reviews for: listing #52455 - Hershey, Pennsylvania Condo rental

Condo w/ Pool Near Hershey, Gettysburg and Lancaster
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Condominium
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $195 /nt
    $950 - $1,195 /wk

sort by:

perfect for our family vacation

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

We are a family of four (kids are 13 and 10) The kids have gotten too big to share a bed and are starting to prefer to not share a room. We looked into hotels in the Hershey area and it was very expensive to get two rooms. I searched the various online rental sites and this property was the most attractive in terms of price, amenities, and location. We booked it and were not disappointed at all!!

The condo was very clean upon arrival and exactly as described. Dave (the rental agent) was incredibly responsive and helpful with some special requests. We had a wonderful vacation and I would, without hesitation, recommend Contemporary Short Term Housing as well as this particular property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Sue for your comments. I appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience with Contemporary Short Term Housing. If we can ever help with your housing needs in the future please let us know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good , Bad, and Really Bad

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

First...the good- The condo is clean and well stocked with amenities. Owner attempted to help out with info. re: knowledge of area attractions and tried to help fix the air mattress supplied at condo ( missing seal )

This leads to the BAD... a note was left for my daughter to blow up ( by mouth ) if mattress was still not satisfactory filled. Totally inappropriate note !

Now, the REALLY BAD. My first question before renting was, " Is there a bed on the first floor?" I was provided with a VIRTUAL TOUR and written description stating that Master bedroom and bath are on first floor and another bedroom and bath are on upper level.

The listing states that you enter on ground level. It does not state that you need to CLIMB 14 STEPS TO GET TO THE FIRST FLOOR....NOR DOES THE VIRTUAL TOUR SHOW THESE 14 STEPS !!

My wife has disability. That is why I asked if there was bed on first floor. She was so exhausted from the trek up the steps that she was unable to join us (me, my adult daughter and 2 granddaughters from California ) for a late dinner that first night after check-in.

I explained all this in a follow-up note to the owner and thought that he might offer a partial refund for this extreme inconvenience and hardship. He ignored this suggestion in subsequent e-mail.

He said all information was available to me on web site AND that he told me on phone...I was never aware that we would need to climb up MANY steps just to get to living area... or I would have declined to take this rental.

We were stuck ! We were not going to search for another place to stay since it was very late.

In summary, please be aware that this is an adequate place to stay UNLESS you have difficulty navigating stairs and ALSO have HEAVY LUGGAGE to haul up LONG stairway ! Good luck !

We used Vacation Rentals for a stay in Ocean City, MD last year and the bed was indeed on the first floor...no steps. It was a totally accurate description unlike Hershey. We were very happy with that place and so we tried Vacation Rentals this year too.

M.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Monroe,

It is unfortunate that you decided to be inaccurate in the description of your stay with us. I will not belabor your comments other than to say. You were completely informed of the unit’s configuration in April and there was no note or verbal conversation asking your daughter to blow the air mattress up by mouth. I inflated the mattress with the provided battery operated pump after you indicated you could not. The missing (cosmetic) outer seal was installed the day after it was found missing. The mattress was neither broken nor defective.

Our properties are booked solid every year and we have no reason or desire to mislead guests as you have suggested. The four nights you booked in April for your stay in August could have been rented to numerous others. If we were aware the hardship the stairs would create for your wife I would have suggested you find a different property. As owners all we can do is explain what we have to offer. That was done both verbally and with the virtual tour. The suitability of the property for your specific needs and the final decision to rent is up to you.

I am sorry you were not totally satisfied, but with all due respect, for you to ask for a refund two months after you departed is a bit suspicious.

Our other guest comments speak for themselves.

Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best ever

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

The description did not begin to inform us of how well we would love this property. Amenities, layout and location were well above par it was unbelievably clean and neat. It looked as if we were the first people in it. Everything worked, the owner and staff were wonderful, and customer service was all that one could ask for. We highly recommend this property and Dave especially for all travelers. We tried several local restaurants and found them all acceptable. We were in the area to visit friends, family and Gettysburg. We also tried Root's market, the Green Dragon, Lancaster Farmer's Market, and local stores. We enjoyed them all as we have not been back for twenty years. We had no bad experiences and will gladly use Dave in the future for lodging needs

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear John and Barbara,

Thank you for your kind post. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time in Pennsylvania and our property. If we can ever help again in the future please let us know.

Best Regards,

Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mechanicsburg Townhome

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

What can I say......this was the nicest, cleanest place we have ever stayed in! This is about our 6th trip to Hershey and we always stayed in a hotel suite...it DOESN'T compare tom this condo!! Dave was extremely nice and helpful, he answered all my questions before going...abnd was just a phone call away if we needed something.
Dave, thank you so much for a wonderful place to stay, you made out trip that much more enjoyable!
I HIGHLY recommend this condo!!

Owners response: Thank you Bonnie for taking the time to post such a nice review. It's always a good to hear the effort we put into preparing our properties is appreciated and returned. Please look us up again on your next trip to Hershey.

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and great location

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

We rented this condo and it was perfect for our family. The location was great, it was clean and very comfortable. The owners have furnished it with everything you could possibly need. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highly recommended

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Our condo was very clean and comfortable. Dave took great care of us before, during, and after. My kids can't wait to come back because the location was close to Hershey Park as well as The Gettysburg National Park. I would highly recommend CSTH to any of my friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

Beautiful townhouse with clean and bright furnishings, modern styling and a clean pool not far away. Kids had a great time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

a 5 star accomidation !

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

the place was perfect and really clean!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Robert, thank you for the compliment. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to tell us. Please let us know if we can help on another occasion. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Condo near Hershey

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Very clean & comfortable condo with everything we could possibly need in good working order. We appreciated the proximity to all the places we had on our list to visit which included Gettysburg, Hershey and Lancaster. We chose it for the pool but were so busy with sightseeing everyday we found the condo a great place to relax in the evening. The neighborhood is quiet and the neighbors are very nice.
Dave is a great person to work with. He was always available via telephone and very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Karen...thanks for the kind post and for entrusting us with you vacation housing. If we can ever help again please let us know.

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

What a great townhouse!!!!!We loved our visit to Pennsylvania. We (2 adults and 4 children ages 8-10) had the perfect accomodations. We decided to go for a last minute vacation to Hersey Park. The location was 20 minutes away from the park which was a perfect escape. The property was emaculate; very clean; and modern; the bedding was extremely comfy.The owner Dave was very accomodating and his neice Jenn greeted us at the door upon arrival. She gave us a tour of the townhouse and answered all my questions.I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting or staying in this area. We visited Hersey Park however the property is in a great vicinity very close to the outlets if you enjoy shopping and many resteraunts close by

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Missy and Family,,,thanks for the wonderful post. It's great to hear you had such a good time in our area and that were pleased with the accomodations. You certainly had some great weather during your stay. Please come back and visit us again sometime soon.

Thanks again,

Dave

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Great Rental Property

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We had a great time on our vacation and our living accomodations were fantastic. The condo was very clean and well mantained. It was very spacious and the ammendities throughout the condo were exactly as described. David was very professional and personable. I would recommend this rental property to my family and friends. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Brian and family. We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed yout vacation and our condo. Thanks for intrusting us with your vacation and your kind post. Please let us know if we can help again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Great Family Place

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

This condo was perfect for our family. We were there for 1 week and it was the best choice we could have made for our trip to PA. It was a great location, super clean, and way better and actually more affordable for us than a hotel for the week. We loved that we could spread out and make ourselves at home. Our kids even enjoyed making a fort in the huge closet in the upstairs bedroom. The pool was perfect for us too. It was HOT while we were there. It was an altogether beautiful and quiet area with friendly people. The only negative I have is that we are now spoiled! It has set a new standard for our vacation lodging!
Paul, Amanda, Emma, and Thomas from KY.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Paul and family...thanks for the kind note. It's great to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and thank you for sharing your thoughts with others. We finally cooled off a bit, were back to the 90's :) Please visit us again sometime. Thanks again…Dave

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

July 4th Weekend

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

This was a great place to stay. It was convenient to Hershey, Lancaster and Gettysburg. The neighbors are extremely nice. Dave is very easy to work with and greets you when you check in. Unfortunately can't rate the pool since we were way to busy to sight see. I did not check that this is a great place for young children since the loft area could be tricky with kids who are not well behaved. We had absolutely no problem with our 2 and 1/2 year old since she stayed downstairs except to sleep and did not go near the steps. Great having master downstairs and other bedroom up so easily 2 couples could rent this and get privacy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Ginny and family...It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in so many of the places our area has to offer. We appreciate your wonderful comments and we are thankful you intrusted us with your vacation accommodations. Please come back and see us again sometime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A beautiful condo!

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

I LOVE this condo. It's better than the pictures showing. The place is clean and fully furnish. We was so amaze how the place look. Even my four years old enjoyed it so much that he doesn't want to leave the condo. It's ashame we only stayed five days. I recommend this to anyone who looking to go to Harrisburg, Lancaster, or surrounding areas. And most of all Dave is very friendly to talk to. He always keep us on track.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jessica...Thank you for the kind words. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We work hard to exceed expectations and it is great to know when folks appreciate the extra effort. Please come back again when you can spend a little more time in the area.

Thanks again,
Dave

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review