reviews for: listing #52391 - Half Moon Bay, California House rental

Historic Home w/ Large Yard + Fire Pit by the Beach!
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Moss Beach
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $600 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Getaway Spot for a Group!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Our second trip down to stay at this great property. We are a group of 8 coming down for Golf at The Half Moon Bay courses and this property has been ideal. BBQ the first night and hanging out on patio.. plenty of sitting rooms and bedrooms and a kitchen with 8-10 person table for dinners and cards. Very quiet and comfortable. No Internet access, so plan accordingly. Our group will definitely be back and thank you again Mililianne for being so accommodating, a pleasure putting the weekend together with you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Patrick, We loved having you as a return guest to our beach house. You are delightful, and we are so glad that we could accommodate you once again. I wish I'd known that you were unable to access our internet service, as that is always a top priority to us and our guests. We do provide internet service, but were apparently experiencing difficulty on the weekend of your stay.
Thank you for your candid review and we hope you and your friends will continue to return to our beach house for a few rounds of golf and to continue making wonderful memories every year. Gratefully, Millieanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous house for a group

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

We had a college reunion here over the new year, and couldn't have been more pleased with the house! It had ample space for a large group of us to hang out, cook meals, & a nice stash of board games in the living room that we took advantage of. The weather was great so we were able to bbq and use the fire pit as well. The furniture was older but in good condition, and added to the "old California" beach vibe of the house. A quick walk to the bluffs/beach, and walking trails nearby as well which were really nice. Overall a wonderful trip, and we can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Family Gathering

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

My family rented the house and cottage for our father's 90th birthday celebration and we had the best weekend! The accommodations were ideal for our 3-generation family of 9 - plenty of beds, bathrooms, and living space. The kitchen and outdoor gas grill were outfitted with everything we needed. The Moss Beach location and sunny weather were perfect for our walks to the marine reserve and the scenic viewpoint at the end of the street (beautiful sunsets). Our family gathering was enriched by staying at Millie's home - we'll always have special memories of our beach walks, cooking, eating, laughing, and just being together in a charming home and lovely surroundings.

The owner, Millie, was so nice to deal with. We had a great initial phone conversation and in person she was even more welcoming and friendly. She was considerate and attentive to our needs and concerns, which made our stay that much more enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Teachers at the Beach

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

What a great get-away for a bunch of preschool teachers... who really DO "need" a get-away! :) Loved the house! So perfect for 8 women as we took some time to learn more about our role as teachers... moms, wives, sisters, daughters... and friends!! Your house was the perfect location and so quiet and quaint!! The large dining room table was ideal for a great dinner and all the bedrooms, so decorated with your personal touches, gave us plenty of "alone" space, too!! We played games in the Comfy Family Room with the cozy gas fireplace and enjoyed our morning training/devotion there, too!! The Tide Pools were a big hit and soooo very close!! If our "retreat plans" bring us back to Half Moon Bay next fall, we will return to Millie's Hide-away!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Large, Historic, Half Moon Bay Vacation Home By the Beach Review

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

The home was as described, large, roomy spaces for people to sleep and gather indoors and out. We were in walking distance to the beach which we did everyday to enjoy the spectacular tide pools at Fitzhugh Marine Reserve. The kitchen, dining room, sunroom portion of the house was exceptional in space and equipment. With six adults and two children the flow of the house worked very well. One evening we had a lovely barbecue in the spacious outdoor area. However, my son discovered when he went to start the propane barbecue that it was rusted and in disrepair with some jets not working. The barbecue should be replaced. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated but three of the mattresses were very soft and saggy, especially in the master bedroom and left those who slept on them, sleep deprived. The upstairs mattresses should be replaced immediately. Other than the deficient barbecue and mattresses, it was the perfect place for our family to reunite to celebrate two birthdays and attend a wedding further down the coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Helane, for your lovely review about our home. I'm so glad that you had such a wonderful stay, that you thought to write your comments on line. I wanted you to know that we replaced the BBQ with a brand new one. It's almost impossible to keep things from rusting quickly when you live so close to the sea! The BBQ looked fine, but the metal under the stainless grates were of a thin type which was badly rusting. Thank you so much for letting us know.

Also, you mentioned that some of the mattresses were a little too soft for you. I'm sorry that was the case. We have actually replaced all 6 mattresses in the main house and 2 in the cottage. All the beds have memory foam toppers, which can be a little to cushy for some people, I suppose, but truly, we have never had a complaint from any one. We want all our guests to have a wonderful experience,
that their families will remember for a life time. We get many return
guests, so we know "we must be doing something right" and we are always trying to improve. Input from wonderful guests like yourself,
is such valuable information, and it can only help us to make things
better.
Thank you again Helane! Kindly, Millieanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home for my family

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

We had the best time staying here. My family had flown in from Kenya, England and Canada for my wedding and it was the first time in a long time that we have had such a get together. This beautiful house had become their home and they all enjoyed the hikes to the beach and around the marine reserve and up and down highway 1.
The house was more spacious than the photos indicate and came fully stocked with everything we could imagine. Millianne was also a very helpful and wonderful host.
I will definitely plan on having more get-togethers here in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Party of 16 from 6 different states had a blast in HMB!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

We rented the property for a week when a friend from the Bay area got married in Half Moon Bay. We had travelers come in from all across the country from New York to Hawaii. Everyone enjoyed the house and its close proximity to the ocean (3 minute walk). We utilized the grill and outside fire pit almost every night. We really didn't have any problems with anything and if we were to do it all again we come back here. The house has neat history and we enjoyed seeing the old black and white photos in the books by the fireplace. Plenty of hot water even with 7 women, neat cooking on the old stove in the kitchen, enjoyed the gas fireplace daily, good parking and easy access. Plenty of good memories from this trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our New "Home Sweet Home"

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

My husband was temporarily relocated to the South San Fran area for 7 weeks for work. After searching for hotels and corporate rentals, we decided to try renting a Vrbo Home. Can't say enough about how positive the experience was.

We stayed in "The Cottage", a beautifully updated, vintage beach home in Moss Beach, located 6 houses from the coast. It could have not been a more perfect solution for us and we loved every minute of our stay.

Just a few facts ....
1. The pictures are a 100% accurate representation of the home! What you see is what you get, except the pictures of the bathrooms do not do them justice. They are completely redone in Italian marble and are beautiful, spacious and completely up-to date.
2. The property is very well maintained. We were very pleased and after communicating with the owner, we were given the contact information for the cleaning lady if we wished to use her. In our case, with an extended stay, we loved having this option.
3. I can't say enough about the owner. We always had excellent communication before, during and after our stay. Contracts were straight forward, concerns were addressed and anything that came up was immediately taken care of.
4. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this property for anyone looking to enjoy San Fran but also have the coastal home option. We met one in the neighbors while watching a sun set one night, and they mentioned that this area of homes is the only one from San Fran to Half Moon Bay that has beach access due to the lower heights of the cliffs and a sand beach. Great for families. Its about a 15 minute trip to Daly City and the Bart System - an easy drive. About 5-10 minutes to Half Moon Bay.

You can tell how much the owner loves her home by all of her personal touches and attention to detail. From the minute you enter, you know that this is a welcoming old house filled with love, laughter, good times and great memories. Do stay here if that is the type of vacation you are hoping for. If our future travels include San Fran, then you can believe that we will staying at our "new favorite place".

Thank you, again, M for a wonderful stay!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Our family stayed here for the weekend in February for my mother-in-law's 80th birthday and we had a wonderful time. Millieanne was so nice to work with on reserving the house. The house was very spacious and was very charming and nicely decorated. The house worked perfectly for us. We enjoyed how close it was to the marine wildlife preserve. We would definitely come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Weekend House for My Special Family

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

My husband and I rented this house for my family to stay in during our wedding weekend. The house is absolutely lovely and charming with plenty of space. The grounds are perfectly maintained, and you can really feel the love and warmth in this house. Millieanne was a pleasure to work with, very professional and SUPER sweet. Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This was the perfect place for me to marry the man of my dreams and to hang out with our 6 (combined) children and their families. The house exceeded what it looks like on the website with different rooms that people could gather in and a very well equipped kitchen – nice since we had some gourmet chefs in our group. Many commented on how lovely the house was. The garden, with fire pit and Buddha statue was perfect for the ceremony and the driveway worked very well for the BBQ reception, and even dancing! Millie was very attentive to our needs, providing an extra table and a way to play our ceremony music and called back right away when we had a question about the wireless connection. I liked that there were nearby places for us to take outings to. We only took some nice walks, to the tide pools and coastal trail, but there were so many possibilities I wished we could have stayed for a few weeks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion - 60th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This home was GREAT! So pleasant in every way - more than adequate to meet our needs. The flowers beautiful - the beds very comfortable - the kitchen fully equipped with all we needed. The fireplace was wonderful for early mornings. The fire pit great for evenings and Smore's. We reserved both the cottage and home for our group. We liked the large dining room table - the 3 sitting rooms. Millie was great to work with our schedule. Very clean and well kept. We would use this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

60th Anniversary Celebration - Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

All of the photos on this web site are true - not retouched. Our time in the home was excellent. Millie was great to work with our schedule. We rented both the house and cottage. Great adventures for our kids at the tide pools and surrounding area. Games and puzzles also for the kiddos and adults. The house has three sitting areas that were perfect for our family. The historic home was beautifully decorated and more than adequately furnished with everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and clean. The flower gardens so pretty. Thank you Millie for having our family - we appreciated your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect place!

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

What a wonderful weekend--we gathered 30 people together for a daytime barbecue to celebrate my sister's engagement, and the house was perfect! The immediate family were all able to stay the night, and of course the happy couple got the beautiful little cottage all to themselves. It is a big house, tons of space for everyone to hang out and relax during the day, and a short walk away from some super interesting tide pools! Also, bonus points for having a VERY impressively stocked kitchen, much better than any house rental I've ever been in. Thanks for a fabulous and memorable weekend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're Comin Back!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

WOW! The 15 of us, friends from college, got together for the 26th year in a row. Instead of Tahoe, we found this awesome beach house and cottage, and it turned out to be one of the best get-togethers yet. There was something for everyone: I surfed every morning, there were long walks along the coastal cliffs, runs overlooking Mavericks, walks to Moss Beach Distillery for warm/cold beverages, epic tidepools just down the street, plenty of room for the whole group to sit around and chat, VERY comfortable sleeping arrangements, outside bb-q for our abalone/fish/steak feed, and everyone's favorite...the outside gas firepit where we all sat around playing the ukulele, drinking wine and being silly. Even though the night was cold and foggy, the fire kept us warm and cozy. This place is just perfect, and I highly recommend it. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Wonderful Family Vacation Site

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We all came from different parts of the country for our semi-annual family vacation. We couldn't have picked a better place. The house was neat, clean, and very well equipped. The place was very comfortable, and nicely decorated. It housed the 13 of us without a problem (8 adults and 5 young children). Being so close to many of the greater San Francisco sites helped make our vacation memorable. The tide pools and beaches as well as the fire pit for making sommores were a nice retreat for keeping the kids busy. I would highly reccommend this place for a vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect. Getaway

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

This was a lovely place for us to celebrate our love. Will always have some beautiful memories of this place. Comfortably furnished clean and a very quite retreat. Easy access to downtown Half moon bay, or a spectacular sunset around the corner. And Anna(owner) made the last minute reservation seamless. Thank you Anna!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

San Francisco, Ca

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

I rented this house for me and six friends for my birthday weekend. It was perfect for our needs and better than I expected in terms of sleeping accommodations. The linens are great, beds are super comfy. The house was very clean, quiet and cozy. We spent lots of time in the "piano room" socializing in front of the fire, and we enjoyed that we could all easily fit around the dining room table so we could eat together. Lots of great conversation and bonding, and we loved the easy walk to the shore. We had a wonderful time and staying in your house made all the difference. We would definitely come and and highly recommend your home! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Campbell, Ca

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

This was a lovely space for a multi-generational family gathering - our 50th anniversary. The kids did a puzzle in the living room as the adults played scrabble in another, and we all celebrated food and each other around the big dining table. This house in Moss Beach is a treasure.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Santa Cruz, Ca

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

This house is AWESOME!!!! I planned a friends wedding at Cypress Meadows right around the corner. The location was great, the owners are great and so were the neighbors! BEAUTIFUL home! Very comfortable with spectacular furnishings. I can't wait to come back and stay. Thanks Millieanne!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Redlandls, Ca

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

This was a great place to stay. Millie, the owner, was delightful and helpful. We had a Mini Family Reunion here as we were celebrating our son's wedding weekend. The house was accomodating, comfortable and hospitable. We had the Wedding Rehersal Dinner catered on the driveway and it was a huge success. We look forward to our next stay. Thanks, Millie!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Boston Guests

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

My family stayed here while attending a friend's wedding recently and we fell in love with this historic home. We had a great time and will definitely be staying here again when visiting the san francisco bay area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 18, 2010

I rented this house for me and six friends for my birthday weekend. It was perfect for our needs and better than I expected in terms of sleeping accommodations. The linens are great, beds are super comfy. The house was very clean, quiet and cozy. We spent lots of time in the "piano room" socializing in front of the fire, and we enjoyed that we could all easily fit around the dining room table so we could eat together. Lots of great conversation and bonding, and we loved the easy walk to the shore. We had a wonderful time and staying in your house made all the difference. We would definitely come and and highly recommend your home! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

This was a lovely space for a multi-generational
family gathering - our 50th anniversary. The kids did
a puzzle in the living room as the adults played
scrabble in another, and we all celebrated food and
each other around the big dining table. This house in
Moss Beach is a treasure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 7, 2009   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

This house is AWESOME!!!! I planned a friends wedding at Cypress Meadows right around the corner. The location was great, the owners are great and so were the neighbors! BEAUTIFUL home! Very comfortable with spectacular furnishings. I can't wait to come back and stay. Thanks Millieanne!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

This was a great place to stay.
Millie, the owner, was delightful and helpful.
We had a Mini Family Reunion here as we were celebrating our son's wedding weekend.
The house was accomodating, comfortable and hospitable. We had the Wedding Rehersal Dinner catered on the driveway and it was a huge success.
We look forward to our next stay.
Thanks, Millie!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

My family stayed here while attending a friend's
wedding recently and we fell in love with this historic
home. We had a great time and will definitely be
staying here again when visiting the san francisco bay
area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review