reviews for: listing #52298 - Portland, Maine House rental

Quaint Maine Farmhouse
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $850 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Excellent country getaway

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

This farmhouse was an excellent place to stay while visiting Maine. While close to Portland, it was also a nice getaway from the business of city life. To have four bedrooms at this rental price is an excellent value, not to mention the living room, dining room, laundry, and fully stocked kitchen. The hosts were fantastic and very accommodating. I would recommend this vacation rental to anyone visiting the Portland area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Charming Farmhouse is Waiting for You!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Spending a week at Bonnie and Greg’s farmhouse in Gorham will be one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations you’ll ever take! The farmhouse possesses a beautiful charm, and as you cross the threshold, it truly feels like you are stepping back in time but with a few modern conveniences, of course (microwave, washer/dryer, BBQ, etc.)! The house is spacious with plenty of rooms to spread out in and explore. The kitchen has all you could need for cooking, plus some of the basics like oil, salt, pepper, etc. Our favorite spot was the porch swing. We spent every evening swinging and enjoying life at a slower pace. The property itself is lush and well maintained, and we enjoyed spending a lot of time outside with our daughter. We enjoyed strolling the grounds, swinging on the tree swing, and visiting with the resident chickens and goats. The location is great. Though you feel like you are in the country, the local grocery stores and restaurants are less than 10 minutes away, and you are roughly 20 minutes inland from downtown Portland. Bonnie and Greg are hands down amazing hosts! When asked, they had wonderful suggestions for places to eat and explore both locally in Gorham or further away. We especially enjoyed their suggestion to visit the antique shops in the little town of Cornish and had a delicious lunch overlooking the stream at a restaurant called Krista's. They are such kindhearted people, and we enjoyed meeting and chatting with them. We were truly in tears when we had to leave this beautiful farmhouse in Maine! We will definitely be going back someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Spot

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending four nights at Harrison House recently. I shared the space with some friends while we were in Maine for a wedding. It gave a great central location for our many activities - from shopping in Portland and Freeport, to the wedding in Falmouth and a beach day in Cape Elizabeth - we weren't more than 15 or 20 minutes from anything, and in most cases, only about 10. The house itself is darling, with comfortable beds (of which we all had our own - a great plus having your own space to escape to), a well-equipped kitchen (all the pans/plates/silverware/cups/etc. we could need), laundry facilities, and plenty of space to spread out and explore.

Our hosts, Greg and Bonnie, were so kind and accomodating, never intruding yet being there if we needed them. It was a pleasure to meet them. You'd be crazy not to stay here if you're in the area for a week - it's the perfect spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Spot

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending four nights at Harrison House recently. I shared the space with some friends while we were in Maine for a wedding. It gave a great central location for our many activities - from shopping in Portland and Freeport, to the wedding in Falmouth and a beach day in Cape Elizabeth - we weren't more than 15 or 20 minutes from anything, and in most cases, only about 10. The house itself is darling, with comfortable beds (of which we all had our own - a great plus having your own space to escape to), a well-equipped kitchen (all the pans/plates/silverware/cups/etc. we could need), laundry facilities, and plenty of space to spread out and explore.

Our hosts, Greg and Bonnie, were so kind and accomodating, never intruding yet being there if we needed them. It was a pleasure to meet them. You'd be crazy not to stay here if you're in the area for a week - it's the perfect spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful, charming farmhouse

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We stayed at the Harrison House while in Maine for a wedding. The house is so beautiful and well maintained and the grounds (and swing) provided a great place for our daughters to play. This property had all the amenities of home and we can't stay enough good things about it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorham, ME

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Charming. Comfortable. Beautiful. Easy access to Portland. Freindly, helpful hosts. They had Wifi, limited cable channels. Small tv. May be problematic with teens and kids.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 high school girlfriends from nebraska. Class of 1976

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

This place was fantastic! Greg and Bonnie were so helpful. Any questions we had, any places we wanted to see, they were right there with the information. We had a wonderful time. The old farmhouse is very cozy and inviting! Greg came over and threw in some logs and lit the wood stove for us one chilly night. We sat around in the kitchen playing games, drinking wine and visiting. Plenty of room for families, and kids would love to wake up and watch Greg feed the goats and chicken. I did!! Swing on the porch was fun, or the tree swing. The property is gorgeous with hydrangea trees and lots of greenery. Close to Portland, easy to get to, lots to see and do nearby, and we took many day trips to see the lighthouse at Cape Elizabeth, drove to Kennebunkport, Old Orchard Beach and pier, L.L. Bean in Freeport, ate lobster every single day. Old Port is great shopping and so many places to eat. We just had a great experience and great time, it even rained our first 2 days there. Just found indoor things to do those 2 days.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We LOVE This House!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

Yes, this property is an unclaimed gem in the haystack. Harrison House, is simply the best family vacation rental in this part of Maine. We had everything needed in the kitchen to make fabulous meals and when we didn't feel like cooking-- a good restaurant less than a mile away. We had chickens and goats to play with and lots of snow. Harrison house has been carefully and authentically restored to perfection right down to the large comfortable soaking tub in the main floor bath. There are way too many details I could rave about in this review, I'll just say you won't be disappointed. The owners are SO NICE. Coming from Minnesota, I know nice and they meet and exceed all my "nice" criteria. The house is very old and quaint, charming creaky stairs and a wood stove in the kitchen (we have never used) Cleverly crafted details hide a few modern vices like fast internet. Something that my teens can't seem to live without...Cable TV-yes indeed. I recommend this place highly. We have stayed at the Harrison House 3 times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Maine Farmhouse Weekend

Review submitted: December 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the farmhouse the beginning of November, 2010, and enjoyed it very much. It's beautiful and is a perfect place to stay anytime of the year. For us, it was a girls getaway weekend to shop and sightsee in nearby Portland and Freeport, but we found the farmhouse to be so comfortable, mornings were spent enjoyably lingering over breakfast, instead of rushing out the door. Each of us, four in all, had our own room--one with a revolving bookcase!--so there was space to spread out. The country kitchen has a woodstove that the owner fired up for us one evening. It was toasty warm and added to the quaint charm of the farmhouse. The owners are nice people and they have two cute goats and two chickens that as an animal lover I truly enjoyed observing. There is not only a porch swing, but a tree swing in the front yard that I had to try out. The farmhouse is also a great place for families or a romantic getaway. The owners have thought of everything, so just bring your clothes, toiletries and groceries and prepare to mellow out!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Girls Getaway

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

Had a great time at the farm house. Bonnie and Greg were great hosts! The house was warm and cozy like a visit to Grandma's house with all the extras you could possibly want. Perfect location to everything and a quiet place to return to. Thanks for a great time - Gail

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Gail!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Amazing Experience

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

i stayed with my parents and husband plus 2yr old daughter end of oct 2010. its a beautiful house,clean and well maintained.. quite and rustic.. the hosts are most friendly and helpful. i would recommend this stay for anyone looking for a break from the city life.. relax and recharge here..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Nasi. It was so nice having you stay with us. Come back and see us sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Goats and chickens and bees OH MY!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

That only begins the list of wonderful "extras" that you'll find at Bonnie and Greg's place. Everything met our expectations, then some.The property was clean, very comfortable and the decor--outstanding. They have outdone themselves with a truly unique place.The location was perfect as suggested in the listing because you could get to countless attractions,towns,beaches and hide aways as quickly as 15 minutes and at a maximum of 60. While we visited many, our favorite beach was Popham ( 55 minutes north) . We also visited countless sights... lighthouses, the outlets in Freeport (25 minutes)and biked on Peaks Island. Our favorite "touristy" excursion proved to be the 'Lucky Catch Lobster cruise' in Portland.You get to work the traps, bait them and wear those rubbery orange overalls. It was a real hoot! And Portland...what a place, too many good things to list. As far as the property goes, I would recommend it in a heartbeat. Greg and Bonnie are a kind hearted couple and unbelievably talented in so many ways. In conjuction with the inviting home they open, they set a true example of folks living life to the fullest and on their own terms. The overall tone that they set makes it impossible not to relax in their little piece of heaven.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

JUNE 9TH - 13TH, 2010

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

Very good accommodation just as presented in photos and description. Quiet location, farmhouse setting, farmhouse feeling. Good beds and bedding. Everything we needed to reunite with Aussie friends.. with space to set up the laptops, watch rugby, and lash out on wine and lobster in front of the woodstove in the cozy kitchen one chilly evening. A boon having a washer and dryer for travellers. Easy access north and south, and to Portland. Bathrooms just fine.. but only one standup shower in the tiny upstairs bathroom. We were happy using the handheld shower in the downstairs tub. Bonnie and Greg are excellent hosts that look after your every need....... even providing fresh eggs, rhubarb, honey, and set the fire for you too! Great for travellers who enjoy a country setting. Excellent value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Harrison House. The house is beautiful with many interesting details - and just about anything you can think of is provided (except food of course!). Bonnie and Greg are wonderful hosts and make you feel right at home. The location is quite convenient to so many sights. Our kids loved the house and we did too!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

We stayed at the Harrison House Last weekend and
had a GREAT time. The kitchen was very well
stocked--we made Gumbo and chocolate cake. Our
hosts, Bonnie and Greg were the best hosts and
made us feel right at home. We will be back! The
house is SO HOMEY AND COMFORTABLE. The claw
bath tub made for long soaks felt wonderful. It was
quiet. We saw a flock of wild turkeys one morning. I
highly recommend The Harrison House.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

We stayed at the Farmhouse this past summer. Our son is 2 so we needed a place that he could spread out and a hotel would not do. We have never rented a vacation home before and found Bonnie and Greg to be terrific. Our son loved the animals. The house was great and now that I know that they have everything you could need, i will pack much lighter next time. We will be back again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 5, 2009   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

My husband and I prefer to stay in vacation rentals when we travel, so we have experienced several over the past few years. The Harrison House is far and away the best vacation rental we have stayed at, and one we would be glad to stay in again and again. Bonnie and Greg have carefully restored this antique farmhouse, adding special touches that show their love for the home. They have also made it a cozy, comfortable, and attractive place to spend time with pleasing interior design. The grounds are quiet and beautifully maintained. Most importantly, Greg and Bonnie are warm and thoughtful hosts who go out of their way to welcome their guests and make them feel at home. They have included many “extras” that show their consideration for their guests, from beach gear to children’s toys and games. We have relatives in Maine and are so happy to have found a place to stay that is close by, and where we enjoy spending time as much as we do our own home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

The hospitality offered by Bonnie and Greg in their heritage farmhouse was warm and welcoming. The house itself is beautifully redone and has a real cozy feel to it. Being from the west coast, it was a real treat to experience a bit of Maine history. The house is close enough to Portland that we were able to drive in most days and visit relatives. And the setting is quiet and quaint with the cutest farm animals! Bonnie and Greg extended a very warm welcome to us and it was their hospitality that made us feel 'at home' while we were visiting Maine.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 24, 2009

This farmhouse is spotless and charming. The beds are more comfortable than my own, and everything is provided from towels to a basket for the beach. They even have a grill and a huge picnic table for cookouts. It was awesome to be able to do laundry there so we could pack light and not come back with everything dirty. The house is within driving distance to everything we wanted to see and only minutes from the Portland airport.

As for Bonnie and Greg, they are the best! I was uncertain about staying with people I didn't know, but they instantly make you feel like family. They were wonderful with our 2 little girls (4 and 5 at the time). They know the inside scoop on the best places to visit and even took us on a hike in the mountains. They go above and beyond! And don't forget to take some extra money for some professional photos b/c Bonnie is awesome at what she does!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Dania and I needed a break away from the hustle and bustle of Northern NJ and decided to give Maine (more spefically Bonnie and Greg's spectacular farmhouse) a try. We had a fantastic time! They were very helpful, kind, caring. Some of the best hosts we've come across. The farmhouse is such an inspiring and comfortable place to stay. We'll be back. Definitely. (Greg work on that banjo!)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Five of us came up to the Portland area
to run the Portland Half Marathon -- the
owners of this beautiful farmhouse were
very accommodating of our short-term
rental and were very welcoming in
general.

The farmhouse was beautiful and
spotless. The beds were very
comfortable. We had a great time
relaxing, cooking, and hanging out
before our big event.

I would highly recommend this beautiful
vacation rental!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review