reviews for: listing #52913 - Sebago Lake, Maine Cottage rental

Secluded & Serene Location for Families to Reconnect
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Crescent Lake
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $333 /nt
    $800 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Week getaway

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

I can't even begin to explain how much fun our family had. It was amazing from start to finish! The house was the perfect size and had everything you need for a relaxing week. I am already looking to book for next summer. We spent lots of time on the dock fishing and swimming and even kayaking. The fire pit was fantastic for cooking and enjoying cool nights. The deck was amazing with gorgeous views. We enjoyed dinners in and out and lots of shopping at local stores. We will back for sure, great for kids of all ages. Thanks so much it was just what we all needed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfectly relaxing!

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The A-Frame was just what we had hoped for - a nice, simple place to enjoy a week on the water. Two of our sons joined us, along with their girlfriends. The sleeping arrangements are best for one set of adults and multiple children, as there's only one queen bed and the rest are twins.

We had terrific weather and made use of both kayaks and the canoe. If you want to rent one of the owner's aluminum boats, be sure to reserve early as we didn't realize that they have another larger cottage (the Lodge) next door and they also can reserve the boats.

We were thrilled to discover a bald eagle nesting just across the lake and at one point it sat in the pines right above the A-Frame! We also saw a porcupine, coyote and turtles - along with a few fish that my husband was happy to have caught.

A very relaxing vacation - with everything you need right there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful lakefront house for a weekend getaway!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This A-frame house is absolutely perfect for a weekend getaway! The house is located on a quiet sidestreet and is just a few steps from serene Crescent Lake. The deck, yard, and dock are very private, and the house comes with free use of a canoe, kayak, or Sunfish. The owner Nancy provides a personal touch by giving recommendations for restaurants and suggestions on where to go fishing. The house itself is nice in terms of accommodations, with standard kitchen facilities, an up-to-date bathroom, and a comfortable bed with a great view of the lake. At only a 2.5 hour drive from the Boston area, this house provides an ideal weekend getaway for relaxation and fun in the sun. We can't wait to go back!

Owners response: We look forward to this young couple's return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time at the A-Frame. The A-Frame was clean, we were very pleased with the outdoor deck. It was large and the view from the deck was incredible. The sunrise was fabulous. I have wonderful pictures to enjoy for years. My husband, myself and our 3 sons, plus 2 girlfriends enjoyed our stay. We went swimming and boating. We loved having fires in the firepit and just sitting around talking and laughing. The weather was beautiful. There were plenty blankets, pillows and beds. The bunk beds on the porch were a hit with the boys. The A-frame was well stocked and I can't think of anything that the owners failed to think of for supplies, etc. The owner made us feel very welcome and was there when we arrived and also there the day we departed asking if there was anything they could improve on. I could not think of anything. What a wonder, peaceful location. We would definitely recommend the A-frame to our friends and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Another great week!

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Nancy and Deke -

Thanks again for another great stay at the a-frame! We couldn't have asked for better weather and love the new additions to the house. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, beautiful sunrises, and the full moon coming up over the lake. Went out fishing every night in the motor boat and enjoyed a campfire on our return. Looking forward to 17th summer at the a-frame!
Donna, Dick, Laura and Tom

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Maine Vacation

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Our family of 6 decided to visit a Maine lake this year in lieu of Lake George, NY for something different. After reading all the reviews, we were certain this was the spot for us and after experiencing it for ourselves we were NOT disappointed.

We had a fabulous time and the A-frame was the perfect size for us. Considering we visited Maine during a heat wave and had extreme temperatures of 95 and above with little relief in the evening, but we placed fans in front of the windows upstairs to bring cool air in prior to bedtime and they worked out just fine.

We have two teenagers, a 7 and a 5 year old that loved the lake. They swam, kayaked, and canoed each day and could not get enough. We are not a big fishing family, so I cannot comment on the fishing aspect of the trip, but the floating dock was the highlight of their trip. Jumping and swimming off of the dock was the best part of their trip.

We also took many trips around the area to get the most out of Maine since we are from Pennsylvania. We went gem hunting in West Paris, which we absolutely loved. We saw the Snow Falls Gorge and visited Portland as well since it was within driving distance for us. We went to one waterpark in Saco (Aquaboggan) which the kids enjoyed and we still had time to sit by the campfire when we returned. .

We visited Wyndham and had one or two nice dinners out to enjoy the Maine cuisine, but mostly the kitchen had plenty of room for our normal family cookouts that we enjoyed each night.

Overall, we had a great time. We travel often along the entire east coast, and we would definitely stay here again if we decided to travel to Maine again.

In addition, the owners met us upon arrival and departure and we were impressed that they travel up from MA to do so for each of their tenants, it was a very personal touch to our vacation. I had a few questions before and during our stay and they were always very attentive and efficient with getting us anything we needed.

We enjoyed the opportunity to visit at a very reasonable and affordable price! Thanks

Dawn W (Oley, Pennsylvania)
Dawn

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing Week

Review submitted: August 24, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Thank you for a very enjoyable week. We spent a week in late August at the A-Frame. We have two children (aged 7 and 4) who absolutely loved swimming, jumping off the float, canoeing, kayaking, and sitting by the campfire. The weather was perfect the entire week. I would recommend this camp for a family of 4 who wants a rustic get-away offered by a cottage. The owners were very nice and responsive. With an eastern exposure, the master bedroom gets a beautiful view of the lake at night and sunrise (there are pull-down shades if desired). The downside of the eastern exposure and abundance of tall trees is that the cottage does feel a little damp. Also, being there in August, the third floor attic was very hot and somewhat unfinished, so I wouldn't recommend young children sleeping on the cots up there. There are small windows on both ends, but not much other ventilation in the attic. The two second floor rooms were fine though, and there was lots of giggling by our two children sleeping together in the next room, as they have separate rooms at home. All amenities were provided as described, including numerous life vests of all sizes, watercraft in good condition, a well stocked kitchen, and lots of firewood. Crescent Lake seems cleaner and healthier than other lakes we have visited in Maine. Although we didn't catch any fish from the dock, there is plenty of plant life for oxygenation, and during dawn and dusk we did see some jumping around. We took a nice canoe ride around the lake and up the adjoining river, where fishing was plentiful (the kids caught two striped bass and one sunfish as we paddled along). After a couple of days, the kids completely relaxed and the usual bickering went away. The town of Windham is about 10 miles away, with many activities (One day we went miniature golfing and out to dinner). So, although the cottage is "campy", this was a wonderful vacation that enabled us to enjoy the beauty of the outdoors. Just plop in a chair, put up your feet, read a book, and watch the kids play!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: For all those interested in fishing on Crescent Lake:

Here are the results of the second Fishing tournament held on Crescent Lake. The first was held on July4, 2009 with equal results.

August 19, 2009

Mr. E.....,

Our bass tournament on Crescent Lake on August 9, 2009 produced the following weights and winners.
This was a American Bass Anglers Weekend Tour Tournament and was the last tournament before the state fish-off. The winners advance to the states and then to the National Tournament in Florence, Alabama on September 30 through October 3.
The reason we choose Crescent Lake as one of our six qualifying tournaments is because it is a fish factory and the bass are always ready to hammer our lurers.This tournament was also a test for our club as we limited the number of fish to 4 instead of 5 fish as an experiment. .
Joe L.... won the tournament with 4 fish that weighed 15.86 pounds. He also had lunker that tipped the scales at 5.63 pounds. In second place was Shawn H..... with 3 fish that weighed 12.41 pounds including a 3.64 largemouth.In third place was Wayne H..... with 3 fish that weighed 9.41 pounds.
The weather was HOT, and sunny with a hefty breeze all day. The boat traffic was heavy all day and the beach was full of sunbathers. I would have preferred a little rain to keep the boaters off of the water but that' life.
Normally when we fish Crescent Lake the winning weights will be 16 to 20 pounds with a five fish limit. Even fourth place on a normal day would be in the 12 pound range.
It's too bad that the invasive plants have found their way to your lake. What we need is a few years of old-fashion ice that comes early and stays late to kill off these plants.
Yours on the water,
Wayne ......
Northeast Bassmasters and
State of Maine Director of:
American Bass Anglers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Third trip to Maine

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

This was a third rental property in Maine and each time we've been very lucky with the property, however, this A Frame is a little run down, worn out furniture, disgusting pillows and the cleaning crew didn't remove the trash before we moved in. The really poor part of this vacation was the lack of fish- infact there were no fish. We were told by some locals that this lake has been deeply effected by imported fish and some new type of water plant, killing off the locat fish. The trash remained on the property for the entire week, we wasted $80 in fishing licenses and about $60 in fishing polls, we left on the property. On the upside, the property provided life jackets, one canoe, two sit on top Kayaks and a mini Sail Fish- lots of fun, great fire pit, with wood and plenty of sitting areas. The location was very close to the NH White Mountains and also close to Portland and Freeport- great location. I wouldn't recommend this property to a friend unless it was updated and cleaned inside, the bathtub was gross infact, we scrubbed it before using it. I would also suggest that this property be only used for a family of 4- the third floor is difficult to use, it's like an A Frame attict poorly modeled to house two beds

Owners response: We have been renting this property to tenants for 29 years and have many returning tenants.We greet all tenants upon arrival and meet them for departure. We address all complaints immediately. In fact we ask if there is anything we can improve when the tenants are departing the property. If we do not know about a problem we can't correct it.The American Bass Anglers are holding a fishing tournament on the lake in August and the Maine Bass Federation held a tournament on July 4th. I think it highly unlikely they would select Crescent Lake if it had a reputation for few fish.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

July 4 thru July 11, 2009
What a beautiful place, we wake up to 3 families of wild turkeys walking by the front - by the lake. The weather was hit and miss,the fishing not so good, but we had a fantastic time! What a fantastic place for family fun. Thanks for sharing all your equipment,kayaks and motorboat,life jackets etc.
This is a place we would happily return to. Thanks
Nickie, Pat, Nolan and Sam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

Despite rain and clouds 6 out of 7 days it was a great week. We kayaked 5 out of 7 dayss,fished(Caught a large mouth and small mouth bass and yellow perch) managed to have fun on our last night here and heard the loons. The sun came out on Friday and that was just what we needed!
Thank you so much for this slice of heaven! It was beautiful despite the weather! Thanks!
Amanda,Annette, zake and Bridgette

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Nancy and Deke
1st - What a great find! The views are fantastic from the living room to the deck to the pier. Although the weather didn't cooperate most of the week we still got a chance to canoe, fish,read and relax. On the best day got a chance to swim and cool down! We even caught a fish!!! On the rainy days we ventured out to Poland Springs, drove by the Shaker Village,Blacksmith Winery, walked Mission Hill stopped at a couple of nice bars on 302.
Over all- great memories-wish the weather had been more cooperative but we still manged to relax,take in the views and recharge. Thank You!!!
Chris and Marc Petrin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Nancy
I can't begin to tell you what a wonderful release this week was.
The a-frame was a wonderful escape and a great place to relax and properly unwind.
Thanks for your wonderful hospitality,
Stephanie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

Nancy and Deke
We had a wonderful time here at the a-frame. The boys loved the boat and fishing right outside their door. Danny and I enjoyed the fresh air and the peace and quiet.
Thank you for your hospitality and we definitely plan on returning next summer if not sooner.
Thanks again!
Nadine,Danny, Jesse and Saxon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

This has been a blessing; peaceful and relaxing. If it wasn't for my daughter,Diane Spradlin, I could not have been in this beautiful place. My grandson Dylan loves it here. I love the two dogs. I would like to take them home. Well "God is good" and his blessings are un ending
"God Bless This Place."
Norma V. Thorn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

We had a great time. We loved the location and the house. We hope to come back soon One of the best place I've ever seen so far in the US.
Miro Kaner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: October 14, 2008

Nancy and Deke
Thanks again for a wonderful stay at your a-frame. Warmest year yet. We never needed winter coats 70's every day and didn't go below 50 at night. Thanks again
Jeanne and Dolly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Nancy and Deke
Once again another great stay here at the a-frame. After four years here we still enjoy our stay and look forward to next year. Though the weather sometimes wasn't as nice as we wished we made the best if our trip. On the niuce days we had we went out on the boat, went tubing,kayaking,jet skiing and fishing. We made the best of this vacation and couldn't thank-you at all enough for letting all of us stay here again! Can't wait until next year! Thanks again.
The Whittens, Dwbbie,Bob, Tracy,Kayley and Kodey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

Another great week! Lots of jetsking,cruising down the river, loon watching, reading, relaxing, swimming, picnicing on Panther Pond and so on!
Kendra had an especially fun time with Bailey. Hope to see you again soon.
Love this place!
The Hoopers
Anne,Jeff and Kendra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

What a great week! our 3rd summer vacation to the a-frame and love it so much. Beautiful weather lots of boating,kayaking and s'mores around the fire. Just a perfect vacation.
thanks so much. Hope to see you next year.Heatherly,Mike, Micjaela,Zach Andy and Tyler.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 20, 2007   Date of arrival: October 20, 2007

This was our first vacation as a family of 4 and we couldn't have asked for a better house or location to stay in.The view was spectacular and the weather was wonderful.
All out thanks!
Tom and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 29, 2007   Date of arrival: September 29, 2007

This morning on the lake we saw:
1 osprey fishing in the cove
1 king fisher fishing and perched in the cove
1 loon across the lake, heard his yodel
3 gulls
about a dozen double breasted comorants flying in a line over the water and a V of geese flying east and honking,
and tonight the just past-full moon flashed its jagged brilliant reflection across the water beaming straight at us gawking from the dock.
Unbelievable.
Thanks Judy and Ted

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 15, 2007   Date of arrival: September 15, 2007

Thank you for a wonderful vacation at the a-frame. It's an extremely peaceful and relaxing location, the view alone made the week perfect! We also had a great time fishing. We caught a bunch of white perch and even a large mouth bass(2.5 lbs) right off the dock! The loons were great to hear and see and we actually saw the eagle early one morning! One day on the way into town we even saw a small bucck on Kossow Lane.And of course the evenings under a beautiful blanket of stars with a fire and smores, who could want anything more!? We wish we could stay for a month or more! We can't wait to ccome back next year! Thank you for so many wonderful memories!
All our best!
Kevin and Becky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2007   Date of arrival: August 4, 2007

Once again we had a fabulous time at the A-frame! We spent nearly all of our time jet sking, swimming, and sunning (We all have the tans to prove it) and just plain old relaxing - it was perfect.
We love our visits here and look forward to to seeing you next year.
Our best Jeff, Anne and Kendra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2007   Date of arrival: July 21, 2007

We had a great time. The house is very cozy. Victoria and Lauren went tubing for the first time and loved it. We all had fun boating,swimming,fishing and kayaking. It's hard to pack up and leave this place, especially on a orgeous day like today. I keep telling the girls we'll be back next year - maybe with more family at the lodge even. Thanks for everything. We really had "A" great time! Farewell Crescent Lake until next year.
Denise,Bill. Vistoria and Lauren

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2007   Date of arrival: June 29, 2007

What a wonderul vacation was had by all! I think we are all addicted to kayaking - Mr and Mrs. Loon payed us many visits, not shy at all coming close to the dock. The kids and adults loved jumping off the floating dock. The trips to the go-carts were a blast! Thanks for letting us enjoy the beautiful views, what wonderful memories!
Kell,Steve Corey and Drew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 16, 2006   Date of arrival: September 16, 2006

I hate to leave. this peaceful place is jus what the doctor ordered! Dan and I have not had such wonderful quality time in years! The weather could not have been better! "70's" to "80's" every day. I kayaked for 6 hours on the first day! Quite different from kayaking on the ocean! We fished went to Panther Pond and explored many beautful areas!
The view is awesome! We throughly enjoyed the deck, dock, and campfire. You have it all right here.
Thank you Dan and Shirley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 2, 2006   Date of arrival: September 2, 2006

We have throughly enjoyed our first visit to the A-frame! Kayaking on the lake was probably our favorite activity and our 13 year old son was thrilled to break in his newly bought kayak on Crescent Lake. Our 18 year old daughter who normally likes to sleep in (when given the chance) surprised us by taking early sunrise kayak rides. My husband enjoyed hours of fishing and we were all pleasantly surprised by how warm the water was for swimming(even though the weather wasn't that warm). We made lots of use of the campfire and enjoyed more smores than we have ever consumed in a week. The deck is wonderful for coffee, conversation and reading and we spent a lot of time there. Also took trips to Freeport, Boothbay harbor and Pemaquid lighthouse and did some hiking in the area.This is really the ideal spot for a family vacation!
Tom Nancy Marisa and David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2006   Date of arrival: July 15, 2006

What a wonderful week we've had at this beautiful home. Loved the docks and all the boats. Fun nights around the campfire with smores, Weather beautiful and the lake so warm, couldn't have asked for a better family vacation. We hope to see you next year! Thanks so much!
Heatherly,Mike, Michaela,Zach, Ancy and Tyler

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 7, 2006   Date of arrival: July 7, 2006

This place is beautiful. It's a dream come true. The a-frame is lovely and the location is indescribable. The water was warm and the weather was decent most of the time. It was a great vacation. Thank you so much for letting us stay here. We all loved this place so much. good Bye
The Hubbards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2006   Date of arrival: June 15, 2006

Nancy and Family
We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the "A-frame" We loved the spectacular wiew of the lake. Everything was perfect. We hope you will have us back next year for two weeks at "The Lodge"
Love,
Christina, Tim, and Timothy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2006   Date of arrival: June 10, 2006

Nancy and deke
What a wonderful vacation!! Although the weather was not the best we made the most of every moment! Your hospitality, adorable house, moose and loon calls at night, and calming boat rides - we couldn't have asked for more!! Even all 4 of us caught a fish!!
Best wishes!!
The Yelsits Family, Kerry, Kathy, Tyler and Morgan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 31, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

This was our best vacation to Maine yet (and we vacation and visit family often). Nancy and Deke thought of everything for the A-frame. We stayed in June 2005. We all learned how to use a kayak, canoe, and my husband tried the sunfish. This a perfect family vacation getaway or even a quiet, secluded spot for couples. My kids can't wait to go back and are hoping to someday stay in the Kossow Lodge next door (that place is like stepping into a dream!) Thank you, Nancy and Deke, for the great memories. Colleen and Ben Smith

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 11, 2005   Date of arrival: October 11, 2005

Nancy and Deke, It was another excellent stay at the A-frame! It always is!) Although it is October we still enjoyed boat rides on the lake, tubing, nights by the campfire! Can't wait to see you in the summer and thank you!
Many thanks (again) Kayley,Kodey, Tracy, Debbie and Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Before our trip to Maine, we kept saying that the A-frame sounded too good to be true. In reality, we couldn't have asked for a better place! The location was great and the house was perfect for our family! We were able to take day trips to Mt. Washington, N.H., Freeport, Portland, kennebunkport, and much more.
The A-frame was clean, cozy, and in a secluded area where it was quiet and peaceful. We have already recommended the house to our family and friends & we hope to return there in the future! It's perfect!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Nancy and Deke,
I just wanted to tell you once again what a wonderful time we had at your A-Frame. This was our first time at the A-Frame and we are looking forward to coming back again next year.

Thanks again
Debbie Whitten

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2003   Date of arrival: November 1, 2003

WOW! The perfect place to relax. My family and I had a wonderful time.
Would reccomend to family and friends alike. Thank you Deke and Nancy. Can't wait to come back.
Regards,
R. Mennella

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 20, 2003   Date of arrival: May 1, 2003

A wonderful week-end in a marvellous cabin on a peaceful lake. In other words, the paradise. Don't hesitate to go there, it's definetely worth it.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review