reviews for: listing #53016 - Fire Island, New York House rental

Gorgeous Home W/Stunning View of Ocean & Bay/ Ocean Bay Park
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Bay Park
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,000 - $6,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

You couldn't find a more jaded, well-traveled, seen-it-all group of New Yorkers, yet somehow you've managed to anticipate every amenity and comfort that we could have hoped for. Your home is beautiful in every detail. We haven't been so relaxed and content since any of us can remember! This was, hands down, the best house we've rented and the best trip we've taken. Thank you for everything. We'd love to come back.

Many thanks,
Jane Friedman and The Hackers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

We absolutely loved our week at your home. It could not have been more perfect. The layout and decor of the house is phenomenal. Our teenage kids were equally as thrilled with our week as my husband and I. We felt at home while in paradise! There was something for everyone. Whether it was the grounds, the garden (and the amazing herbs and vegetables), the sun decks or the shed filled with bikes and beach chairs, we had it all. Thanks for sharing your Fire Island retreat with us.

The Goldberg Family
Westport, CT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us use your amazing beach house. In my wife's words, it's like we died and went to heaven. Everything was perfect. The kitchen was amazing. And we enjoyed using the boogie boards and the bicycles. We put a few miles on your blender making pina coladas and margaritas (LOL) watching the sunset from the deck. And oh the beach. I was so much more than we expected. We hope to return.

But as with every house, there is a drawback. It is that tomorrow we pack up and return to reality.

Thank you,
The LePores

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Dear Rebecca,

What a lovely house to call our home for the week. From the great decor to the excellent kitchen, we enjoyed every bit.

People didn't believe we were just a few blocks from the ferry and towns and yet only a few houses down from the ocean. What a perfect location! Easy with kids and easy on my shoulders carrying things from town. :)

This was our first stay on Fire Island and I can tell you it won't be our last. There wasn't a thing we needed that wasn't either provided or immediately available. This is a pretty connected crew so the little things like WiFi were a big deal.

It was truly a pleasure to meet you at your shop so many months ago and after meeting you, the fancy decor and awesome accommodations of your house are exactly what I expected. Absolutely perfect! :)

Thanks again!
James Novara and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nana Seiderman

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Dear Rebecca,
Staying at your beautiful beach home was an experience I will always cherish. It brought together, once again, our family. My children, my grandchildren, my brotehr and sister-in-law and my nephew. Our week was filled with laughter, memories of days gone by from my own childhood and that of my children. Your home hugged us as together we created yet another beautiful memory. It was such a positive experience that we hope to return next year!

All of us being phenomenal cooks really enjoyed your kitchen which was stocked with everything we could possibly need.

Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Best place for the 4th of July. Awesome deck for fireworks. Teh landscape and design of the house create a very warm place. Thank your lucky stars!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guestbook

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Being so close to the beach was perfect for our 2 1/2 year old. The house and grounds are gorgeous with everything you could possibly need. The Moroccan decor puts this rental far ahead of other houses I've stayed at on Fire Island in the past. It makes things special. The grounds are beautiful and bountiful and the herbs on the deck are a nice touch. We were very comfortable in this spacious house and it was perfect for our family. Very spacious and comfortable and great outside shower. Ocean Bay Park is laid back and great for family. We had a great time. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guest book

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

So since it has to be in English, it's going to be a short note. ( Since we are French). And since you are reading this, it means that you are already here. So see for yourself, look around, you're not far from paradise...and every sunset will get you closer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guest book

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

A perfect setting for a perfect vacation!

Thank you for sharing your home with us. Everything was ideal from start to finish! The house is charming, comfortable, welcoming and has all the amenities. The kitchen has everything we needed. The outdoor seating was great. And, most of all, we loved sitting on the upper deck watching the sunset and looking at the ocean and bay. We appreciated that bikes were here for us to use to get around the island and there were plenty of chairs for the beach. Fire Island is a relaxing place to visit and your home is a perfect place to stay! Thank you. We hope to visit many more times!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the In-House Guest book

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Fabulous, amazing home and owner. We love the house and Rebecca could not have been nicer. My wife cleaned after all of us like we were home. We used the kitchen, bike, and all the decks. We rode and walked to the beach, to town and ocean beach. We would love to come back because leaving is very hard. My wife and I moved here 27 years ago. This was a nice way to celebrate 27 years together with our now older kids. Thanks Rebecca for opening your home to us, get better and recover fast. We home to make it back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Didn't Want to Leave!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We were so delighted to spend a week here in this lovely home-even with some of the worst (rainiest) weather of the summer ... we were comforted by the beautiful kitchen, sound system, wifi, comfy living room and exotic master bedroom while it rained outside for 2 days. We didn't mind staying in, playing scrabble, cooking, and enjoying the view and feeling of being in a tree house. The yard/garden is lush and tranquil and really makes you feel like you have been transported ...I was reminded of a trip to Costa Rica where we stayed in a rainforest-while just a short trip from the city! I only wish it was cool enough to light a fire in the beautiful fireplace!

When the sun came out we enjoyed the clean and beautiful beach just a 1 minute walk away. We also loved having the bikes which were in great shape and took us to playgrounds, restaurants and on leisure rides to enjoy the houses and deer in the area. The island has such a great relaxed pace you feel like you stepped back in time, and getting around to other areas is easy and fun by bike or water taxi. We also loved our walk in the Sunken Forest, just about a mile and a half away, if you need a break from all the relaxing for some exercise.

We were so grateful to our host for having a kitchen with all the supplies and comfy bedding with down pillows and clean and new showers as well as decks that you could spend all day on-plenty of seating in sun or shade. We also truly appreciated the artistic design touches throughout the house, including some incredibly detailed moroccan style painting on various walls! This was truly a great escape and one we hope to revisit again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

its like borrowing your best friends place....

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

the owner could not make it any easier or make you feel more welcome. the decor is stunning as well as comfortable and everything is updated including wireless connection. could not be easier to do business with, phone calls returned promptly and even a welcome call to make sure everything is ok. garden is stunning and furnishings beautiful. it really is like being trusted in someone's home that you are very close with. conveniently located if you want to go into town or beach but everything you really need to recharge at the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

This is definitely a one of a kind home. Not your typical rental house, which usually is a square box with cheap furniture and appliances.

The home (not house) is beautifully decorated and perfectly situated close to the beach. The landscaping alone shows you that the owner really took a lot of time and put in a lot of thought into setting the perfect mood.

The bedrooms were light and airy on both floors. The kitchen was magnificent, and really blended well with the rest of the house. The feng shui of the home was apparent.

We loved the upper deck, the lower deck and the entrance to the home. The new air conditioners made the vacation even more enjoyable since there was a heat wave for the entire week.

With two families and all the kids, nobody got in anyone's way. The best part was that you felt secluded yet we were so close to everything.

Would definitely recommend this house to anyone who asks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best House! Best Location! Best Everything!

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

A truly gorgeous house – so light and airy, it is the quintessential beach escape. I have rented for 2 summers and it has always been immaculately maintained, with new updates every single year (a brand new kitchen and fully renovated bathrooms this year!).

The layout is perfect for beach living on so many levels (literally and figuratively). The open plan living area and kitchen are surrounded by windows and glass doors that lead out onto an enormous wrap-around deck. This is all located on the 2nd floor, which lends itself to incredible light from morning until the incredible sunsets come filtering in. The master bedroom is also on the upstairs floor, and is fully of light due to doors that lead out onto the deck. Downstairs, there are 3 good sized bedrooms with charming, perfectly nautical-seeming wooden walls and ceiling. In the past those rooms might have gotten slightly stuffy on really hot days but there is now AC (though a fan always did the trick).

Since Fire Island is all about outdoor and beach living, it’s perfect to have the bedrooms downstairs – they’re like a cozy retreat. There is also a full bathroom and separate laundry room on the first floor.

One of the best features are the outdoor spaces that have the best views. You can see straight across the island from ocean to bay. The upstairs deck is enormous and has every built-in feature you could dream about – tables, benches, perfectly potted plants, a grill, shady spots, sunny spots. Every detail was thought about! There is also even a 3rd level deck for the ultimate views.

Inside, the taste level is far above most every Fire Island house. The furniture is fantastic and the whole place is meticulously designed with painted Moroccan details throughout (which are subtle enough if it’s not your style, but give the atmosphere such a unique, luxurious vibe). I’ve never seen a house quite like it – and every guest was beyond impressed.

Great for families, it is a secluded and private house that goes far beyond the typical beach shack – it’s totally modern and updated, but has charming details. I wouldn’t want to rent anywhere else!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It's a charming place

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

The house is very private, as it's surrounded by trees and vegetation, there's even a vegetable garden. There are lots of bikes and a good trolley for transportation, as well as generous beach gear. It's an unusually large house for Fire Island and has a unique top deck, that is great to sit on for the sunsets. The Moroccan style is very tasteful and welcoming, and all the amenities are modern and well maintained.

For cooks, it's an especially good place to stay with a great kitchen. The two main decks are really delightful. The only drawback are the mosquitos which are pretty intense in the evenings, but that's true for all the properties just a little inland of the beach. The downstairs rooms are hot at night, but there are plenty of cooling fans.

It's a really relaxing place to stay and ideal for a family, who just want to enjoy more privacy than you can get in most properties on the island. We had a great time, and even with 6 adults and 4 kids the place never felt crowded. We would thoroughly recommend renting this place, especially if you have artistic tastes and are looking for something with a lot of character and charm, as well as good amenities.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review