reviews for: listing #5278 - San Francisco, California House rental

Stylish House; Stunning Views of SF; Steinway Grand Piano
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $255 - $375 /nt
    $1,785 - $2,625 /wk

sort by:

Just as spectacular as the pictures make it look

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

We were married in Muir Woods on this trip and spent half the time on a "mini-honeymoon" here. We were originally looking to stay in Marina, Pacific Heights, etc., but saw this and decided to try off the beaten tourist path instead. This was indeed a memorable place. The views are spectacular (being high on a hill), the house is spacious and very elegant, and it really makes you feel like you're living in the city rather than just being a tourist. I've stayed at many good VRBO properties but this one is at the top.
A Whole Foods is conveniently located nearby. We had a car but had no trouble parking the whole time. The neighborhood is very quiet and friendly, with a lot of small restaurants and cafes nearby. It's definitely worth checking out this part of the city!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your thoughtful and complimentary review. It was a privilege and a pleasure to have been able to share my house with you for your honeymoon. I wish you a lifetime of happiness together. -- Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Comfortable and Beautiful! Best Ever!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

It was a joy staying in your home - comfortable and beautiful. We were also very happy to have had the opportunity to meet you. I don't know if you meet everyone, but meeting you made our trip feel more like a personal visit. We liked that. Thanks!



I would say your overall design sense made me feel wonderful just being there. I love your art collection. We went to the Chocolate Lab on our last day. I do wish we had visited sooner!

Owners response: Thanks for your nice compliments, Carol. It was great to meet you as well, something I don't often get to do because I am usually on the road when my guests are in residence. Please come back soon! -- Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

The Potrero Hill House is very spacious, well equipped with everything needed to feel like being at home in San Francisco! Much more comfortable than staying in a hotel in downtown San Francisco! Spectacular view from the master bedroom! Kitchen has everything needed to prepare gourmet meals. Convenient parking is an outstanding asset.

Owners response: Many thanks for taking time to submit your very complimentary review. As you point out, the easy parking in my neighborhood, a great rarity in San Francisco, is one of the advantages of renting my house. There is always a free parking spot right in front of my garage as well as plenty of nearby street parking for any friends who might visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely fabulous

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We loved our stay - fantastic home, spacious, lovely location - we highly recommend this place - photos are accurate (believe me some owners show old photos).

Owners response: I genuinely appreciate your complimentary review, Gavin. Actually, I need to update the photo of my living room to show the new flat screen TV I purchased a few months ago. Thanks for the reminder! Ciao! Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT !!

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

The house is outstanding. A private home, well maintained. It is comfortable and welcoming. Services are available and all-and-all it is an excellent residence. It is exactly as described and pictured. You will not be disappointed.



The Potrero Hill House is the best value in San Francisco. We have visited SF on a regular basis for the last 40 years -- staying in all the fine hotels. This has them all beat, if you do not require concierge and room services. There were only 2 of us but it would be ideal for a family.



Bill has thought of it all. It was our privilege to meet him personally. He was very hospitable and charming. His "information" manuals are complete and detailed. We would recommend Fisherman’s Wharf, shopping on Union Square, Sausalito, and drinks at the Top of the Mark.

Owners response: Many thanks, Celia. I am particularly pleased that you found my house better than staying at San Francisco's fine hotels. High praise indeed! I look forward to your return. Ciao! Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 24, 2014

After two weeks of traveling in California, we definitely saved the best for last. Bill's home is absolutely stunning and is as beautiful as the pictures. The décor is eclectic with a blend of new and antiques. The home is well stocked with high quality dishes and linens...nothing left to the imagination. It was exceptionally clean and a pleasure to spend time in. A great location and the reserved parking was very welcome, particularly after a long day of sightseeing. We would have loved to spend more time and explored the local neighborhood restaurants and attractions...but just too much to see in the city. Public transportation was also very accessible so one doesn't need to drive everywhere. Bill provides numerous books on travel and sightseeing which was definitely appreciated. Lots of tips on visiting the city and surrounding areas. We will definitely stay here whenever we come to San Francisco. Thanks for sharing your lovely home.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your highly complimentary review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at my house and had such a wonderful time in San Francisco. You will definitely have to come back to explore the Potrero Hill neighborhood more fully. Our local restaurants and wine bars are some of the best in the City!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your home with us. We gathered as family to catch up and this was the perfect place. We balanced a little "tourism" with a lot of time together in the kitchen and around the dining table...enhanced by some delicious California wine. The Potrero Hill house description is accurate and all the reviews are absolutely true. Thank you again for sharing your home which changed a visit into an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Bob & Marilyn, Many thanks for taking time to post your very complimentary review. It was a pleasure to have had a brief chance to meet you during your stay, and I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable time. -- Bill

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very comfortable stay in lovely area

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Given the prior information we received, we were expecting a lot of the
house. In such circumstances in the past, I have not infrequently been
disappointed, but this was not the case here. It lived up to expectations
and the whole experience was good: the arrangements for access, the house
itself, public transport into the city and local amenities, in particular
the restaurants were excellent.

I have been to San Francisco before, though 20 years ago. This time I was
surprised at the prevalence of vagrancy on the streets, not just in the
expected areas like the Tenderloin, but in lots of other areas. This
surprised me. It seems, more than the other cities we visited, that SF has a
real problem here. This did not affect our stay because the Potrero Hill
neighborhood is safe and clean.

What we liked most about the house was the view of the skyline of SF. Did
not tire of this: morning, noon and evening. Its tremendous. You did give
info about local public transport but I did not appreciate till I got there
just how good it was from the locality: several buses into various areas of
town from easy walking distances.

Can't really think of anything we disliked. However, if there are four
adults staying, two of them are going to be disappointed at not having the
view from the master bedroom. They could always swap over though.

The maps of the restaurants in the local vicinity were excellent. The
Vietnamese restaurant did not take bookings while we were there but we
turned up and it was great (a Monday night, though). This is a great eating
area of an evening. I would underline this even more. There's something for
everyone.

The Whole Foods supermarket is very good, particularly for its international
selection of beers, though I guess US guests will know that, others may not.

Owners response: Many thanks for your nice compliments and good suggestions. Although the view from my living room is almost as good as the view from the master bedroom, quite a few guests do, in fact, switch bedrooms halfway through their stay. I am pleased that you discovered all of the great restaurants in our neighborhood.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

One of the best places to stay in San Fransico.

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

The Potrero Hill area is a little removed from the tourist areas, giving the area a very 'neighborhood feel'. The house is very relaxing, neat and well decorated. The views of San Francisco are some of the best in the city.

Parking and public transportation were easy and convienent. The hills are steep, so be prepared for a work out, but do explore the surrounding neighborhood. We found several great little restaurants and stores.

We found nothing wanting and the funishings and home were clean and well maintained. The listing description is accurate in every detail. There were 6 of us and sometimes 8 for drinks and dinner. The house accomodated larger groups easily.

Owners response: I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in my Potrero Hill House and that you successfully conquered our steep streets. What would San Francisco be without its hills? A little uphill hiking is a small price to pay for the fabulous panoramic views of The City that we enjoy every day, and there other benefits, as well: The vast majority of tourists prefer to herd up in the lowlands, and my legs are 20 years younger than the rest of my body! :-)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Property!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

The house was as advertised... an elegant and roomy stay soooo much better
than a more pricey hotel room. We most liked the view, location, parking,
and great restaurants close by. The house has lots of stairs which were hard
on old knees, but not really a problem. We loved The Ramp, a nearby
restaurant, offering eating outside in great warm weather, good food, right
on the bay -- great! The house was an island of sanity during an insane
wedding. It was fabulous!

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review. Yes, my house is three stories high and there are quite a few stairs, but the reward of climbing those stairs is some exercise and a fabulous view of San Francisco. :-)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Classy & Comfortable

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Thinking back over our experiences in San Francisco, living in the Potrero
Hill house is close to the top of the list! A gorgeous retreat after each
excursion into The City, situated in a quiet neighborhood with wonderful
views, this one-of-a-kind home had all comforts and much, much more!

For 5 years, our spring travels have included our grandson (now 17), and
we've always looked for vacation rentals that provided him with his own
space. Because the master suite is on the top floor and the guest bedroom
and bath on the main level, Potrero Hill house was perfect for all! Bill's
art, books, and decor is very cool...and the piano was a great bonus :)

We especially enjoyed the Alcatraz Island tour, walking the Haight district,
the views and collections at the de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park, and a
showing our grandson some favorite spots at Stanford University. An
overnight at Yosemite Falls Lodge was easy to do. This is the time of year
when the waterfalls are raging and the hills blooming with wild flowers. Oh
yeah...Goat Hill Pizza rules!

Owners response: Thanks for your kind and gratifying words, Jane. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Potrero Hill House. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to stay in San Francisco

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

The house was fascinating - lovely design and interestingly furnished - and
had a great location. It had all the modern conveniences and was very
comfortable. The only things was there could have been a few more
comfortable places to sit in the living room. We loved San Francisco and the
views were spectacular. We tried the bus which worked well but mostly used
the car. The owner's local restaurant recommendations were excellent. We
went to Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, SF Museum of Modern Art, de Young
Museum, Union Square shopping, Chinatown, views/cocktails from top of hotel
on Nob Hill. Our favorite neighborhood restaurants were Chez Maman and
Aperto.

Owners response: Thanks for your nice words, Gay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Ciao! Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning home, safe location

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Bill's house is simply stunning! Beautiful views, full of books and personal art, comfortable beds and well stocked kitchen for self catering. Easy walk to city destination bus. We felt very at home and secure. We enjoyed our San Francisco wandering, particularly the marina area. We were amazed that Bill kept a beautiful selection of art available for guests to enjoy. We think that, plus the open, light filled great room/lounge made us feel very welcome. Bill's comprehensive guide of the home, the neighborhood & suggestions of things to do in San Fran were appreciated. We discovered that there were big hills to walk up if you got off the bus too early!! But there is nothing negative about Bill's house at all. We all really enjoyed Alcatraz and the marina area. We would recommend a visit to the Japanese gardens and if time permits go to Sausalito & Tiburon - delightful. Oh, don't catch the buses at school time - the crush is terrible (there does not seem to be a maximum number of people allowed on the bus) & the students are horrid (same as most countries, I guess).

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review and useful tips, Cheree. It is a pleasure for me to be able to share my home with others, and I am glad you had such a good stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific place to stay, would love to return

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Potrero Hill House is a luxury home away. For us the house is ideally situated. Close enough to the city to use public transport, and easy accessto the I-280 to enable us to have days away. The house is well maintainedand Bill provides everything you need for your stay. The website photos and description portray the house accurately - it's simply a very comfortableplace to stay. The house is in a peaceful residential area. There are excellent restaurants a couple of blocks away and a fantastic Whole Foods supermarket on Rhode Island Street. We loved coming home to relax after a day out, it's great being able to shut the door and crack open the wine. We recommend a visit to Alcatraz. It is brilliant and surprisingly cheap, but book well ahead (at least a month) as trips fill up quickly.

Owners response: Thanks, John, for your nice review. Visiting Alcatraz is an amazing experience, and you right that reservations are required well in advance. One additional tip: To buy the cheapest tickets, go to the official National Park Service tour website. Other websites mark up the cost and require extra effort to pick up the tickets.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Inspiring, rich, relaxed and beautiful place

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

The house itself is amazing. We had a long trip behind us by then -- we are a family from the Netherlands and had spent two weeks on a sightseeing drive from Chicago to San Francisco -- so being able to crash in the relaxed atmosphere of the Potrero Hill House was the perfect ending to our vacation. Especially the first day of our stay, we all felt a little drained, so we spent less time out and more time reading on the couch and playing the grand piano. One evening, we had two friends over (both San Franciscans) and we were able to serve a great dinner with the help of the well-equipped kitchen. By the way, they loved the place as well. For me, the son, the best part was definitely the grand piano. My parents most probably enjoyed the entire feel-at-home-feeling but I thoroughly appreciated being able to sit down and try my hand at some Beethoven or Schubert after a long day away from home.



By the way, a great way to see San Francisco is to rent a bike for two consecutive days. On the first day, go across Golden Gate bridge, the view is awesome and it'll probably be sunny in Sausalito. On the second, ride through Golden Gate park and then on into town. When I visited SF a few years ago, I saw large part of Chinatown this way and finally struggled my bicycle up Telegraph Hill and Lombard Street afterwards. The latter is probably not for the faint of heart, but if you do so, you'll definitely have some tourists taking pictures of you, which is kind of cool.



Also, get great Mexican food in the Mission, have dinner at the Slanted Door, visit the Natural History Museum, have lunch at P.F. Chang's, don't do the boat tour under Golden Gate bridge (it's uninspired and boring), spend some time in the big Whole Foods store and make yourself a healthy, rich and enjoyable meal, be surprised by the shrubbery-man, get great coffee everywhere, and finally, talk to some San Franciscans. Good chance that you'll strike up some interesting conversations.

Owners response: I am sure my piano enjoyed your professional touch! And thanks for your sightseeing tips. Cycling over the Golden Gate Bridge is one of the world's greatest one-day, two-wheel adventures, and I have enjoyed it many times. However, I like to continue on past Sausalito to Tiburon, have a late lunch and a couple of margaritas at Guaymas (a terrific Mexican restaurant right next to the ferry landing), then hop the ferry for a fabulous trip back across the bay to San Francisco. Unforgettable!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Home in San Francisco

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Great House, very peaceful, spacious, great views and a Steinway Grand
piano! Fantastic value.
We really enjoyed sharing a couple of bottles of wine with Bill. He is a
fascinating person and his home reflects his eclectic interests. One
suggestion: It is helpful to have a car
I plan on staying here on my future trips to San Francisco.

Owners response: Thanks for your nice review. I am flattered that you thought I was fascinating, but it was probably just the wine. ;-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quality and Value in San Francisco

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

We have struggled to find a convenient, pleasant, reasonably priced place to
stay in San Francisco, a city we generally visit annually from Australia. We
have finally found it at Potrero Hill House. This lovely home is located in
a safe, attractive and interesting part of San Francisco. It is well
decorated, comfortable, in excellent condition and a welcoming place to
visit. The owner, Bill takes a lot of pride in his abode and it shows
throughout. It was perfect for us, a couple traveling with an adult son. The
upstairs is completely private with a big master suite and bath, while
downstairs featured a large bedroom and bath. The home was fully equipped
with two HD cable TV's, wifi and all the kitchen implements you could want.
The furniture was of high quality and comfortable. The views from the
upstairs deck were spectacular and it has its own parking spot in front of
the house. We will be back and unreservedly recommend this place. You won't
be disappointed. Potrero Hill itself is an excellent destination for
exploring. Just be prepared for some really steep hills - hey this is SF!

Owners response: I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and genuinely appreciate your generous review. I hope you will consider my house your "home away from home" for your future annual visits to San Francisco.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and amazing! Highly recommend!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

The house was clean, orderly and we felt right at home. The location was
ideal and close to the city, and we were able to get the true San Francisco
feel to our vacation. I usually come away from vacations with a sore back
because of uncomfortable beds, but we slept amazingly well and our three
children (ages 10 - 15) had a fantastic time.

We loved the decor! I am a decorator myself and I had a fun time looking at
the amazing collection of antiques, books, and other unique items. Our
daughter loved playing songs on the grand piano and our boys enjoyed the
large television and patio area. We had many useful books at our disposal
which helped us find things to do around the city and yummy places to eat.

We enjoyed Goat Hill Pizza for dinner one night. We took two day trips --
one to Muir Woods and the other to Monterey Bay Aquarium. We wish we would
have familiarized ourselves more with the buses so that we didn't spend so
much time lost or stuck in traffic.

Owners response: Thanks for your very nice review. It is especially flattering coming from a professional decorator.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular house overlooking San Francisco

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

The house was absolutely beautiful, extremely comfortable and well equipped
and very private. It was a perfect place to stay while in San Francisco. We
thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we had a wonderful time in San Francisco.
The local area was very characterful and had some wonderful restaurants
within walking distance which was great.

The sitting room was so calming and relaxing and the upstairs bedroom was
such a delight especially the view over San Francisco and the wonderful
shower. It was also fabulous to have a Whole Foods Market round the corner!!
It was a bit of a trek to get into the centre of San Francisco by public
transport but not too bad.

We would definitely suggest taking the Alcatraz Island tour as it is really
fascinating and very well organised. Also take the time to drive out to
the Muir Woods as they are just stunning.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Portrero Hill

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

The house was well-equipped with all necessary items from kitchen, to
bathroom, to laundry. The furnishings and decor were lovely, warm, and
homey. Since our trip encompassed Thanksgiving, it was important that the
kitchen contained everything to prepare that meal, and it surpassed our
expectations. Additionally, shopping was particularly easy due to the
nearby stores (within walking distance). The location was perfect for us,
with proximity to landmarks, relatives, and shopping.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beyond our expectations!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

The location of this amazing home in this quiet, safe, charming part of SF with breathtaking views is unsurpassed. The home was perfect for having a few friends over for dinner, cozing up in front of the fire, use of the well stocked kitchen, but best of all the location and exquisite decor. I am amazed the owner allows guests to enjoy his rare and beautiful art and artifacts. Could spend all day just studying them all. The Steinway made 'Heart & Soul" sound like a dream! The special electric blanket in the master bedroom was a treat for us island dwellers. The welcome booklet is concise, well written and full of info to make one's stay most enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your home and for the great communication before, during and after our stay! Cannot wait to go back. This vacation rental far surpasses all other homes we have stayed in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks for your very kind words, Susu. I genuinely enjoy sharing my house with people who appreciate nice things. I have many repeat guests, so I hope you will come again soon.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Potrero Hill House, San Francisco, CA

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

Your house is exquisite; the views from the kitchen and the master bedroom
are awesome; the house offered privacy for all of us; we thoroughly enjoyed
cooking our meals in the beautiful kitchen. The house was the perfect "size"
for 6 people. We loved the city, it was easy to drive to points of interest
and we would return right now if we could.

We enjoyed the nearby restaurants which we could walk to, we appreciated the
availability of parking on the street, and the fact that your house offered
us a feeling of "being home," after our busy days of touring, etc. The
neighborhood was very quiet.

Can't think of anything we didn't like. The house was exactly as it was
advertised, clean and set up for our stay. The brochures, maps and info on
nearby restaurants were very helpful. We recommend visiting the Muir Woods
park - truly nature's cathedral.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"The Hill"

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

"The Hill" is simply a wonderful place to stay, a delightfuly quiet refuge and retreat from the city which is just minutes away. We especially enjoyed lunch at Sunflower and Papitos, shopping at The Good Life Grocery and perusing the excellent selection of books at Christopher's. Passing from the street through the wrought iron gate is like stepping into another world, a haven filled with all the comforts one could desire, plants, books, art, and a piano. One could settle into the top floor with its sense of space, unique bath, expansive views, and comfortable bed and wish never to leave! Among the many books by and about Mark Twain and Alaska I found a charming little novel called The Alaskan by James Curwood, impossible to set down. I recommend it!

Owners response: The Good Life Grocery and Christopher's Books are two of Potrero Hill's real treasures. They are wonderful throwbacks to the days of small town merchants with quality products and friendly, personal service. I am pleased that you discovered them.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

House was great. All the decorations made us feel as though we were staying with a sophisticated erudite relative. We were surprised how quickly we could access all areas of San Francisco. We walked up and down all the Potrero hills - whew - and to a couple of the local restaurants. Parking was great - incredible for SF. Loved the master shower. Everyone in our family had to experience it. We enjoyed Goat Hill Pizza, Bloom's a basic and inexpensive bar with a cordial bartender, and the Mediterranean restaurant. Rode bikes from SF across Golden Gate to tiburon and took ferry back - another whew but really fun.

Owner did everything possible for travelers' comfort. House was quiet enough to sleep with windows open. Great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice compliments. It is always a pleasure to share my house with appreciative guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Stayed here for two glorious weeks. House exceeded our expectations. We loved the Potrero location: the climate (yes - we had sunny weather, even when the rest of the city was covered in clouds), the shops and restaurants on 18th and Conn, the easy going small town atmosphere with easy parking with the rest of the city within easy reach. We loved the house itself: the garden-like shower, the views from the bedroom, the space provided, even though the house has a very personal and "close" feel to it. And we loved Bill's meticulous attention to detail, from the smoothly provided services (cleaning, garbage, watering the plants) to the X-page "user manual" we found on the living room table. We will definitely return here if we come again to SF -- recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay in San Francisco

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

My wife is a pianist and we needed a place with a grand piano so that she should get ready for her performances in the Bay Area. This house was perfect. The living room is atrium-like and rises for two stories, so that there was a great acoustic. Just as the owner said, the Steinway grand was in great condition. In fact, everything there was in great condition. When I saw the pictures on-line for this house, I thought it could not really be this good, but it was even better than the pictures. The house is filled with books, art, and artefacts from the owner's travels around the world. It was wonderful just to be there and soak in the atmosphere. The views of the city, the Bay Bridge, and the East Bay are another bonus, and once again, the pictures on-line do not do justice to just how great the views are. We rented a car for our stay, and the parking was absolutely no problem, unlike most everywhere else in SF. We had friends and family constantly over for dinner, so that we could show off this house. When we ate out, we had to walk no further than a couple of blocks to find a series of excellent restaurants. Our favorites were Pera, a Turkish-Greek restaurant, and Sunflower, a Vietnese restaurant, both on 18th St.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

lovely house

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

Staying at the Potrero Hill house was perfect for us. It was a lovely place,
fit all our needs, and we enjoyed the unusual space and decor. Having a
grand piano was a plus. It was good to be able to easily park and have a car
in the city and the neighborhood has many good restaurants and cafes. The
house was perfect for my sister and myself and our husbands. Having between
us, three adult children that live in San Francisco, we had lots of fun
dinners together at the house and everyone was comfortable. Recommendations:
We loved the restaurants, many of which we walked to. Sally's for breakfast,
Goat Hill Pizza, Piccino Cafe, Serpentine. We walked all over the Mission,
explored the Russian River, Sonoma, and Napa. etc etc. And the Farmers
Market on Saturday morning. The list is endless.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I love living on Potrero Hill and am pleased that you share my enthusiasm. It has some of the best restaurants in San Francisco and is one of the very few places in the city with easy parking.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Real home/real neighborhood--the CITY right there!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

My sons and I have been frequent visitors to San Francisco for many years. We have stayed in every neighborhood and every type of lodging imaginable. The Potrero Hill home took our stays in the City to a new level and it will be difficult to go back to hotels now that we've found our "home" in SF. We felt immediately comfortable and loved the view, the kitchen, the "zen" master . . . and the fact that you can park a car right in front!! Thank you... we'll be back! There were so many things we liked. The easy access, nice neighborhood, beautiful view, parking, comfortable living space, awe-inspiring art & book collection, the piano, attentive guest relations, and on and on...did I mention the parking?!
Goat Hill Pizza may serve the best pizza there is and the friendly service makes dinner there an all around great neighborhood experience. Also, you have the best Whole Foods I've ever visited!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks, Diane. I am particularly pleased to receive such a great review from someone who has visited San Francisco so many times. Now that you have found your "home" in the city by the bay, please come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect house!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

The house was the highlight of our trip. We were able to relax in such a great place to spend our time, when we were not exploring the city. Traffic and parking were a pain in the city -- but not at the house!
We especially liked the decorating, artwork, and your other special things that made our stay at the house very enjoyable. I can't think of anything we didn't like about the house. Your very detailed instructions were great.
We loved Muir Woods and the Steinhart Aquarium. Scoma's was a great place to eat. Goat Hill Pizza was wonderful and fun. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Potrero Perfection in San Fran

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

I highly recommend this home to SF visitors. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The view of the SF skyline, especially from the master bedroom, is wonderful. Others may tell you that it is "too far away" from the main tourist sites. Not so. Easy walk to public transportation, which is part of the charm of the city. Plus, being where it is, It was private and quiet, very much appreciated after being in the bustling city. Our experience in SF was better than expected and the weather was perfect the whole time (Oct 2010). Great home in a great city!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Potreo Hill Home in San Francisco

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Just finished our family vacation and wanted to thank you for the use of your home. It was the perfect location in an amazing neighborhood. Your house is beautiful. Enjoyed the artwork. The master bedroom and bath is like nothing we had ever seen before. I am so glad we did not settle for a hotel. This place has so much class. A wonderful view of the city right out the window. Two nights we ate at great restaurants within walking distance. It was our first trip to San Francisco and we loved the city. Thanks so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The master bedroom is my sanctuary, and I am delighted that you enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Don't look anywhere elsa

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

An amazing house and base for your holiday in San Fransisco. We only used out car once during our weeks stay as the public transport is so good and cheep (buy a MUNI pass). All sights easily accessable and unlike some areas of San Fransisco that are not pleasant after dark Pretero Hill has a really good feel to it with more than enough restaurants within easy walking distance. My daughters enjoyed playing the piano and I loved having a glass of wine in the peaceful garden after a hard days sight seeing. The Japanese shower was so nice I wanted to take it home!!!! Don't waste your money on a souless hotel room, you could not ask for anything better.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your nice compliments, Julie. I am delighted that enjoyed your stay in my house so much. Buying a MUNI pass is a great suggestion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Totally infatuated.....

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at your house. It was
exactly as you represented it and we loved every minute of it! We are
totally enchanted with your neighborhood, your city and all the area has to offer, and we did not have sufficient time to savor the experience. To that end, we would like to rent your house again...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Portrero House San Francisco

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

The house was beautiful yet felt very homey. The location is excellent -
close proximity to a wonderful grocery store and to public transportation.
We tried a few restaurants that were an easy walk and all were excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Potrero Hill House: Recommended!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

An excellent vacation week! What we liked most about the house: the ambience and comfort, the objets d'art to interest and delight the eye, the airiness, the views, the quietness, the parking, Potrero Hill neighborhood and restaurants, ease of access to all parts of the city by bus and car. A great and refreshing place to come back to after being out and about!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home...

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

Excellent apartment for a family/group stay, spacious, high standard of
furniture and comfort. Nice view from the master bedroom and a good, safe
neighborhood with good shops and restaurants. Bus stop at corner of street
which brings you in to town relatively quickly. The atmosphere of the house
makes you feel at home. Furniture, beds, bathrooms and kitchen are of high
standard. The supermarket 2 blocks away has excellent food.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words, Jake. Having a Whole Foods supermarket in the neighborhood is definitely a treat for gourmet chefs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feeling at home on vacation!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Your home provided a warm and relaxing stay in San Francisco which we thoroughly enjoyed. We hope to return someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Steve! You are welcome to return whenever the spirit moves you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

The house is in very good condition, the situation is not central but in a
pleasant and quiet quarter. Thanks to the good bus connections it was easy
to go downtown. Near the house, there are very nice restaurants that were
easy to find because of Bill's helpful book for visitors. The view from the
master bedroom is fantastic. It was great having a quiet location, wonderful
views of the city and a lot of space. We loved Goat Hill Pizza.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your complimentary review! Goat Hill Pizza's Monday night "All-You-Can-Eat" special is a San Francisco tradition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great stay at a great house.

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

Wow, what can I say. It was a very nice place and everything was "as
advertised" something that is rare these days. We stayed for three nights at the end of April 2010. My brother lives in San Fran and was able to check it out before we came from Michigan and he was very impressed and so were we. My son loved playing the piano. The location was safe, quiet and very nice. Parking was very easy too. The view of the city from the upstairs bedroom is fantastic. I would not hesitate to rent it again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! I love sharing my house with visitors -- especially those who keep my piano from getting lonely when I am away. :-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything a Tourist Needs!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2008

***** Excellent!

Bill: It was a good stay over at your place. It was a comfortable, great priced accommodation where you can really relax, and there was ample room to move around and enjoy. We loved the fireplace and all the windows and use of wood. The kitchen was great. All your books and art give the house a unique, personal feel. You had everything an out-of-town tourist needs!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very good value!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2008

***** Excellent!

Your house is very comfortable and quiet. The best thing for me was the piano and for my boyfriend it was the view from the master bedroom and the design of the master bathroom. We would definitely stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Master Bath!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2009

***** Excellent!

Homey and inviting atmosphere and furnishings. Allowed us to quickly decompress and enjoy vacation mode. A real home-like feel while staying in the city vs. a hotel-type atmosphere. Loved the master bath! Easy walk to the bus stops -- and the area didn't transform when the sun set!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

***** Five Stars! Excellent!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2009

Just wanted to say we really enjoyed ourselves. The house was everything we expected and more. Nice, safe neighborhood with great amenties close at hand. Not to mention the killer views. The view at night was to die for. That's the best house handbook we've encountered in all of our travels/stays. Don't change anything. It was all the info we needed AND it was positive. I hope to get the chance to meet up with you in Alaska. You have an open invitation for a fishing trip in the interior any time the weather permits.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the view! Loved Potrero Hill Neighborhood!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

The best part was the great view and the convenient location of the neighborhood. We also enjoyed the renovations you've made to the house, along with the artwork and various items throughout the house. We really liked the neighborhood. It was easy to get to and not a lot of traffic there. Lots of local, great
restaurants as well. We loved Chez Maman restaurant. The house handbook was awesome! Great idea and very helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

TAKE A PEEK BECAUSE IT'S UNIQUE !!!!

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 21, 2008

Your Steinway is in Tune..... You Have a Balcony to the Moon .... The Bridge Lights Twinkled Like Stars.... Plenty of Parking for Cars.... The Asian Influence Absolutely Devine..... The Garden Filled Shower Beyond Fine.... When it's Time to Roam.... This is the Perfect San Francisco Home.... Bill ..... We so Enjoyed our Stay in your Beautiful, Comfortable, Immaculate Home..... It was Far Superior to "The Hotel Experience"..... Thank you for making us feel so welcome and delivering beyond what was promised.....DR .... Westchester County, NY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything as advertised and more!

Review submitted: October 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

I stayed at this house for a week and it was delightful in every way. The house is very homey and comfortable, but also elegantly decorated and laid out. The view of downtown and the Bay Bridge from the master suite is truly amazing, changing constantly with the light during the day and dazzling at night.

It is a convenient locale, being very accessible to airport, downtown, and many of the sights of the city. But you don't have to go far (walking distance) to find great restaurants, cafes, bars, and even a bookstore. All in all, it was more than I expected and I look forward to a return trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Francisco perfection

Review submitted: October 16, 2008   Date of arrival: October 2, 2008

We came to town for a convention and decided to rent the house. We had a room booked at The Sir Francis Drake Hotel which cost us more than the entire house per night, not to mention a 44.00 additional parking fee. The house is a bargain. Located very close to the highway for easy accessability it was a dream place for people who chose to have a rental car. We were able to have three adults live extremely comfortably for three days without ever feeling short on space or privacy. The kitchen was perfect, the amenities and style are all top quality and the owner is accommadating and gracious. I rent homes all over the world and would not hesitate for a moment to return to, or reccomend the Potrero House for a place to stay.

***Take note*** Follow the guidelines for making application and payment. I had a million questions, and all I had to do is read the documentation provided at the onset of the booking process, to get every answer I needed. The owner has gone to great lengths to provide this info to make this the most problem free and easy rental on the net. It is worth the investment in time to go over this material.***

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Potrero Hill House-San Francisco,Ca.

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 26, 2008

My wife and I and our family spent a delightful week in this great San Francisco property. It was located in the center of all the best site- seeing for the city. There were absolutely no problems with all this location offers to the traveler. I would use it again without question!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best you can get

Review submitted: September 7, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

A wonderful house in a great neighbourhood and with a fantastic view. Nicely decorated, perfeclty furnished and equipped. No parking worries and just a short walk to a MUNI bus station for your ride downtown (use line 10). The provided guest handbook gives you absolutely all information you might need and the basket full of San Franisco guides and maps leaves nothing to be desired. Professionally managed in every respect. Perfect for a family of 4 with teenaged kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Was Lucky to Find

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This spacious home is perfect for travelers who want to visit with others yet have separate space, as master bedroom is super and unto itself with back balcony. Was great to come back to quiet and peacful place after touring all day -could always find close parking. You can't beat price -even with cleaning cost, far less expensive than renting two hotel rooms with tax. Driving access to downtown and Giant's stadium was quick. Best stocked kitchen ever rented - Whole Foods within blocks was a plus. Owner quickly responded to all inquiries and questions prior to renting. Have your local street maps when renting, so you know where highway access and exits located. Would be OK for 2 couples, but 2nd bedroom does not compare to master. Maybe not for renters who want to be pampered - perfect for those of us who want to be left alone. Instructions/details provided by owner write up answers about anything you would need to know for renting.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome time in San Fran!

Review submitted: February 8, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Just wanted to say thanks for letting us rent your house. It was amazing! The location was great for us and for my sister in-law. Actually your house was easy to navigate to anywhere and enjoy just about everywhere in San Francisco. We saw a great deal, always going, always moving! The master bedroom was great! You weren't kidding about the view! Can't wait for the pictures to come back, (I took like 8 rolls of film all week!). Your house was amazing, especially the master bedroom and bathroom, which everyone used at least once. Loved the plants and how the natural light comes in. All the wood! wish we had wood like that in our house. We didn't spend too much time at the house, but what we did was awesome! And the books! Love books, your collection of books was amazing. Thanks for letting us use your house! Next time we are San Francisco, we'll have to look you up again!

Helpful votes: 7 / 13

 

fabulous place in San Francisco.

Review submitted: October 17, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We were staying in Bills apartment in August and
we loved the place. We had the greatest view overlooking the
city when we stayed in the bedroom. We enjoyed the livingroom after a whole day visiting
San Francisco.
We could really relax there.
We can certainly recommend this place.
Whenever we return to this City we will think of this
place as our favourite.
Once more - thank you Bill for letting us use your apartment.
Best regards from Mia, Annika, Ulrik, Bo and Inga

Helpful votes: 4 / 11

 

A Fantastic Visit to San Francisco

Review submitted: September 16, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our short stay in this wonderful house on Potrero Hill in San Francisco. The house was lovely - and being a piano-player I was particularly excited about playing the Steinway and particularly enjoyed the choice of music! And the view from the master bedroom window was fabulous!

The owner made great suggestions for neighborhood restaurants. We visited Elizas, Aperto and Chez Papa, all of which were wonderful and possibly the best meals we had while we were in the States. We also enjoyed our morning coffees Farley's. It was a nice change from Starbucks.

All in all, we had a fantastic first trip to America and San Francisco was no disappointment. It really is a gem of a city, and our stay was greatly enhanced by the helpful information provided by the owner If we ever return to San Francisco we will definitely stay at this house again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 13

 

Expectations Exceeded

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had an absolutely wonderful time in San Francisco in July and were delighted with the Potrero Hill house. We were expecting it to be very nice from the photos and descriptions but it far surpassed our expectations. The proportions and style of the house, and views are absolutely stunning. Having been to SF before, it was great getting to know a new area. Such friendly people too.

Helpful votes: 5 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review