reviews for: listing #52766 - Bellingham, Washington House rental

High-End Contemporary Custom Home on 244 Acre Park
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $349 - $399 /nt
    $1,999 - $2,499 /wk
    $4,500 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

We're leaving today after a wonderful 4 day stay and we wish it could continue. The house was perfect for our group of 6 adults and 2 small children. I wouldn't change a thing about the house and the many provisions/amenities found there. Of course, walking into the park from the back yard was a great perk. We are grateful to Erik for everything and will hopefully be coming back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home for a wonderful family gathering!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

We just rented Erik's house for our family to stay together during my daughter's graduation from WWU. What an amazing time we had, and everyone agreed that the house was perfect and made the time together even more special. It was truly a designer house with many beautiful details. It was also very well stocked as far as toiletries, towels, bedding, paper goods, etc. We wanted it to be great as grandparents, godparents, cousins and siblings were all coming and most had never visited Bellingham before. We couldn't have chosen any better of a place for such a reunion. The location was great as it backed on a beautiful waterfall park and was great for hiking/running and the hot tub option was enjoyed. Erik was great at communicating throughout which was really a plus too. We are sad to say goodbye to Bellingham but we did it in style. Thank you Erik!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous home!

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

It made our wedding for our son very special. Our whole family was able to stay together and celebrate our son's wedding at a venue in Bellingham. It provided a great place to get ready for the wedding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two thumbs up!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

I recently rented this beautiful house during a wedding event weekend. The spacious dining, kitchen, and living areas as well as the outdoor patio and yard are well appointed, and allowed for visiting, dining, and relaxing. The beautiful four bedrooms allowed out of town guests to enjoy their stay in comfort in our area,( including a hot tub and walks in adjacent Whatcom Falls Park). Eric the owner was gracious and very accommodating to our needs. I highly recommend this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Home

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Excellent location bordering Whatcom Falls Park. Lovely amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Beautiful home!
Four Stars
Whatcom Falls Retreat is a lovely Craftsman home with many superb details. There is lots of great space to socialize or just curl up with a great book and we did plenty of both. Backed against the lush greenbelt of Whatcom Falls Park, the setting is serene and we took several long day hikes on the park's well-groomed trails. Whatever you do -- don't miss the wonderful walk to the waterfall. The beds were most comfortable,the dining table perfect for convivial dinners and the living room couch was big enough for all of us to lounge around and enjoy movies together. This house is wired with wonderful audio-visual perks though we found some of them difficult to use. In spite of the damp and chilly weather, were were cozy, warm and happy to be there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing, amazing, amazing.

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

I stayed in this gorgeous house with a group of friends to celebrate my 35th birthday. I really couldn't have been happier with the house and the overall experience. The steam shower is amazing, the master suite is amazing, the whole layout of the house is brilliant, access to Whatcom Falls Park from the backyard... I could go on and on. The photos online are beautiful and I was not disappointed upon arrival.

Erik (the owner) was nearby, friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive.

I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

The house was excellent and Eric, the owner made sure we have everything we need. I would rate this vacation rental very high and would recommend it to anyone planning on having a good time away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Time

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Our daughter had her wedding reception/celebration in Bellingham and this was a perfect fit for our immediate family to be able to stay together. The property was perfectly located for us as we all enjoy getting outdoors and the trails adjacent to the house were beautiful. The house itself was very comfortable - we particularly enjoyed the "sun room" - such a relaxing place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at the end of the day!! We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a place in this area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation House

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We absolutely love this vacation property! We are a group of three families spending a weekend there just to relax, have some fun, and do a little shopping on our way back to Canada. The house is spacious and nicely decorated. Though there is an adjacent unit with occupants next door, we did not even hear any noise at all (except our laughter). I sincerely want to thank the owner who responded to our need right away, and was patient and very understanding when we had changes in our travel plan. The location is perfect for Vancouverites as it is only about 30 minutes' drive from the border and close to shopping centers such as Bellis Fair and Trader's Joe. Would love to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Watcom Falls Retreat

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We found that the listing description was accurate concerning location. The photos reflected the true appearance and amenities. The property was very clean and well maintained. The owner was especially helpful. He responded immediately to our questions and fixed the minor problem we reported in a short period of time. We would recommend this property to anyone looking for an ideal place for a family gathering, a special celebration or for a pleasant place to enjoy a relaxed time indoors, in the beautiful yard or hiking the trails of the adjoining park.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

great for the wedding.

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

everyone loved the house. most spent their time in the sun room even though we did not have lots of sun the week we stayed. The hot tub was also a big hit. Thanks again for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exquisite, masterpiece of a home on a spectacular park.

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

My family and I stayed at Whatcom Falls Retreat for a long weekend in January, and we have never been more satisfied with a vacation rental. This home is above and beyond what I expected, and the hospitality from the owner was tremendous. When we couldn't figure out how to turn on the television, we called Erik and he picked up within seconds. When I still couldn't figure out how to make it work, he came over just to show us.

The home itself is a masterpiece full of heart. Each crevice of this home was clearly designed with great intention and thought. The kitchen is gorgeous and well stocked. The sun room is inviting and envelopes you into the lovely gardens. The steam room was my absolute favorite bathroom, and I spent every morning waking up by sitting in the steam before my morning coffee. The master bedroom is fantastic with its bright, jungle green walls and delightful views of the garden and park. My husband absolutely loved the hidden big screen tv, which comes down from above the fireplace via switch.

We were thrilled with this home, appreciated the peace and quiet, and will most definitely be returning January 2013 for another family retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Absolutely Perfect Stay!

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

We celebrated an early Thanksgiving at the Whatcom Falls Retreat with our extended family of 15, and could not have been any more thrilled with our stay! My husband and I were a little skeptical that we would like this as much as the high end hotels we are used to staying in when in town visiting family, but the minute we walked in the front door of this property we were hooked, and knew that both of Bellingham's two boutique hotels now paled in comparison. As we passed from one room to the next we found ourselves more and more excited about what we would now like to think of as our new home away from home.

The house is exquisitely decorated with a mix of contemporary, global, antique, and vintage furnishings and accents, as well as high-end appliances and amenities. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need to prepare and serve our large Thanksgiving feast. The bedrooms, bathrooms, even the laundry room, were all thoughtfully appointed and beautifully decorated. The kids loved walking to the playground just down the way, and the adults enjoyed relaxing and catching up in any of the many gathering areas.

During the day, when the entire extended family would be over, the house never felt crowded. At night, when our own children would go home with their cousins and it was just the two of us, the house still felt cozy and comfortable. I had worried that we would feel lonely being the only two staying in such a large home, but was happily surprised to find that wasn't the case. The house is just so well designed, and so incredibly comfortable, that it feels as natural to have two stay as it would the whole extended family.

The owners are extremely conscientious and went out of their way to make sure every detail of our stay was perfect. Truth be told, I tried to think of something that they could improve upon, just to make this review seem a bit more balanced, and I came up with nothing. Well, unless you want to count that we weren't able to stay a few extra days (or weeks -- yes, it was that great!).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What an AMAZING home!

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Eric and Laura's beautiful home luckily due to a last minute cancellation. The house, the interior and exterior decorating, all the detail and extra touches are IMPECCABLE! from the granite kitchen, to the custom sunroom, to the flat screen TV that descends out of the ceiling... premium linens, down comforters and pillows... oh and the hot tub! I slept better than I have ever slept for a very long time. The location is very convenient, close to everything you need. the house has a very calming and quiet effect, and just by being there you feel good!

I HIGHLY recommend booking ahead of time as this house is in high demand. there is SO much space, even extra couch and floor space for kids and sleeping bags, a huge backyard, and Whatcom Falls park SO close! I

I have stayed in hotels, B&B's and homes all over the world from Shanghai to London to Puerta Vallarta, and this one ranks as one of the highest. I rarerly will give a 5 star review, but there is no reason for me not to here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend Vacation

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Very nice accommodations. Home has multiple gathering places living room, sun room and dining room plus outdoor areas. Two bedrooms are at one end of the house and share a bathroom (claw foot tub, shower) and the other bedrooms are at the other end of the house (master bedroom is upstairs). The downside is there is an apartment above the garage that is occupied. For most of our stay, we did not know there was anyone there, but there was noise from the apartment late at night and occasional cars coming and going from the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a nice stay! I sincerely apologize about the unusual noise from the neighbors--they had a medical emergency in the middle of the night that caused late night commotion in the neighborhood.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Terrific "Grooms House" for wedding weekend.

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

My son was married recently and we rented this home for our out of town family and close friends. The house worked well for this, as the rooms were large, and there was plenty of space for the varied weekend activities. Unfortunately we were too busy to enjoy tha adjacent park, but it was a lovely backdrop to our festivities. All of our guests were impressed by the home's layout and decor.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home on the park

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

We rented this wonderful home for our grandson's wedding. There were eleven of us most of the time. The house is spacious and has so many beautiful areas. The park out the back door is amazing. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a beautiful, restful time in a park setting. We would stay here again, anytime!! Just Great!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Rental

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

We stayed at this property for a wedding 8/18-8/21. We had 11 guests staying with us and there was plenty of room for all of us to sleep comfortably. The house was extremely clean and very accomodating. We had a small issue with the nozzle in the shower when we first checked in, but Erik came in fixed immediately even though it wasn't even a major issue. Erik was extremely friendly and was available if we needed anything at all, which we didn't. You will not be disappointed at all staying here and you should not look at any other properties, this is where you should stay. The grill worked just fine and would recommend using it to help cut down on food cost. The backyard is amazing and you can hear the waterfalls from the trail. We enjoyed running on the trail in the morning and even saw a few deer. Everything is within 10 minutes of the house too. We are extremely happy we decided to stay at this house and if we go back to Bellingham, we will be staying in this house again. Thanks Erik!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Our work group has stayed in this home several times now and the home is really all one can ask for. The bedrooms are very comfortable, well spaced out, the ammenities are A1 (granite kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer / dryer, flat screen tv) and Eric, the owner is courteous and responsive to any needs we had. The home was very clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Impressive stay

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Our stay at the home was superb! After spending two weeks there, we felt like it was our home. The kitchen was well stocked with high end appliances and had every imaginable gadget to create a meal with. Any questions we had for Erik was answered right away. The Whatcom Falls Trails were right out the back yard making it impossible to miss a daily walk, and it was spectacular. The Jacuzzi was a perfect way to relax after a day and the deer were not shy. Thank you for making our stay truly enjoyable. We'll be back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our favourite family reunion vacation house...EVER!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

For the last 10 years, my siblings and their families and our family get together every year for a week in the summer with our mom in another city for a group reunion of 13 (including 6 kids) as a tribute to our wonderful dad. He loved to travel, seek adventure, and socialize with family members and good friends. However, it was only possible to stay 3 nights during Easter break this year.

The Whatcom Falls Retreat is everything the owner, Erik, portrays the property to be, and MORE. Many vacation properties provide LESS than portrayed and offer some unpleasant surprises. NOT this home! Its backyard sits right on the border of Whatcom Falls Park, a beautiful 240+ acre park off the back patio that includes pristine waterfalls, many nature trails, swimming holes, much wildlife, tennis courts, a trout hatchery and a number of playgrounds.

The house was originally a small and older 2-bedroom rambler, and has been masterfully enlarged and remodelled into a 4-bedroom executive-style craftsman-built home by Erik and his father. The home is very bright and airy because of vaulted ceilings, numerous skylights throughout and a large sunroom (great for reading and relaxing) off of the modern open kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped with almost everything we needed to prepare wonderful meals for our large group.

The house is tastefully decorated with nice furniture and exquisite personal touches, and combines the past with today quite well. There are 2 flat-screen TVs with premium cable packages and built-in Bose surround-sound speakers throughout with softwood floors and number of antique pieces of furniture.

My family really enjoyed the hot-tub every evening, which was very clean, and even had its own stereo and speakers.

However, what really set this vacation property from others, is Erik's attention to detail and accomodation. This home included a modern washer/dryer, and enough laundry detergent (chemical-free) and dishwasher detergent to last our stay, plus a generous quantity of hotel-like items such as toilet paper, mini-soap bars, mini-shampoos and mini-toothpastes in all 3 bathrooms. In addition, 2 family members are light sleepers and needed 2 additional air-mattresses to sleep far away from the loud snorers. Erik not only provided 2 mattresses within hours, but included a brand-new one that was sealed in the box. BTW, all the beds were very comfortable and the linens of high quality.

I highly recommend this property to any family(s)!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome house! Great quality!

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

I live locally and have had the pleasure of attending several events at Whatcom Falls Retreat from small intimate social gathering to a catered wedding. The house and surroundings are both beautiful and functionally pleasing and manage pulling off both being luxurious and functional at the same time. The kitchen is awesome with marble counter tops, a professional grade stove, large sink etc. right down to little niceties like the instant hot water tap for tea.

The modern hot tub seats several people (6? 8?) with a variety of seating positions and jets. The marble steam room / shower seats about four and has multiple shower heads in addition to the steam for a variety of options. The sun room overlooks the private back yard and the hot tub and is a wonderful place to sit and visit. In good weather you can bask in the abundance of sun that comes through the glass walls and roof. In bad weather the rain falling on the glass roof is soothing.

The hardwood floors in areas like the living room and dining room and the fireplace provide a feeling of luxury as you visit with friends. The physical location is in a fairly private, low traffic residential area yet is close to a wide variety of parks, trails, recreational options, shopping and other tourist locations. Erik is kind, calm and a wonderful human being to deal with. If you are looking for a quality place for you or your loved ones to stay while in Bellingham you won’t be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Absolutely fabulous house

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We recently stayed at this house for our family reunion. Without a doubt, this was the best vacation rental place I have stayed at so far. The house was large - 4 bedrooms to fit 8 adults, very tastefully decorated - each part of the house had its own character, nice, cozy, and convenient with an awesome sun room that has glass walls and a glass ceiling. Most amazingly, the house came equipped with every little detail one can think of and need in a typical family getaway. For example, the kitchen had both formal and casual dinnerware to feed at least 25 people if not more, and came with every pot / utensil / kitchen gadget we needed and that too in duplicates. The sauna in the downstairs bedroom and the master bedroom with its private balcony were awesome as well! To top it off Erik was an excellent host and helped us have an absolutely memorable family reunion!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Home!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

My family and I had a chance to rent this lovely home for a family wedding we recently attended in the Bellingham area. I can not express in words what a lovely home this is and how beautiful the location is. Erik was wonderful to deal with and treated us with the highest level of service from our initial inquiry. My family and I had a chance to walk the trails direclty behind the home to Whatcom Falls and we took some pictures that we will frame for our home. The home is located near some wonderful restaurants and we enjoyed walking downton Bellingham and Fairhaven. I would highly recommend this home for your next stay and I look forward to our return trip in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best. Vacation House. EVER.

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

My family and friends and I spent an amazing week at the Whatcom Falls Retreat and could not have asked for anything better! Truthfully, I live in Bellingham and scoped this property out months before staying here, as I was looking for the perfect place to have a reception for my small and intimate wedding. The back yard was EXACTLY what my husband and I were looking for- private, picturesque and surrounded by the sweeping beauty of Whatcom Falls Park. We were married in the park across the street, and enjoyed a perfectly memorable party afterwards at the house. The homeowner was amazing to work with throughout the process of renting and executing such a feat, and we feel incredibly fortunate to have stumbled across such a gem in the middle of our own city. Everyone who stayed at the house surrounding the wedding is anxious to return soon- we made wonderful memories and felt at home in this beautiful retreat. You can't go wrong renting this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! What a great review! You guys were such a joy to work with. I wish you the best!!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fabulous home, amazing waterfalls at your fingertips!

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Your home was exceedingly comfortable for the five of us--something for everyone! Our habit was to knock around town or find a lake (Lake Samish is excellent to kayak on for the kids, weekends only), eat lunch downtown (recommend Boundary Bay Brewing for the best chili I've ever had), then head back to the house for leisurely walks through the park. Our teenagers LOVED swimming in the creek. Kids of all ages can swim there, too, not just the older ones. Then we'd head back to the house for a sit in the hot tub. We really loved the sound system in the hot tub and throughout the house. There were so many ways to relax it was hard to choose! The kids loved to kick back and watch movies on the big screen, but we preferred to enjoy the backyard and look for deer, squirrels and birds. Also spotted an owl and a beaver on the trails.

I would recommend this house for anyone wanting a comfortable place to get away from it all! There is even a Starbucks within walking distance, if getting away from it all doesn't include leaving Starbucks behind (like me!).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

We searched and found this perfect Home for our rehearsal dinner of 20 guests. All our guest wanted to tour this beautiful home and enjoy the quality work that went into its construction, all first class.
Thanks Eric for a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The perfect gathering place

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Our family again gathered in this beautiful home. The women came together to have fun and relax. This home provides the perfect space to just be together. It has big rooms that are light and airy and it is clean, clean clean. The sun room is delightful during the day or at night. The bedrooms are large and uncluttered and the beds are wonderful. The kitchen is large enough for four or five to work together and is well stocked. The house is located right next to a beautiful park and those walks are delightful and the Falls are mesmerizing. I would recommend this home and its owner Erik Moore to anyone. It is a perfectly designed vacation rental and Moore is a gracious and knowedgable host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The perfect gathering place.

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Once again we gathered at this wonderful gathering place. Sisters, mothers, aunts, cousins; three generations. What a delight. There was so much room, so many little nooks and crannies to visit, to hold that darling baby, to capture pictures, to create memories. This house holds so many happy times for our family. We continue to gather here and will continue to do so. The kitchen is a great working kitchen for a lot of people to work at one time. The table holds many and the sun room lets everyone feel part of the kitchen experience. The walks and hikes are refreshing and the falls were beautiful. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are light and airy. This is the perfect gathering place.
This home always exceeds our expectations. The property is so clean and the owner is gracious and generous with his time and his answers to our questions. I continue to recommend this vacation home to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

We gathered in Bellingham for our sons college graduation from Western Washington University. My entire family joined us. We had people from NYC ,CO, NM, NJ, MI, & AZ. None had ever been to Bellingham before. The house easily accommodated all of us. The house is absolutely beautiful.We enjoyed all features of this wonderful home. The location is great. We walked the trails of Whatcom Falls Park everyday. We enjoyed the hot tub, in house steam room and the BBQ. We had dinners at the house and a catered lunch. We had the best graduation and family reunion so much was credited to having this house. It made for a great gathering place. There are many rooms to sit in and spread out in. I have to say one of the best aspect about this rental was working with the owner Erik. It is a little scary renting a house long distance and knowing you have others to accommodate. Erik always answered any question I had and he answered immediately. We took tons of pictures and we have great memories of our week in Bellingham. Our only negative is that it is all over. Thanks to Erik for a great stay.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with young children.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Chip & Colleen, March 15 through March 23, 2010 from Littleton, CO

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

We gathered in Bellingham for our sons college graduation from Western Washington University. My entire family joined us. We had people from NYC ,CO, NM, NJ, MI, & AZ. None had ever been to Bellingham before. The house easily accommodated all of us. The house is absolutely beautiful.We enjoyed all features of this wonderful home. The location is great. We walked the trails of Whatcom Falls Park everyday. We enjoyed the hot tub, in house steam room and the BBQ. We had dinners at the house and a catered lunch. We had the best graduation and family reunion so much was credited to having this house. It made for a great gathering place. There are many rooms to sit in and spread out in. I have to say one of the best aspect about this rental was working with the owner Erik. It is a little scary renting a house long distance and knowing you have others to accommodate. Erik always answered any question I had and he answered immediately. We took tons of pictures and we have great memories of our week in Bellingham. Our only negative is that it is all over. Thanks to Erik for a great stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

About 80 people watched our son and new daughter-in-law's wedding celebration held in the flower filled backyard of this beautiful home. We first had a blast square dancing on the lawn, then enjoyed the ceremony and then a reception that lasted far into the beautiful summer evening. Out of town family members stayed here during the wedding week. It was such fun to have the bride's and the groom's families have a place that was big enough to accommodate all of us meeting together for fun and wedding activities. Both my son and his wife had ample time to visit with each other's families during this week long celebration. The grandchildren had a wonderful time playing in the park just down the street when they weren't playing chase in the back yard, while the adults watched them from the large deck. The sun room allowed the older generation to feel a part of the activities w/o being outside in the sun. The park behind the house is beautiful and has wide paths that easily accommodated the groups that went back and forth to the beautiful falls. The house itself is beautiful. The attention to detail is quite remarkable. Moore and his father built the house and it is a work of skill. Being clean was an important consideration and this met all expectations. Moore was available at most any time for any questions we had and for suggestions of things to do and places to go. We didn't need to eat out as a group, the dining room table was huge and the kitchen a dream. Those that wanted could eat outside on the deck. The house is close to shopping and anything we needed was minutes away. This is a house built for families and celebrations. It was a delightful time, one full of memories we will all cherish. · By Nana of Many from Bellingham WA on 3/6/10 for a stay on 8/1/2009

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: January 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

We stayed at this home with members of our Team Navy bike team. We had two days of beautiful bike riding, all the way to the Canadian border. The house is amazing. We loved walking in the park and soaking in the hot tub. Erik made everything so easy for us. This is truly a spectacular home and we look forward to another fantastic biking weekend in 2010.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back

Review submitted: December 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

Hi Erik! We will look forward to staying in your house again. It was GREAT. Happy New Year, I look forward to renting from you again later this year, Venus

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect graduation

Review submitted: December 23, 2009   Date of arrival: December 23, 2008

I'm not sure how we could have verbally expressed what a good time we had. My family members have nice homes, but they really dug your floor plan and colors. We never got into hot tub, but the rest of the house, especially the kitchen, was well used. My sister cooked liked mad. Honestly Eric, getting a house just completely changed the whole weekend. Having that house in particular brought it to a new level. everyone said they felt very much at home. It is a prefect gathering place, with great proximity to the park. I envy your position there. The pictures on VRBO do not do the place justice. We all feel that that weekend was one of the best we've had in a long time, and your house was a big part of that equation. Thank you so much for doing business with me on such short notice and excepting my offer. My graduation celebration would not have been the same without you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

[copied from guest book]
I'm not sure how we could have verbally expressed what a
good time we had. My family members have nice homes, but
they really dug your floor plan and colors. We never got
into hot tub, but the rest of the house, especially the
kitchen, was well used. My sister cooked liked mad.

Honestly Eric, getting a house just completely changed the
whole weekend. Having that house in particular brought it to
a new level. everyone said they felt very much at home. It
is a prefect gathering place, with great proximity to the
park. I envy your position there. The pictures on VRBO do
not do the place justice. We all feel that that weekend was
one of the best we've had in a long time, and your house was
a big part of that equation. Thank you so much for doing
business with me on such short notice and excepting my
offer. My graduation celebration would not have been the
same without you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

[copied from guest book]
Hi Erik! We will look forward to staying in your house again.
It was GREAT.
Happy New Year,
I look forward to renting from you again later this year,
Venus

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

[copied from guest book]Erik –Thank you so much for letting us use your beautiful house! We all enjoyed the hot tub Saturday night. I hope you found everything in order after we left on Sunday.Thanks,Michelle

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

[copied from guest book]
We really enjoyed staying in your home. The location was
great!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2009

[copied from guest book]
Thanks for your hospitality. the house was great. i think we
left it shipshape.
i will probably beg you to let us stay again next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: November 25, 2008

Our family will be celebrating a family reunion Thanksgiving here. Looks beautiful and can't wait!

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review