reviews for: listing #52442 - Newaygo, Michigan House rental

Pickerel Lake Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pickerel LakeNewaygo
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,750 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Great vacation home

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this home along with our son and his wife and three kids. Everything was clean, comfortable, and convenient. The kids loved the campfires at night and the fishing on the lake during the day in the canoe and paddle boat. There was fun tubing and rafting down the Muskegon River not far from us and shopping and restaurants were easy to find. We visited the Fred Meijer Sculpture Gardens in Grand Rapids which we enjoyed and wished we had more time as our stay was the best thanks to the owners consideration that made it all seems easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

This home was exceptional! Location was private, accessible to the lake and very well maintained. Our family had a great weekend here! All amenities listed were accurate, it has great views and lots of space for relaxing. Dave was wonderful to work with and we have already recommended to others! This location is definately a return destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Lake Home Rental

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We have rented this home in both the winter and the summer. We are a family of 5 and found this lake rental to be perfect for us. The owners are great people who allow you to feel welcome in their home. The house is spacious, yet cozy. The views from the deck are amazing. The stereo system that plays outside as well as in made for fun enteraining with friends. Easy lake access was a definate plus. All of us swam morning, noon and night. The owners are also very easy to contact and always had immediate answers to questions (although we didn't have many because the house was good to go when we arrived). We would recommend this house without a doubt to others (just don't take too many weeks as we want to come back!)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

This beautiful home on Pickeral Lake was a wonderful retreat from the city life. The home was able to accommodate our very large family with room to spare. Picturesque sunsets and relaxing evenings by the fire pit were a much needed reprieve. A cool breeze drifting off the lake at night made for a restful slumber. Walks in the evening with our family and a visit to the local store by the beach where we were able to have an old fashioned ice cream made for the perfect addition to our relaxing vacation. Dave was very accommodating and helpful throughout the rental process and our family would highly recommend this vacation rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

vacation that has it all

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This is a good place to have your vacation. The accomodations were adequate for my three adult kids and their families. If you like fishing and boating pickeral lake is the place to be. We caught many bass, bluegill, and pike. You have access to three other lakes via channels in order to do more fishing and boating. Dave was great to work with and fulfilled all obligations as stipulated in the rental agreement. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys the great outdoors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This was a perfect location/home for our family vacation! The home was clean, spacious, and everything was in good working condition. We loved the fact that the downstairs offered a large TV so the kids could watch a movie and unwind after a day on the water. I am a perpetual overpacker and this was no exception. The owner provided beach towels, life jackets, movies for the children, and novels to read. The lake was great for fishing, which my dad enjoyed. He was able to teach my five year old how to fish right off the dock. My son was thrilled with the amount of blue gills he was able to catch! The bon fire pit was perfect to sit around in the evening. Our family will rent this home again in the years to come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just stayed there

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This was a beuutiful home and we really enjoyed it there. The house has anything you might need for cooking, playing, and relaxing. We did some fishing, enjoyed the firepit, played golf at Briar Hill, and hung out for a solid week. What a beautiful area West Michigan is. It was nice being back "home". We had framily come to visit for a couple of day visits and had a great time.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation, fishing, resting, lake views, wow!!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This lake home is the best appointed one we have ever visited. It was a pleasure to stay for our 8 days. We fished and swam and visited with family. We relaxed and watched beautiful sunsets. We visited with grandkids and kids on the deck and in the living room. We were amazed at the wonderful facilities and the plethera of good appliances, spices, things to cook with and just wonderful surroundings. A terrific rental for families or couples. Just minutes to the water and easy to fish or swim from the dock. There's even a float a short swim away and an easy drive from Pentwater, Grand Haven and the Dunes. A wonderful time was had by all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfy, cozy and a great way to spend the new year!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Dave was super easy to work with and provided my family great accommodations for the new year. We celebrated a late Christmas and new year and had more than enough room for everyone. The cabin is nestled into the woods, has a great view of Pickeral Lake and is great for ice fishing! We're looking forward to this summer to get back out there and spend some time on the lake. I highly recommend for any family looking to get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfy, cozy and a great way to spend the new year!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Dave was super easy to work with and provided my family great accommodations for the new year. We celebrated a late Christmas and new year and had more than enough room for everyone. The cabin is nestled into the woods, has a great view of Pickeral Lake and is great for ice fishing! We're looking forward to this summer to get back out there and spend some time on the lake. I highly recommend for any family looking to get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfy, cozy and a great way to spend the new year!

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Dave was super easy to work with and provided my family great accommodations for the new year. We celebrated a late Christmas and new year and had more than enough room for everyone. The cabin is nestled into the woods, has a great view of Pickeral Lake and is great for ice fishing! We're looking forward to this summer to get back out there and spend some time on the lake. I highly recommend for any family looking to get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Holiday

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

What a GREAT place! The views to the lake are beautiful. Our family was able to totally relax over this Christmas Holiday. We gathered around the table for dinner and breakfast often commenting how beautiful it was looking out the windows. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your warm and inviting lake home. We would love to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Getaway at Pickerel Lake

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

There are seven of us in our family, and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway at Pickerel Lake in Newaygo, MI. The house fit us all comfortably and provided all the conveniences of home. It was clean, and well furnished. We had beautiful weather that weekend, and our family enjoyed hanging out at the lake, barbequing on the deck, and having campfires at night in the fire pit. The views from the deck are breathtaking, and it was relaxing just to enjoy a cup of coffee out on the veranda. The children had fun swimming, riding bikes, and playing games. All in all, it was a wonderful weekend, and I would definitely go there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

relaxing getaway

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

I've stayed here a couple times and will go back again. Great deck for enjoying a summer night, and bedrooms downstairs that feel like an escape from the world. For families, adults can play cards upstairs while teens enjoy video games & TV downstairs. The house and its furnishings seem new and well kept.

Waking up with a view over the lake is the best part... morning risers will see ducks & maybe even a swan or two gliding on the calm waters. I loved the peace & quiet. (Haven't been there on a summer day -- there's probably a lot more activity then, e.g., boating and jet skiing.) They have bikes too -- nice to ride along the lake.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review