reviews for: listing #52440 - Franklin, North Carolina House rental

Chill Your Wine In Luxury Where Two Beautiful Creeks Converg
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $210 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,250 /wk
    $3,675 - $3,900 /mth

sort by:

Perfect vacation choice

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We searched and searched and found the perfect winter wonderland.. It was a little piece of home away from home! Incredible views, great location and the home was cozy and very well maintained. We would love to make this our permanent vacation home and continue to visit in the winter and even summer. We can't say enough about the spectacular views and we were lucky to enjoy the snowfall on New Years night, which was the perfect ending to our vacation.

The "G" Family from Miami, FL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Like Home

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. This home is lovely and the location great! The owners' finishing touches made it feel like a true home away from home. They supplied everything needed to enjoy every feature this home has to offer! The location is remote enough to enjoy privacy, yet convenient enough to take advantage of all the amenities the area has to offer....dining out, hiking, shopping, and sightseeing to name only a few. So nice returning after a long day of hiking to relax creekside or in front of a cozy fire. Thank you for sharing and we highly recommend this rental property !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wayah Creek Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

From the moment we opened the front door, the beauty of the Smokies surrounded us. The home is beautifully appointed and extremenly confortable inside and out. The owners were very nice and attentive. We have traveled to this area at least 12-13 times over the last 20 years and this is by far the best rental we have ever had. We would highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to enjoy and be surrounded by the peacefulness and beauty of nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Home

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Everything about our vacation was wonderful thanks to your lovely home. From the moment we arrived in the driveway, we knew was going to be fabulous. We would have been happy to not have left your home the entire time we were here.
We enjoyed a cozy fire in the fireplace, cooking at home, and watching movies together almost every night. Although it was generally too chilly to enjoy the decks as we had hoped, the soothing sounds of the creeks were music to our souls.
We truly hate to leave this special piece of heaven! Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
Heather, Doug, and Family, Floral City, FL

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Elegant & Unique

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Dear Randy & Wanda,
After reading all the wonderful comments in your guest book, there isn't much that I can add, perhaps a few adjectives:
Elegant, yet warm and cozy.
Unique attention to detail.
The flowing creeks made us a part of outdoor nature, as we sit on the decks with a glass of wine.
Our visit could not have been better. We will return.
Thanks to you both,
Larry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Completely Pleased

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We have more than enjoyed our visit and savored our time here. The scenery can't be improved on! The leaves are just beginning to turn and soon you'll have winter snow, then the Rhododendron blooming in spring......you have it all here!
Thank you for providing a comfortable and beautiful home for our first trip to Franklin. We could not have been more pleased.
Kay & Darryl
Charleston, SC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Standard

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Randy & Wanda,
What a joy it has been to share your lovely home. It was the perfet place to reconnect with our Minnesota friends.
We enjoyed the aminities that you provided and found it very relaxing to sit on the decks and listen to the creeks.
Your home is the new standard by which we will compare any other rental, and it will be very hard to top!
Les & Kay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Dear Randy & Wanda,
This past week has been amazing! Thank you both for opening your home (slice of heaven) to share with us. We arrived at your beautiful place mentally, physically, and emotionally spent, but will leave healed and ready to face the world again. We would love to return in the winter and be able to stay and witness another season in the mountains.
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

100% Beautiful

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Dear Randy & Wanda,
I will quote my 6 year old grandson's first words when we arrived, "100% beautiful". Your home is 100% beautiful. We couldn't have asked for anything better other than having more time to spend here.
You have both been blessed with a little slice of heaven, and we thank you for giving us the chance to share that space. You have thought of every little item that a family could need to have and more. We will cherish all of the memories.
Thank you for your thoughtfullness.
Fran, David & family
Fort Myers, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

What a place for coastal island Floridians to vacation. Each of us was awed and pleased on arrival. It is gorgeous, restful, with plentiful wildlife. An Eastern Phoebe nest with 2 chicks on the porch downspout kept their Ma & Pa scouring the woods for insects. Ruby Throated Hummingbirds frequented the feeder and blossoming Rotodindrums.
Each day, every outing brought us back to the pleasure of this beautiful home. This is the "gem" in the mountains of N.C., and renewed our spirits and outlook.
We have so enjoyed our stay.
Richard, Mary, Nick, & Josh

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A breathtaking setting -

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

From the minute we saw the Wayah Creek home, we knew this was the place we wanted to rent for our vacation week in October. A lovely drive to the house was the beginning of an extraordinary week of experiencing this beautiful home in an exquisite setting. Each morning, we watched nature's change of seasons as we looked out of the wall of windows and saw the leaves as they changed their colors and fell from the trees into the creeks and float down the length of the house and beyond. The temperatures ranged from 50's to 70's and we enjoyed flipping on the fireplace during chilly mornings and evenings. We explored mountain trails, water falls,and gem mining as well as the towns of Franklin, Dillsboro, Dillard, Highlands, and Biltmore House in Asheville. The owners made sure everything was ready for our stay both inside and outside of the home. This was truly the best vacation place we have ever experienced and look forward to visiting again in the future. Thank you Randy and Wanda for making our stay so enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

My family of four loved this posh refuge in the woods! We'd absolutely seek to stay here again. The owners are sticklers for detail, and they take great pride in their home: every room was fastidiously clean, every need anticipated. The setting is gorgeous, and it's very close to activities a family might like. We went Hiking on the Rufus Morgan Trail (4 miles away) and up to Wayah Bald to experience the Appalachian Trail. We drove to Ocoee, TN, for whitewater rafting, and up to Bryson City, NC, for tubing. We had multiple excursions in town. But the best thing of all was coming pack to the quiet house on Wayah Road at the end of the day, listening to the creeks lull us to sleep as we tucked in for the night. A dream come true.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The pictures do not do justice...

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Without the sound of the two rushing streams and the fresh smell of the Rhododendron, the pictures of this oasis on Wayah Road are a poor indication of the special experience we had in this home. Everything you need is there. Look up lagniappe in the dictionary and you will find in the definition the owners' attention to detail and to their guests' comfort. Don't let the internet disclaimer bother you because even in a rain storm we had great connectivity. Even though we went up to Wayah Bald and over to Highlands to view many of the local waterfalls, we would have been just as content to stay right there on the deck enjoying the beauty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Get Away From It All

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Your wall of rhododendron must be an awesome sight to see in the spring. But even now, in the dead of winter, your creeks have been a source of great joy for us as we celebrate Mom's 50th birthday away from the everyday hustle.
Thank you for providing your beautiful home as an opportunity for us to get away from it all, even if only for a short week.
Everything was perfect, and we couldn't ask for more.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sit and Think

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
My father often remarked that "some people can sit and think, and others can just sit". Well, your deck at daylight, with coffee, is as fine a place for a pure sitter as I have ever been priviledged to enjoy. Thanks for the opportunity.
Johnny

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow!!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
WOW!!! I think that pretty much sums your home in one word. Our family came expecting a nice mountain cabin, as usual; however, we were extremely surprised at the opulence that your home provides.
We were in extreme need of a little solitude and we received much more that we ever imagined.
Thank you for making your little taste of heaven available to our family to rejuvenate and relax.
God Bless You!
Glen, Kim, & Chris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Total Luxury & Nature

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
Thank you for allowing us to share in what God has blessed you with. Every morning we look outside to all the beauty, we are immediately reminded of how good our God is!
You'll have done a fabulous job of incorporating total luxury into nature. We are so thankful for your generosity in sharing it with us and others. Everything was absolutely perfect.
May the Lord bless your family in all you do!
The Ballards

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait Until Next Year!

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
We so enjoyed staying in your beautiful home. Just sitting on the decks and listening to the water in the creeks & watching the butterflies and the elusive hummingbirds is something to behold.
Everything was perfect, from your awesome decorations, to the most comfortable beds anywhere.
We cannot wait to come back next year.
Thanks for allowing us to share your home.
The Schaabs

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
You really have a slice of heaven! Thank you for allowing us to stay here at your magnificant home.
Everything was wonderful, except for one thing....the time goes by much too quickly. We are all sad to have to leave.
If you should ever tire of this gorgeous home, we have a home in Florida that we would gladly trade!
Thanks again,
The Bakers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sophisticated Oasis

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
Your home is a sophistocated oasis in the lovely mountains of North Carolina. What a joy it has been to stay here. The area waterfalls, creeks, and hiking trails have been wonderful.
We love the babbling creeks both day and night, the butterflies and hummingbirds, and the large fluffy beds!
Thanks for everything.
Will & Jenny

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Week To Remember

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
Thank you for the week's gift, your HOME and all the warmth that you have allowed us to share. It did rain much of the week, but when the clouds went away, we became lost in the serenity of your home, rushing creeks, beautiful decks and vantage points, and a few glasses of wine.
We took many great memories, but left alot of laughter and smiles. This has been a week to remember, and a week to do again soon.
Thanks for everything.
Gerry & Lois

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Where Did The Week Go???

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
Where did the week go?!?
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We truly enjoyed our stay and everythin that you provided for us. Dawn even mentioneed how she could see herself getting married here! I guess she better schedule that soon before you're all booked up:-)
Anyway, I hope you enjoy your time here as much as we did....you guys rock!!!
Tammy & Glenn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Home

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Randy & Wanda,
We finally found the perfect home! We have been coming to the mountains for many years, and your home is the best. It is simply fabulous. Thank you so much for the use of your amazing home.
The creeks are so great, and after raining all day on Tueaday, they really became quite the rushing creeks!
We would love to come again next year if your home is still available.
After 10 days, we are going to have a difficult time leaving. Franklin will definitely be our retirement community!
Thanks again for making our stay the most pleasant, relaxing, and memorable.
Mike & Diana

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We're so glad you shared your home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment we were here. We lacked for nothing. The beds were so comfortable! Everything was perfect and we would love to visit again with friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review