reviews for: listing #52326 - Santa Barbara, California Cottage rental

~*~Cozy Cottage in Montecito~*~
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Montecito
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,700 /wk
    $3,600 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful Paradise

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

Our family had a wonderful time at this beautiful property. The gardens were gorgeous, the house was very sweet and clean and we really enjoyed the hot tub. It was a little piece of paradise just a few minutes from the beach and town. We'd definitely recommend and stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderfully Relaxing!

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

My wife and I decided to spend a weekend in Montecito/Santa Barbara with our two year old. Carla's Cozy cottage was the perfect little hideaway to rest our weary toes after a full day of sight-seeing. It is nestled away in a beautifully wooded area. There are walking trails nearby. It is in close driving distance to everything. Carla even made herself available by text to give us restaurant recommendations on a whim! =D

The house was clean. The linens were fresh. We woke up each morning to the smell of lavender outside our window. The pool was beautiful. The hammock was hammocky. We really loved our stay!

We would recommend to anyone!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Value

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

I almost don't want to write about how amazing this place is, because I'm afraid it will quickly get booked up! And I will definitely be coming back to Carla's Cottages many more times. This place is a dream. Carla is the perfect hostess, available and flexible and working hard to ensure that all of her guests feel totally at home and totally private in their particular cottage. My boyfriend and I felt like we had the stunning property all to ourselves. We had breakfast and lounged on our back patio in the mornings and sat in the hot tub under the stars at night. Carla returned our deposit the day we left. I forgot something in the cottage, and she even mailed it back to me right away. The cottage itself was charming and very well equipped with a super comfortable bed. It's also in a great location if you like hiking--minutes from the best trailheads in Santa Barbara, as well as some of the less populated beaches. Really this place has everything you need. I travel to Santa Barbara frequently, and will look no further for a place to stay when I'm there: this place is perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Ideal Getaway for Total Serenity

Review submitted: November 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

A perfect retreat in Montecito to relax and rejuvenate.Carla is a charming and joy-filled hostess; Cozy Cottage could not be more comfortable, clean and charming. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Our expectations were surpassed. Carla was a fantastic host who could not have been more generous. The property is even more lovely than described and very private. The location allowed us the perfect place to get away, yet close to activities, like whale watching, which we enjoyed so much. My husband and I would have no hesitation recommending this wonderful location to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

This was our third stay in the Cozy Cottage and, as always, it lived up to it's name. From the moment you arrive, the owner's, Carla and David, make you feel truly welcome at this tranquil retreat in beautiful Montecito.

The cottage has a very comfortable and nicely decorated sitting room with a fully-equipped kitchen/dining area that makes it easy to prepare and enjoy meals. The romantic and peaceful bedroom, with it's cushy bed and soft linens, adds to the overall comfort of the accommodation. Throughout the cottage, there is plenty of light and French doors lead out to the delightful gardens and pool area, a haven in the summer. There is also no better place to enjoy the spectacular night skies than from the hot tub.

Carla is always happy to give good information about the area, turn on the hot tub or pool heater, and when any issues (rare) arise, she is always quick to respond. As our stays are usually a couple of weeks to a month, or more, we really appreciate the good laundry facilities and the option to request weekly maid service.

There is no shortage of things to do, no matter what time of year, and Montecito is an ideal location from which to explore this stunning stretch of the California coastline. Some of its finest beaches are just a short drive away and there are many hiking trails in the area's mountains and foothills. Nearby Santa Barbara offers a wide range of excellent restaurants, shops, entertainment and other activities. The Santa Ynez Valley, home to a number of wineries, is also within easy reach.

Carla's Cottages have become our 'home away from home' and we always look forward to coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A perfect spot!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Everything about this property was perfect; location, clean, and relaxing. We were in the area for First-Year Parents Weekend at Westmont College, which was only a 5 min drive from the cottage. It felt like a home away from home with its full kitchen, living room, comfortable queen-size bed, and close access to the pool and jacuzzi. Our college freshman slept comfortably on the pull-out couch in the living room. Carla was friendly and welcoming even though we arrived late at night. We look forward to staying here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect finale after three weeks of traveling!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Last August we had the most wonderful time at Carla’s Cozy Cottage. We just loved listening to all the different kinds of birds in the beautiful garden, cooling off in the swimming pool and relaxing in the hot tub. Although shared with the other cottages we even had this paradise just to ourselves most of the time.

The cozy cottage is indeed cozy and very well equipped. I don’t remember ever baking cookies while on holiday before, but here we did! The laundry facilities nearby the cottage were wonderful as well. It almost made me like doing the laundry!

Carla is a very lovely host who does everything in her power to make your stay wonderful. For instance she already heated up the hot tub for us as she knew we were coming back from a day’s shopping. Such a welcome feeling!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

I wanted to vacation in Santa Barbara, but struggled at the idea of a noisy hotel with too many people. So I researched rentals with a pool thinking they would be either too pricey or not available. I was so lucky to find Carla's Cottages. I stayed with my daughter and her friend at one of the cute little cottages in Montecito surrounded by a beautiful private garden. Most of the time we had the pool and jacuzzi completely to ourselves. We walked each day in the surrounding neighborhoods with beautiful oak trees and fabulous homes and gardens - take the walk to the very top of the hill and you'll be rewarded with a spectacular view of the coast. It was a great home base for excursions to the beach and State Street. I returned to work rested and renewed.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Carla's Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

I don't want to tell you how perfect the "Cozy Cottage" is and how accomadationg the hosts, Carla and David are, because I want to be sure the cottage is available for rental when I return to Santa Barabara. Staying in the Cozy Cottage and having the use of the beautiful pool and spa are like having your own private summer home in Montecito. Surrounded by the beautiful gardens, the hummingbirds, and the many tropical fruit trees you may never want to leave. We didn't. The cottage is emmaculately clean and very well equipt for cooking; Carla has the cottage stocked with all the cooking essentials you don't want to have to bring or buy for a weeks vacation. The bed is extremely comfortable and Carla will make you feel like you are part of her family when you visit. Leave yourself a few extra vacation days; you may find it hard to leave, like we did. We extended our vacation in Carlas "Room4Two" which is a spectacular private room, with private entrance adjacent to her house . You will feel like you are staying in an Italien Villa.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Montecito Rental

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

My wife, 4 month old son and I spent 2 weeks in the cozy cottage in June/July. Carla is a wonderfully friendly host and the grounds are beautiful. We really enjoyed the beaches, the walking path in Santa Barbara, and the great restaurants in Montecito. Having a pool, hot tub, and laundry on the grounds were a nice convenience with an infant. The cottage bathroom was a bit of a challenge for bathing an infant but we were able to improvise. Everything is a short drive from the cottage and we lucked out with the weather. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the cottage.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Stay at Carla's Cottages

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Carla's Cottage for 5 Weeks! We love Carla and her family. She is the sweetest woman you will ever meet! We stayed in the Cozy Cottage which is one of two or three with a kitchen. This worked out perfectly since we were there for 5 weeks
.
The pool and hot tub are beautiful as is the setting. Carla has great laundry facilities and we greatly appreciated this since we had a lengthy stay.

We highly recommend staying here and we personally look forward to visiting on a regular basis. We have family in Montecito and this is the perfect spot for us!

Whether you are looking for just a bedroom with a bath or a cottage with a full kitchen you will find this with Carla. She has a unique selection and can meet your needs.

Thank you Carla for making our trip so delightful.

Linda and Ken
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful country cottage!

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Carla's cottage was wonderful. It felt instantly relaxing and comfortable. We were able to fix meals for ourselves (as we like to cook) or go out to eat. Whatever felt right at the moment. There were many restaurants to choose from that were very close, just a short ride.
The queen size bed was extremely comfortable and although we are not really "pool people" we enjoyed resting by the pool and waterfall. It was so quiet and relaxing and the flowering landscape was beautiful and immaculate!
We also loved that our cottage was behind gates and there was plenty of space for parking.
I would be remiss not to mention the state of the art laundry facilities!
Being able to do a bit of laundry away from home was appreciated. Beautiful LG steam washers and dryers with every setting imaginable was a dream. I was able to do the laundry really quickly and get on with my activities!
I couldn't recommend Carla's Cottages more highly! The cottage was easy, quiet, lovely and relaxing!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

cozy cottage

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

I loved it! Carla was great. very clean and well maintained, excellent location. quiet, but near freeway to get to everything. very peaceful neighborhood

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect month

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We had the pleasure to spend August at Carla's beautiful place. We had our little toddler son with us and he enjoyed the garden and pool as much as we did.
The many positive reviews speak for themselves, so here are some of our impressions in brief
- Garden, pool and apartment were in excellent conditions an well equipped. Carla and David will go out of their way if anything is missing or to repair
- Carla and David are wonderful hosts, always willing to help, but completely respecting your privacy
- Location in Montecito is good, but you will need a car, beaches and daily necessities are a short drive, if you want there are beautiful walks around some of Montecito's finest groves nearby
- Be aware that this property is one of four apartments sharing the same pool and garden area. The cottages are laid out in a way that ensure maximum privacy and we did enjoy very much meeting the other guests
- There is some risk of you enjoying the garden and pool so much that days just fly by doing nothing - but isn't that what vacations are for?

Thanks a lot for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oasis in Montecito, CA

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My son and I were looking for a relaxing place to spend a week in the Santa Barbara area. The Cozy Cottage is a spacious place with a relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful outdoor pool neslted in a quiet, well-appointed neighborhood. There were stawberries in the garden and the owner really went out of her way to ensure that we had what we needed to enjoy our vacation. This place is very pet-friendly. The description was accurate. The property was clean and well maintained. I would recommend this place to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Montecito under the stars!!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We had a great time in Montecito!! The cottage was exquisite! It is located in a most secluded area of town. The mature trees and landscaping provide absolute privacy and you feel in a world of your own. Perfect place to relax. For an added touch, you can actually see the stars at night!! If you live in a big city, you understand what I mean. :)
Definitely a great bargain considering the location. I highly recommend it. Carla goes out of her way to welcome you and make you feel at home.
Can't wait to got back.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

This location is the perfect setting for a magical visit to Santa Barbara/Montecito.
We highly recommend this cottage~ not only was it clean, bright and beautifully appointed inside and out (the landscaping and pool was exquisite!) but the owners were kind, helpful and had the wonderful ability to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We had the most wonderful time and look forward to a future visit to this location. It was everything and more. You will not be disappointed. It was just perfect!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So quiet and private you'll feel like a celebrity!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

The cottage could easily be a year-'round home -- so fully equipped it is. Think Pottery Barn when you think of the furnishings, comfortable but not fussy. Cozy Cottage is as lovely as described in the text and shown in the photos -- honesty in advertising -- what a concept! -- how refreshing! The gardens are lush, quiet and private behind a gated entry and hedges at the end of a long driveway. Hummingbirds abound! The hot tub/pool/BBQ area -- delightful!

Carla, the owner, could not have been nicer nor more accommodating but after greeting you and showing you around, she leaves you to your own devices until/unless you summon her. She provides a list of nearby attractions and restaurants, including hours and price ranges. The Montecito Coffee Shop is a must for blueberry pancakes -- not on the menu but the locals know to ask for this treat! The restaurant at the Montecito Inn is wonderful for a special occasion.

Rent a GPS for your car, please -- a marriage-saving device if ever there was one. We marked our 38th wedding anniversary while there but might not have been looking forward now to the 39th had we not had Garmin along.

We would definitely like to return and highly recommend any of her four offerings for a retreat -- the cottage would be perfect for a writer or for a watercolorist, for healing from surgery (cosmetic or otherwise) or from life's complexities and disappointments. Or, rent all four accommodations for a family reunion, a girls' getaway or a small conference. Carla will go out of her way to make your dream happen for you!

The steps and the gravel make the property not one for the disabled, unfortunately. The quiet atmosphere might not be one that small children or teenagers would enjoy. Unless you rent all four units for your family or group, you would not want to disturb the other guests on the property. But, with these few provisos in mind, you will not be disappointed.

Happy Montecito-ing! Remember, there is no gawking at celebrities in Montecito. Their daily lives are as deserving of privacy as is yours. No photo ops here! They just happen to be fortunate to live here -- behind those hedges!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A little slice of heaven

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This property is quite magical! It felt like a hidden away retreat that fostered quite a relaxing attitude. The owners are absolutely delightful, and quick to make your stay a perfect one. And the yard, flowers, and hummingbirds were just gorgeous. And wait till you sit in the stone jacuzzi out under the stars! I highly recommend staying here to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

fabulous and charming

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

this tasteful cottage in a lovely garden with pool and hot tub in a very private, quiet setting made for a fabulous week of visiting Montecito/Santa Barbara area with all that it has to offer. Carla is a total pleasure to deal with...she is very helpful and yet discreet. this was our second visit here and would definately consider returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

so hard to leave....

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

tranquil, private, blooms and birds, pleasing fresh interior. Everything we had hoped for. Upper Montecito has a great deli/bakery everything you'll need to make use of the fully equipped kitchen and the peaceful patio. We found fantastic trailheads for hiking and the biking is great as well.So close to everything Montecito and Santa Barbara have to offer and yet so far. Pool and spa - I think the pics speak for themselves and the bed was very comfy. Wonderful experience !
Thank you Carla.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Cottage is accurately named

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

My husband and I had the most fabulous time on this trip. This cottage is well equipped and VERY comfortable. Very private but not secluded. An absolutely beautiful location. Carla and David could not be nicer people. It is, without a doubt, a destination we will be returning to in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

I wanted to send a quick note to thank you once again for our stay at your lovely cottage, everything was just perfect. The girls had a wonderful time swimming all day long and my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to relax. If ever we find ourselves in the Santa Barbara area we will definitely check to see if the Cozy Cottage is available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to visit again. The cottage and all its amenities were absolutely gorgeous. Two thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review