reviews for: listing #52593 - Glenwood, Minnesota House rental

Twin Spruce Vacation Rental on Beautiful Lake Minnewaska
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Starbuck
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $400 - $1,100 /wk
    $600 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Comfy cabin on beautiful lake

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

Really comfortable cabin
3 bedrooms upstairs - nice beds, great linens, ceiling fans in 2 of the rooms
Central air - we stayed when it was 90-95 outside & the AC was a blessed thing!
Nice kitchen - well-stocked, spacious, handy
Good tv for late night watching - welcome surprise!
Nice deck for late afternoon cards, etc.
Good firepit
Convenient location - 5 minutes from Starbuck for gas, groceries, bait
Great lake! In my opinion, one of the best in the state.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are happy to hear that the house, location, and lake lived up to your expectations. We have created a place and space that we really like, in the hopes that our guests will enjoy it as much as we do. The place seems to be an especially good fit for families.

The nicer sheets and new kitchen utensils can be credited to Connie. I work to keep up the house, yard, fire pit, etc. because the outdoor experience is important to me.

We enjoyed meeting you all, and the occasional chats were fun for us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice trip!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Our family (me, my husband and our seven-year-old son) enjoyed staying here on a trip back for my husband's high school reunion. All features were exactly as described. The home was clean and comfortable. Neil and Connie were very nice and easily accessed for questions. The property had a very private, quiet feel. Short drive to Starbuck for groceries and laundry facilities.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks. We enjoyed hosting you, and hope to see you back here some time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Stay at the Lake

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We take a trip to Lake Minnewaska every summer to visit my wife's family in Starbuck and have rented a place on or near the lake each time. This year we found and stayed at the Twin Spruce rental and had a great stay. As advertised, the house sits up on the hill from the lake and has a nice classic feel.

Upon arriving Neil & Connie (owners) greeted us and immediately made us feel welcomed, they are very friendly and made sure we were up to speed on everything. Even though they live on the property as well, we still felt like we had the place to ourselves. They were around if we needed them or had a question, but otherwise we did not see much of them.

The place is perfect for those who are interested in an easy going and relaxing place to spend some time. The house is comfortable and has a welcoming charm. We found the beds to be comfortable and there were windows in the one upstairs bedroom that overlook the lake - a beautiful view to wake up to each morning!

My 5 year old son had his first fishing experience on the dock at this house and caught his first fish ever - a 7" Blue Gill. He proceeded to catch a dozen or so of them that day and we had a great time "just fishin".

We had a great stay and would highly recommend the Twin Spruce property to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Stay at the Lake

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We take a trip to Lake Minnewaska every summer to visit my wife's family in Starbuck and have rented a place on or near the lake each time. This year we found and stayed at the Twin Spruce rental and had a great stay. As advertised, the house sits up on the hill from the lake and has a nice classic feel.

Upon arriving Neil & Connie (owners) greeted us and immediately made us feel welcomed, they are very friendly and made sure we were up to speed on everything. Even though they live on the property as well, we still felt like we had the place to ourselves. They were around if we needed them or had a question, but otherwise we did not see much of them.

The place is perfect for those who are interested in an easy going and relaxing place to spend some time. The house is comfortable and has a welcoming charm. We found the beds to be comfortable and there were windows in the one upstairs bedroom that overlook the lake - a beautiful view to wake up to each morning!

My 5 year old son had his first fishing experience on the dock at this house and caught his first fish ever - a 7" Blue Gill. He proceeded to catch a dozen or so of them that day and we had a great time "just fishin".

We had a great stay and would highly recommend the Twin Spruce property to anyone looking to stay in this area.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed their time here. Hope to have you all back some time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

disappointed

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

no sandy beach or public beach within walking distance as told.
poor beds & insufficient air conditioning in upstairs bedrooms.
crappy cooking utensils.
no adjustment for early departure.

Owners response: We appreciate feedback, so that we can improve our guests' experience. In fact, if we are told that something is not up to expectations while you are here, we will address it right away. We have never gotten feedback on "crappy cooking utensils" before, but now that we have they will be upgraded immediately.

Not everything can be changed so easily. We don't want people to think we are something we are not. We do our best to answer all questions as honestly as possible. Of course we want to point out all the positive things we have to offer, but we go out of our way to tell you about things that could be seen as negative. There must have been a misunderstanding on the beach, as we always tell people that the south shoreline is rocky, with a sand bottom starting 20' out. The Starbuck public beach is about 2 1/2 miles away, a short drive.

As for the "poor beds", we are completely confounded. There are two full size and one queen, all with high quality pillow top mattresses. Most lake cabins do not have air conditioning, but we do. The house was built in 1900 with no central heating. When it was added, the owners had to be creative when adding duct work, so it is not perfect. Normally the nights are cool enough to open the windows, but much of July has been hotter and more humid than normal.

We do everything we can to keep our rates very affordable. You may not need an entire week, but another party may. Because of that, we have to charge for a full week, even if you leave early.

One of the reasons our rates are as low as they are, is that we realize that the place is not perfect for every group. Please make sure that our place is a good fit for your group prior to reserving. We don't want anyone to be disappointed with their stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fall Weekend

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

The lake cabin is actually a 3 bedroom house on a bluff overlooking the beautiful lake. There is lake access from the house and only requires a very short walk down the handrail/stairs to the dock. The lake is very clean as well. Both towns of Glenwood and Starbuck are less than 10 minutes by car.
The house has two full baths, one upstairs and one down. All three bedrooms are upstairs. The kitchen has all the appliances and plenty of room to cook. No washer and dryer. All three bedrooms have at least a double bed and I believe there was a fold up bed in one of the closets.
I highly recommend this property to anyone considering a weekend, week or longer stay at the lake.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Chuck for the kind review. I'm so glad that you would highly recommend our property to people. Unfortunately at this time, we are not able to rent the house to the public for less than a week at a time.

Thanks for the "Chippers". I'm going to have to get to Grand Forks sometime soon just for more of those chocolates. And, of course to see you.

Have a great day,
Connie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Minnesota Vacation

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We had a great time visiting "back home"!!! Our parents both live close by, but we had teenagers that wanted to stay on the lake...they all brought friends and everyone enjoyed their time here a lot!!

The trek to the beach is quite steep, but I thought it was a great way to get some exercise in that I would not normally have done!! I would not recommend for young kids, older adults or people with disabilities.

Disappointed in the view as the owners added on and received the best view, however it was very relaxing on our deck and even though the fire pit was not on the lake, it was large enough for all of our friends and family!! I would stay here again knowing that the owners are in the same "unit" and close by if needed.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review