reviews for: listing #52822 - South Haven, Michigan Cottage rental

Meadow View Cottage - Harbor Club South Haven
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harbor Club
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $600 /nt
    $2,500 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Meadow View Escape

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My fiancée and I are getting married next year and wanted to celebrate our engagement as well as our friends college graduations and success at finding great jobs. It was our first time renting a beach house and the staff was very understanding and helpful. Even when we arrived and got a little side tracked they were rate their to lead us on the right track. The concierge was very friendly and took our group picture for us before we entered the home. There was only two houses that were being rented at the time and it felt like we had our own private island. The house was so much bigger then the pictures and felt like home especially with the fireplaces. We had 15 people but the house was so big we weren't crowed. The bunk beds were more like full beds and very comfy with more than enough bedding and towels.
The bathrooms have rain showers that were very relaxing and deep wide tubs for extra comfort. Distance from beach was about 2 miles and less than a 5 minute drive. Most of us drove to the beach and parked for free on the side of the street. The ones that walked enjoyed taking in the neighborhood. The kitchen had great lighting and speakers for us to listen to music while we ate breakfast. We only wish the area had more lighting around the complex it was a little too dark and that the pool was warmer. Also the grill was dirty and was hard to light. Over all the staff was very friendly and professional. We had so much fun we didn't want to leave and plan to return next year after my wedding. Thank You for being our "first annual Beach vacation".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

From our Meadow View guest book - Thanks so much for the beautiful facilities at the Harbor Club in South Haven, MI. Our family had the delightful time of renting the Meadow View this past week and it suited us perfectly. Besides the rain as we came, and left, the wather was absolutely perfect and so were the accommodations. Everyone had enough room to themselves and witheach other, and the South Haven area, of course, provided everyone with whatever they felt like doing.

The house itself is amazing; beautifully yet practically furnished with everything we needed and then some! We all especially loved the wrap-around porch (especailly the grand-kids as it gave them such a safe, outdoor place to play!)

Again, beautiful development - we hope it works well for you and for the area! And an absolutely perfect homke in the Meadow View--we couldn't have had a better family vacation!! Thanks again!
The Verburg Family - Lansing, IL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

From our Meadow View guest book - Thanks so much for the beautiful facilities at the Harbor Club in South Haven, MI. Our family had the delightful time of renting the Meadow View this past week and it suited us perfectly. Besides the rain as we came, and left, the wather was absolutely perfect and so were the accommodations. Everyone had enough room to themselves and witheach other, and the South Haven area, of course, provided everyone with whatever they felt like doing.

The house itself is amazing; beautifully yet practically furnished with everything we needed and then some! We all especially loved the wrap-around porch (especailly the grand-kids as it gave them such a safe, outdoor place to play!)

Again, beautiful development - we hope it works well for you and for the area! And an absolutely perfect homke in the Meadow View--we couldn't have had a better family vacation!! Thanks again!
The Verburg Family - Lansing, IL

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Big and Beautiful

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

With an extended family of 14, this place was great.
We are regular visitors to South Haven and found this place to be big, comfortable, and a little away from all of the hustle and bustle of downtown.
There were PLENTY of beds....and they were all comfortable. The property was clean, well maintained, and we never felt cramped. The two sizable living areas with TV's in each, our computer upstairs below the daylight window, and the wrap around porch, lead to a sense of intimacy, even with our sizable group.
The beach is a 10 minute walk, but the walk is along a wide bike trail/sidewalk. If you drive, there is always a free place to park, usually under a shade tree, with steps down to the beach.
The beach here is just as nice as the main public beaches, with a sense of privacy. Of course, there is no bathroom facility here or snack bar.
If you prefer a pool to the beach, this property has its own community pool. It may be busy on the weekend (since boaters that sail into the marina also use it), but during the weekdays, it was like having your own pool....with a great clubhouse with HUGE restrooms and showers, games and game tables, and a kitchen. The pool is a five minute walk.
A couple of negatives would be.....the basement living area is cooler than the rest of the house, so dress and sleep accordingly. There really is no yard...since its either flowers or wild grass. So, we played along the side streets. (There rarely is traffic in the Preserve). We even had a fire one night out along the road.
I would recommend to rent bicycles from RockNRoad in South Haven. The price is right and its only two miles from your cottage. Exploring South Haven via bicycle is an easy and refreshing thing to do in the dry, cool air of Michigan.
I would highly recommend this cottage to large/extended families. You will have to travel a little to get downtown or to the beach, but, it was worth it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

From the Keslin family - Munster, IN
Hi everyone,
Well we are back from vacation and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves this past week. The Meadow View house was very nice and had plenty of room. With seven little grandchildren under the age of 6 we ate in all the time and I appreciated the kitchen utensils, etc. We especially enjoyed the night when two deer crossed the house in back! We also lucked out with excellent weather. The beach and pool were enjoyed by all.

Thanks again for all your help.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review