reviews for: listing #52854 - Santa Barbara, California Studio rental

~*~Garden Suite ~*~
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Montecito
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $225 /nt
    $650 - $975 /wk
    $1,995 - $2,995 /mth

sort by:

Relaxing & Rejuvenating!

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

I stayed in the Garden Suite for a week in November 2013 and it was one of the best weeks of my whole year. Carla welcomed me like a family friend and made sure I had everything I needed for a needed time of rest and quiet. The grounds are beautiful, quiet, and the whole time, you truly do feel as if you are staying with family. The bed in the garden suite was truly heavenly and my favorite was the hammock outside by the pool! Great location near all the Carpenteria & Santa Barbara attractions, I had a great time exploring the beaches and cliffs nearby. Recommend this for anyone looking to get away from crowds, parties, etc. and needing a truly chill place to relax!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very relaxing and dog friendly

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We stayed with Carla based on a recommendation from friends. It was very relaxing. Traveling with dogs can make it difficult to find nice accommodations, but the cottages were perfect. We grilled, laid-out by the pool, and soaked-in the CA sun.

-Mike

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful spot above Santa Barbara

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed at one of the cottages! It was a really peaceful area with a beautiful garden and heated jacuzzi for relaxing evenings after long days of exploring the areas!

Everything was perfect, the only downside was there was no sink to wash our dishes but we managed to do it in the bathroom anyways.

There is high tech laundry on site and fast reliable wifi

Highly recommend staying there, it's only a 10min drive downtown SB!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Definitely Recommend Staying here

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This was the perfect place for my wife and my get-away weekend. The garden and suites are all beautifully arranged on the property, the garden had a beautiful layout, the pool and jacuzzi were amazing (seriously amazing), and our dog had just as much fun as we did.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The suite was clean, the TV had an HDMI cable that we were able to hook our computer up to to watch Netflix, the bed was very comfy and clean, and bathroom was very clean, and the overall space was exactly what we were looking for. There are enough parking spots for all of the guests, and all of the guests were very low-key and pleasant to be around. Although all of the suites were rented out we actually barely ran into everyone and it felt as if we had the entire area to ourselves.

I think one of the biggest perks on top of all these amenities is that our dog was allowed to enjoy the place just as much as we were.

We are looking forward to another reason to take a trip up to Santa Barbara/Montecito area so we can stay here again! I would definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carla's Cottages

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in the Garden Suite. For a studio it was very spacious, there was a little dining area, kitchenette, full bath, also a separate laundry room was available to use. It was very clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi in the evening, hopefully we'll get to use the pool and hammock next time. Carla was very helpful and made our stay great. So glad we stayed here instead of a hotel room. We would highly recommend any of her properties, and we look forward to our next stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great hideaway

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Carla's cottages is one of those special hideaways that a traveler is loathe to share. The compound, tucked in among the estates of Montecito, is a perfect retreat for anyone who's visiting Santa Barbara or the nearby communities. The cottage we stayed in was spacious--nicer than the online photos--the grounds and the pool are inviting, and Carla herself is a font of great information. Enjoy it, by all means--but don't tell anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back . . .

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent three-day stay in the Garden Suite. The room was spacious and met all our needs. The kitchenette was just right for snacks and light meals. The buildings are Spanish style ivy covered buildings, very picturesque. The pool and garden area is very lush and green with plenty of room to spread out and lounge in the sun, dine al fresco or nap in the hammock. Carla and her husband were very kind and helpful and showed a desire to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. We look forward to our next stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace in the garden.

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We absolutely loved our recent stay at Carla's Cottages, which is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood not far from Santa Barbara. There are several hiking trails nearby as well as butterfly beach. The cottages are vine covered spanish style located next to a lush green garden surrounding a gorgeous poool and spa with plenty of space both around the pool and in the cool shade. My husband loved the hammock by the pool. Our cottage was very nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and there was room to stretch out. The kitchenette was small but had everything we needed for snacks and light meals. Carla and her husband are very kind and accommodating; they were available when needed but not at all intrusive; we felt more like houseguests than customers. We will definitely be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carla's Cottages are Great!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Carla's Cottages. In fact, I extended my stay not once, but twice!

If you like Montecito, and who doesn't, the location is excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

five weeks stay at Garden Suite

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

I enjoyed my five weeks stay in the garden suite very much. This place is really beautiful and very quiet. I was also very lucky to meet some great people who stayed right next to me. Furthermore, Carla is a very nice and very helpful person. Whenever I come back to Sta Barbara I'll stay at the same place again.

Beat, Switzerland

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carla's Cottages

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

The cottage was perfect for our needs--clean, quiet with all needs met (kitchen, bath, quiet time, tv's, laundry). Assistance was also available when needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing place to get away

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

I love to stay at places that actually live up to their description and this was the case at this lovely garden suite. I enjoyed the accomondations...clean and well taken care of. I had a most relaxing time and got to unwind there. I always appreciate places where I can take my pampered pouch with me. I found the location just perfect for walking/hiking which I did a lot of while I was there. I highly recommend the garden suite. It is perfect for 1 or 2 people. I will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden gem!!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

What a find!! This beautiful estate in Montecito is in a great location to see all the nearby sights yet still retreat to a quiet gorgeous setting afterwards. It's a perfect spot for couples, families, groups - there's something for everyone. The grounds and pool area are just so beautiful and peaceful, and Carla is so welcoming and she really goes the extra mile to delight her guests. The Garden Suite was ideal for us (a couple with two small dogs) - there was a little dining area and kitchenette plus a full bath - everything we needed, charmingly and tastefully decorated, and it was WAY better than a hotel room, not to mention a better deal. Our dogs loved it too! We imagine this must be how movie stars live. We've already planned our return trip!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved it (and so did our cat)

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

My husband and I lived for two months in Carla’s Garden Suite in Montecito, CA, in January/February 2012. We are retirees who settled in Montana and then decided to get away for a winter. We (and our Siamese cat) had a wonderful stay and highly recommend Carla’s Cottages!

The cottages include 5 studio or one-bedroom apartments grouped around a beautiful pool and garden. Many of the other folks who stayed while we were there were also refugees from the frozen Northwest -- Oregon, Wyoming, Washington, Montana -- and the place had a friendly atmosphere that made it easy to get to know the neighbors (or not, if that’s your preference).

Our place -- the Garden Suite -- had a little more room than the other studio, with an alcove for a small table where we could eat or work at the computer. At the end of two months, we decided it was a bit small for two people for such a long time, but we enjoyed it nevertheless. The main drawback (and this was minor) was the lack of a kitchen sink (dishes must be washed in the bathroom sink or bathtub), which meant over time that we ate fewer meals at home and more meals out. We also found the rooms to be a bit chilly at times (it’s winter even in California, we discovered), and wished we had access to the temperature controls.

One of the main reasons we chose Carla’s was that she welcomed our Siamese cat, Fiji. In fact, Carla’s was the only vacation rental we found in the Santa Barbara/Montecito area that accepted cats. Fiji loved the garden, and was able to roam about at her leisure (during the day and only after we had ensured that the neighbor dogs were not out), because the garden is fully surrounded by secure fencing.

All in all, we have fond memories of our stay at Carla’s Cottages and know you will, too!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

it was great!

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Staying at Carla's Cottages was great! Our room was nice and had everything we needed. Laundry facility is awesome! Kitchen was equipped well, the pool area is great too! The yard is beautiful and we enjoyed a wonderful glass of wine sitting on the patio upon our arrival! Location is awesome, will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect little garden cottage

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

This is the most serene and beautiful place to stay. Minutes from Santa Barbara and the beach, we had such a wonderful stay for our anniversary weekend. Carla was so pleasant to work with, and I would highly recommend the property to any one. The photos and description are exactly as they seem. Everything is clean and very well-maintained, the kitchenette was well stocked. There is a nice little sitting area where we were able to eat a meal and have a drink. The place is very quiet, and the stars at night were amazing! We had looked into some B&B's in SB, but this was definitely worth it. I would definitely return when the weather is warmer, so we could make use of the pool. What a beautiful pool! We will definitely refer others to Carla and her cottages!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful getaway in Montecito (Santa Barbara)

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

This place is absolutely amazing! I live in LA and I just needed to get away and decided to do a yoga retreat and juice cleanse in Santa Barbara. I found this little jewel online and I'm so happy I did! It was perfect for what I wanted. Carla and her mother, Carol, were so helpful and sweet. The pool and gardens are just gorgeous and you are surrounded by the mountains of Santa Barbara. The rooms are really little cottages with everything you need inside. There is also laundry on site. And dog-friendly! My dog loved playing in the grass and laying in the sun with me. Thanks Carla for a great stay! :)

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fantastic Stay!!

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

My stay in the Garden Suite was absolutely perfect! Carla was friendly and accommodating in every way. The Garden Suite was clean and charming. I really enjoyed being able to keep a few groceries on hand and prepare meals in the kitchen.

I intend on returning to the area and I will definitely stay here again! I felt like I arrived as a guest and left with as a friend. Thank you so much, Carla!

See you soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great get away

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

My husband and I went to Montecito and stay at Carla's studio. We both enjoy our visit so much. We do not want to leave at all. You will feel like you are in a small, secluded town that have all luxury stores next doors. We woke up in the morning and only one exit away, we enjoy breakfast with great coffee. We had a chance to walk around the neighborhood, and we love it. If we go back to Santa Barbara, we will definitely stay at Carla's again. We love Montecito....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay at the Garden Suite was sweet!

Review submitted: June 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

Our stay at the Garden Suite was sweet! The accomodation exceeded our expectations. Lingering with a cup of tea in the garden, sunning by the pool, and driving through Montecito enjoying the neighborhood were all reasons why we will return in the fall.

Thanks for the hospitality!
JC

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unforgettable!

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

I imagined the studio to be larger than it actually was. You enter through a private gate. Be sure to go to the big sliding gate, versus the small gate with the intercom. There are windy roads and a lot of uphill driving to get to this vacation rental. The amenities are sufficient, and the only sink available is the bathroom sink. The property is very clean and quiet, which is ideal for couples. The owner is very friendly. There was a blackout due to strong winds at approximately 10:30PM, so we called the owners, and they quickly brought us a rechargable nightlight and a flash light. It's very easy to get in touch with her. The drive from Montecito to Santa Barbara is approximately 10 minutes away, so it's a nice place just outside the city limits of SB. Try "SAKANA", which is a sushi restaurant on Coast Village. The owners provide a list of restaurants in your room also. For free sight seeing, I went to the bird refuge on cabrillo, franceschi park, Stearns Wharf and the courthouse in downtown SB.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Montecito cozy cottage

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

pleasant stay at this charming compound,cute and cozy
and the owner is a delight,close to upper and lower village and to Beach
will definetely visit again soon

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We were upgraded to the largest cottage which made our stay even more awesome. The property is very well kept and as great as the pictures we saw online. We were there for a week. We found it to be enchanting and exceeded all expectations!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Garden Suite | Splendid Montecito

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

Fabulous, Relaxing, Pool & Jacuzzi on Beautiful Grounds | Go and Relax!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review