reviews for: listing #52359 - Eureka Springs, Arkansas House rental

5+Bd/ 6 ba Historic Home in Heart of Eureka Springs
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community  historic /downtown
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $465 - $590 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,095 /wk

sort by:

Great vacation home in Eureka Springs

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

We were looking for a place that would hole 14 people for a family reunion. Gaslight vacation home was perfect! It is within walking distance to downtown Eureka Springs, but still in a quiet neighborhood with lots of privacy. The kids loved playing in the huge yard and they loved sleeping together in the huge up stair bedroom. Every bedroom (6 total) had its own private full bath and the house was very clean. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Debbie

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

It was simply wonderful...We had a great trip even though it snowed and rained the entire trip... We were not able to attend the Passion Play on Friday due to it being canceled...We will certainly let others know about this beautiful place. Just had a great time being with our christian friends. Thank you Laura for opening your home to us. By the way the cinnamon rolls were delicious...and also the robes were a very nice treat...Would recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a few days...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My new favorite!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Gaslight in March. Despite the threat of bad weather, we came anyways and don't regret it. We braved the cold for some downtown shopping, and dining. ( Check out the Stonehouse Winebar) We came back to the house and blew our diets on some incredible chocolates we'de gotten from a local chocolate maker ( Martin Greers... that Laura told us about .. don't miss them!! ). Some of the gals lounged around the livingroom and played Scrabble, some took advantage of the big Jacuzzi tubs in the bathrooms. One of the nicst things is that we got to have late (aftrenoon) check-out. Laura said it was no problem because she was working on the goldfish pondanyways, and they didn't have anyone else coming-in. We slept late Sunday, and went downtown for brunch before packing up. It was a beautiful home, comfy beds, plenty of space, we had the place to ourselves, and there's a big porch that the bird-watchers in our group liked alot. Laura was a gracious host, but left us to ourselves. Only problem some folks might have is that it's a help yourself breakfast continental breakfast, basically English muffins, oatmeal, melon and fruit, juice etc, but she had some HUGE fresh baked cinnamon buns form a local bakery, so that made up for it. I hope we get a chance to come back when things are warmer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls / Sisters Weekend in Eureka Springs

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This was the PERFECT place for our group. As mentioned in other reviews the porch was a highlite. The gazebo is all lit up at night with tiny lights, and it is perfect for a nightcap, a somewhat ethereal place.House is beautiful. They have games and cards, and lots of local info. We were able to walk to town fairly quickly, and got our exercise coming back up the hill. Rooms/suites varied in size but everyone was comfortable. We were able to use the kitchen, but ended up eating downtown. The breakfast basket and items available in fridge as well as coffee and teas were plenty. The caretaker checked in with us, but we had everything we needed. We had a great time just being able to do our thing.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gaslight Eureka Springs,Arkansas

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Mother daughter trip-5-7 minutes walking distance to downtown,if you want to walk.Each room has own private bath.Kitchen was good-we brought food and did not cook but it was well supplied.The porch was great.We usually stay at the lake but liked the distance to downtown.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jimmie Mullendore

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

The house was perfect, the kitchen had everything we needed to throw a small birthday dinner.The front porch was where all the life was the deer and red foxes would come and drink from the garden pond, the Hummingbirds playing around the feeder, with the birids singing it was the plase to relax. The beds where soft and had you rested for a fun filled day in town. We are planing a trip for Oct 2013 and we will be staying at the Gaslight Inn.Thank you Laura for being so sweet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

My girlfriends and I have stayed at Gaslight Inn 3 or 4 different times. We just LOVE this place. We each have our own bedroom and bath, with lots of "common area" rooms. We love eating in or going out. We have TV for watching movies, and we play card games or dominoes... it's just a very RELAXING weekend for us. Look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful Home!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

Our second visit to this home - very comfortable, well-equipped, great garden. Really close to downtown, trolley. Room for everyone, We used it for a business meeting and WIFI was able to accommodate all of us easily.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extended family vacation...

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Several cousins decided to start taking vacations together to: 1) re-connect and 2) share expense. 2012 was our second year, with 9 family members participating, including two couples. The Gaslight fit our needs PERFECTLY!!! The house was clean and the refrigerator/kitchen were nicely stocked when we arrived. The best part was everyone was able to have their own little "retreat," complete with a bathroom. The two outside entrance suites worked well for the couples, but would have been perfect had we had someone in the party with mobility issues.

We enjoyed the decor and being able to eat together (one smaller dining room had enough seating for all of us). The larger dining room table became game/puzzle central. We brought our own, but didn't need to - the host has plenty on hand, along with great tourist and birdwatching guides.

The veranda and gazebo were our favorite places to be, watching the deer come strolling through the yard and stopping for a drink at the fountain. Vicky, the house cat, was an added joy - very friendly! The house's location at the end of a dead-end street also helped keep it very peaceful.

Will definitely be our choice if we ever get back to Eureka Springs for a group trip!

Nelson/Minter/Rice/Peglow/Messerly/Pepper/Scully Uncle, Aunt and Cousins.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

David S - Frisco, TX

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Had first annual Family Reunion at the Gaslight, June 2012. Stayed Sunday to Sunday and enjoyed 6 spacious private Bedrooms, 2 Dining rooms, full Kitchen (w/ all appliances); Living room w/ 2 comfy sofas and chairs. Has 2 TV's, some DVD's, lots of books and family games. AC worked well, even at mid-90's outside.

Our daily/nightly gathering spot was the very relaxing and cozy covered L-shaped front porch (accommodating entire group of 13; extra porch chairs provided) and view of the fountain and gazebo. Always seemed to have a pleasant breeze. Saw a few deer (early AM and Late afternoon, a fox (2x), lots of birds and 2 hungry cats. Brenda (caretaker) very helpful, and on property watering, etc. Responded w/ replacement coffee maker within 15 minutes.

Near groceries, gas, C-store, w/ downhill walk to retail, restaurants and trolley cars. Uphill walk back very steep. Lovely downtown area; variety of choices for eating, touristing, hiking and water activities.

Lots of on-site parking in back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend stay with three couples

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

My wife and I and two other couples stayed here in early June for a weekend.

We had great directions to get there and found a notebook full of local suggestions when we arrived.

We used the three bedrooms on the main floor. It was a very hot weekend, but the air conditioning worked great. We sat on the porch in the mornings and late evenings and were very comfortable especially with the ceiling fan. We also sat out on the patio.

It was in a great location for us. We walked down the hill to the town, and though it's a steep walk back up the hill, it wasn't too bad. There was plenty of parking - we had two cars, but there was room for more.

The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. There was a great dining room table where we ate breakfast each day.

All was as advertised and more. We had a great time and would definitely return.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation 2011.

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Our Familyof nine enjoyed the atosmphere of Eureka Springs with all the shops etc. Even though the weather was extra warm, we spent time on the Porch visiting with each other. We will return again f we can get everyone together. Would recommend this vacation spot to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anne Titus, Fayetteville, AR

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We had a great time at the gaslight. Our family ages ranged from 3 yrs to 80 plus. The eating and gathering spaces (front porch, yard, living room) worked beautifully for our large group. And the owner was very gracious and helpful. Yes, I'd definitely recommend the Gaslight.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a family get-together!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We often have trouble finding a place where everyone can not only sleep, but gather and eat together. This home has all that and more! We loved hanging out on the wrap-around porch, and the spacious yard is peaceful with the fountain and gazebo (like others, we saw deer drinking at the fountain). Plenty of off-street parking, and a short walk to downtown or the trolley stop. Laura was helpful and cooperative in working with our schedule and needs. This one's a keeper.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Anniversary with Family

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. Mike and I renewed our wedding vows right there in the living room. One of our family members is clergy, so it was especially nice that everyone was able to come, and that depended on finding a place big enough for us all. So, thank you again.
The location is great… some went off to do canoeing, others slept in then went downtown. We all went out together Saturday night… so easy to do there.
Blessings on you, and all who come to Gaslight.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summertime at the Bluefest

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time this past weekend....the house fit our group's needs really well. It was pretty hot in Eureka but the front porch, with it's fans, offered a wonderful sitting area. Loved the yard as well....I'd almost assume that you keep deer as pets in the area. Anyway, appreciated the property and thanks for sharing it with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Early Spring in the Ozarks

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Plenty of space, lots of kitchen supplies, beautiful property.We enjoyed deer watching every evening. The cat, Victoria, who is the neighborhood cat, was very sweet and liked to be petted.Hummingbirds darted in and out of the feeders. The front veranda was great for having a glass of wine on! There were beautiful hanging baskets of flowers, which for we Minnesotans, was lovely to see at that time of year.It is an easy walk into town, many good restaurants and cute shops. The beds were comfortable and the linens top notch. It was nice having a washer and dryer to use. The kitchen is smaller than what I am used to, but very charming and well stocked with cookware. We all enjoyed the jacuzzis , the baths all had hairdryers and soaps etc.The furniture was beautiful in every room, just lovely. I am hoping we can return because we had such a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Springtime vacation

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My 10 friends and I stayed in April 2011. What a fantastic weekend, just too short. The house made possible for all of us to have our own schedule and still enjoy time on the front porch or living room making memories. The convenience of each room with a separate bathroom is remarkable. The parking area is more than adequate. We enjoyed the deer, the full kitchen and spa robes. Have not found another place comparable.
Debbie and friends
Oklahoma

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Golden Anniversary

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

location was super, easy to get anywhere we wanted. House was an excellent place to bring all our family together

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gaslight Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Plenty of space, lots of kitchen supplies, beautiful property.We enjoyed deer watching every evening. The cat, Victoria, who is the neighborhood cat, was very sweet and liked to be petted.Hummingbirds darted in and out of the feeders. The front veranda was great for having a glass of wine on! There were beautiful hanging baskets of flowers, which for we Minnesotans, was lovely to see at that time of year.It is an easy walk into town, many good restaurants and cute shops. The beds were comfortable and the linens top notch. It was nice having a washer and dryer to use. The kitchen is smaller than what I am used to, but very charming and well stocked with cookware. We all enjoyed the jacuzzis , the baths all had hairdryers and soaps etc.The furniture was beautiful in every room, just lovely. I am hoping we can return because we had such a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Large Home in Eureka Springs!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We rented this beautiful old home for Christmas in 2010. I would love to go back in the Spring or Summer because the grounds are beautiful and during December, the weather was cold so we didn't get outside the house much. Even though the temperature was dipping, we very much enjoyed renting the Gaslight and spending the holiday with 12 family members. The top floor was perfect for our son, his wife and their 2 small children. The main floor has all the living space, with a well equipped kitchen and large dining areas and 3 bedrooms/3baths. There are 2 suites on the bottom floor that you enter from the outside...I'm guessing this area might have originally been a walkout basement. There is a washer and dryer in the garage but we never entered that area. The home has a beautiful wrap around porch. The owner/manager provided great customer service of this well-maintained, clean property. She even included a list of area restaurants, grocery stores, shops, etc. that was very helpful! Would definitely recommend this property to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Chilly November w good food and good friends

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

Hey Laura
just wanted to say thanks and what a great house!! We had so much fun, it was perfect for our needs.... Everyone was very impressed, we will be talking about this weekend for along time

We were so impressed at how well stocked the kitchen was...we certainly brought more than we needed!! Wall cooked at the house friday night and had dinner reservations at Devitos saturday....we had so much fun cooking at home, were kind disappointed that we had to go out to eat!! so next time we'll know to stay home and cook!!! The walk to town was nice, the walk home was a little brutle, but we didn't feel so bad about all the food we ate!!

The piano was a shocker too!...most of us are musicians, so everytime someone else would show up they would accuse the others of bringing it!!

I think the most awesome part was the deer that would wonder through the yard in the evening. friday night we were sitting on the porch and there were two deer right by the fountain. later that night, there were 5!!!
and they came back the next night! that was cool.

Our fun more than outweighed the lack of a fireplace!!we were totally fine while we were sleeping the bed was very comfortable and warm, it was just that getting from the bed to the shower that was chilly....no bid deal.

You have a wonderful thing going on there....hope it stays open for years.
My husband and I have stayed somewhere different every year, but we liked this so much, we might do it again!!! Thanks, Lisa

*** ( in 2010 Nov/Dec we had issues with our fireplaces, but the will be resolved..guests were advised that they had functionality issues when reserving)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Girls Weekend Ever?

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

Best Girls Weekend ever?
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By mpotts - Feb 24, 2010
What a beautiful home! When searching for a vacation home in Eureka Springs for a "Girls" weekend, I lucked upon this listing. Everything about the house is welcoming. Just when we thought we had looked at every item in every cabinet, we found yet another treasure. This is a truely wonderful experience to stay in such a vintage house. We watched deer drink from the fountain every morning while having our coffee on the front porch. We will be back in the fall:)?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time. Thanks, Laura!

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Gaslight Vacation Home Rental?
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By laura - Feb 12, 2010
( Kelly- Oct 2009) My husband and I took our son, daughter and their spouses and our 4 grandchildren (ages 3-10 yrs) here for an early summer vacation. We loved the private bath for each bedroom. The house was large enough to allow everyone some privacy and the two dining areas gave us plenty of room for kids' and grown-ups' tables. The kids loved the yard and everyone loved sitting on the large porch. Downtown is close and we actually walked there and back. The up-hill climb on the way back is steep. Our hostess, Laura, was very welcoming and so helpful. We've already recommended this place to friends. We had a great time. Thanks, Laura!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a perfect place for a small group / family

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Gaslight Vacation Home?
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By Hy - Dec 8, 2009
This is a perfect place for a small group or family... My family has enjoyed Thanksgiving in many vacation houses over the years, but this was the first one to fully accommodate our desire for 6 completely separate bedrooms (each having its own bathroom), while providing us plenty of space for dining and games. The porch is big enough for every one to gather to share stories and watch the deer in the yard. Everyone made the easy walk downtown each day, yet, if you walk the other direction - a cafe, grocery store, a health food store, and the liquor store are all a short distance away (and no hill in that direction either). Also, there is a nice place to have a drink a couple of blocks down the street called the Lumber Yard (predominantly country music). It is a friendly place to enjoy a beverage and play a game of pool. The Gaslight has plenty of parking in the back and the house is on a large lot, therefore it is the perfect place for family reunions, weddings, or any type of gathering. I would recommend the Gaslight to anyone and we are looking forward to our next stay. (Note - We used Denise as our caterer and she did an outstanding job!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was a great place for our family reunion

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By dj40s - Oct 6, 2009
This was a great place for our family members to come together from different cities and states and enjoy some time together! It was located in a beautiful setting (very quiet and lots of green space). The outdoor space was great for lawn games and the veranda was a great place to relax and visit. Early morning and evening hours we watched deer on the lawn. Downtown was a short walk or a short trolley ride away. We spent time together playing games of an evening (some we brought and others were in the home). We would whole-heartedly recommend this home as a great place to enjoy a wonderful vacation.?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Place to Stay w/ Friends

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Gaslight Vacation Home?
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 By Jenny - Jul 20, 2009
We stayed here with 3 other couples in June 2009. There was plenty of room for everyone! The dining area and living room were both large enough to accomodate all of us and we loved sitting on the large porch. There is a huge yard for lawn games and the house is close to downtown Eureka shopping.?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We LOVED IT!, *****

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Gaslight Vacation Home Eureka Springs, AR?
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 - Jul 3, 2009
My family and friends shared this wonderful vacation home for a week and we just LOVED it! There was lots of space, privacy, and it was furnished with absolutely everything we could possibly need for a very relaxing, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. The yard is great for playing outdoor games--it would also make a beautiful setting for a wedding. It's very convenient to the downtown area (5-10 minute walk) but also very private (no traffic noise at all.) The largest grocery store in Eureka Springs is nearby (3 blocks) and Hiway 62 is close as well making it convenient to get to any of the area attractions. The trolley car hub is at the bottom of the hill (2-3 block walk) and you can catch any of the trolley routes there. We saw lots of deer, a friendly fox, and a couple of racoons! The large bedrooms and baths with jacuzzi's were a star attraction as well. Our friend from Chicago loved the loft (he's sort of private) and the 2 sets of washers/dryers made doing ...? More »
My family and friends shared this wonderful vacation home for a week and we just LOVED it! There was lots of space, privacy, and it was furnished with absolutely everything we could possibly need for a very relaxing, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. The yard is great for playing outdoor games--it would also make a beautiful setting for a wedding. It's very convenient to the downtown area (5-10 minute walk) but also very private (no traffic noise at all.) The largest grocery store in Eureka Springs is nearby (3 blocks) and Hiway 62 is close as well making it convenient to get to any of the area attractions. The trolley car hub is at the bottom of the hill (2-3 block walk) and you can catch any of the trolley routes there. We saw lots of deer, a friendly fox, and a couple of racoons! The large bedrooms and baths with jacuzzi's were a star attraction as well. Our friend from Chicago loved the loft (he's sort of private) and the 2 sets of washers/dryers made doing laundry a snap. We will definitely be returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for Gals weekend

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By Mary - Jun 16, 2009
Eight friends enjoyed an easy, comfortable, peaceful weekend in this lovely Victorian home. We had six bedrooms and baths, plenty of room for privacy, and a dining room and veranda large enough to accommodate all of us. From the hummingbirds to the hot tub soaks, everything was very nice!?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Eight friends enjoyed an easy, comfortable, peaceful weekend in this lovely Victorian home. We had six bedrooms and baths, plenty of room for privacy, and a dining room and veranda large enough to accommodate all of us. From the hummingbirds to the hot tub soaks, everything was very nice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

Gaslight B&B / Vacation Home 19 Judah St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Gaslight Vacation Home Eureka Springs, AR - Jul 3, 2009My family and friends shared this wonderful vacation home for a week and we just LOVED it! There was lots of space, privacy, and it was furnished with absolutely everything we could possibly need for a very relaxing, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. The yard is great for playing outdoor games--it would also make a beautiful setting for a wedding. It's very convenient to the downtown area (5-10 minute walk) but also very private (no traffic noise at all.) The largest grocery store in Eureka Springs is nearby (3 blocks) and Hiway 62 is close as well making it convenient to get to any of the area attractions. The trolley car hub is at the bottom of the hill (2-3 block walk) and you can catch any of the trolley routes there. We saw lots of deer, a friendly fox, and a couple of racoons! The large bedrooms and baths with jacuzzi's were a star attraction as well. Our friend from Chicago loved the loft (he's sort of private) and the 2 sets of washers/dryers made doing laundry a snap. We will definitely be returning!

Owners response: Janet Seefeldt ( visited June 16) of OK City, OK submitted this, it was not meant to be anonymous, but we cannot change the entry without wiping out all entries..so i am posting this note. She also posted this to our Google business listing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review