reviews for: listing #52513 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Luxury 4500 Square Foot Home Vista/Carlsbad Pool/Spa and Mor
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,900 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Multi-family with young kids holiday

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

We recently had a very good holiday at this property. It was 2 families with young kids and a granny. The house was great for young kids - kids picnic table, pool had a very shallow area for the little ones, great toys/loft play area. The pool was amazing - the adults spent all of the kids afternoon naptime lounging by the pool and swimming. The property manager was great to deal with and we would definitely return. Due to location, this property was always warm and sunny - when we went to the beach it was often cool and cloudy.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for the positive review. We enjoy hosting families as our family enjoys the home as often as we can get away!
It is ideal for those seeking a peaceful get away with fabulous weather all year round.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

NOT luxury, not worth the money.

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

I'm disappointed in the rental. I'm embarrassed because I booked this for my whole family (parents, nieces, sister and her family) and they were very disappointed. I feel duped. We paid over $5,000 for a week at this house with the Granny flat. For that much I would expect above average accommodations and we didn't even get average. This was not luxury as stated in their description of the house. Two of the beds had blood on the sheets when we arrived. Two of the toilets wobbled when you sat on them. The guest shower downstairs took forever to heat up, the handle felt like it was going to twist off and you never found hot water with the handle in the same place. The pool was great, but the gazeebo outside had two large tears in it and some of the cushions on the furniture were torn, had holes in them and were stained. The main TV's remote didn't work and we were told by the owner at check in that he would bring a new one. He did not bring one until Wednesday (we checked in on a Saturday) and he only brought it because we complained. All other TV's in the house either weren't hooked up, remotes didn't work or just plain didn't work. The granny flat's blinds were almost impossible to pull up and down, the windows barely opened if at all, the fridge made a lot of noise and woke up my parents at night and there was no smoke detector. (Which, I believe is against the law in California.) The comforter in the granny flat was torn and stuffing was coming out. We were told at check in that the fridge in the main house could freeze up and then we'd have to put our food in an ice chest. The beds were all uncomfortable and lumpy except for the futon in the TV room and the bed in the granny flat. We complained while we were there, one of the sheets with blood on it were changed. The other one was not. Any other complaints we had were met with "It's a 40 year-old house." When we arrived home from our disappointing trip I sent them an email detailing the 18 things we were concerned about. They offered us one night stay compensation, and our deposit back. I didn't think that was fair considering the amount we paid and wrote them back telling them so. They ignored it and just responded that we will get one night stay compensation. Next time, I'll stay at a bad hotel where I know what I'm paying for.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT WONDERFUL HOUSE!

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This house was AMAZING!!! We had a party of 17 (4 couples w/kids) and the house had so much room.. we were never crowded.. each family had their own room.. plus the loft was great for the kids to lay out air mattresses and sleeping bags & just hang out! .. and what can i say about the backyard.. WONDERFUL!!! The pool & hot tub were awesome!! The kids & adults spent many hours just swimming & lounging... the fire pit was nice in the evenings too.. esp. when we all cooked smores! The kitchen has plenty of pots, pans, plates, utensils... it was our home away from home! There was a bee hive in one of the trees & the owner had this taken care of in the blink of an eye! Lemons & bananas on the trees were yummy! Never seen such big lemons!! Loved the washer & dryer.. came home & didnt have to wash a thing! Great experience... can't wait to go back!! This house is close to shopping, the beach.. golfing...what more could we ask for?? We all were sad to leave... we really could have stayed another week!!! We all keep talking about how we want to go back year after year! Thank you so much for sharing your home!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was our pleasure to serve you and your family! We hope to host you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had the opportunity to have our entire family, four kids with spouses and grand-children.ages 2-24, some married for a total of 23 people, at this beautiful facilty in the middle of July, 2012. What a great experience. We also had the attached "granny flat". The layout of the whole facility is such that everyone seemed to have their own space even with the large number of people. Be prepared to experience the "Wow" factor when you enter.

The front yard is like a beautiful landscaped park, the house has everything you may need, including toys, movies, books & magazines, etc. the back yard with the pool & hot tub gives a feeling of being secluded on a beautiful desert island. Many, many hours were spent in the pool & hot tub. There was even room there for a volleyball/badminton court to be set up.

The weather could not have been better, in the 70's during thr day. The beach is only 12-13 miles away & all the attractions in San Diego are accessible.

Our family would highly recommend this facility & would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with at the vista Vacation home. It is our desire to bring each family the best experience possible while on vacation. It is our true joy and pleasure to serve you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

New year family get together 2012

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Best vaccation with kids. The house was very clean, spacious and a lot of towels in the bathroom. We had a wonderfu ltime in the pool. if you are looking for peaceful place to stay with friends or family this is the best. we had a problem with the dishwasher even with that i am giving 5 star as we throughly enjoyed the stay. we will certaily choose this place in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure hosting you! We have since addressed the dish washer and will be replacing it.
When you decide to get away to our little paradise we will enjoy hosting you again!
Cheers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Canadian Take on Sunny Vista

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We just returned to Canada after a great week stay at this beautfiul home. The grounds are fabulous with an amazing pool, spa and outdoor fire pit. We couldn't get the kids out of the pool!!!

The house is well suited for multiple families with our without kids. The area is great quiet location with quick access to the I5, legoland and the Ocean. The bedrooms are nicely spaced apart and all but one have private bathrooms. There was definitely room to spare and seemed to be beds, day beds, etc all throughout the house. The house having it's own toys, books and kids movies was a definitely bonus.

We were all very sad to leave this morning and tears were shed. We would love to call this place home and will hopefully be returning next year making it annual stay.

We spent many hours searching out the perfect place for our two families to stay and chose this home because of the beautiful photo's, location and price! All three lived up to our standards.

Thank you very much!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are happy to have had the oppertunity to host your family. We hope to have you stay again soon :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kids Delight

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The outstanding pool and firepit provided many hours of fun and enjoyment for our seven grandkids and their parents. They even elected to stay at the house at times instead of visiting some of the near by attractions.
The house was exceptionaly well stocked with all the necessary items we needed including many books and toys for the grandkids.
The welcome dinner provided was a great way to start the vacation after a day of travel.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Dear Jim,
It was our pleasure to serve you and your family!
Thanks for the kind words, we truly hope your time in Vista creates wonderful memories!
Blessings~ The Vista House Folks

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

We recently stayed in this wonderful home (and it truly is a home) and had such a great time. The home is gorgeous, extremely well-equipped - the kitchen is just to die for and the beds super-comfortable. Our welcome dinner was perfect - thank you Mandy. And the back yard - we loved the pool and the spa, but our favorite was the fire pit. We were celebrating two graduations. So many hours were spent around the firepit in great conversation. We have rented homes near Orlando and Virginia Beach, and this is by far the best ever. As our 5 yr. old granddaughter said of her California experience "I can't stop smiling". That sums up all of us. We truly smiled a lot.

Owners response: Thanks Peg~
Your family was a joy to host and we hope to have you come back soon :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing Home!

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 4, 2008

This is a luxury home!!! It is like a resort.
Our family had such a relaxing time and the weather in Vista was perfect. The rooms are spacious and I was able to get work done in the home office.
There is a work-out room too!!! Everything was near by stores, restaurants, and Beach. Disneyland which took us about 1 1/2 to get to.
We ended up canceling something because it was so nice around the pool.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the review...we are happy that you enjoyed the home. We seem to get a lot of good reviews on the home office which has a computer with dsl, fax, copier, and phone. It make it easier for those who have take "working" vacation to conduct business.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This place is full luxury! A great house for seeing southern California and coming home you a private resort.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

This is a beautiful property and location. A perfect getaway if you want to feel like you've "gotten away from it all" but yet are close to all the attractions.

The pool is spectacular and the kitchen is even better! I've catered several parties at this location for the owner and the kitchen is a caterer's dream.

A luxurious getaway for a family or two. You have everything there for your perfect "staycation" if you choose. Very spacious and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review