reviews for: listing #5233 - Anna Maria Island, Florida Townhome rental

Anna Maria Island Townhome: Simply Beautiful
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $850 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,900 - $3,900 /mth

sort by:

Incredible owners, gorgeous townhome!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

This rental far exceeded our expectations. It is huge and exactly as advertised. The rate was beyond reasonable and all of our friends and family enjoyed it immensely. Grandpa was especially please to have his own bedroom and bathroom on the main floor. I was personally impressed by the size and comfort of the master bedroom suite, the children were thrilled to have their own room. My daughter has asthma, so I usually go in ahead of the family and clean anytime we rent anywhere including hotels. Imagine my shock when I could not find a speck of dust or cobweb anywhere in the place including under beds, behind dressers and on the ceiling fans. The cleaning crew is impeccable. We loved the free trolley that took us anywhere we wanted to go and the amazing views of the preserve behind the home.
This place felt like someone's high end home with everything you could ever need including beach toys for the kids! Although it was a small hike to the beach, the location for the price was excellent.
If you are looking for a great family home for your anna maria island visit, book now before someone else snatches it up! Thanks Crestie and David for sharing your home

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: It was out pleasure Danielle! We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed the townhouse and your vacation on the island - hope you return for another visit and stay with us again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great retreat to celebrate Independence Day!

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We just got back from a fabulous week long vacation in Anna Maria/Holmes Beach. The location was fabulous, we were literally a five minute walk to the beautiful beach. Right across the street from Publix, Walgreens, Dollar Store, and several great restaurants. Location could ONLY have been better if we were ON the beach but we weren't willing to pay beach prices.

The townhouse was well equipped with lawn chairs, a small cooler, grill, sand buckets for the kids, puzzles and a few other things that we didn't think to bring. Not sure what I expected but I was a little shocked to arrive to no toilet paper, paper towel, etc. Not necessarily a bad thing, I guess we're just used to hotels so luckily the store was right across the street :)

The home itself is pretty much what you see in the pictures, it was very well maintained, has a couple minor maintenance issues but certainly were not impediments. I will warn the townhouse is three stories. You walk into a foyer and then up the stairs you go so I wouldn't recommend this place for someone with bad knees or walking impediments. It had a garage which came in handy especially when it came to housing our super cute golf cart. You can get to many places by golf cart as long as you are on neighborhood roads or cutting through parking lots. For us the golf cart was well worth it and added to the experience.

We were pleased to find five balconies, so much fresh air right outside our bedrooms. Awesome! The upstairs has the two twins beds with a great big walk in closet and the master bedroom which was HUGE. The upstairs definitely stayed warmer than downstairs which was like an ice box. The downstairs bedroom has a full size bed, no closet, teeny room but adequate. Having three full bathrooms was great too with a large crowd. Although this was a pet friendly unit there were NO signs of pets which was nice.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again if Dave and Crestie would have us. They were great at responding to our questions immediately, very friendly and have priced their home very reasonably. We found so many rentals comparably priced and after they added astronomical cleaning and pet fees they were $400 more in some cases. We are so appreciative, thank you!

Owners response: Thanks so much Daisy! We're glad you all had such a fabulous time and the townhouse worked out so well for your group. And of course we'd have you!! Hope to hear from you again in the near future - remember, the fall is a great time to visit and the rates are great!! :o)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This is an AWESOME place!!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

My family and I arrived to a super clean, beautifully decorated, spacious townhouse! Everything we neede and more was there, just like home. We had our children and parents with us and there was more than enough space. Beach wagon, chairs, floats, toys for the kids, coolers - couldn't believe it was all there! Plenty of towels and bedding and the bedrooms were super comfy. This is a great location because you are close to the market, a few shops and restaurants and the gorgeous beach at the end if the road (it almost felt private but you could still easily walk to the public beach if you wanted). We used the golf cart during our stay and this was so great - made everything even more convenient. We really liked the pool too since there are private bathrooms and a nice shade awning if you need it (many days we did!). The owners are extremely nice and easy to deal with. We had a question about the grill and ended up chatting with them about all kinds of other stuff - super nice and honest (a worry for me as I had been leery of booking site unseen). The reviews don't do it justice (didn't experience anything negative) - very clean and a great value! We will definitely be back! Thanks for a great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Cindy!! We are so glad you had a great time and found our place perfect for your family! We've made several improvements of late and are happy it shows. Looking forward to hearing from you in regard to a future vacation!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

So Great!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Just got caught up from a great vacation and wanted to make sure to say thank you for such a perfect vacation home. Everything was super clean and extremely comfortable when we arrived which is very important to me and my mother who was traveling with us. The place was very pretty and beachy with plenty of light, several balconies and porches, lovely bedrooms and plenty of room for our family (there were 9 of us total). The pictures do not do it justice - we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice and clean it really was. We also really liked the location since we could walk everywhere and the golf cart got us around easily; we never had to get in the car if we didn't want to. It was really nice to have the garage and the extra parking (husband loved that). Plenty of beach towels, floats and coolers for the beach and everything we needed in the house. We also liked that there were TV's in every room since with that many people everyone could watch what they wanted at night. We were able to grill out right on the porch off the living area although we liked going out to dinner more since there are so many good restaurants on the island. The people on Anna Maria are so nice and the beaches there are the most beautiful I've ever seen. The one at the end of the street had great sand and pretty water and was almost like a semi-private beach. So great for our big crowd! The pool was great too; the kids loved it and so did we. (make sure to bring bug spray for dusk since the no-see-ums like to bite without it) We couldn't recommend this place enough - beautiful home, nice owners, clean, affordable, and convenient. We've already booked next August for the week before school starts and have begun counting the days!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We're so happy you had a great time and our place worked well for your family - it really is perfect for families since it's so roomy. We appreciate your kind words and taking the time for the review. Looking forward to your return visit!

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

So Great!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Just got caught up from a great vacation and wanted to make sure to say thank you for such a perfect vacation home. Everything was super clean and extremely comfortable when we arrived which is very important to me and my mother who was traveling with us. The place was very pretty and beachy with plenty of light, several balconies and porches, lovely bedrooms and plenty of room for our family (there were 9 of us total). The pictures do not do it justice - we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice and clean it really was. We also really liked the location since we could walk everywhere and the golf cart got us around easily; we never had to get in the car if we didn't want to. It was really nice to have the garage and the extra parking (husband loved that). Plenty of beach towels, floats and coolers for the beach and everything we needed in the house. We also liked that there were TV's in every room since with that many people everyone could watch what they wanted at night. We were able to grill out right on the porch off the living area although we liked going out to dinner more since there are so many good restaurants on the island. The people on Anna Maria are so nice and the beaches there are the most beautiful I've ever seen. The one at the end of the street had great sand and pretty water and was almost like a semi-private beach. So great for our big crowd! The pool was great too; the kids loved it and so did we. (make sure to bring bug spray for dusk since the no-see-ums like to bite without it) We couldn't recommend this place enough - beautiful home, nice owners, clean, affordable, and convenient. We've already booked next August for the week before school starts and have begun counting the days!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I think this may have accidentally been a double submission but just in case, thanks so much for your kind words and the review. Glad you had a great time with your family and look forward to your return next summer. Thanks again for the early booking.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Buyer Beware

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Buyer Beware! This rental was not what was advertised. My family headed to our destination during a tropical storm (no fear, we're from Florida and we're used to it... we knew it would pass) only to find the place so disgusting that we actually turned around and made the two hour drive back home. We never even unpacked. In fact, my wife wouldn't even take her shoes off.

We looked at the reviews before renting and only saw one bad one in 2010, but the rest were good so we figured everything had been fixed. Unfortunately, everything mentioned in the bad review from 2010 was still an issue. To mention a few things.... the carpet was stained and nasty, the blinds in one room literally fell off the wall when I tried to open them, floor tiles were chipped, doors didn't close right, the walls were damaged, there was dust everywhere, and the garage wasn't even cleaned out enough to park in. Getting a partial refund was almost impossible even though we didn't even stay one night. I had to threaten to go to small claims court for misrepresting the unit in order to get the owner to agree to give me anything but the golf cart fee back.

We've rented from this site before and never had a problem so this was a total shock. After this was all over, I waited two months to post this review, trying to give the owner the benefit of the doubt. I was hoping the owner would update some pictures that my wife and I expressed were gross misrepresentations of the property, yet those pictures remain. I would not recommend this property to anybody and my experience makes me feel like it is not only misrepresented but PURPOSELY misprepresented, which is even worse. Buyer beware, what you see is not always what you get.

Owners response: WOW-we're more than shocked by this considering our experience with these guests... They arrived at the beginning of Tropical Storm Debby and quite simply, because weather was not so great, wanted to leave and be fully refunded (didn't want to be stuck inside with several small children, we suppose). They called later the evening of their arrival and asked what the refund policy was due to inclement weather. When we explained that refunds are given when there are hurricanes but not for 'bad weather' (which passed quickly, incidentally, which is typical in FL), they hung up, came up with a new plan, called back later and stated they were dissatisfied with the accommodations. We thought this odd since we were at the townhouse when they arrived at 2pm and all was great. They stayed several more hours, and all was great. It wasn't until being told there would not be a refund for bad weather that they became "dissatisfied".

The comments they've left here are grossly (to use their own words) misrepresenting our property. We have indeed updated our photos, even adding additional photos since we suspected these guests would do exactly this. You see, once they left, the threatening emails began. If we didn't agree to refund all of their money (which, by the way, deposits, golf carts fees, and several nightly fees were refunded), they would post negative reviews here. We had to remind them this is what is commonly called extortion, before they finally stopped. It's unfortunate that as property owners, we can be libeled in such a fashion, as an act of malice, without truly being able to defend ourselves with nothing more than our words and that of other guest reviews. In fact, we think it's obvious from past reviews (both before and right AFTER this guest) that the claims here are unfounded and, to put it blatantly, lies. And we are more than shocked, considering the correspondence we had with these guests, that they would do exactly what they threatened even though we clearly compromised (I have the written correspondence to prove it).

Yes, this is a vacation rental - there might be chips in the Mexican tile (it does that) and scuffs on the wall (it's re-painted every year!). But when guests let us know that something is amiss and needs repair, it is done. Again, just look to our other reviews to confirm this.

I hope a gross misrepresentation of our home does not unfairly influence anyone from enjoying a comfortable, CLEAN, & enjoyable vacation with us.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Awesome Property

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I would like to reinforce that this property is certainly well worth the price! This townhouse comfortably sleeps 8 people. In my reservation we had 8 people at one point and we did not feel uncomfortably at any point.

Owners are really nice and understanding. For instance, when my group arrived to the house at the designated check-in time, the owners were still in the townhouse cleaning up from a recent renovation. Due to the inconvenience of us waiting (which really was not an inconvenience) they included an added feature which was not expected. Another positive is that the owners are local so if there are any issues they can respond quickly.

The location of this townhouse is ideal. Close to the property is one of the main entrances to the island. The beach is a couple of blocks away. Also by the property is a grocery store; however I highly recommend doing groceries outside the island for the grocery store is expensive. The townhouse is really close to a trolley stop which is great.

There is a free trolley that travels all the way north to Anna Maria Pier and down south to Coquina Beach. I strongly suggest the utilization of this free service.

Overall, my group had an excellent time and a major contributor was the comfort and amenities provided by this properties and the owners. Many thanks to the owners, and I will certainly rent this property in the future!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kind words! We're thrilled you had such a wonderful time - kind of hard not to on Anna Maria. Hope to see you and your family again in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful and clean townhome!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

This townhouse was a wonderful place to stay for a great price! It was close to the grocery store and a very central location for the island. When we walked in we all believed the condo looked even better than the pictures showed. The owners were great and answered all my emails promptly. It was just a short walk to the beautiful beach! We stayed here with family members and had a great time! We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for such a great experience! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We're glad you had a great time and found the townhouse so perfect for your family. Hope to see you back again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing house

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Wonderful home, and amazing views. This house is wonderful, great for a family. Publix is just across the road, and the beach isn't far, about 2 blocks away.
Three bedrooms, two on the top floor and one on the floor with the kitchen.
Very cleen and maintained. Carpet in the rooms and on the steps, tile and white ceramic tile in living room, hallway and kitchen. The owners were very nice when I called them, helped out with anything I had a question about, no problems at all.
I would book this house again. Many shops all around the island, and easy access to many shops and many restaurant.
We rented waverunners from a place right by "A.M.I.Bradenton beach marina" and we got a hour and a half tour around the whole island, was really fun! We saw a baby manatee, and many dolphins.
Took our dogs to Manatee Ave and let them swim, they didn't care for that, but it was fun to know where you could let your dogs swim and enjoy the sand and small waves.
Always had something to do and see.
This place is great. Really nice owners and everyone on the island is nice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

3 generation stay

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

We were very surprised at how lovely the unit was when we arrived. We were their for our daughter's beach wedding at the Beach House and it was very convenient. We spent some time every day at the beach and it was beautiful. The walk was not a hardship at all, (though we couldn't keep the wheels on the wagon.)
There was plenty of room and privacy for all with 3 bedrooms and 3 baths and 3 porches. We had a lovely stay and it was so conveniently located to everything we needed ( restaurants, grocery, shops, etc.)
Thanks so much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Townhouse rental

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2008

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Townhouse on two occasions and I can honestly say that we have never been anything less than 100% satisfied with the accommodation and amenities offered. The location is absolutely fantastic, turn left as you exit the property and its a very short stroll to the beach, turn right, down to the pool. We couldn't fault it, great value for money and never any problem dealing with the owners. If you need a relaxing holiday, this is the place for you, or do as we have done in the past, take a week in Orlando and do the theme parks, then go relax at the beach for a few days / week, life doesn't get any better.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! You have always been lovely guests! Hope you all make it back over to our side of the pond!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great time!

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Had a great time. Place was super comfortable and plenty of room for my whole family (there were 8 of us). Owner came out to refill the propane and bring out the new garage door opener and was super nice. The kids loved the beach and the wagon - our little ones liked to ride it in to the beach. The raccoons were pretty cute but the neighbors said the island is actually trapping some to relocate since tourists have fed them and all (don't worry, we didn't). Loved the fact we could park our boat right next to the front door and a great boat ramp was just around the corner. The Publix is great too since its really convenient. Overall we had a great time and a perfect place for families since its super reasonable too. Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Unsatisfied

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The townhome was less than desirable....the location was poor. There was raccoon stool all around the outside of the home along with mean raccoons. The pool was not at all private and far away and closed at 8pm. The walk to the beach was about 6 blocks which did not match up with the advertisement listing. There was no Wi-Fi. The owner did not provide good customer service. The oven was broken, along with blinds, clothes dryer, light switches, hot and cold water in the the master, stains on the carpet, broken spindles, palmetto bugs, kitchen sink leaked, and the beds were terrible. I wouldnt recommend this townhome to anyone. The price was entirely too high for the level of discomfort. The things offered for the beach and pool in the garage were broken and dry-rotted along with the garage door opener. The entire description of the property is mis-leading to say the very least.

Owners response: Wow-this is quite surprising from a family that called to ask for an extra night since they were having such a great time (we obliged). And from the same folks who spoke personally to David while he was there having WiFi repaired-I would think if there were all of these problems (which there are not), it might have been mentioned during the 2+ hours spent there w/ the family (I would say excellent cust. service)-they said all was great! We are on an island and raccoons (not mean, just plain ole raccoons) are a way of life. There is NO stool around the townhouse or the pool (we went immediately to check as we had never seen or heard of this before) so I'm not sure what that's in reference to. We didn't know the oven wasn't working or there was a leak in the sink-how could we since once again, they did not tell us. Both have already been repaired, and that's exactly what happens when we are informed of problems (just like the Wi-Fi- we even switched companies to get it done right away). Our maintenance company makes sure all is clean and functioning but things can be hidden and it is our hope that guests do take the time to let us know-jot us an email or give us a call. We always make every effort to respond to the needs of guests. We have a lovely place, in a great location, with a beautiful pool & beach. To have someone represent it as any else is blatantly false and more than disappointing. Just today I received the following from the guests who just checked out (guests who have been in our place since the complaintent):"Hi, Crestie, We are at the airport and I wanted to report in. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the townhouse; thank you. I thought check-out was at 11 for some reason so were a bit late at check-out. He went ahead and brought his supplies in and gave us a few minutes. We had a great time and really appreciate you bringing out the new beach chairs-you didn't have to do that but they were great, just like the wagon. Hope to come back next summer and glad you are spared the oil.Thanks again for the use of your townhouse--it was convenient to the beach and the weather was great. Karen and Family" Yes,the beach is convenient (a short walk, certainly not 6 blocks-it's just as advertised). We're more than fairly priced for such a large place, on the island, so close to the beach and have always had happy guests and return visitors. It is sad to see this especially when they reported such a good time-very, very misleading and disappointing.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Had a great time the second time around too! Love your place - kids love your pace. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

Loved this - perfect for our family. Very clean, roomy, and everything we needed. Great location. We had so much fun at the beach and the pool. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This was perfect! Your place was so convenient to everything so everyone could do as they liked - and the beach was so very wonderful! Can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review