reviews for: listing #52857 - Alligator Point, Florida House rental

2 Beaches: Ocean & Bay Beach Frontage..About Time
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $240 /nt
    $1,300 - $2,150 /wk

sort by:

AWESOME !

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Abouttime was everything we had been promised and more.....the entire family
had an awesome week. My children, grandkids, and all adults took complete
advantage of everything that was offered....fishing, crabbing, collecting beautiful
sea shells, sand dollars, and star fish....The beach was super and we enjoyed
volleyball, bean bag toss, football, and just good ole' relaxing and sun bathing !
The beach house was beautiful with everything you need. There are several good
restaurants and grills within minutes of the house.....Angelo's was superb and
Coastals and Dockside were favorites as well. The owner, Jim Hamlin, was
wonderful to work with and always answered any questions or concerns that we
had.

Saint George's island is about 40 mijutes away and is beautiful and the horse
back riding, on the beach, in San Blas is an experience you don't want to miss.
My only regret is that we didn't bring my boat...............however it will be with us
on the next trip. This was one of our best vacations ever and will not be forgotten.
My 5 year old granddaughter, Jolie, is still asking when we will be going back.

Thanks for allowing us the experience and we would not hesitate to recommend
"Abouttime" to our friends and relatives....which we have already done.

JD

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

Great house in a great setting – our group could not be happier. We had a two family group – both with parents and kids. The kids had lots to do: fishing, swimming, shelling, sanding, sailing… the tide pools are unbelievable – full of all kinds of sea life. The kids were never without something to do and always very excited to come back to the chairs and show us their latest discovery. For the parents we had the house sitting right on the beach (or in this case “both ocean and bay beaches”) that we had always dreamed of with lots of local conveniences but without the crowds. The best seafood restraint around was right across the bridge sitting right on the water offered inside and outside eating with a few other more family style (a little cheaper) seafood places about 5 minutes up the road – one of which was inside/outside right on the water. At the full service marina (1/2 mile from house) there was a Tiki Bar – all outside seating right on the water. There were a few very well stocked large convenient stories right across the bridge (one has a deli) and the large supermarket was about 7-8 minutes further up the road right next door to Crumbs Mini Mall – that offered all kinds of food, drinks, and beach gear including fishing equipment. We found a Super Wal-mart about ½ hour before you get to the island – best place for once stop food and toys on the way in. The best part, we could buy lots of fresh caught local seafood (shrimp, fish, crab, oysters…) and grill right on the beach as the kids entertained themselves. We will be back soon but not soon enough. Summer of 2009

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

Beautiful house, plenty of room, great views from the second floor balcony and lots of privacy. The beach was fantastic .. the kids loved finding star fish and sand dollars. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to get away from it all and have a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We had a fabulous time at 'About time'. The house has very easy access to the beach, and the view over the bay is very pretty too. We also saw several dolphins swimming by. We really appreciated the crab traps, even though we did not catch any edible ones (you should get a GA fishing license). We really appreciated the kids books and games that were there. It is far away from stores, so it is helpful to bring most of your groceries. We saw a lot of cool animals (star fish, lizard, crabs, conch) that my 3-year old son appreciated. It is a great house on a nice quiet beach.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

This place was great. We had several family groups visit during our stay and everyone greatly enjoyed the house and the beach. The bedrooms could be mixed and bed rolled about to fit all our family mix combinations. The decks were incredible – the second floor’s wrap around deck seams to towers over everything. We had some family stay further down the beach where there are houses on both sides of the road – let me tell you they will always stay at About Time from here on out. In short: About Time sits on a narrow part of the island that gives the house a private beach on both the ocean and the advantages to that was obvious which is why we picked this house. What we found is that that setting provided several other advantages over other family member’s houses – short list: having the water on both sides kept the bugs away due to the air moving back and forth and felt like it had knocked off about 7-8 degrees on the hottest part of the day. It also put the road much further from the house as they did not try to cut the island into two small lots both of which were too close to the road. And you did not have the neighbors using your house and driveway as a cut through the beach. We are outside people so these aspects became very apparent as we visited other rental houses of our family members who chose not to stay with us – they will not make that mistake again. The inside was much like the outside – very high ceilings, large doorways, sand colored tile floors everywhere, very large windows, over (10) 6 ft sliding glass doors{I stopped counting}, naturally colored painted walls, very open floor plan and it all came together in a way that made it feel you never actually left the beach. Being outside people – this house was the best place we had ever visited. A++ in our book. FYI – The other comments in this guest book covered the tide pools and wildlife very well – for us it was the house that made it feel like you never had to leave the beach – it was heaven.

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

My family and I stayed for a week mid-August, and we could not be happier. The beach is beautiful, but wild--this isn't like Daytona, where the deach is a quarter-mile wide and flat as a table, and it's not like Virginia Beach, where grooming equipment combs the beachfront every morning. Instead, the beach is fairly steep, with great tide pools and sandbars and lots and lots of life. The beach at Alligator Point is a natural beach.

The house is close enough to watch the kids while you are inside or on the porch, and it was absolutely dead. I can't say if this is the norm, or if it's because we were there the week school started in Florida, but on any day we could scan probably 2 miles of beach (a mile or more in either direction from the house) and count less than a dozen other people out. The kids had first, or at most second, pass on any shells at low tide, they could run free, when I fished I did not have to worry about other swimmers or lines.

As for the house, it was also absolutely incredible; lots of room and the pictures if anything fail to do the place justice. The place is a regular home, and a nice one at that, not an older place revamped for a second income or a chintzy place with a half-complete assortment of dishes and mismatched, threadbare linens, it's like staying at a friend's place. One with a really, really nice spot on the beach.

As for things to do or things we did, this is not at all like Daytona; shopping means a drive. There is a small "mini-mall" called crums and an art shop and about 4 seafood shacks in Panacea, and that was all we needed, but if you really wanted to shop you would need to head to Talahassee or someplace down the coast a good hour or more to hit the strips of beach stores. We shelled, walked, swam, and fished. That was plenty. Since I know I wanted to know what we might catch before we came down, I should probably mention we fished a bit and I caught one nice flounder and a small ray on the bayside and a small shark (spinner, I think, maybe 2.5 feet long) and a gafftop on the beachside. We did see some mackerel and jacks on the beach as well as a few others we couldn't identify, but really did not fish very hard. I think a few serious hours each day and we could have caught dozens of fish.

Overall, we loved the place. We have every intention of going back, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, just remember this isn't strip-malls and beach bars. I told my wife it was like

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

This place is wonderful! We made a family vacation there with the kids and had a ball. The house is very nice and perfect for family getaways! The kids were able to run freely to and from the beach, and we had no worries about where they were or what they were doing. Every morning we would sit on the spacious deck and watch the dolphins, and every evening the kids would play in the tide pools and catch crabs. This is a wonderful, private, quiet beach house to relax and have fun. We loved it, and are already talking about going again next year! Thanks Jim for everything and shareing your wonderful house with us! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

This is our family's new favorite vacation spot! We loved exploring all the sea had to offer in the tide pools that appeared every evening at low tide. The morning dolphin sightings and nighttime crab hunts were also a delight! The house is so close to the beach that I could leave the kids playing in the sand while I went into the house to make their lunches...And never lost sight of them. The inside of the house is very clean, tastefully decorated and has an absolutely beautiful kitchen with all the amenities. I have a feeling that visiting this home will be a new family tradition for us!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

This is just the best beach house, and in the greatest location! We love the remote and private setting with the luxurious accommodations. It’s the best of both worlds without the hassles of the big beach crowds and hotels. It’s so great to be able to run up to the house to make lunch while the kids stay down on the beach. We woke every morning to the dolphins swimming past and spent the afternoons out on the sandbar and playing in the tide pools. This is a great beach for small kids and parents that need to unwind. The house is beautiful and has an amazing outdoor shower for the entire family. We can’t wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

This was the best vacation we have ever had! To have the beautiful open ocean right outside your door was awesome. We always knew where the kids were, we could see them easily from inside the house. I can't even describe how much all of our kids(ages 2-19) loved it here. Our 6 yr old says it was the "best time of his whole life" and our sort of "picky" 15 yr old daughter said she "hopes Heaven will be just like it is here". It was so relaxing,and the neatest part was the dolphins, watching them everyday come so close was amazing for us from the
Midwest! The house has everything you need for an absolutely unforgettable vacation! A+ in our book.
We stayed there April 11-18,2009. We can't wait to go back.
The L. family
P.S. The owner,Jim, is also very nice and real easy to work with!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review