reviews for: listing #52723 - Waimea Bay, Hawaii Apartment rental

New, Clean & Great Location on North Shore!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $129 - $129 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Location a North Shore hidden treasure

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

After a two week stay in Waikiki we found this wonderful apartment. Perfect for just… relaxing its location FANTASTIC as we could not believe how lucky we were as we did not have a car, but we didn't need it as everything was within walking distance and we also enjoyed riding the Bicycles that were provided .We organized a return private transfer from our Waikiki Foodland a 5 minute walk (for all your groceries), the beautiful beaches and you can always catch TheBus no 55 ....make sure you visit the Farmers Market at Waimea Valley on Thursdays 3-7 pm… again I would like to mention so close and convenient

Didn’t want to leave this unit so clean and quiet …. The highlight of our Hawaiian holiday (were Aussies) …vacation. The owners were so helpful and friendly.

Recommended for: Couples especially if you don't hire a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful rental in a wonderful place

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Would highly recommend this rental. Everything was as listed, Jill and Daniel were great! You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely apartment

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

Stayed in this lovely apartment for 1 month, best vacation ever! Perfect location! Jill is very helpful and hospitable! I will come back as soon as possible! Highly recommend to anyone!

Owners response: We look forward to your return!!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely, clean property in a great location

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week during Aug/Sept 2013. The location was perfect, within walking distance of Waimea Bay. The accommodation itself was perfect, very clean and had everything you could possibly need for your stay. The snorkelling gear and bikes provided were an added bonus. Jill and Daniel were lovely and very hospitable. Jill even went out of her way to help out some friends requiring last minute accommodation the night before their wedding. We had a fantastic stay here and would highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay on the island. Hopefully you can make it back again sometime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely fantastic!

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at the North Shore in June, and we loved everything! The apartment was lovely, clean and well equipped, and located only metres from a beautiful beach. The owners are very nice, helpful and able to answer any question one may have.
Since we had a car we travelled around to other beaches, and we visited the small town of Haleiwa where we could have an icecream, coffee and do some really nice shopping. North Shore is perfect for a quiet holiday, but there are lots of things to do as well. The Polynesian Cultural Center is,for example, well worth a visit, and so is the Dole Plantation. We didn`t go to Honolulu this time, it is really not necessary because one can get everyting needed within 5 minutes from the apartment. If (when) we go back to Oahu this will be our first choice to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the detailed review. My husband and I really enjoyed meeting you both. I hope you can come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very convenient

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We did not have a car, but we didn't need it since the rental was in fact very conveniently located. We took bus 55 up from Honolulu (a pleasant ~2 hour trip) and got off right around the corner from the unit. We had easy walks to Foodland and to the beaches. We also walked to Waimea Valley.

The unit was clean and well equipped. Apart from the crowing roosters, the neighborhood is quiet. We really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the 5 Star rating. I'm so glad it was easy to get around without a car. The North Shore wouldn't be called "the country" if it weren't for a few feral farm animals. Hopefully they weren't too bothersome. I hope you can make it back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Too good to share!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

This is the review that I'm almost reluctant to write, sharing one of those seldom found gems that you don't want to share! The hosts are considerate and graceful, the position is fantastic and the house itself is perfect. The beach is a minute walk away, the foodland 2 minutes away. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway on the North Shore this is the place.
Now, about finding a decent coffee in Hawaii...

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the positive comments on my property. I agree that the location is perfect! In Haleiwa Town, there is a great coffee shop called "Coffee Gallery". It is in the North Shore Marketplace...about a 10 minute drive from the property. They'll even grind the beans for you to take and use with the coffee maker or stove top espresso maker at the unit. I hope you can make it back to the North Shore sometime soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great value/space for North Shore

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Our three day stay in this apartment was wonderful. Everything you needed was supplied, the place was spotless, bikes/washer excellent condition. We felt safe, the bed was super comfortable, plenty of space for two people, great location. Will be returning to this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Perfect Location for a Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

My Wife and I stayed all over Oahu, from the North Shore down to Honolulu. This by far was the best place we stayed. The location, combined with two bikes, was all we needed. We could have stayed for a month and seen something different every day, without ever driving anywhere. We went snorkeling at Shark's Cove, went to Sunset Beach, checked out the botanical gardens and walked to a waterfall (saw wild peacocks there). just up the road i did some cliff jumping into the ocean, ate some amazing food from the food trucks (byob, you can't beat it, since the grocery store is right down the street), went to the local farmers market and stocked up on gifts, and dinner which we cooked right at home (organic macadamia nut encrusted trout with a local veggie mixture, and a side of kale). You won't get this at a hotel. I forgot to mention the snorkel gear. It costs about $15 a day to rent snorkel gear for one person. We went snorkeling twice for free right down the road with the gear provided by the hosts. The way I see it, that is a $60 value! We had a blast, and if we ever make it back (god i hope we do), we will be staying here!,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy you had a great time. Thanks for all the great ideas - I'll check some out myself!!! I hope you can come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

This house was quiet, comfortable and clean. The residents living upstairs were very nice and quiet. Even with inclement weather we had a wonderful time! The bike path along the coast was definitely a favorite and it was so nice to be within such easy walking distance of so much! Waimea Bay, Three Table Beach, Shark's Cove, Foodland, Shark's Cove Grill.... Plus it was a very easy drive into Haleiwa to visit the Marketplace and Matsumoto's Shave Ice! We hope to return here!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Haleiwa has a very special place in our hearts!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

My husband and I just stayed in this adorable, cozy little home in the middle of June. It was our first time to Oahu and we LOVED EVERY SECOND OF IT! The place is conveniently located next to great snorkeling at Sharks Cove, grocery store Foodland and Haleiwa town, which is very quaint and lovely....great mexican food at Luibueno's, shaved ice at Matsumoto's and margaritas at Cholo's! NOT TO MENTION THE BEAUTIFUL BEACHES AND GREAT SURF! My husband and I will be back again and again to this wonderful little town and more specifically the wonderful home that we stayed in. It has all the ammenities you need and then some! Snorkel gear, beach cruisers, boogie boards, beach towels and peace of mind! :)
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PEACEFUL LITTLE PLACE. :)

Mahalo,
Chavon & Jose Cortez

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Northshore Location!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This unit is perfectly located in North Shore of Oahu....I was able to walk to the beach, scuba dive Shark's Cove, get supplies at the supermarket, all within five minutes of the front door....the famous Waimea Bay Beach and Park is also a short walk away. It is also only about a 5-10 minute drive (or a nice bike ride) up to Turtle Bay or down to Haiwea (the main town)....really convenient....the unit itself is very efficient and self-contained with everything one could want for a stay. The owner Jill was very responsive and easy to deal with....highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nearly perfect place

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

The apartment was very clean, quiet, and convenient - I enjoyed biking along the path to the beaches and having all of the conveniences of the kitchen as well as wifi and cable!

The only drawback is parking on the street can get crowded and hard to find on the weekends. I will definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Best Vacation Yet

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

The location was perfect for my wife and I. Across the street you'll find two awesome snorkel spots, "Three Tables" and "Sharks Cove". Waimea Bay / Beach is also very close, about 1/2 or so, and is a nice long beach that is perfect for a relaxing swim; it also has a few good spots to snorkel. We swam with turtles in the bay and in Sharks Cove! You are also within walking distance, about a 1/4 mile, from a Starbucks and a Grocery store that has everything you need. Having a Starbucks nearby was a treat for me, since I'm worthless without coffee in the morning! =) Unless you want to waste more money on a Hotel and all the shops in Waikiki, I highly recommend this place. You'll save money and end up having a better time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

The condo is in a great locale - 2 blocks to Shark's Cove, 4 blocks to Waimea Bay! Its location is in a quiet housing community a block back from the highway. Interior is clean, spacious and up to date. The only drawback is parking on the street can get crowded and hard to find on the weekends. We will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean, Quiet & Convenient

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2009

The apartment was very clean, quiet, and convenient - we enjoyed biking along the path to the beaches and having all of the conveniences of the kitchen as well as wifi and cable!
Anonymous, Brooklyn NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible Value & Location - Everything You Need

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We just spent a wonderful week in this delightful apartment walking distance to the best swimming and snorkeling beaches on the North Shore. Furnished with everything one needs for a beach vacation (bikes, snorkels, beach chairs, a fully equipped kitchen, beach towels and guidebooks), you won't go wrong with this property. The value is great, and the location cannot be surpassed. Don't miss Shark's Cove Grill a short walk away for lunch and dinner on their patio with a gorgeous view. Who needs Waikiki?
-Kathleen , Upland California

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place to Relax

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

This apartment was perfect for my relaxing getaway to the North Shore of Oahu. The beach across the street is great. Sharks Cove has incredible snorkeling and is a 5 minute walk away. The apartment was great. Everything was new and fresh. We definitely recommend the unit.
-Jennifer, Calgary, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

I loved my stay here on the North Shore! The location was perfect. I walked to Waimea, Pipeline and everywhere in between. The apartment is nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. I loved sleeping to the sounds of the waves. I'll be back soon.
-Repeat Guest, Los Angeles, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great place and willl come back

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

This was my first time to the island and the place could not be better. Everything was exactly as the description of the unit, and located in one of the best if not the best area of the north shore. Perfect for a couple who just wants to relax at the beautiful beaches around. The owner is very helpful and responded quickly to all my inquiries.

I will definitely comeback to the north shore and will hope to stay at this place again. Very highly recommended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

We just spent a wonderful week in this delightful apartment walking distance to the best swimming and snorkeling beaches on the North Shore. Furnished with everything one needs for a beach vacation (bikes, snorkels, beach chairs, a fully equipped kitchen, beach towels and guidebooks), you won't go wrong with this property. The value is great, and the location cannot be surpassed. Don't miss Shark's Cove Grill a short walk away for lunch and dinner on their patio with a gorgeous view. Who needs Waikiki?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

North Shore Unit

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

We really enjoyed staying in the North Shore. The location was perfect. Riding the bikes was also an added plus. However, I think its really important to have a single room AC unit (like the one upstairs). It was impossible (because of the heat) to take a nap inside during the day (which I think is part of being on vacation).

The unit was clean. The first couple days the upstairs was vacant and the last couple days someone was upstairs. The entry for the upstairs is only separated by a door. One could hear ever word that was being said as if they were in the room.

Would I stay there again? Sure if they insulated the door and purchased an AC unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Please note that the this is the first review from a guest that was too hot in the unit. There are big, overhead fans in both the front room & the bedroom that keep the unit nice and cool. There is a connected "double-door" between the downstairs unit and the foyer to the upstairs. It is simply a "landing" to the stairs to the upstairs and not a place where guests linger and talk.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: June 21, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

Very clean apartment in quiet street, well appointed and convenient to amenities. Walking distance to great swimming and snorkeling and the bikes are really handy for getting around.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

I really love my stay, the house is super comfortable and clean, very quiet and the location has evrything we need close. Hum...the price is also great!!! i recommend this property for everyone...i hope to be back soon!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

The apartment was very clean, quiet, and convenient - we enjoyed biking along the path to the beaches and having all of the conveniences of the kitchen as well as wifi and cable!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

1st time in Hawaii...GREAT EXPERIENCE!
The property was just like the pictures and the location was accurately described. Spent two weeks an the only negative was the vacation was too short. Try to avoid Ted's Bakery in Sunset Beach - repeated visits will do damage to your waistline.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We recently stayed at this property and it was wonderful. Very close to Shark's cove (5 minute walk), Waimea Bay (5 minute drive) and supermarket/Starbucks (right across from Shark's cove). Unfortunately when we went the waves were a little strong so we couldn't go swimming at Kei Iki Beach or the Beach located near the property. But you could go snorkeling at sharks cove as it is enclosed and Waimea Bay. Overall the property was convenietly located, clean and had very easy parking. Also had a DVD player, so it was a nice way to unwind at night (North Shore shuts down at night for the most part). Would definitely recommend to single's/couples. Also compared to Honolulu and Waikiki, North Shore is wonderful. Its quiet, peaceful, with many secluded beaches, great food, and wonderful sights. I hope to go back to Oahu and if I do im staying at the North Shore and the East side of the island.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

Loved this location! Pupukea beach is right across the street and was a great spot for snorkeling. Apartment was very clean and had everything we needed. Worked well for a couple and was a good bargain.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

We are fellow vacation condo rental providers in the Pearl Harbor area and were extremely impressed with all aspects of our reservation.....from service beginning to end, lovely accommodations, location, etc. Accommodations in excellent condition with every need provided for and beyond, very very clean and very lovely. Awesome 18th hole Fazio view, watched 15 year old son play Golf Channel Amateur Tour Tournament! Recommend to ALL!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

I highly recommend this apartment. It is right in the middle of the North Shore and very well kept. We enjoyed taking the bikes to Pipelien & Sunset on the beautiful, shaded bikepath. The unit has everything you'll need and is very new and clean. We'll be back each year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

This apartment was perfect for my relaxing getaway to the North Shore of Oahu. The beach across the street is great. Sharks Cove has incredible snorkeling and is a 5 minute walk away. The apartment was great. Everything was new and fresh. We definitely recommend the unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

I loved my stay here on the North Shore! The location was perfect. I walked to Waimea, Pipeline and everywhere in between. The apartment is nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. I loved sleeping to the sounds of the waves. I'll be back soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

I'd book it again in a heartbeat

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Ultra clean, quiet, new ground floor apartment behind the garage; all-American residential neighborhood five minute walk from the local overpriced supermarket and Starbucks. On big surf nights, go to sleep with, the sound of waves crashing against the shore. Supplied with everything you need down to dish soap and paper towels. Kitchen is minimal but adequate. Comfortable bed! Smoke-free facility. Landlady lives upstairs; is friendly, helpful and is quick to deal with any problems. Not the kind of place you'd want to hang out in all day in – you'd feel a little cooped up; it's a bit dark, no view, and no outside living space – but as a base to explore the North Shore surfing country, it's perfectly located; you couldn't do better.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review