

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Our vacation was great thanks to a perfectly stocked home. Everyone had plenty to do - especially the kids. The beach and the movie theater were favorites of all! Wreat time!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Summer Vacation 2010

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Our family vacation was great! We loved the beach area for all ages. Your home was the perfect set up with all families coming from various states. We really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2010 Getaway

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Absolutely a Great Vacation - my children came in from CA, NC, DC, and KY. This trip will be hard to beat. Thank you for opening up your beautiful home! With Appreciation, The Murphy Group.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hyer Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This is our 3rd family/friend vacation here at Deer Beach Lodge. We just love it here. It is the perfect vacation for our families...relaxing, beautiful and spacious. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"BMW" Annual Summer Week

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This was our 10th Anniversary of "BMW" Lake Week and we are back at Deer Beach Lodge - it was wonderful. We are so greateful you rent your beautiful home - we absolutely love it. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

We escaped from our families for a few short days and lounged in our PJs and had some wonderful extended girl time. Beautiful home - we don't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall at the Lake

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Wonderful vacation! Beautiful home - fantastic beach - fun theater. THANKS!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like home away from home

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Had a great time, kids loved fishing off dock and playing on the beach. Had a great time! Felt like home away from home. We had a tremendous time together and a splendid vacation. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time - Except for Irene

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Wonderful vacation - thank you so much for everything. Leaving a day early due to Hurricane Irene :-( Except for that - everything was A-ONE! See you again. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a GREAT time

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Had a great time! Perfect Week. Thank you so much for everything. We hope to be back next year! See you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful family vacation.

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

A wonderful family vacation! The sandy beach was perfect for the 4 and 2 year olds. There was something great for all of us. Hope to come again and again. Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 4th YEAR at BDL (Hyers)

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This is our 4th year vacationing here at Deer Beach Lodge. It is a wonderful place for a family reunion. Every year is wonderful and every year is different. Love this place...Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to come back next summer

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Thank you for opening up your beautiful home to us. We really enjoyed the lake and beach area and the kids loved the theater room! We hope to come back again. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another exciting year for BMW!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We love to come and are excited for another great year of baoting, swimning, skiing and tubing. We love this house. BMW Group

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd Year Back

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This is our 3rd year renting this house and we enjoyed ourselves very much once again this year. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved canoeing

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Our families converged from Dillsburg, PA, Charlotte, NC, and Columbus, GA and enjoyed a wonderful week together here at the lake. From swimming, to canoeing, to hiking, to watching movies. We had a great time! Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much for sharing!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The house is beautiful, we loved the organization, the pictures, the lake, the beach, and of course the theater room. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful home with our family !!!! :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just like the Adirondacks

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Your home reminds me so much of my home in the Adirondacks. It was a wonderful place for our family to meet, we really enjoyed the beach, lake, and evenings in the movie theater. We had a wdonerful time. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Grandson had a BLAST!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

You have a beautiful home! Thank you for sharing your peaceful spot here on Lake Anna. It was our first family vacation with our 3 year old grandson and he had a blast! So did the rest of us!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving 2010

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Awesome Thanksgiving at an amazing house! We loved it and don't want to leave! Would love to come in the summer time to enjoy the water!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the Movie Theater

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Our vacation was great thanks to a perfectly stocked home. Everyone had plenty to do - especially the kids. The beach and the movie theater were favorites of all! We all had a great time!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Summer Vacation 2010

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Our family vacation was great. We loved the beach area for all ages. Your home was the perfect set up with all families coming from various states. We really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer 2010 Getaway

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Absolutely a Great Vacation - my children came in from CA, NC, DC, and KY. This trip will be hard to beat. Thank you for opening up your beautiful home! With Appreciation, The Murphy Group.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hyer Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This is our 3rd family/friend vacation here at Deer Beach Lodge. We just love it here. It is the perfect vacation for our families...relaxing, beautiful and spacious. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"BMW" Annual Summer Week

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This was our 10th Anniversary of "BMW" Lake Week and we are back at Deer Beach Lodge - it was wonderful. we are so grateful you rent your beautiful home - we absolutely love it. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

We escaped from our families for a few short days and lounged in our PJs and had some wonderful extended girl time. Beautiful home - we don't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Deer Beach Lodge! The house and property are beautiful and look just like the pictures.

Kids loved the private beach for swimming and making sand castles!

We'd definitely go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

We had a great reunion with 3 generations. The house is beautiful, just as the pictures show, and has everything you could want. It is especially good for youngsters as the deck has no stairs to worry about and plenty of space inside to play. The beach is perfect with a walkout sandy area and also a dock for boats and jumping off. Needless to say, we loved the "warm" side! Theater got good use on the rainy day.
Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you stay as a guest of our home again soon.

Sylvie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heavenly Vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2008   Date of arrival: September 27, 2008

My family and I stayed there 9/27/08 to 10/4/08 and it was the most enjoyable vacation we have ever had. The scenery is beautiful. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The cabin is out of this world.....georgeous!!!! We want to go back there maybe next year. We really were extremely impressed. I just can not say enough about it. I am not used to that kind of luxury, so it was very special to me and my family. The owners were very helpful and pleasant to work with. Over all a wonderful vacation!!! I truly did not want to leave. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review