reviews for: listing #5234 - Bar Harbor, Maine Cottage rental

Gorham Cottage, " Ideal Location"
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Otter Creek Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,055 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazingly clean

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

The cottage is really beautiful and amazingly clean, the location is great all the points Jordan Pond, Sand Beach, the
Mountain trais the town all of them are at a close distance .The bike ride on the carriage trails was a wonderful experience. About the cottage, we had a great time expecially with the BBQ out at night.. Thanks...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Had a wonderful stay... enjoyed Stars over Sand Beach, lots of hiking ,Ranger Programs, tidelpools, Jordan Pond, Thuya Gardens and all the great resturants. great property managers , thanks
so much...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We found that our visit flew by to fast

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

The cottage was just great ... We had a very delightful visit to this beautiful park and charming Island. We found that our visit flew by to fast.. We will be back.. we had great hikes,
and great food the blueberry pies were a favorite..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our first trip to Acadia

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our first trip to Acadia and Mt. Desert Island was great!! We
love the park and enjoyed Bar Harbor as well, all so beautiful especially on a beautiful sunny day, of whick we had more than
cloudy ones, even the cloudy days where fun exploring "other
places" like Great Long Pond,Northeast Harbor and the inner island. The cottge was perfect, comfy beds and a great location.We enjoyed our time "at home" after long days exploring.Very much enjoyed the Burning Tree Resturant worth the $$ and so close we went twice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage is in the perfect location

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a great stay in Acadia, the cottage is in the perfect location we explored the entire Island. The kids loved it so
much they are planning a return trip.
Our 7&9 year olds completed the 3.2 hike around Jordan Pond and ended with a smile on there face... We saw whales, seals took a
plane ride and saw the Island from an intirely new perspective...What a great trip...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage was perfect we love it!

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This was our second trip to Acadia, first time we stayed at the
Otter Creek Inn that was 16years ago... First trip back with the kids and really enjoyed it!! The cottae is perfect we love it... Had a great time..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was so nice to have a "home away "from home

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here in Acadia and Bar Harbor. It was so nice to have a 'home away from home" The space was perfect for our family of 5. It was
our first time back with children and great to discover new things on the island with them..The area holds a special place in my heart not just because of its beauty but because my husband and I were engaged here at sunrise atop of Cadillac Mountain..
We look forward to our next trip and will definitely be back to Gorham Cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful week at Gorham View!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We had a wonderful week at Gorham View! Hided our favorite paths and had a great Lobster dinner at Thurstons... our favorite restaurants are Thurstons
and the Jordan Pond House. Our little Rosie was right at home in this great cottage, she loved the open floorplan.
Can't wait to come again..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8 summers of vacations in National Parks

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

For the last 8 summers our family has vacationed in the National Parks. Each
has given us special memories that we hold dear. Acadia will be remembered most for the sunrise on Cadillac Mountain,watching and hearing the ocean at Thunder Hole, biking the carriage roads, hking Gorham and Cadillace Mountains and their
spectacular views, Lobster dinners at Thurstons Lobster Pound, the tour on the Sea Princess,the cruiseships in Bar Harbor,dinner and popovers at Jordan Pond House, the smell of the ocean.... We loved the cottage so very clean and bright
and it is a wonderful location.. One week was not enough time to spend here, we look forward to visiting again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful surprise to walk into !

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

What a wonderful surprise to walk into such a bright, colorful, cheerful home! Our children loved the cottage as did our golden doodle. Thank you for the
"dog friendliness" .
The bedrooms were perfectly sized and very confortable.They were awesome. When
we arrived the children saw a large buck, but it was scared away.
The cottage was a great place to relax in during the few rainy afternoons and
we played games in confort, We did a number of park outings and Ranger Talks
Highlights included picking blueberries on Cadillac Mountain and seeing the sunset there,a day spent on the Cranberry Islands , the Jordan Pond walk and the Rockefeller Garden!! P.S. my husband celebrated his birthday here..the
children picked blueberries and we baked them into delicious muffins...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely place to return to

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

What a lovely place to return to after a good day of hiking and
enjoying all of the spectaular views!! We had a great few days
here... Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One week is not enough!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

One week is not enough.... 6 pt buck sleeping in the backyard!!
Thank you for a great place to staying during our trip...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful vacation in Acadia

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation in Acadia and staying here at Gorham Cottage is one
of the reasons why! This cottage has a great central location for everything
we wanted to do. We also rode our bikes from the cottage into the Park.
The Burning Tree is a great restaurant and of couse all the places in Bar Harbor are quick and easy to get to. Our toddler son loved the open floor plan and had a great time both "at home" and in the Park.
Last but not least, we loved using the fresh rhubarb from the yard to make strawberry-rubarb crisp. Yum!
This was our first but not our last trip, P.S. Thank you for the use of the highchair..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable, quiet, close to Bar Harbor

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Cottage was just as described. Quiet location, nice deck, nice sized cottage. Had all the small things in place (blanket in the family room for when it got chilly at night, laundry detergent, area info etc.). Stayed for a week with my husband and 2 young adult kids and dog - was very comfortable. Bar Harbor was an easy 10 minute drive. We didn't utilize the buses just cause we were a bit lazy to time things to catch them - and we found parking in Bar Harbor wasn't bad if you didn't mind a short walk.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cottage

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We were thrilled with this cottage.It is clean and everything you need is there.It is close to the free bus and hikes.Its very quiet and peaceful.The bus is very convienient and Acadia is just beautiful.We loved it here and the kids did too.Lots of space in the cottage too.
We would definately go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kitchen and deck are really great!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Nice, quiet,relaxing atmosphere, Close to most everywhere we like
to go on the Island. The kitchen and deck are really great! Folks at
the Otter Creek Market are really friendly. We had a great time.
No deer sightings, though.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The kitchen and deck are really great!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Nice, quiet,relaxing atmosphere, Close to most everywhere we like
to go on the Island. The kitchen and deck are really great! Folks at
the Otter Creek Market are really friendly. We had a great time.
No deer sightings, though.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review