reviews for: listing #52309 - Lahaina, Hawaii Townhome rental

Elegant Upscale 3 bedroom Oceanfront in Resort in Lahaina
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Maui
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $595 - $595 /nt
    $4,200 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Location!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

This was our first trip to Hawaii - 2 kids ages 4 and 5 and three adults. It was really specious, clean, convenient with all the supplies you need to have a great time (fully stocked kitchen, beach towels, some beach toys, chairs etc.). The beach is literally 5 steps from the porch, kid friendly neighborhood and really close to downtown. Karen, the owner, was great communicator - gave clear instructions and responded promptly to all of our inquiries. I'm so glad we stayed there instead of crowded hotel! Highly recommend this property and hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found...a must Visit.

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

What a wonderful stay we had at this oceanfront condo. About 20 feet to the ocean sands of Au Au bay, (also know as the bathtub). We rented stand up paddle boards and kept them all week. Every morning we would head out to paddle with the whales, Au Au bay is their favorite spot. Shared the 3 bedroom property with 2 other couples, it was perfect with each couple having their own bathroom. The house was very neat and clean with plenty of amenities, we didn't miss anything, we even kept up with our favorite basketball team on the satelite big screen. Didn't watch much TV just the two ball games, we were always paddling, snorkeling or surfing. What a find, planning to return in 2015.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

This place was actually better than advertised. A little noisy in the front of the house (right off the main highway) but the backside of the house was filled with the sound of the ocean that was literally steps away. Beautifully decorated and very accommodating for our group. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Puamana Gem!

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

This was our third stay in Puamana. The condo was great. It met all our expectations and more. The description and pictures represent it well. It was very clean, the kitchen well stocked. There was a generous supply of good quality linens and towels. We enjoyed the gas bbq. Pride of ownership was apparent in the details. The owners were very helpful, responding quickly to any questions we had.
Our Puamana experience included watching whales and sea turtles while sitting on the lanai, strolling the beautiful grounds, swimming in the salt water pool, walking into Lahaina for gelato at Ono Gelato or happy hour at Captain Jack's. There are several excellent restaurants in Lahaina.
The beach is rocky, I recommend bringing beach shoes. It was fun to watch cruise ships and boats come and go, people sea kayaking and surfing.
Puamana is a very relaxing, serene, quiet location. This condo is located closer to the highway than others on the property but we weren't bothered by highway noise at all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in Paradise!

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

A spectacular oceanfront townhouse...and I mean oceanfront...the lanai is 20 feet from the waves. Decorated in Hawaiian classic, this is one beautiful home. Clean, elegant, and extremely well-equipped, from cooking tools to crystal wine glasses, our home felt like home! For anyone who hasn't experienced Puamana, you don't know what you're missing. And for those of you who know and love it, this unit is outstanding, and located at the south end of the property...we love it! 6 adults lived comfortably here for two weeks, enjoying the spectacular Maui sunsets under the cooling breeze from the ceiling fan on the lanai, and ocean breezes all evening on the oceanfront deck off the master bedroom. Aloha...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible view - like having a private villa

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

We just came back from a lovely stay at this gorgeous home. I highly recommend it to any groups of friends as it was very spacious and private whilst still being in a great, secure location.

The sea was directly outside our door and all the facilities you need were available onsite.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OMG! Amazing

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

First day and it is even more amazing then then pictures can portray!! This place is beautiful inside, the decor is very homey and you feel like you are waking up at home. Can't wait for the next 8 days! Thanks Karen

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Excellent Property

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

This is a great gated community that simply put, removes the feeling that your in a resort area. If your into paddle boarding or surfing this is an ideal location. Be sure to wear foot protection. Sea Urchin's are plentiful and painful if the quils get into your skin. Definitely returning and likely will never stay anywhere else.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family get together

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Our family stayed in this house for a get together,as we all live in different counties now.There were 8 of us but we were very comfortable in the house.The kitchen was very well set up, the bedrooms, lounge room and laundry were as well. The back of the house faces the ocean. There was a beautiful view to look at each day and hearing the sea each night was a treat. Having the ocean so close we decided to rent a stand up paddle board and some boogie boards. We only had to cross the grass and step down to the sea and then ride the waves.There was a sandy beach a few steps away for the boogie board riding but the stand up board could be ridden out the front of the house.
We often walked to Lahaina and it was a good option for those who did not drive.There was a cheap taxi ride if you didn't want to walk back.
The occasional road noise was the only thing that stopped me from putting the overall mark as excellent,however the view made up for it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

another perfect getaway!

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

Awesome, again! We had previously stayed at this condo 2 years ago, with our kids. When we decided to come back to Maui, we had to come back to Puamana. The area is a sedate, gated community, so traffic is non-existent and quiet. Proximity to Front Street Lahaina couldn't be easier, either by car or foot. The condo is amazing and the photos do not do it justice. It is hard to imagine how close to the waves you are unless you see it. Morning coffee watching whales, afternoons watching paddle surfers. All amenities are first rate. As before, the owners couldn't have been easier to work with. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

An unforgettable trip!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

A family first - my sisters (and significant others) and my 71 year old dad decided to take a vacation together. 6 adults in total (2 couples, 2 singles). Wanting it to be perfect and spacious, we chose this property and we were so very happy we did. The unit itself is great - unbelievably close to the ocean we enjoyed our morning coffees with a beautiful backdrop of waves, surfers, paddle boarders and many whales. And the same beautiful routine every evening for happy hour watching the sunset. We are a varied group, so being in Lahaina gave everyone options on what to do every day. After touring around the island for the week, we all agreed it was the best location for the group (over staying in the stretches of resorts).

The property is even better than the pictures look. And Karen is a wonderful owner - always very prompt and patient in answering our questions. For me, the highlight was the quiet pool that is practically in the ocean. I'm not a big beach person, but you get the best of both worlds with this set up. The view is stunning.

It definitely felt more like staying in a friend's lovely home than a rental property. Thanks again to Karen for the hospitality! We will be talking about this trip for a long time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Christmas 2012

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We stayed here Christmas week 2012. This unit provided a carport parking space and we had no problem finding open space parking nearby for a second car. The unit was in very good condition with the first floor having an open kitchen that flows into family room/front room area with a table and large corner couch and chairs. There is also a half bathroom off the kitchen area as well as a stackable washer/dryer unit. While we didn’t watch much TV it did have access to HD stations. The second floor has a nice master bedroom with its own bathroom and then a second bedroom that has access to 2nd bathroom just outside the door. The third floor is a loft with a regular double bed. Believe the family room couch folds out into a convertible bed which we did not use.
The best part is the outdoor patio with a table for at least 6 where one can spend most the time and eat all meals. The master bedroom also had a nice porch with chairs and a table which one could read or enjoy the view. From the patio one looks out over 20 feet of green grass, nicely spaced palm trees about a 5 foot drop to the ocean and there was constant breaking surf (mostly small) that provided a great sound. Through the palm trees the island Lanai was is constant view.
The best beach use and surfing place was a grassy walk of about 200 yards toward the clubhouse area where there was easy access to the beach and one could stop there or walk another 100 yards stopping anywhere (we found that in front of the unit the water was very shallow). Where the waves broke the best (small but good ride on the boogie boards) the water was the waist to chest high but the bottom was rocks and coral. We found that buying coral or water shoes (Walgreens for $11 to $12 or the surf shops for $15) was a very good investment.
One concern could be that the unit backs up to the main highway. However when out on the patio, porch or in the unit the noise of the surf was all you could hear. At night we used the good A/C unit in 2nd bedroom which had the same effect.
All in all, the entire unit and our week stay were better than we imagined and I highly recommend a stay there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary group

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation in Lahaina and renting this townhome was the icing on the cake. It was exactly as described in the listing. It was furnished beautifully and was clean and well-maintained. When we contacted the owner regarding questions before we arrived in Maui, they were extremely helpful and their final instructions on entering the property and how to operate everything related to the townhouse was great. It was heaven hearing the ocean from the townhouse every morning!
The townhouse is located very close to Lahina and the shopping district. We had rented cars so we drove to most of the activities we scheduled but a walk to Lahina would have been very easy. We shopped in Lahina and took off on submarine and sailboat excursions right from the town. Everything you need is close by and many activities are avaliable in Lahina or nearby.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Group

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We were a mixed group (2 couples and 3 singles) and it worked out great. Everyone had there own space and bathrooms! The ocean is right off the Lanai and you can even surf right there too! Clean and spacious and a great kitchen. You can hear the cars on the highway at the back of the house, but nothing at the front.... just the waves!
The complex is good too, tennis courts and 3 pools..... everything is also very secure!
The owners were very helpful and accommodating and responded to emails very promptly.
I would definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST VACATION IN AGES!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

We arrived to the condo, opened the front door and were absolutely blown away by the beautiful scenery awaiting us! The photos of this condo don't do it justice. We are a family of 6 - parents with 3 college age children and a preteen. We came for a much needed getaway as a family - to bond and to relax. We had many tour type excursions planned and ended up only doing two - horseback riding and ziplining. The kids decided they wanted to hang out at the condo, boogie board the surf, swim and visit local Kaanapali beaches to snorkle. It was the most relaxing vacation any of us has had. Waking up to the spectacular view of the ocean & waves from the masterbedroom glass door, reading and napping on the oceanfront lanai, cooking in the completely upgraded and beautiful kitchen, sitting together on the cozy sofa, watching movies together on the huge flatscreen tv......ALL OF IT....The owners of the condo were extremely friendly and accommodating. As a family, we have agreed that we will now make THIS condo our new home in Maui away from home. We are trying to plan for two to three weeks for next summer (instead of our 10 days this year). It is THAT good here. We truly believe that the main reason our vacation was so restful, peaceful and enjoyable was because of the amazing accomodations and location. It is out of the touristy areas and you feel secluded and private...although all you have to do is jump in the car and drive a few minutes to downtown Lahaina for great restaurants. Don't think twice if you are thinking about renting this place. THIS is the best place you will find. We won't ever look anywhere else. Thank you so much for the best family vacation in years!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Aloha Memories and Views

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful, well-equipped, and very nicely decorated home. My wife was amazed that the unit was not like a typical rental condo. It was like staying in the home of a close friend or relative, with every convenience and amenity available. The grounds are great and very-well maintained. We sat out on the patio and backyard-- overlooking the ocean-- for sunsets each evening. What a great view! The gated community of Puamana is first class and the pools, clubhouse and other facilities are very, very nice.

Everything depicted in the listing photos are accurate and reflect the quality of this unit. Everything in the home is very nice, clean, and well-maintained. The owner was very responsive and helpful in giving us all the info we needed upon our arrival. The handbook in the unit is very useful and contains many helpful suggestions and recommendations for restaurants and activiites. We really loved the new Lahaina restaurant on the water, called Honu. The pool by the ocean was very nice. The Asian seafood restaurant in Lahaina, Star Noodle was outstanding. Be careful as Big Beach-- if you go-- it's actually quite a way-- south of Makena Beach. Unexpected very large waves can appear out of no where. The Pride of Maui snorkeling excursion to Molokini was very good and highly recommended. We would strongly recommend this unit (and Puamana in general) to anyone wanting to have a home (and community) like experience-- with quite and safe surroundings. Aloha and Mahalo to our host!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful view

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

We were told by a friend to stay in Puamana for our Maui holiday and we were not disappointed. Puamana is a beautifully kept oceanfront property that was a joy to be at. Our daughter was nearly one year old at the time and she had so much fun learning to walk around the property and swimming in the pool. The home is nice and spacious with a fantastically equipped kitchen (although the ice maker was broken). The huge glass doors opening to the lanai with the ocean just steps away was definitely the best part of this home. The master suite was nice with the balcony overlooking the ocean, but the other bedroom was not the best as it is on the other side of the house that faces the highway which is basically about 20 feet from the front door. The loft is a nice space, but again it faces the highway as well. The beds and the linens were nice, and the decor a predictable island feel (palm trees and pineapples!). There was a fairly new table and chair set on the lanai which was nice, but the other patio furniture was broken and rusty and quite frankly unacceptable for a property in this price range. But overall we were really happy there- I just wish that I had known how close it was to the noisy highway (all of Puamana is near the highway but there are many units that are much farther away from it where you would most likely never hear it).
We would absolutely stay in Puamana again without a doubt.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maintaining a property so close to the ocean takes much abuse from nature and the elements. We personally visit the property every 3-4 months not only to enjoy our home but to take care of deferred maintenance, make repairs, and replace things that need to be replaced that we have originally provided. We take great pride in our property and want all Guests to have a memorable experience. Visitors often buy beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkel gear, etc. and leave it at our home. I never know what I might find when I arrive that I did not purchase. When we are there we discard anything not in pristine condition. March of 2012 two fold up lounge chairs were purchased to replace the rusted chairs. Let me clarify that the ice maker is not broken. It makes ice. The ice dispenser is not operable which is disclosed. We had it repaired 3 times and the ice dispenser does just not want to dispense the ice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Condo!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

This was our family's 7th trip to Puamana in last 10 years. Without a doubt, this was our best condo. Nothing was broken, everything was stocked as decribed. Even the neighbors next door was wonderful (unit 4). We loved this unit and want to thank Karen for letting us ring in the New Year at her beautiful condo.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Greg

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

Very nice property with great views. Well stocked and large enough for big groups. Well located on island with walking distance to lahaina. Beautiful sunsets....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanksgiving in Maui

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We had a wonderful time during the Thanksgiving week. Our son, daughter in law and daughter and our two beautiful grandsons (7 total) all enjoyed the experience. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our thankgiving meal, the rooms were comfortable and laid out perfectly. The sunsets were perfect and the overall facility is beautifully maintained. Steps to the ocean and the deck off of the master had wonderful views as well. This condo was wonderfully furnished. The week went too fast. We will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Puamana Paradise

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

This condo was first class all the way! The owners were very easy to work with and very helpful. My family of 5 adults stayed here for 9 nights and were extremely pleased with the decor and all the extras that made this property so outstanding. The pictures do not do it justice. The kitchen is a cooks delight!
I was pleasantly surprised by how close the ocean is....you truly are about 25 feet from it and having coffee on the lanai every morning listening to the waves and watching the surfers was just pure heaven.
We also enjoyed the pool area right on the ocean.
Front street is a 5 minute drive and the major highway #30 was even closer so the convenience of being centrally located was very nice.
I would highly recommend this condo to anyone and thought it offered great value for the money.
I am a travel agent and have stayed all over the world in very nice hotels and resorts and was impressed by the quality of this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BREATH-TAKING VIEW GET-A-WAY

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

My husband and I spent the most wonderful vacation at this beautiful home in Puamana. We thought we had arrived in Paradise. The townhouse was very comfortable and nicely stocked of linens etc. The kitchen is any woman's dream and fully stocked with cooking and serving items. The lanai backed right up practically to the ocean and semi-secluded gave us the impression that we were on a remote island with only a few surfers and sea-turtles for entertainment. Everyone we met was just wonderful. We will definitely book this luxury hide-a-way again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

rvardeman@sm-energy.com

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

By: Rhonda Vardeman
My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in Maui and were fortunate enough to have found this beautiful townhome located in Puamana near Lahaina. We brought with us our two sons, my sister, her granddaughter and our church friend. The townhome was perfect for the seven of us with plenty of privacy, great views of the Pacific and a comfortable, clean place to stay for the week. I was surprised that the ocean was just a few steps away from the lanai. In addition to the breathtaking view, the grounds are lush and tropical. I would definitely stay there again if we are able to take another paradise vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent family holiday

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

This was the perfect holiday. Lahaina is on the sheltered side of the island and is a great little town with all the things you need from restaurants, shops and groceries. Puamana is well set up with pools, tennis court and the club house. The house itself is fantastic, with great views and very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you need for your stay and Karen has provided good information on the house and local area. Sunsets on the lanai were the best part, it's a great view. All the bedrooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were good. We had 2 adults and 4 kids ranging fro 19 - 14, all enjoyed themselves from surfing, swimming, sun bathing or laying around on the couch when we weren't out touring. The box of goggles, snorkels and flippers was handy and a nice touch. We highly recommend a stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb beach house

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

This place far exceeded our expectations, and was the best VRBO home we've ever stayed in. There are two places for surfing in Puamona, one opposite the pool and the other out our front door at the far end of Puamona. We ate all our meals on the patio with waves crashing maybe 10 yards away and watched all of the surfers ( including our own) doing their thing right in front of us. We had our cocktails each night on the ocean front balcony above the patio. In addition to the surfing our group enjoyed the lap pool, the tennis court and biking, and some of us just enjoyed hanging out on the patio with a book. Karen has put together an extremely useful guide book; the restaurants she recommended were all very good. Whenever people asked where we were staying and we said Puamona, they said you're so lucky; it's the best place around here. We plan to come back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place to view turtles and whatles

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

very nice place to stay.. very close to water and road access..

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui Treasure

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

In the dictionary the definition of "well appointed" is to provide with COMPLETE and usually appropriate or ELEGANT furnishings or equipment. Karen has certianly achieved this with her remodel. The space planning and surfaces are well thought out with easy comfortable beach living in mind. From the luxurious towels and linens to the well stocked kitchen (it almost begged me to come in and cook) to the background music of the ocean. Life just doesn't get much better than this. We walked the beach, literally steps from the patio, every morning. Used the boogie boards and relaxerd in the lounge chairs always keeping and eye on the ocean showing off for us. Karen was truely friendly and professional to work with. And yes, it is all that she says and more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place to Stay!

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

It was fantastic to wake up each morning and look out at the water from the lanai. We were able to watch the surfers, whales and cruise ships go by each and every day. And there were turtles that would pop their heads up for air 5 feet into the ocean in front of the unit when there was no-one in the water.
The unit is very well appointed, comfortable, and clean. We had 5 adults and one 16 month old baby in our group and the unit was perfect. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and eat your meals looking at the ocean (which we did). The A/C units keep the unit cool so it was easy to sleep.
The complex has 3 pools and is close enough to walk into Lahaina - especially for ice cream which tastes better in Maui than anywhere else. I would still recommend a car as there is much to see and do on the island. The aquarium was a big treat for our little one.
I already miss eating breakfast, lunch and dinner on the Lanai watching the ocean waves, the paddle surfers, and the cruise ships go by.
I would highly recommend this to friends and relatives. The owners were very responsive to emails and even provided us with a pack and play for our baby, even though it was not in the unit previously.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You can't get any closer to the ocean unless you're on a boat!

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

- Puamana is a great neighborhood, and this house is on the ocean with a super view of SUPpers (Stand-Up Paddlers) surfing just off shore
- welcome gift of Mac nuts is a really nice touch
- info book is helpful and has great recommendations
- kitchen is well-equipped and we found it well-provisioned in terms of spices, detergents and paper products
- loved the toys and surf shoes left on lanai (shoes very handy for the stony beach)
- TV great and couch very comfy
- check in/out was easy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The only bad thing was that we had to leave:(

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

This rental is AWESOME! We had everything we needed. We stood for 2 weeks! We wish we would of rented it longer! The turtles would swim by and greet us every night! Our 4 year old son would go crazy! with excitement! The view is remarkable. Having a cup of coffee & breakfast on the beach was Pricelesss! We will be back soon! The walk to Lahaina was exactly one mile! Costco is right next to the airport! we just picked up or supplies and relaxed. I have not boogie boarded since i was a kid! The ocean was so beautiful I couldn't resist! MAHALO!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We welcome you back any time and stay longer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect Holiday!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Our family has just returned from a perfect holiday in Maui, Puamana is an awesome location with the sound of the surf at your door. We surfed off the deck with sea turtles and enjoyed sunset after sunset. We cannot wait to come back next year!

Thank you!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful location for family vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

this condo was a wonderful find for our family vacation. wife/two children/two friends and a grandson were very happy with everything. The location right on the beach was incredible! The house had everything we needed to fix fantastic meals everynite. We sat on the lawn feet from the surf each night and watched the sunset. I've already recommended this to friends and would tell anybody considering this unit, "you won't be disapointed!"
Jeff, Oregon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peace and Serenity

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

We spent seven glorious days in a beautiful, fully equipped condo, right on the beach. Seven adults and one grandchild basked in the sun, sand and surf. I debated about the oceanfront condo but it far exceeded our expectations. The place was easy to keep clean and well equipped with kitchen utensils down to board games and squirt guns along with boogie boards. We snorkeled and watched dolphins from the Trilogy (excellent), zip=lined in Kannapali, and enjoyed all the festivities at the Feast of Lele. This was the most relaxing and fun-filled vacation our family has ever had. We woke up to the peaceful sound of waves and went to sleep with the same soothly sound. We highly recommend this vacation paradise. If you ever want to experience a wonderful vacation home this is the place. We loved it and were blessed to always have this memory.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maui-fied

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Absolutely amazing stay. The layout inside (and out) were perfect for families or small groups. Sun, Surf, Sand AND Grass just out the back door, LITERALLY. All amenities required, and then some. Close to anything but far enough from everything. I have and will continue to recommend this villa to anyone heading to Maui.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Little Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

A PERFECT spot for a little rest and relaxation. The sound of the waves crashing on the shore lulled me to sleep at night. The amenities were lacking nothing. A well stocked kitchen meant we could cook in any meal. If we were being lazy, a quick trip to Lahaina offered almost unlimited food and drink options. Perfect for families or groups of friends who want to kick back and enjoy sun, surf and sand.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

The townhome was very lovely and well equipped for our stay. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and beautiful surroundings at Puamana. It was wonderful to sit on the lanai and watch the whales! We were able to watch our son boogie board at the beach near the home from the lanai! The location is great. We had such a wonderful time, can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

Incredible place to stay. The ocean is literally 50 feet from the lanai. We went to bed with the windows open every night and fell asleep to the sound of the waves rolling ashore.

The first morning we were there, I woke the whole house screaming "A whale, a whale" as I saw the first humpback whale of my life surface a few hundred yards from the lanai. By the end of the week, we laughed at how silly I must have sounded to all of the neighbors after we realized that the whales could be seen all day, every day from this location.

Puamana is a very nicely kept, gated community. We had no concerns about our children playing outside and saw many small kids playing in the yards and riding scooters down the street.

After being there, we realized this unit has the absolute best location in Puamana because of how the beach lays out. The beach is sandy in front of this unit, but becomes rocky as you travel north up the beach. Also, it looked to us like this unit is closer to the water than any other unit.

The inside of the unit is all modern and well kept, making for a clean, friendly atmosphere. We cooked on the grill several times and really enjoyed the view from the lanai.

In the past, we have rented "no pet" units only to have our children have allergic reactions. Two in our group for this stay are allergic to cats and dogs and neither of them ever had any reaction that would make us think there had ever been any pets in the unit.

We had seven in our party and the place was plenty big enough. Could have easily accomodated one more person.

We highly recommend this home and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

This was our dream location for vacationing. It was
spacious and gave our family enough room to relax.
The location was gorgeous and the furnishings of the
home were also. A very welcoming kitchen that was
outfitted with everything we needed--even the
appliances were nice! We were very sad to leave.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Words are hardly enough to describe this wonderful paradise! The house is so inviting, perfect for a family gathering. We saw whales right outside the lanai as we sipped our morning coffee. What a treat! Thank you for letting us share this tropical treat.Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

We just returned from 9 glorious days at this condo. Like others have said,the pictures do not do it justice. You could not be much closer to the water than this.The home is so well furnished I can not think of anything missing.The owners have spared no expense in their remodeling and the items furnished with the home. The kitchen is well stocked with any appliance or cookware you would need. The weather was so perfect,we did not even need the air conditioners. Even the loft was very comfortable with the breezes blowing through. The location is excellent as well. Very close to everything,but yet removed from the crowds. We walked into town quite often. Also, with 3 of us runners, all we had to do was cross the highway and follow the path that runs along the east side of the road.Some day we would love to come back and stay at the same place. Except a longer stay! Karen was very professional and great to work with! Thanks to the Sommers' for sharing their home with us.
The Borcherts from Sun Prairie,Wis.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

The condo was clean, neat, modern, and provided almost every imaginable amenity. The close proximmity to Lahaina was great but the feeling was still tropical and somewhat secluded. After 8 days here in October we'd love to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

Very nice place with a great patio view of the ocean. The waves are right at you feet 9 steps from the patio. Inside furnishings are great. Kitchen is furnished to cook meals there and the grocery stores are within 2 miles. I would go back again tomorrow, we had a wonderful time. Al

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

September 5th, 2009
This was our first trip to Hawaii and we celebrated our 56th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful place we had to stay in your condo. It was truly perfect. The furnishings were so complete and really felt like a home. The view was spectacular with the ocean just a few feet from the patio. We would get up early in the morning to just sit, watch,listen to the ocean and have our coffee. There is no other place we would want to stay next time.
Thad and Dorothea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

We had the best stay in Maui in all of our trips to that Island. We had 4 adults and found the accommodations to fit all of our needs. Especially liked the outside gas barbecue grill and the quiet time just sitting on the lanai. Le Ann was especially helpful and all the staff of the association were very friendly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

We just got back from a fabulous 3 week vacation and loved staying in your home away from home for two of those weeks. We are a very active family and found that your location was perfect. My 10-year-old hit the waves on his surf board every morning and we could easily watch him ride the waves from your beautiful patio. Being close to Lahaina was a huge plus...Lots of dining and shopping options and virtually any excursion that you can think of leaves from there. Your kitchen was well stocked and made us feel right at home. The condo complex is beautiful, secure and quiet. Thanks for a wonderful vacation...We hope to return next year for more excitement and rest!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

We travel quite a bit every year (Mallorca, St Croix,Peru,England Ireland etc). Every other year we take our two daughters (25 & 28) so we try to find a mix of things to do, evening activities and include down time. I did a lot of research before we made this trip. However, all of my research does not do this location, Condo and people justice. First the location, RIGHT ON THE BEACH! 15-20 feet away, we thought we were close in St. Croix last year but this was as close as you can get without being in the water. The girls surfed every day. The Condo had everything you could need and if you had questions (or needed sweetner) you resource was two doors or a quick phone call away. The town was a 15 min walk and the activities and people were great. We went to Mama's Fishhouse and had the best meal possible. We took the "Road to Hana" and had a great time seeing and jumping in the many waterfalls (Road to Hana CD is at the Condo).There were 6 of us and we had space as well as great meeting areas that allowed us to talk, listen to our iPods or play games.

Thanks for the great time anyone would have a hard time finding a better place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

Staying at this beachfront condo was a real treat for our family. Accommodations were really nice and they had a great kitchen with all the utensils you'd need. Since we were literall on the beach, we could enjoy all our meals on the patio and take in the ocean and the sun set. Only negative was the upstairs bedroom....its better suited for children as the ceilings are very low nnd angeled and it is very hot if the cooler isn't on at all times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

This was our first family experience in Maui and the trip was awesome! The Home is very nicely furnished (better than expected), TV, iPod dock, very well furnished kitchen (everything looked and felt new), and the deck with the sliding glass doors and the sunset views are worth the price! Our party was two adults and 3 kids. There was plenty of room for everyone and we never felt crowded.
There was a great gas grill on the back patio along with a great table and chairs. We spent the majority of our family time there! We had 1 van and parking was easy and the drive into town was just a few minutes. Also, we played tennis every morning and used the pools - outstanding in every way. Overall, a great place and a great stay! It felt like home. Karen is the best and the staff on site were awesome. We can't thank you enough for an outstanding vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

Everything you would expect from a stay on the beach in Maui. Great views from all rooms, recently renovated and close to downtown Lahaina. Karen was very professional and easy to work with. The family did not want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

Such a lovely property! We especially enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the whales and surfers. At night we left the sliding doors open to the second floor deck and fell asleep to the sound of the booming surf. At the time of our visit, there was a full moon shining over the ocean all night. This is a wonderful place for a couple or family to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This was my first VRBO experience, so didn't know what to expect...but simply put, pics don't do the property justice! Home is very nicely furnished (better than expected), wi-fi, TV, iPod dock, very well furnished kitchen...everything! Our party was two couple and another 2-3 singles (6-7 in total), and accommodations were quite comfortable. Also, if it's your thing, they have a great gas grill on the back patio that opens directly onto the lawn (and beach access). So if surfing and grilling up some food in the sun is your idea of a perfect Maui vaca, you WON'T be disappointed! Our party had 2 cars, parking was easy and the drive into town was just a few minutes. Also, pretty decent tennis court and getting time was easy. Overall, a great home and a great stay! Oh, and Karen was great to work with - very helpful and responsive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 21, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The Sommers Puamana home is "No Ka 'Oi", which means "the best" !!! Our family loves it, and can't wait to return. It's by far our favorite vacation spot. Mahalo, The Hobach Family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 14, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We recently spend 10 glorious days at this elegantly finished and spacious unit. You cannot beat being 10 ft from the ocean and we took full advantage of the surfing directly out front (also enjoyed watching it from the master shower!). Would not hesitate to recommend this unit and would add that the owners were a pleasure to deal with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 16, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Our family of 6 adults had the pleasure of spending 5 wonderful nights in this lovely home....The Sommers were great to work with. Their home became our home.. It is fun now looking at the pictures after being there..... and longing to go back. The house is very nice and very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 20, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This is an absolutely lovely home. The pictures do not do it justice. The view could not be better. It is literally right on the water. The renovation is beautifully done. The unit is extremely well-appointed. Our family of five just spent 15 of the most enjoyable days together in the Sommers renovated Maui home. We are hoping to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Wow...What can I say? The pictures say it all. They are accurate, but being there is far beyond what the pictures can tell. The whales were almost in the yard (not quite..?) The sound of the surf was constant and wonderful. Everything was there for our use (except the fresh mahi mahi which we got at the store).... We hated to leave. We will return.....!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Everything was as advertised and the Sommers were professional and easy to deal with. What more can be said other than we plan on coming back every year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

me and my family had a wonderful time in maryland and susan millers house was absolutely gorgeous. it felt like home away from home. we will most likely return some day soon. lisa fortunato.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

It's hard to describe in words how awesome our 10 days in Maui was...the sunsets...the whales jumping...being 30 feet from one of the best surfing beaches on Maui...being 25 minutes from Lahaina, by foot...the choice of pool(s) or beach. I can not imagine being anywhere else so well equipped and so centrally located. Well worth coming back to again and again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We had the privilege to experience Maui in this beautiful location in March for 9 days. We arrived and opened the front door and were rewarded by the most spectacular view that will leave you speechless. Pictures truly do not do justice. We enjoyed the surfers, and whales daily from the sunny lanai. The sandy beach is about 30 ft from the lanai and is warm and inviting. The pool right on the ocean, complete with crabs on the decks, is a short walk from the condo. The home is very comfortable, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped and gorgeous. We enjoyed the short walk to Lahaina for shopping and restaurants. We look forward to returning!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We recently stayed 9 days in March 2006. ( Not nearly long enough!!)
The perfect location allowed us to walk to town, capture the beautiful sunsets, have access to the nice sandy beach & enjoy the countless whales we spotted from our private lanai!! The place is very comfortable!! The internet pics. Do not do the place justice for how nice it really is!! We were pleasantly impressed!!
Had a wonderful time & look forward to our next visit!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We spent 11 days in March at this wonderful paradise! The views are spectacular from the lanai, especially the whale watching. Our group had 5 adults and a toddler and couldn't have been more comfortable or had more privacy. The resort itself is quiet and we enjoyed the uncrowded pools, often having them all to ourselves. The beach, right outside the lanai, is nice and the reef (not a far swim)is wonderful for snorkeling and scuba diving. We would absolutely return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We spent 8 nights at this lovely property. Each morning we sat out on the lanai with a cup of coffee in hand and watched the whales jumping in the ocean. We also had a great view of the island of Lanai. The property is well maintained and the view is worth every penny we spent. We also enjoyed the gas grill a couple of times during our stay and had a great meal with friends while drinking a great bottle of wine and enjoying the magnificent view along with perfect weather. This property along with the view and the weather during February was truly a visit to paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 8, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Spent 9 days there in February 2006. Place was clean, well equipped, and
located right on the beach. We thought that the location next to the
highway would be loud, but it was not. Great place for kids in the complex,
as there is direct access to a sandy beach. We would return here again,
really enjoyed ourselves, the owners were easy to deal with and their
instructions were great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 8, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

What a wonderful location for a vacation! Perfect for a family. Great location for scenery and activities.

We really enjoyed ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review