reviews for: listing #52915 - Sebago Lake, Maine House rental

All Seasons Luxurious Lodge- Vacation-Anniversaries-Weddings
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sebago Lakes Region
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,000 - $9,000 /wk

sort by:

Best Reunion Week Ever!!!!! Great House for Very Large Group!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Date of Stay: 07/21/12 Review Submitted: 08/03/12

The Kossow Lodge is a great place for a family reunion or get together. My family(8 brothers and sisters) have not been ALL together for over 15 years, as we are spread out all over the country. I wanted to have a special family reunion for my mother's 80th birthday and we could not have had a more perfect week than at Kossow Lodge. I started planning the week last summer with the help of Nancy Eaton. She was extremely willing to answer any and all questions I had regarding the facility. The lodge far out-weighed our expectations. We had a very large group, over the suggested 22, and we were very comfortable in our accomadations, There were 4 pull-out sofas in the enormous basement for the older children, who liked to stay up late and play games and watch TV! It was a great place for them, because you could not hear a peep upstairs! We had all ages ranging from 8-80, and there was something for everyone, I have a very active family and there were quite a few trails to run and exercise very close by. The lake itself if absolutely beautiful and peaceful. The kayaks, canoe, sunfish and motorboat were a hit with our entire group. The lake temperature was surprisingly warm and the lake itself was not crowded with other boaters at all. We felt like we were the only ones on the lake most of the week. We have had some large family gatherings in the past and have never had a kitchen stocked with so many amenities to accomadate our large number of people. There was also SO much room to actually sit and eat as a family, I have also never rented a house with so much seating for meals. The screened porch was used at night for family reminiscing, and we all fit very comfortably. If you were quiet enough, you could hear the loons every night. We left a few items behind on check-out day, and Nancy graciously sent the items immediately. I had the opportunity to meet both Nancy and Deke Eaton on check-in day and check-out day and there couldn't be two nicer people, who have thought of everything to make the Kossow Lodge an experience you won't soon forget. There are so many activites and sights nearby, I could have spent a month there and not done them all! My 8o-year old mom said it best - "it was the perfect week" I would highly recommend the Kossow Lodge to anyone who wants a week on a lake to remember!

Recommended for:


Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Helpful votes: 0/0
..



5/5

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is so nice to receive this wonderful positve review. Robin covered so many highlights in her response, we cannot add anything more to this review. Robin and her family are welcolmed back anytime. Nancy and Deke, look forward to having this fine family return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We had our family reunion at Kossow Lodge -- 24 adults and 7 children (ages 6 and under) and the lodge and the Eatons were wonderful. The lodge is very roomy and cozy at the same time and there's tons to do at the house. The kids loved the sandbox, basketball hoop, kayaks, sprinkler and the dollhouse in the toy room. The adults loved the huge porch in the back and the water toys. We also liked the firepit for s'mores. There was more than enough room for everyone and it was amazing that we didn't feel crowded with all the people we had! We'd love to go back! It was truly a memorymaking week for us.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Four generation family reunion

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Kossow Lodge was all we hoped for and more. Beside the beautiful lake setting, the kayaks, sunfish and canoe provided hours of wonderful water time, along with the floating dock for swimming. The owners greeted us upon arrival and walked us through the house, explaining where everything was and how everything worked. Having linens included was a huge plus, since there were 22 of us(ages 3 to 88). Even paper goods were supplied. There is a specially made steamer that was terrific for cooking lobster outside. One night we cooked 50 lobster, plus corn, with room to spare. The kitchen was equipped with everything we could possibly need, and there were multiple places to eat (dining room, porch, outside tables).Our eldest member enjoyed her room on the first floor, with a private bath, since stairs would have been difficult. There were lots of games for every age, the young adults esp enjoyed the pool and ping-pong tables. We made s'mores in the fire pit outside, wood was provided. There were plenty of local attractions (miniature golf, lighthouse, zoo, LLBean), but I esp enjoyed the days when everyone went sight seeing and I could enjoy the peacefulness! Food shopping was convenient, and although different groups ate lunch out, we mostly cooked dinner at the house. To us, it is referred to as "The Dream House" vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kossow Lodge - Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family has been getting together for a reunion every other year for about 15 years. We tried several places that were "OK" but not great. Then, 6 years ago, we booked Kossow Lodge. Everybody loves it! We've been back twice more since then. Nancy and Derek have made sure that the Lodge is exactly what THEY would want if they werre renting somewhere. Plenty of supplies, everything works, the place is immaculate and the hosts are just outstanding. We love it. Back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

This was our 1st Shyne Family reunion which consisted of 7 siblings, their spouses and children. We LOVED Kossow Lodge. Our mother grew up in Portland ME and we spent many summer vacations in ME including a stay on Sebago Lake. Our week at Kossow Lodge brought back many great memories. The house comfortably fit our family of 22. The house is so well appointed. There is something for everyone. We used the lobster cooker, spent many hours by the outside fireplace, playing badmitton and joying the pristine lake. I recommend Kossow lode without reservation. We all want to return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

Tri-annual sibling reunoin. 20 of 36 in attendance. What a great spot to spend a week together with immediate family. Plenty to do, both on property, as well as within short drive. Small enough to characterize as intimate yet large enough to have your quiet space and elbow room. Thank you Eatons for providing such a great setting for being together and enjoying the summer activities the region has to offer. I know it sounds like a cliche, but a great time was truly had by ALL!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

May 1st weekend 2009- Girls weekend 17 women who have been friends since childhood-even though some of us are sisters- we overlooked that fact and had a complete blast! Thank goodness these walls can't talk!! Thank you eaton family!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Another great Holiday weekend and week at Kossow Lodge. Highlights were clearing the ice and building a hockey rink to have lots of great hockey games with the Nadesus from Mass. Lots of great relaxation after a wonderful 2008 and looking forward to an even more spectacular 2009. happy holidays to the Eaton's and all the families that enjoy kossow Lodge in 2009.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: September 18, 2008

Cameron Magner had an outstanding time at Kossow Lodge 2008
The Magners,N.H.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

What a perfect spot for our eighth bi-annual re-union. Again the whole family from California, Virginia, West Virginia and Pennsylvania. Seven grands from ages 23 to 8 and Argentina for the occasion. Great weather, incredible meals, lots of water activities, s'mores, and we have absolutely loved the lodge. We're grateful for all the amenities.....even sharp knives!
Peg Wilson, The Galaghers, the Hardys, the Jennings and two families of goodwins. Thanks to the Eatons-Lots of it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

After planning 2 years ago we're finally here in celebration of our parents 50th anniversary! We needed to find a house large enough for all of us! we also wanted to head north, warm days and cool nights! This wonderful home had something for everyone....quiet porch for reading,game room for tournaments and talent show,toy playroom for imaginations and movie making,dvd corner for watching movies(or snoring through them),kitchen for cooking, gathering in,bar tending or rearranging food in,floating,fishing,kayaking,canoeing,feeding the ducks,swimming and rafting across the lake,motor boating,scuba diving, a great table to do puzzles,another great table where we could all sit aroung playing crazy games and laughing so hard and loud! Badminton court and basketball,nice scenic driveway for stroller pushing....we had it all! Even a day at the ocean(water temp 58 degrees)and the gem mines. We have all enjoyed an amazing week here with each other. Thank you for your generosity.
Love,
Pat and BillSondermeyer,Karen,Don,Tom,Kevin,Kaitlyn,Christopher(3Months),Bill Sharon,Laurie,Frank,Emily,Sarah,Mike,Deb,Katie,Ryan,Kelly,
Sean,Dave,Christine,Madison,Chloe,Jenny/ 15 adults 10 children...WOW.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

Had a wonderful time. Too much to do and not enough time. Great place for our annual family reunion of 3 generations, 6 families from Seattle,San Jose, N.J. Texas and Massachusetts
Thank you Nancy and Derek!
The Roselle Family, Andover,Ma.
The Tai Family, Tremont,Ca.
The Chiosi Family, East Brunswick, N.J. & Boston,Ma.
The DeWhitt Family, Seattle,WA.
Other Tai's, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 4, 2008

This lakehouse was absolutely fantastic for 20 of us. Loved the piano,game room,boating toys, fireplace and screened porch. Thanks so much for stocking the house with so many amenities. Fireworks were awesome! We'd love to come back.
The Tai Family, Fremont,Ca.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2008   Date of arrival: January 21, 2008

The North and South Shore Massachusetts Crew
This was one of our first vacation getaways in a cold place. But we must say it was quite peaceful, warm and cheerful time here with family and friends. We would strongly recomment this spot to others for a great time away! This place if we had to rate it would be 4 star! We had a wonderful time snow boarding, lots of eating, movie watching and perhaps who knows- someone might have even started or expanded their family members. * This was our
adult getaway* The service we received from management was excellent. Whenever we had any issue it was answered right away. We would do this again! Thanks so much for a great place. Keep up the good work and service!
Marvia Murrell, Family and Friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 25, 2007   Date of arrival: December 25, 2007

This was perhaps our best Christmas ever! Although the place was far too big for my wife and I and our 3 little kids(ages 4,6,and 9) we had an incredible time and will always remember Kossow Lodge for life. Although most of the entries are about water sports, we got to walk the lake from one side clear across, and then all the way to the west end. Two other houses had cleared the ice and made hockey rinks and were skating. We had a good snow storm while here and enjoyed listening to the massive snow fall from the roof. Having fires in the fireplace with hot chocolate always made coming in a joy!
Thank you Nancy and Derek for sharing this amazing place and where some of the best ever memories were generated.
Ray and Vivian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2007   Date of arrival: October 8, 2007

Another great weekend at Kossow Lodge. The weather was beautiful for boating and sailing,fishing and kayaking. Went horseback riding at Carousel Horse Farm. Beautiful views aand lots of laughs. Great meals and relaxing with family. Each year is better and better.
Thanks for welcoming our family into your home.
John,Pam,Mark and Rachel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 16, 2007   Date of arrival: September 16, 2007

Our 4th year - loved it! 3 weeks of bliss!
The Kings of VA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2007   Date of arrival: August 25, 2007

What a fantastic Home! A lovely week packed with many fun activities, much relaxation aaand wonderful family time. Thank You
The Matthew's and Masterman's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2007   Date of arrival: August 18, 2007

We have been family vacationing together for approx 5 years....always on a search for a better place. Well I think our search is over. Kossow lodge has it all....great fishing and a beautiful lake for swimmng and water sports. A great well equipped house (Thanks Nancy!) Our kids ages range from 5 years to 20 years, all were happy and entertained. We all had a very relaxing fun-filled vacation!
The Stopa's, Browns, Seepis, Reilly, and Larrabees

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2007   Date of arrival: August 4, 2007

This was an idea I had last July -365 days later it was a reality. My cousins, our children and our parents feel blessed to have found Kossow Lodge. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We will be back to Crescent Lake.
Scott, Martha,David,Tim and Peter
The Maine Event 2007

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2007   Date of arrival: July 28, 2007

We couldn't have ordered a more perfect vacation spot. The beautiful lodge was furnished with love and care. We have never been to a place that "had" everthing in the way of supplies - there wasn't one thing we couldn't find. The porch was fantastic and well used - early morning coffee "talks", eating, playing games, overseeing water activities and a safe place for a little one to get around safely. Everyone had fun from the youngest(2 years ols) to the oldest (78 years old) and we all have wonderful memories to cherish as we travel home to 5 different states.
John and Joan Kraft
Balto, Maryland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2007   Date of arrival: July 23, 2007

Mr.and Mrs Eaton
Can't thank you enough for allowing us to spend a week of pure luxury! The view from the master bedroom was to die for- it was wonderful to have our family under one roof!!
Our best to everyone who follows us to Kossow Lodge.
Sincerely,
The Wegers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2007   Date of arrival: July 21, 2007

Once again your wonderful retreat offered us an opportunity for a wonderful vacation. A place like this has been the perfect place for friends to share precious time together and for individual families to re-unite.
Thank you for so many conviences you provide. The lake and the porch are by far the best!
We will look forward to coming back some day.
The O'Gara Family, The Amato Family, The Hutge Family. the McKenna Family, The DeSomone Family, the Rodriquez Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The Eatons are wonderful people and they have a
spectacular home that is a luxury away from home.
They have taken time to think about everything to
make your stay there relaxing and enjoyable. We
had 8 kids stay there with ages ranging from 7
months to 15 years and they had something for all
of them from pack and plays to high chairs for the
babies to games for the teenagers.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2007   Date of arrival: January 21, 2007

Once again your wonderful retreat offered us an opportunity for a wonderful vacation. A place like this has been the perfect place for friends to share precious time together and for individual families to re-unite.
Thank you for so many conviences you provide. The lake and the porch are by far the best!
We will look forward to coming back some day.
The O'Gara Family, The Amato Family, The Hutge Family. the McKenna Family, The DeSomone Family, the Rodriquez Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 28, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Kossow Lodge has everything, including gracious hosts, spacious accommodations and a great location. Our family reunion week (15 people, ages 6-74) was chock full of fun-filled activities and lasting memories. We hope to return in two years. Thanks, Eatons, from all the Eames!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We just returned home yesterday from a week at the lodge. It was a family trip to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary. There were 19 of us there for the week, 13 adults and 6 children.

We had a wonderful experience, what a beautiful home you have. It was very well stocked with all the things we needed for a memorable vacation week. I would definitely recommend it to friends who are looking for a beautiful place to stay.

Thank you !!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

My family and I (19 total) just got back from Maine and a wonderful week at Kossow Lodge. Everything was great and the lodge made for a perfect location to celebrate our Mom & Dad's 50th anniversary. Plenty of room, plenty to do inside and out and the weather was perfect! Our group ranged in age from 7 to 70 and between the game room, water toys, hiking, golf and local site seeing we all had a great time. We're already talking about coming back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 13, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Our extended family of 21 have just returned from an absolutely wonderful vacation at your most comfortable home on Crescent Lake. Kossow Lodge is spacious,fun-filled and you have thought of everything to welcome your guests. We are left with terrific memories! Our relatives from Great Britain were thoroughly impressed, too. Thanks so much for your generosity! Peter and Betsy Appleby

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

My siblings and I chose the lodge to celebrate our parents' 50th wedding anniversary, in part because they are both originally from Maine (we all currently reside in Massachusetts). From the moment we arrived, the grandchildren wanted to know if we could come back next year (and we may). The little ones were content to stay at the lodge all day - swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, sailing, playing basketball, etc. In the evening we played board games and made s'mores in the fireplace. The location is also great for day trips to Old Orchard Beach and shopping in Freeport. For shorter trips, Naples has a nice marina with paddle bikes and other water rentals, as well as miniature golf and an arcade. It was a nice relaxing vacation, with enough to keep us busy but not wear us out. I definitely recommend it for large groups (there were 15 of us), especially those with varying ages and/or interests. There's something for everyone!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 7, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

I had a great time and I hope we can come back in 4 years. My favorite thing to do was swim in the lake with my cousins.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 14, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Dear Nancy & Deke,
Thank you so much for letting us hold our wedding at the Lodge this June. It was a perfect picture wedding nestled in the trees down by the lake. My family that flew in from Ireland fell in love with the lodge and it was perfectly equipped to keep us all entertained for the entire week. The games room in the basement was a huge hit and we went fishing on the boat every day. Thank you again for all your help organizing the wedding. The lodge holds a very special place in our hearts and we look forward to returning over the years. Warmest wishes to you and Deke always. Kate & David Grimm

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 13, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

7/2-7/9/05
Our yearly family vacation was a huge success because I found the Kossow Lodge for our stay. The pictures on the web do not do this lodge justice. It is magnificent! The beds are extremely comfortable and the accommodations are incredible. There were 13 of us including 6 grandchildren. We rented one of the fishing boats (a must if you enjoy fishing) and also rented a ski boat from Causeway (a must if you enjoy water skiing) The lake is crystal clear and surprisingly warm! The lobsters were to die for. Cooking them on the outside steamer was the best!! We all rated this vacation #1 and we have been to many places. If you are considering staying at the Kossow Lodge, you won't be sorry! Thank you Nancy and Derek Eaton for sharing your dream lodge with others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

Our daughter and new son in law were married at Kossow Lodge on Nov 27, 2004! The day began with a beautiful sunrise and lots of "sea smoke" over Crescent Lake. The wedding in the "great room' with a fire blazing in the huge stone fireplace and the sun reflecting off of the lake was beautiful. So many of the guests talked about what a unique setting the lodge was. The kitchen had everything needed for us and the caterer. The balcony surrounding the "great room" provided an excellent area for the three muscians that added so much to the festivities, and the small white lights on the bannister around the balcony used for decorations proved to be quite simple and nice.
Friends and family enjoyed the guest rooms--each with a view of the lake.
The two newly related immediate families also shared Thanskgiving and rehersal dinner at the Lodge! With all the plans for 3 major events in a short tim frame, this property worked really well and left many with wonderful memories.
Nancy was very easy and pleasant to work with and was patient with our many measurements and questions throughout.
Kossow Lodge will forever hold a special place in our memories and hearts for a wonderful 3 days of celebration of a huge event in our lives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 23, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

What a wonderful time we had at the Kossow Lodge! Our group consisted of 3 generations, 15 people in all. There was something to do for everyone. By day we kayaked on the lake, and by night we shared wonderful dinners cooked in the well stocked kitchen and were all seated together in the large dining room. We played pool, ping pong and just sat around and relaxed. Nancy and Deke have thought of everything to make a wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 7, 2004   Date of arrival: October 7, 2004

Thank you for sharing your home with our family. It was by far the most comfortable and well equipped. The lake was beautiful as was the weather. Looking forward to a return vacation.

The McKechnies

John, Pam, Mark and Rachel.
Rockport, Massachusetts

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2004   Date of arrival: September 17, 2004

Nancy & Deke;
Our vacation was great- we met friends who make maple syrup, friends who spin their own yarn & friends who raise bison! Our children ate bison burgers & lobster for the first time We toured Arcadia & the mountains. However best of all was our Maine home. We ate all meals on the porch, slept with windows open, and knitted by the fire at night. What could be better?! Thanks for sharing your lodge with our family of 18.

Mike & Meg King

PS Mom loved the paper plates.

Lodge Hosts Comments:
We look forward to this wonderful family returning next September. Best behaved chiuldren we have ever seen. A very unique second family of 16 adopted Russian children aged four to seventeen.

Kossow Lodge Hosts Nancy & Deke Eaton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2004   Date of arrival: August 27, 2004

To the Eatons;

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. Our family will keep wonderful memories of our time here.

The Breens

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 21, 2004   Date of arrival: August 21, 2004

Dear Eaton family;

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. We leave with memories of a beautiful wedding, mornings on the porch watching the sun rise, days filled with laughter on the lake, evenings of playing cards and the love of our family together for the week in the home that grew from the love of your family.

The Manfredi family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2004   Date of arrival: August 14, 2004

Dear Nancy & Deke:

Many thanks for a fantastic vacation in your lovely home.
You have thought of everything! Our entire family-six children (and spouses) and five grandchildren enjoyed all the activities--sandbox, croquet, badminton, water sports and puzzles! We hope to come back another year!

Liz & Bill Struve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2004   Date of arrival: August 7, 2004

To the Eaton's,

Thank you for this great experience for our family. The kids loved the lake, we tubed for the first time & fished. You have a wonderful house. This week will be remembered for ever.

The DeSimones

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2004   Date of arrival: August 7, 2004

Dear Deke & Nancy;

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to share quality time with our wonderful friends. Your home is so beautiful and and even with a "housefull" we were able to share quiet times with one another.

This vacation allowed us to have meaningful conversations, hours of laughter and create memories that will last a lifetime. Because you have thought of everything, out time here was even more relaxing then we expected. Your vacation home offers everything for everyone and we would like to come back and enjoy it again.

Thank you for opening your home to us.

The O'Gara's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2004   Date of arrival: July 24, 2004

Wonderful house, we could use a bunk room in the basement. But all in all I had a great week hanging out- Saturday to Tuesday with a group of friends and then Tuesday to Saturday with my mom's faamily. This is the best place I have ever stayed in all years of vacation! Thanks for the great house, can't wait to come back next year.

Amy Tragert of Naples ME. age 13
Anna Wespiser of Townsend, MA. age 8

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2004   Date of arrival: July 17, 2004

To the Eatons.

This has been a wonderful never to forget vacation. All 18 of our group loved it had a wonderful time. The time passed to fast.

You certainly thought of everything to make us feel at home and have a great Maine vacation.

The grandchildren and all really enjoyed the kayaks & canoe. Some saw the loons & one showed up close enough this evening we could all see it with the binoculars. Thanks again for the great hospitality.

Sincerely;
The Christman Clan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2004   Date of arrival: July 10, 2004

To the Eatons

What a wonderful opportunity you gave to us as we shared many happy hours, all 17 of us. The kayaks were put to very good use as was the canoe.

As we head back to our respective homes in Seattle, Danville, NH, Needham Mass and Washington, DC we will fondly remember our wonderful time on Crescent Lake. Even the loons came to call.

Sincerely,
Bob & Maryellen Magner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2004   Date of arrival: June 26, 2004

Thank you for sharing your wonderful lodge with us. What a fantastic gathering spot for all ages.

Jenny, Eric,Anya,Nils, Lars and Hals Remoule

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Nancy & Deke,

We had a lovely time at Kossow Lodge!! All 16 of us spent most of our time out on the water or in it. I would recommend your hospitality, kindness and beautiful home to anyone looking for a wonderful getaway. I look forward to more visits to Kossow!! Thank you again!!

Emma

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2004   Date of arrival: May 3, 2004

I just returned home from a weekend spent at the Kossow Lodge with a group of sixteen adults.  We had a great time and were the first group of the year to use the huge charcoal grill to serve up a big dinner for everyone seated together in the large dining room.  People especially loved the ping pong table, large hammock and relaxing in the great room.  The beds were comfy and the lodge was especially well stocked with dry goods for all of the group's needs.  We even had a few brave souls hop in the lake!Thanks Nancy and Deke for your assistance with the rental process and making our weekend extremely memorable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

I just returned home from a weekend spent
at the Kossow Lodge with a group of sixteen
adults.  We had a great time and were the
first group of the year to use the huge
charcoal grill to serve up a big dinner for
everyone seated together in the large dining
room.  People especially loved the ping
pong table, large hammock and relaxing in
the great room.  The beds were comfy and
the lodge was especially well stocked with
dry goods for all of the group's needs.  We
even had a few brave souls hop in the lake!

Thanks Nancy and Deke for your assistance
with the rental process and making our
weekend extremely memorable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

Nancy & Derek,

Your lodge is wonderful. We hosted a large group and everyone had plenty of space and more importantly we had an awesome time . Thank you Tom Barry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

We just returned from our 4 day vacation at Kossow Lodge. All 18 adults and 2 children had a wonderful time!! What a beautiful, cozy lodge the Eatons have created. The place is huge and accomodated our group quite well with room to spare. Everyone loved the fireplace, the pool table and ping pong and of course for some peaceful, quiet time the huge porch was a favorite. The master bedroom was very cozy and what a beautiful view. So much to do in the winter. We even had an engagement happen at the lodge...what a surprise!! Thank you Nancy & Deke for making our stay at your lodge so memorable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2004   Date of arrival: February 21, 2004

Sad to go. always toooo much fun. Makes you want to stay 4-ever.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2004   Date of arrival: February 21, 2004

Throughly enjoyed our stay. You have a beautiful home.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2004   Date of arrival: February 21, 2004

Thank you for sharing your home with us. We had a wonderful visit that had to end way to soon. Would love to come again and see it in the summer and fall. Maybe we can work out a trade with you for our home in Pinetop, AZ.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 21, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

This is the second year we have enjoyed this amazing lodge! What a place to spend time with family and friends! Being the mother of a toddler, I can not say enough about how Nancy and Deke made my life easier by placing a crib, three pack n'plays, and several high chairs in the lodge! It was very appreciated; thank you so much!! We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 15, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

02/15/04 Our stay at the lodge was spectacular.My whole family couldn't believe how nice it was.The adults enjoyed the beautiful outdoor views, walks on the frozen lake, the warmth in front of the fire and the overall feeling of family that is so present at the lodge. The children were so entertained with ping pong, the playroom, the sledding and skating. The lodge is so roomy, we had at one point 14 adults and 6 children there. At no point did anyone feel too close for comfort. It was certainly a wonderful vacation and we can't wait to go back next year. Thankyou!
The Fuller's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

We had a fantastic time at Kossow Lodge!! The house is very large...17 of us stayed there and we were able to spread out and actually had to look for each other. There is a very huge porch on the back of the house overlooking the lake that we enjoyed tremendously! Our children were on the lake swimming, boating, fishing, etc. until dark and then it was ping pong and pool in the basement. We traveled 600 miles from Virginia and it was well worth it! The lake is beautiful and the home is very well kept. The owners are wonderful people and very hospitable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

Our family had a great time at Kossow Lodge. On first entering, the excitement level was high. What a beautiful place. Everyone was very comfortable and we had tons of fun. When I asked everyone their favorite part of our vacation I got many different responses. From jumping off the dock or swimming with the ducks to playing cards in the "game nook" or sitting on the back porch and watching the lake to trying to beat Uncle Rick in ping-pong. We also had some great basketball and volleyball games. The lodge has plenty of room so everyone could get together and watch the Sox or everyone could find their own special space. We had a blast!!

Thanx Deke and Nancy.

The Marks'

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 28, 2003   Date of arrival: July 1, 2003

We had a wonderful time at the lodge. Our lobster bake was a hit and the beauty of the lake was breathtaking. The kids and adults are already asking to go back next year. We were very pleased with the Eaton's hospitality and the lodge had literally everything we needed to make our stay a memorable one. Thanks again Nancy & Deke

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2003   Date of arrival: June 1, 2003

Kossow Lodge is a truly remarkable place. The Eatons are incredibly sweet and helpful; the lodge is impeccably clean and unbelievably well-appointed - anything you could possibly want is there. The location is quiet, the sunrise breathtaking, and the fireplace tremendous. We had a large group come for the weekend, and the only negative comment I heard was that the time was too short. Hopefully we'll be able to come back again next year - thanks Nancy and Deke for a fantastic weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 2, 2003   Date of arrival: March 2, 2003

This place was awesome! Totally relaxing. A perfect house and I hope to come back next year! Brian Mortensen 8/24/02

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 2, 2003   Date of arrival: March 2, 2003

Every year we get together with friends, try to get out of the city to make New Years celebration special. This year was the most memorable, beautiful,elegant yet. Very comfy house at Kossow Lodge. The best way to spend a moment away from the crowds with alot of friends. Mr & Mrs Eaton are the most desirable owners a tenent could wish for! Very funny, intelligent and patient, they made our stay even more special. We can't wait to see you all again this summer. Dimitri and friends 01.02.03 :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 2, 2003   Date of arrival: March 2, 2003

You know you've really scored big when, after being here a few hours, your kids start asking if we can come back again next year! Camp Kossow is a treasure. Thank you for sharing it with us for some much needed rest, relaxation, and laughter. And good old fashioned family fun! 8/24/02

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2003   Date of arrival: January 1, 2003

On behalf of our family, thank-you for the many memorable visits we have had to your lodge. Your attention to detail and convenience made our stays especially enjoyable.
Watch the morning sunrise with a cup of coffee on the lakeside porch. Enjoy a swim. Try a hike up Rattlesnake Mt. or a sail on the lake....a lobster bake, a game of pool or relax by the fieldstone fireplace with a book. Watch for the moon over the water. Listen to the call of the loons.
Whether a few or celebrating with many...this is the place!
Enjoy!
The Bensons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2003   Date of arrival: January 11, 2003

Nancy,
Thank you very much for your hospitality. My friends and me have enjoyed our stay at Kossow Lodge very, very much and are looking forward to spending more time at your fabulous house again. Thanks again and Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 5, 2002   Date of arrival: December 1, 2002

Deke and Nancy
Thank you so much for your hospitality. Kossow Lodge was the perfect place for our family reunion over Thanksgiving. We ranged in age from 2 years to 65 and numbered 18 at the peak of our stay. There was room for all and plenty for us to do. The kids took over the ping pong and pool tables while the adults sipped wine in front of the fire. The well appointed kitchen encouraged our showing off with tasty treats. And the setting is spectacular! Unfortunately, the weather was too cool to really enjoy the porch overlooking the lake. After dinner, reading to the kids helped reestablish forgotten family values. Thanks for bringing us together!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 27, 2002   Date of arrival: September 1, 2002

Folks, what an awesome site.
We were alerted to the site by a good friend, and he was right, it's downright homey. That Canadian Loon sang just as I opened the site, what a fantastic welcome. The photo gallery says it all.
Good luck to u both, looks to be a wonderful place for R & R.

Tha

Owners response: We normally don't add comments from folks who have not stayed at Kossow Lodge. But, our site is brand new and we welcome your reponse to the web site.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2002   Date of arrival: September 1, 2002

Deke and Nancy,
What a spot to enjoy the woods and water of Maine. We never get enough of the Loons and their calling...even lake to lake. It is so peaceful and enjoyable at the Lodge, even the chilly nights in early Fall with the fire going in the "great Room".
Thanks,
Jon & Sharon Jordan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2002   Date of arrival: September 1, 2002

Mr. & Ms. Eaton,
Thank you for alerting us to your web site. We wanted to be first to sign your guest book. We look forward to another stay at your lodge. The peace and quiet there helps us get our batteries recharged. The best treat is hearing the Loons call and singing, at night. We have nothing like that in Texas. Thanks again for the use of your Lodge and we can't wait for our next stay. Bob & Elaine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2002   Date of arrival: September 1, 2002

Deke & Nancy,

I was the last in the family to make it to Maine and only wish I had done it sooner. Lisa and I are still talking about our week at the Lodge - it has so much to offer and is in such a wonderful place. We really wanted to get back up there is year but decided to wait until next summer when Allison was a little older - looks like a bad decision. Anyway, at least many other people will be able to enjoy all the work and care you two put in making is such a great retreat.

Ron & Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review