reviews for: listing #52558 - Natural Bridge, Kentucky House rental

Hill Billy Heaven Cabin
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cliffview Resorts
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $225 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,325 /wk

sort by:

Great Weekend!!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Great cabin for a relaxing getaway. We found the location private and scenic. There was also a feeling of security with the limited access to the area. Inside the spacious cabin we found ample kitchen supplies and all the comforts of home. Everything was clean and well kept, the furnishing appropriate to the setting. (Loved the wooden fish!) We all felt at home. We fished, we hiked, we cooked out, and we relaxed. We all had a great time, even the teenagers!

The owner went above and beyond to fulfill our rental request which was hasty and impulsive. He was friendly and cooperative in accommodating our needs. He answered his calls even during a Louisville tournament game. (Go Cards…..I type this on the day of the final four!!) I look forward to returning at a future date and would recommend this to anyone planning a trip to the gorge area that is looking for a much better experience than a hotel or lodge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

perfect getaway destination

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

This cabin is even lovelier than the photos! We expected rustic and natural and it delivered that as well as being clean and well-maintained. It felt like home in the most gorgeous of settings. The owner of this property was most accommodating and very friendly. A highly recommended destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We booked this cabin for its easy access to the Natural Bridge State Resort Park, it's beautiful, relaxing decor, and an awesome price. The fire ring was a great place to make s'mores in the evening and it was wonderful to be able to step outside to the back porch each morning with my cup of coffee and read my book or answer emails. The internet connection worked very well, as did the satellite TV. The beds were comfy and the kitchen was well stocked with equipment. We grilled out one night, and enjoyed the local restaurants the rest of the week. Make sure to stop by the Red River Rockhouse, Miguel's Pizza, and the Sandstone Arches Restaurant. All served tasty local foods in a relaxing atmosphere. The trails at the park were great! Also, you should hike to Suzanna's Arch, which is only 1.12 miles from the cabin, right there at the resort. I would suggest taking the horse/jeep trail for the first leg, then turning right and continuing on the trail for the last .5 miles. This is all clearly marked on the map of Cliffview Resort provided on the website. Also, we had a blast on the Zipline there at the resort. (Be sure to ask for the 10% discount, as the adventure is a bit pricey.) The lake at the cabin is gorgeous, and the wildlife is abundant. We saw many deer and wild turkey, along with salamanders, ducks and hawks. There are many, many cliffs in the area for all you climbers out there! That's on my list for next time :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

One of our favorite vacations

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Our family of 6 ranging in age from 10 - 65 had a fantastic week at Hillbilly Cabin. The cabin was decorated nicely and was well stocked with all the comforts of home. Our first day was spent at the lake where, at times, my husband couldn't keep up with taking the fish off the kids hooks! They caught bluegill, bass, and crappie. My husband and father in law caught some nicely sized bass as well. The water is clear, you can see the fish from the upper deck. The cabin is on the same road as the zipline tour which was a highlight of our trip. There is also a challenging and scenic trail near the property if you like to hike (Suzzana's Arch) that we really enjoyed. This cabin is great for relaxing and there is plenty to do if you like adventure (zipline, natural park, and hiking).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Hillbilly Heaven was just that and more!

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Our family of five had a terrific stay at Hillbilly Heaven! The cabin was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable, the location was wonderful. Loved the porch and swing to eat breakfast, watch the sun go down and listen to those mighty bullfrogs. We did the nearby zipline that was tons of fun and caught fish in the pond. The cabin was centrally located so we could easily access the hiking and trails at Natural Bridge State Park and Daniel Boone National Forest. Mark's BarBQue right at the entrance was great. We really appreciated the information on nearby grocery stores and were glad we stopped in Winchester on our way in for supplies. If we ever make it back to Ky from Texas, we'd definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanks for letting us stay at your cabin

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Thanks for renting us your cabin! It was Beautiful! We especially enjoyed
sitting on the deck & looking out over the lake!
Very private & awesome views! We would definitely recommend it to anyone
looking for a private, serene, get-away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyed the stay and the area

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Very nice cabin. Nicest one I have ever rented. Slept great even with my bad back as the matress was very comfortable. Great setting on the lake. Close to both the Red River Gorge and Natural Bridge Parks. Did some great hiking in both parks. The road through the Red River Gorge park is beautiful. A photographers paradise. What I loved was coming back to the cabin to take a dip in the lake and then enjoy the comforts of home with the Satelite TV, wireless internet, and jacuzzi bath tub. Would recommend and go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Hillbilly Heaven was a beautiful cabin and very relaxing.If you are looking to kick back and relax, do a little fishing, and maybe hike at Natural Bridge State Park, this place is perfect. Other than that there is not much to do in the area. The kids were a little bored, but all in all we loved the place! The main thing that needs improving is the driveway. There were some pretty large holes that could use some rock in them. It rained while we were there and it became a series of mudholes. Also there was not a boat to be found, even though there were several paddles inside the cabin. As far as the cabin itself, it was well maintained and beautifully furnished. We have stayed in the Smokies on several occasions and rarely have we stayed in a cabin as nice. It would make a great romantic getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thankful for this kind review. I do want to state that the road is maintained by the Home Owners Assoc, and I will be in contact with them. Even though we have never advertised a boat, we did have an old flat bottom boat which I suspect is resting at the bottom of the lake. Having paddles in the cabin is misleading and we will remove.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Cabin in a great setting!!!!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My family had a fabulous time at this place. It's very beautiful inside and out! I was impressed with the way the kitchen was stocked with plenty of dishes including cookware. There is a washer, dryer, and dishwasher there. The dining room and living room are spacious, with comfortable furnishings as well. The open porch is awesome too. It is secluded, but the zipline, skylift, and several other attractions are very close by. My kids are already talking about when we could go again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

CA&V Retreat 2012

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This place was awesome, 6 adults for a fun filled weekend. We partied, fished, hiked and relaxed listening to the, what sounded like HUGE, bull frogs but we could not find them. Would recommend this to families and couples. Unlike some properties in the area it was secluded and we were the only ones around. Very nice place just to get away and back to nature! Right on the same road as the Zip Line tours.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful cabin in an idyllic setting

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Hillbilly Heaven for three nights in early January of 2012. We had the perfect 3 day get away in this cabin. The pictures on the website are true to form and capture the place well. The cabin was very clean and organized and had all of the amenities that we were looking for. Hillbilly Heaven is cozy yet had plenty of room for the four of us. My children absolutely loved the upstairs loft and the beds and couches were very comfortable (a must for us!). It snowed the first day of our stay and we had a great time playing games, sitting by the fire and enjoying the comfort and serenity. We cannot wait to return to this cabin and will highly recommend it to our friends and family. Very special place.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome cabin in fabulous location!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We had a GREAT time staying in your cabin! The cabin was beautiful inside and out, as well as fully furnished....was so surprised to see a kitchen stocked so well! Beautiful location...and of course, John enjoyed fishing in the lake just literally a couple steps from the house! We caught the biggest blue gill we have ever seen, as well as a few bass. Hiking in the gorge and returning to the cabin made for a wonderful time! We cannot wait to return and we will have to stay longer than just a weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Gataway

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay where my Dad, son, and I could fish and hangout. For the past several years we had stayed at Lake Cumberland State Park and rented a pontoon boat, but last year Dad said he could not go on a boat anymore. The cabin and lake fit our needs perfectly. My Dad cannot walk far due to a serious heart condition, and the dock for fishing was very close to the house. Steps down to the dock would have been more convenient for my Dad, but he managed walking down and up the small hill with a cane. We fished and caught several small ones and a few keepers (which we released). What was nice is the dock is in the shade from early morning to about 3 pm this time of year. We brought our own charcoal and cooked out for dinner our first night. We enjoyed the lake view from the large covered porch that evening and in the morning as the frogs/birds sang. On our second night we had dinner at the Natural Bridge Lodge which was excellent. We have always found the food at KY State Parks to be very good (better than some National Parks). The accommodations were great and the unit was clean. We had a great time and felt the cabin was worth the money. We plan to go back next year if Dad is able (we will celebrate his 80th year of life this month). Happy Trails

Recommended for: people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Will not visit again - June 2011, Dayton, OH family with adult children and spouses

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

The owner website promotes the cabin as a luxury cabin but my family did not find this to be true. We were disappointed in the level of cleanliness. Many flies were on the interior mullion window ledges, cob webs hung from the lamp fixtures, rugs were not washable (including bathroom rugs) so were dirty and had not been swept. Living room furniture looked as if it had not been vacuumed prior to our visit either. There was some urine on one toilet lid. Lightbulbs were burned out. Although the VRBO site lists that a washer/dryer is available, it was locked and inaccessible. There was no charcoal or gas available for the grills so without making a trip out we had no way to use them. Inadequate bathroom tissue supply. The porch was not well maintained, cluttered with cigarette butts and a bottle of antifreeze. The "boat" leaked and took on about 3" of water in the few minutes we had it out. A very disappointing visit. The owner did respond to a complaint of cleanliness upon our arrival and dispatched his cleaning person, a very sweet lady, but in the several hours it took for her to arrive we had spread our things out and had started dinner so it was awkward getting anything done. The cabin needed a thorough spring cleaning which can not be accomplished with just the $50 the owner pays to have the cabin cleaned. The owner blamed it on him not being there to check but it really is his responsibility to maintain the cabin as it is presented on the website. I did not give it a "Poor" rating because it was on a lovely private lake, was quiet, and the owner returned our deposit quickly. Still, we really feel that we deserved a partial refund for the rental fee. Again, disappointing.

Owners response: As the old saying goes, “you cannot please all the people all the time”. I have had 171 renters in the past three years and this is the first negative response. All past reviews have been 5 stars. This cabin is advertised as an upscale cabin, not a luxury cabin. I answered this renter’s phone call, listened to her complaints, and immediately contacted my cleaning service. They arrived in approximately 1 ½ hours to do any additional requested cleaning. Upon arrival, they were told no cleaning was required. I also offered a reasonable rebate, which was refused. Apparently not enough. No, we do not supply charcoal and there are two tanks of propane. One on each deck. If one is empty, simply replace the empty with the full one. It is obvious the flat bottom boat is in disrepair and is not advertised. It will be disposed with on my next visit. Our policy has been to make the washer and dryer available for reservations of 5 days or more. In summary, these people apparently expected a mountain cabin to be a Ritz Carlton facility. It is my conclusion they wanted a substantial refund, an amount never stated, and a bad review is their retribution.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Weekend Away

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Beautiful cabin inside and out! There is one other cabin just across the lake within your view. There was some traffic that came through, maybe once a day, other than that, total nature. We hiked the nearby Susannah's Arch Trail and saw deer and wild turkey. The lake provided good fishing. We did not use the boat, but caught some bluegill from the dock. The porch swing was a great place to drink your coffee in the morning. We used the kitchen and it had all utensils needed.We drove to the Lodge to eat at the breakfast buffet which was very good and only 6 miles away.We also ate at Rose's Restaurant and Dairy Bar. It was unique with signed and decorated dollar bills covering the ceiling. A must is stopping at Ye Ol Country Peddler for some fudge. They have many different flavors and we had to stop on our way out to get some for the road! We hiked to Natural Bridge and then went to Miguels Pizza for one to take back to the cabin. There we enjoyed the Dish TV and watched scary movies until we couldn't stay up any longer. We took our PT Cruiser to save gas and it did ok, but the driveway is steep and rocky. We will take my 4 wheel drive truck the next time. I have and will recommend to all my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hill Billy Heaven says it all!

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

My husband booked this cabin as an anniversary gift, it was beautiful, very clean, and a perfect location. If secluded quiet time is what your looking for, this is perfect. The lake was well stocked with bass and blue gill. Directions made it easy to find, even though we had stayed in the area before and had an idea where it was before we got there. The only thing I could think it would need would be utensils for the grill. We were unable to find them when cooking outside. But even that very small detail didnt tarnish the beauty of this cabin and its surroundings. We plan on returning soon, this time with the kids & BBQ utensils.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

Had a wonderful time at your lovely cabin during New Year's. The setting overlooking the lake is just gorgeous and the snowfall we had added to the beauty. The cabin was well equipped and cozy for our winter stay. Look forward to returning in warmer weather to enjoy the deck and firepit. The limited hiking we were able to do (because of the cold) was great! Thank you, Barney. We certainly enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

We stayed here for half of our honeymoon and we really enjoyed it. It was very peaceful and relaxing and we really enjoyed sitting on the porch swing. We would definitely recommend this cabin to others and look forward to staying there again in the future. The owner was also very helpful; we left a lot of important information about the cabin at home on accident (wedding frenzy!) and he was very easy to reach, returned my phone calls promptly, and helped me with all of the info I needed! Very impressive; thanks a lot!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

Sounds great! We have stayed at several cabins, usually a different one each year and the group unanimously wants to come back to yours. It's our favorite for sure

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

Thank you so much for the opportunity to rent your cabin. We had a magical time. We had deer eating lilly pads in the lake several times, as well as, Racoons on the porch. As you advertised we could see the fish from the porch. I really enjoyed reading some of your book collection and will be purchasing Secert by Rhonda Byrne in the near future.
Again, I want to thank you for this wonderful opportunity to use your lovely HOME

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

Thanks Barney,

We were impressed all around. I love your hunting decor in the cabin. How is the Deer hunting in the area? Ever get ducks in the pond?

I was amazed that there were no bugs to speak of...in Michigan we would have been swamped.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

Many thanks for sharing your beautiful "log cabin" with us! We delt truly "at home". You have thought of everything. Especially enjoyed your books & movies and the night time frogs sing in the pone. Losved the logs, the decorating & the coziness. Hope to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

I wanted to send a quick note to thank you for our stay at your cabin. We could not have had a better time, and the cabin was phenomenal. I have plans to come back with my wife and bring my parents for a long weekend

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We visited Hillbilly Heaven Cabin for a couple of days during our son's spring break from school. We this a couple of times a year, stay in cabins and hike. This cabin will be one we return to definitely! The beds were comfortable, the house has everything you need as far as towels, linens, paper products, and kitchen supplies. But more so, the lake was good for canoeing on with our toddler and the huge porches gave us room to spread out and really enjoy or time. We liked that the fire pit was right beside the lake too. Would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone looking to relax and enjoy the beauty of Eastern Kentucky.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: February 4, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend in January. Very peaceful and private. It was a great getaway from city life and we hope to come back again soon. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a some time away to relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 9, 2008

We loved our stay at this cabin, even on the days it rained. We seat on the porch in the swings watching it come down on the lake. It was so nice and peaceful.

The Baileys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2008   Date of arrival: January 3, 2008

We had a wonderful time in your cabin over New Year’s weekend! We had everything we needed and more. I was so happy to find everything we needed for cooking was in the kitchen, can opener, grater, scissors, etc. I have never been to such a well stocked place. Thank you for sharing! Have a Happy New Year! The Wilsons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 28, 2007   Date of arrival: August 28, 2007

This was a perfect place for our anniversary. I don't know what was best, the whirlpool tub for 2, the privacy, or the lake. This was like staying at someone's house instead of rental property. Very comfortable beds. I'm looking forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review