reviews for: listing #52827 - New Port Richey, Florida House rental

Charming Riverfront Downtown Cottage w/ Pool
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  downtown
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $190 - $220 /nt
    $990 - $1,090 /wk
    $2,398 - $2,598 /mth

sort by:

Lavish vegetation, place to STAY!

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

My husband and I only stayed a few days and wished we booked for longer. Had family committments and didn't have enough time to embelish the delights this place had in store! We watched fireworks on the 4th right from the back yard. The pool was beautiful and like bath water. Made our breakfasts right there, and stores were close.
Will definitely come back and spend more time at this adorable home. it is a perfect romantic getaway. Jill and Rocky were extremely accommodating and nice. The place was well kept and comfortable. Pictures don't do it justice.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Family Getaway!

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this quaint, quiet, getaway home. My two teenage boys enjoyed the fast Wi Fi in the home, and my husband and I enjoyed the private pool! The location was excellent as we spent a day in nearby Tarpon Springs and was able to enjoy excellent shopping in the mall and Books A Million just a couple of miles from the cottage. The owners were so kind and accommodating and provided excellent information to help us enjoy our stay. It really felt like we were staying in our own "home away from home!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden Treasure!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

This cottage is tucked along the Cotee River in a lush tropical garden that will have plant enthusiasts drooling! The pool area is reminiscent of the days when New Port Richey was a vacation destination for the elite. The cottage itself is decorated with an artist's eye and offers too many thoughtful touches to list. My husband, son and daughter in law were in town for my other son's wedding and were entirely too busy to thoroughly enjoy this lovely place. We absolutely intend to return at a time less hectic when we can take full advantage of this magical getaway that Jill and Rocky have created.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We strive to make our guests feel welcome and we love sharing our special piece of the planet with folks! So glad you enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again.
Jill & Rocky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Cottage

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

I was lucky enough to choose the perfect property in New Port Richey for the month of August.Since I was traveling alone I felt safe and secure staying in this comfortable and cozy cottage.The gated property with the river in my back yard was a perfect environment for me to enjoy. Also the pleasure of having the use of my own pool was an amazing attraction.I used it everyday. My son who lives about 40 minutes away came often to enjoy the quiet ambience. The property was extremely maintained by Rocky and Jill.They provided a book of places to go and restaurants to eat at.
I enjoyed sharing stories with them about living in New York. The shopping was easy and nearby. I loved jogging along the riverwalk. There is a beach nearby on the Gulf of Mexico. I have made plans to return again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

This was a fab place for us as a small family. Our Teenage Son even enjoyed the amenities and the local Skate Park and Water Park was great. The pool was huge and kep nice and clean. We saw lots of wildlife and we were so laid back by the end of our stay we gave up smoking and still have - Thank you Jill and Rocky you made us feel most welcome.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Denise and Ian for your lovely words! You were wonderful guests and we very much enjoyed having you all- Loved seeing your son rambling about the neighborhood enjoying himself :)
Hope to see you again- and you quit smoking - that's the greatest! yea you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

snow birds winter

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing vacation.
The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped.
What a haven for bird watchers!
Whether you want sun or shade it is available all day.(as long as the sun is shining)
After enjoying the sun and pool all afternoon the dock is a welcome place to relax on the river.
The grounds are immaculate.
Jill and Rocky are perfect hosts.
Shopping is very good in that area and the restaurants are wonderful.
The chasco festival was great the end of March.
Our friends and family who visited us were very impresses with place and surroundings.
We are looking forward to three more months there in 2012.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great review! We have been very fortunate and have had so many lovely renters. Some people are perfect "guests" and you certainly were. We loved having you and can't wait to see you next year! Sincerely- Jill & Rocky

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect home away from home!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

This property was outstanding and so were the landlords! From the moment we made contact I felt so at ease with Jill's promptness of emails and answering any questions I had. Can't say enough about the comfort level of the cottage. My husband, his father and our dog were treated so special - we were greeted by Jill and Rocky and given a quick tour with some basic instructions (all of which are posted in a note on the kitchen wall). As I walked thru I noticed all the personal touches - even for our dog who got her own monogramed placemat!!! People like the Marcus' are hard to find - especially the customer service they provide. They truly want your time at their cottage to be the best it can be. We spent a week relaxing by the beautiful pool and soaking in the beautiful landscape (it is manicured so nicely). Plenty of seating around the pool area - a table area to enjoy your morning coffee too! Within walking distance there is a nice park, the canal or a lovely town with a bunch of shops, restaurants, etc. The layout of the house was great - bedrooms on opposite sides, bathroom was large (with plenty of hot water), livingroom very comfortable with recliners in both the couch and loveseat, and the kitchen was more than functional for us (had nice assortment of dishes, glasses, bowls, silverwear, etc.). Everything was so clean and fresh-it is very well take care of. This cottage felt so secluded and away from it all.....we really did not want to leave. We found ourselves feeling "attached" - like it was "ours"!! Even my father-in-law (83 years old) had a wonderful time because he was so comfortable. He even used the pool because he said it was irresistable! Our trip was to visit family in the New Port Richey area. It was wonderful to make "visits" to family members each day but when we said goodbye at the end of their visit, we were so happy to go "home" to our cottage at 5331 Richey Drive. My husband and I will return next year and have already recommended the property to family and friends. Thanks for everything Jill and Rocky.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a great week !!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We have been going south of Tampa twice a year for the last 24 years. But last week we decided to take a last minute vacation somewhere different. We chose Jill & Rocky's cottage in New Port Richey. It turned out to be my favorite vacation !
When we arrived we found that Jill had welcomed us with fresh cut flowers, pastries, and she had given our dog a placemat with his name embroidered on it, with a bowl of water. We could not believe that anyone would go to so much trouble for people renting their property.
Jill & Rocky got home and came over to introduce themselves. They let us know that if we had any needs or problems, let them know, and they would handle them. We had neither.
Sometimes we like to grill, and sometimes we like to go out for dinner. We did both, and all were great.
We love privacy, and this place is has it. It's on a gated cul-de-sac. No traffic, and no one around. We had the pool all to ourselves (and our dog) to sun and swim all day long, and watch boats go up the river. I think that my wife's favorite part, was turning on the underwater pool lights at night, and we would sit out on the patio under the stars (with our dog) enjoying a cocktail or two.
Every morning after sunrise, I would walk our dog around the yard, and we would be greeted by Jill's dog Buddy, and hear Jill's cheerful "Good Morning"
The cottage, weather, food, and especially the pool, were all great.
We plan on returning in Sept., and many more times in the future.
Thanks to Jill & Rocky for making their cottage available for a memorable getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Mother's day retreat!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

...What I desired for Mother's day more than anything else was to treat myself to a mini vacation. I wanted TO find a place were I would feel peaceful, surrounded by nature, a private place to relax and bask in the warmth of the Florida sunshine.
I began my search online,looked at dozens of possibilities. Jill's cottage was the one that stood out from the rest.
From the moment I spoke to the owner on the phone, I knew I had chosen the perfect place for my getaway! Jill is such a warm soul, she makes you feel so welcome.
The cottage, is the most wonderful place I have ever stayed, I didin't want to ever leave! It is so charming and cozy. You feel such a sense of peace, a sense of feeling "at home" away from home.
The location could not have been more perfect.I love having the river right in my backyard, enjoyed watching the boats go by.Just a short stroll and you are in downtown N.P.R with all its ambiance,fine restaurants,festivals and unique shops.
I am looking forward to planing another stay at the cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Moontide Isle Paradise

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

We could not have picked a more perfect, peaceful, private place for our Florida getaway than this lovely cottage. Jill is the absolute perfect hostess, providing many welcoming personal touches. The French and beach decorating themes and artwork throughout the house are delightful. We spent most of our time in the pool surrounded by tranquil palm trees and flowers. When not grilling our dinners, we enjoyed meals in New Port Richey and Tarpon Springs. We are already talking about when we can come back. Thank you Jill (and Rocky too)...you could not have given us a more enjoyable vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charming Riverside Cottage Earns Rave Reviews

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Highly recommend this rental property. This is our 3rd February in the Suncoast area, and this cottage far outclassed the others. It was true to it's representation. No disappointments. Had all the necessities, with all of the ambiance that you would want. Beautifully decorated. Lots of beautiful views from many windows. Florida, Florida, Florida!!! Close to a downtown park. Close to many wonderful restaurants, walking distance to all. Antique store. Local store owners were friendly. Even had a fruit market within walking distance for fresh Florida produce and baked goods. Hosts were great, very attentive to your needs. You'll have fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful and charming cottage

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

My sister and her husband invited us for a two week stay during their month at this vacation rental. The cottage is beautifully and comfortably decorated with a very safe feeling. The owners are careful to be available but not intrusive. The setting couldn't be more idyllic. Many windows in the main bedroom corner the river and the kitchen windows also overlook the river and dock. The pool is close and very well maintained with large pottery jars, pergola and reclining lawn furniture. The patio doors from the living give full view of the sparking pool when the weather isn't perfect. This is a highly recommended rental but please don't book when we want it. Smile.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review