reviews for: listing #53021 - Homosassa Springs, Florida House rental

Homosassa Waterfront Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $95 /nt
    $600 - $600 /wk

sort by:

"Paradise"

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

What a wonderdful find! The house was even better than the pictures revealed. It's very large and very updated. The kitchen is stocked with everything we needed. The gas grill was a big plus since we cooked most of our meals there. There are many fine places to eat around the area. I caught several bluegill and mullet for anyone who may like fishing. Just a few steps out the back door and throw you line in the springfed canal. There are two very nice kayaks for those who enjoy that. This a really good place to stay as it's
off the beaten path yet close to everything! I can't thank Kristine and Glen enough for all there help. The local manager Diane was so very helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Excellent stay!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful home for the second time last weekend. We had a wonderful time once again. The house is equipped with all you could need and we took advantage of it! While kayaking on the waterways behind the house, we saw a mother manatee and her baby swimming around us. It was such a breathtaking experience! The hot tub and grill are also great features. Everything is really clean and well-kept. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We booked this house for a long overdue break from being foster parents of 6 teen aged boys. While we missed our kids, it was perfect! Everything was as described and even better than the pictures. This place felt like home to us. Other reviews mentioned a musty odor, however, we did not have any problems with odor. The neighborhood was friendly and quiet with plenty of room for friends to come by. I just can't say enough about how great our stay was. We plan to come back in October for another week of respite! Thanks so much for offering this wonderful place for us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Surpassed expectations, lovely surprise

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This was one of my greatest vacation surprises. We booked at the last minute. This spot is even better than the pictures. The house is spacious, clean, nicely decorated and peaceful.

I just read the other reviews. I have to admit I was a bit anxious when I turned off the highway down the tree lined road. I was a little afraid I would not find the house. My concern was for naught, it really didn't matter if I missed the turn, the road just circled right back around. When I looked down the road I recognized the house from the pictures.

Pay attention to the checkin directions to find the lock box, I didn't, but found it pretty easily, in the day light. Lots of parking if you need it. We had a kayak trailer and our car. Could easily have had 5 more cars if we had been entertaining.

This would be a great house and yard for hosting holiday events. We just arrived home and booked 2 more stays, before it sells out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Jungle Paradise

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

When my husband and I arrived, it was raining so we were happy for the covered car stall and roof right to the front door. As soon as we went inside, we felt right at home. What a spot! We never wanted to leave and actually did spend a lot of time in the yard, in the neighborhood and on the canal out to the ponds in the kayaks. This neighborhood seems very remote and yet is just steps away from the highway and every amenity. We would love to return and spend more than just a week in this jungle paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Jungle Like Paradise!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We arrived for a month's stay, but unfortunately had to leave early due to an emergency at home. I really don't understand the previous review. We found the house to be clean, well equipped and charming, and I consider myself a pretty picky person! The kayaks and hot tub were a huge bonus. We saw alligators, every kind of bird you can think of, (the yard is full of cardinals!), and 2 manatees. There is a great deck out back that overlooks the canal, and the house itself is all tile/laminate which is so easy to keep clean. We spent a day at the wildlife park and went to the Riverside Bar to have a drink on the deck and watch the monkeys on Monkey Island. The house itself is very close to Winn-Dixie and Publix for groceries, and the neighborhood is great for walking; we took our old dog around the loop several times a day. This is not the manicured, fake look of Orlando. It is wild and wooly; Old Florida at its best. We loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you! We also were surprised by the previous review. :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas 2011

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We arrived at night in the dark and had a very difficult time finding the house. Our arrival was anticipated so we expected the outside light to be on. Had it not been for friends we wouldn't found it or been able to access the lock box.
Although very cute we were less then impressed, the beds were not made, the mattresses had no covers and the pillows were old and very stained we had to buy our own pillows the next day. The house had a musty odor consequently all our clothes had the same odor. Floors were dirty and there were only two cushions available for the outdoor chairs (4). The second bathroom became inoperable on the 3rd day. Dealing with the owner was very pleasant and she was prompt in responding. We won't be going back.

Owners response: I'm really surprised by this feedback as consistently our reviews prove the house to be clean and well-kept. We have a long-time property manager/cleaning person who we have always been very happy with as she does an exceptional job.

This guest did report her concerns about the pillows (which actually aren't very old but in a rental like this there can be significant wear-and-tear depending upon treatment) and the lack of mattress covers which we've since addressed. If the bathroom became unoperable, it was never reported to us. We leave every guest with three contact numbers in the event of an issue with the house. Had we been notified we would have addressed the issue right away.

As far as the beds being unmade, that is intentional. We keep the fresh linens in the linen closet and have found that guests prefer knowing with certainty that they have clean linens as opposed to wondering if the sheets on the bed were changed or not. Plus, not every guest uses every bed in the house so minimizing the use of linens to only those that are needed helps reduce the amount of laundry needed which is better for the environment.

Lastly, as far as the lockbox location, we provide these details in our check-in instructions plus we provide detailed directions to the house. I'm not sure why this guest had such issues as we've never had other guests report this problem.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Enjoyable weekend

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend in your beautiful comfortable home. Everything was better than we expected and we will be back for a longer stay. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed kayaking down the river, though I must say getting the kayaks into and out of the water was quite the challange! It would have been helpful to have some stairs.But its a nicely furnished lovely place to relax and unwind. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing by the river...

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this home... so roomy and all the extras were there... the setting is so tranquil and country... we used the hottub and the kayaks and dropped a fishing line in the water a time or two! We ate at The Boathouse Resturant in Crystal River where the food was excellent and checked out the State Park and rented a pontoon boat from the Riverside Resort... it was a wonderful vacation... laid back with all the comforts of home!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Idyllic Hideaway

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

We spent 10 days at this excellent property in the height of tourist season. It was less than a mile from excellent amenities, yet so peaceful it seemed far off the beaten path! Our daughter and teenage grandkids joined us for a week, and we were delighted with the adventures the fine kayaks and walking provided, as well as the convenience to other adventures in the area. Our holiday sped by. The house is clean and charming and very well outfitted for four or five guests. We would recommend it to anyone looking for nature encounters, a complete rest, or a place to gather with a few friends or family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway Spot

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

The house was clean and adorable. They thought of everything! We enjoyed kayaking, grilled out, relaxed in the hot tub, watched cable TV, etc. Couches & beds are super comfy. Although there are neighbors on either side, the view is of the woods and the hot tub is secluded. We had a fabulous trip and plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This is the real Florida - a relaxing retreat

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

We stayed at this rental for 6 weeks and it was very clean, inviting, and relaxing. The owner is willing to do anything to make your stay pleasant. The neighborhood is quiet and we loved using the kayaks. There were 2 manatees in the canal behind the house one day - which surprised us as it is very shallow. Restaurants, grocery shopping and attractions are all close by. We will be back in 2012 to enjoy "Water Lover's Florida", as Citrus county is known.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house & location for lots of activities

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Your house was spotlessly clean & well located for the things we wanted to do. Having the circular driveway was an added benefit since we were towing our fishing boat - there was plenty of room to park it & we didn't have to back it in. We really enjoyed kayaking in the waterways behind the house - having the 2 kayaks available there is great! That was probably my favorite activity. Our daughter was thrilled to see a manatee cruise right underneath our boat on the Homosassa River, and we saw lots of wildlife (including an alligator on the Chassahowitzka R.). We drove to the Universal Studios/Island of Adventure park one day, getting there early as you recommended - about 8:30 - cruised thru’ Harry Potter Wizarding World with only very minimal waiting and were very glad we got up early, because on our way out of the park ~12:30, the lines were horrendously long.
We’re glad we found your house on the internet & will certainly contact you if we head that way again. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Belleview

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

The house is beautiful. We had a great time despite a cold front settling in while we were there. It was a wonderful getaway for the weekend. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation house

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Great property! The house was very open, clean, and great for entertaining! Launching the kayaks in the back yard was very easy! Fenced in yard was great for the dogs and the hot tub was relaxing after a day of kayaking! Only one down fall was the mosquitoes! They were a very big pest but living in Florida and being close to standing water, mosquitoes are to be expected. Highly reccomend citronella candles and lots of bug repelant! Otherwise no complaints! The house was amazing and very close to Walmart and Publix for shopping. Great propane grill and fully stocked house! Highly recommended and will definately return when it cools off and mosquitos are not so bad!:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

The house worked out great for us. Our grandkids ages 11, 13 and 6 stayed the week with us and loved it. With easy access to the Wildlife park and the beaches at Pine and Fort Islands we found plenty to do. The hot tub was a big hit and even though no trophy fish are in the canal the little bass and brim provided great sport. We love the nature coast and the setting of the house house resonates very well. There is a family of River Otters residing under the bank and one night we had a Barred Owl visit us. The large/ open family areas (kitchen, breakfast bar, dining space and living room) made for some memorable times together. We found the house to be clean and well maintained; an excellent value. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are looking forward to doing it all again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Not well maintained

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

During our stay, the property was not very well maintained.

Mold:
- Air condition is moldy and apparently not well maintained.
- Mold at window frames that could have been removed.

Cleanliness:
- Grill was apparently used by a previous guest with charcoal and full of rancid fat. This was extremely disgusting. I took the challenge to clean it as good as possible since we already bought steaks.
- Seat cushions are greasy and for the most part kaput.
- Canoes and life wests unuseable as the garden compartment and evrything in it smell horrible (oil).
- Used ashtray standing on table - disgusting.
- The general cleanliness in the garden area is lacking (dirty tables, seats and veranda).

Danger:
- Wasp nest at front door (not new)
- Wasp nest in a lamp in garden on the right.

We left the property after two days (planned to stay for a whole week) due to allergic reactions.

We did provide the owner with photos to proof our issues and received a refund promptly.

We guess the properties condition can and should be changed by the owner.

If the issues get fixed, it would be a nice place to stay for a few days.

Owners response: We are definitely surprised by this review and can say it is not a true reflection of the house. This guest did complain after checking in so we reimbursed his money as he clearly wasn't happy. The pictures he sent us were of outside tables that had dusty surfaces and of small piles of leaves that had accumulated near the driveway. It had just rained prior to his checking in so it is natural for outside tables to not look pristine. We are also in a heavily treed area so leaves do accummulate after a storm. As far as the oil smell in the shed, I'm, assuming that is from the lawnmower that is often kept there but it certainly isn't anything that would impact the kayaks. Lastly, I did have someone check the house for mold after his report, and it has proven to be unfounded.

I'm not sure of the motivation of the complaints or the review. I will say that the rest of our feedback has consistently been positive as our other reviews will show.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

We just spent our Christmas break at this great house. The kayaks were wonderful, we used them everyday. I saw a big otter the first morning we were there. The house is very nice and comfortable and clean. Great lightin there.I think it was a real value if you enjoy being out of doors and away from tourists. Homosassa is NOT a touristy place, which for us, was great. The neighbors are very nice, people in general were friendly and helpful.

The owners are extremely conscientous and accomodating (and nice!). I have already told several people about this place, encouraging them to rent. I strongly recommend this for families that like to do their own thing in a laid back setting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Natural retreat--but not remote

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

We rented this house for a Thanksgiving family vacation. Three of us stayed here and the rest stayed at other places in Homosassa. We gathered for our Thanksgiving meal here, and had no problem parking the extra cars or serving the twelve of us T'giving dinner. (Although the kitchen is a bit light on equipment to prepare and serve, and on towels. A phone call to local relatives to bring along some kitchen things helped.) The kitchen is big, with lots of counter space to prepare food on, and to sit and eat at, and has a nice pantry next to the refrigerator to hold all the snacks and ingredients we needed for all our meals. (Publix is not far--we made several trips.) One night we shucked oysters from Charlie's Seafood in Crystal River in the back yard and used the propane grill to smoke them.

The kayaks that come with the house were a big hit. On our last day, my husband, daughter and son-in-law went swimming with the manatees (Capt. Mike's Manatee Tours/Sunshine River Tours) and had an amazing experience. (For more up-close manatees, beautiful birds, and a Florida panther or two, Homosassa Springs State Wildlife Park is right down the road.) My other daughter and I thought it was too cold to get in the water, so we took the kayaks out for a quiet paddle. For three hours, we were out on Hall's River, drifting downstream and paddling back. It was a beautiful, clear, cool and sunny day. The whole time we saw only two people fishing in a jon boat. We did see many different birds out hunting for fish--osprey, blue herons, egrets, kingfishers. Also saw a big (maybe 20" diameter) turtle swimming, lots of small fish, and a crab or two. Hard to believe there was so much glorious nature so close to this terrific house.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Idyllic Getaway

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

We didn't have enough time for this wonderful getaway, located so close to Weeki Wachee, Homosassa Springs, and the whole Nature Coast. Two kayaks ready to be launched from the backyard made this an awesome experience. The house is huge, the whole place is pet friendly, and it's super comfortable. We plan to come back. Succinctly, my wife and i wish we were there right now.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful, Relaxing, Exceeded our Expectations

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

We were looking for an affordable pet friendly weekend getaway. This is the place! It is our first stay in a rental home. The owner is very friendly and responded quick to our emails. We had plenty of room to relax, both inside & outside. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and kayaks when we were "hanging out" at the house. Our dogs enjoyed the freedom of roaming the fenced-in backyard. Thank you for offering your home to pet lovers. We would recommend this rental and hope we have an opportunity to return for a longer stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Home away from Home with all the comforts!

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

This vacation rental turned out to be more than we imagined, a great place to enjoy quality time with family & friends. Very affordable, accessible, clean, and well maintained. No bugs were inside and citronella candles were supplied for outside.

The owners were very prompt and efficient. Everything from booking the vacation dates to return of our pet deposit was A+ service. My husband's vacation was moved up last minute due to project scheduling. We called and left a message requesting last minute rental dates and the owners called us back the same day, this made our planning very easy and within an hour we had our vacation plans confirmed.

This location was extremely pet friendly and our animals enjoyed their stay as well. The fenced in large back yard that meets the deck and river bank provided a great area for the animals to play and enjoy a safe environment. Gizzie (Yorkie) & Bobby (Australian Shepherd) were able to fish right along with us and enjoyed barking and playing while we all kayaked (2 kayaks) and canoed.

The home was tastefully decorated and well stocked; everything from laudry detergent to wine glasses. The beds were very cozy & comfortable and the hottub clean and relaxing. Even the towels were of great quality. Every aspect of the home was clean and well prepared, whether you stay a day, week, or a month this place provides a great escape for the fisherman's family or the romantic getaway for two. Although the friendly neighbors are there, the home offers plenty of privacy and seclusion.

The area also offers many attractions. Homasassa Widelife reserve was great. We also drove to Tarpon Springs "sponge docks" for a day of family entertainment. The kids had a blast, feeding the sharks, exploring, & tasting the Greek favorites.

We were able to park our 22 ft boat and several vehicles in the parking area without difficulty. We found an easy accessible boat slip to the Gulf, free of charge (within few miles) and took the family scalloping, talk about a great experience with the kids and grandsons (9 & 4). It was our first scalloping trip and everyone had a blast. The final night of our vacation we had a great seafood feast with family and freinds.

Publix, Walmart, & McDonalds are within a mile (we have grandkids) and made life easier. Kristina & Glenn have thought of everything, even a DVD & Play Station 2 with games in den area for the family's enjoyment.

We would suggest this getaway and look forward to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

VERY RELAXING AND QUITE

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We were very suprised due to being near everything.Being born and raised in fl , this place brought back memories.The floors were clean enougth to eat off of and everything in its place..Didn't even see the first roach or ants..I took my airboat and never even put it in the water.If you like to fish , just grab a chair and enjoy the bank fishing..My daughter brought the grandkids and they had a blast..we caught mullet with a cane pole plus bass, stumpknockers, bream just to name a few..for the mullet i recomend using a number 6 hook and a bb size lead..they have a small mouth and when they suck the bait in if they feel the weight chances are they spit it out .use laying mash and oatmeal for chum..just wet it and mix the two in a ball shape..on the hook use doughballs or corn will work..Don't like to fish, set back and watch a family of otters, squirels even a few wood ducks come in. don't let the big hoot owls scare you. they mostlly set and watch you..The neighbors stick to their selfs but are there if you wish to talk..other words they are friendly but do not pester you. the house is well kept, very insulated and very relaxing.sounds like i am trying to sell the place but I am not..first time we have been there but it won't be the last.Thank you for a very relaxing place to unwind..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice and clean

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

We've stayed in many rental homes and this was a very nice one. The owner is very easy to deal with and reasonable rates. The kayaks are a great bonus. The pictures are nice but were surprised seeing it in person. The house is bigger than appears in pics. The little "game room" as we called it was nice for the kids to just hang out. The only thing I found needing improvement is needing more cookware/bakeware. But certainly not an issue for me not to return. Thank you for offering your house and if we were ever to come to that area again, we'll definately be calling you.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Getaway!!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

My mother and I had a wonderful time. We were looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway and that is exactly what we experienced. The house was well kept and was accommodating to all our needs. We especially enjoyed kayaking and seeing the wildlife!!!! We also went to the nearby flea markets and found some unique treasures. I would definitely recommend this rental and will be back for another visit!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful, confortable stay

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

We just finised a stay (July 2009) and I can't say enough good things about the place, or our experience. The pictures show the decore well, but the home is even nicer than pictures can show. The house was very, very clean and neat when we arrived. It is also very tastefully decorated. All appliances worked as you would expect. We had no problems whatsoever. Being from the north, we has hear the bug stories about the south. We didn't see any roaches and the only mosquitos were the ones we let in.
The home was very easy to relax in. It felt like home from the start. Rent this home and it will be a joy each and everytime you walk in the door.
The location is great also and is central to all Nature Coast attractions. Very quiet neighborhood, What encounters we had, and they were few, with the neighbors were pleasant.
Last but not least is the owner. She was easy to deal with and thoroughly answered all questions or concerns. She will treat you well. Jim B, Madison, OH.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely home; Watch out for roaches!

Review submitted: July 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

At first glance, this was a great choice for the budget minded, a lovely home, tastefully decorated and found as described, which was a pleasant surprise. The owner was helpful and kept things simple and hassle-free. Though, it was surrounded by other homes, it was quiet. The use of kayaks, canoe and hot tub cinched the choice for us when shopping around.
However, a number of cleaning issues keep us from being able to recommend this property, especially after a 3inch long by 2inch wide Cockroach greeted us in the tiled shower one morning! For the most part, the house appeared clean, though far from being immaculate, which one would expect when having to pay a cleaning fee. There was a ring of hairy scum inside the hot tub. Our white socks quickly turned black from the floors, as did our hands when running them along the counters. None of the cleaning issues severely impacted our stay, though, the presence of the roach kept us on our toes, and it does prevent us from rating this property 5 out of 5.
Warning to those traveling with pets, pets are allowed, but evidently the owners expect you to leave it immaculate, though, it was hardly that way upon our arrival. Though, we paid a cleaning fee, we cleaned up after ourselves and our dog, as we always do when traveling, including sweeping and mopping the floors, cleaning the glass tables, sinks, and refrigerator, which was not our responsibility. Back home we found we were charged a small sum from our pet deposit. Money isn’t the issue, but fair is fair: When we informed the owner about these issues after our stay in her lovely home, she was appalled, and of course, defensive, argumentative, & insulting in her email reply to us. White socks and hands that quickly become black do not occur by accident. Despite, these caveats, it’s a nice house, if you can ignore the issues with lack of cleaning and roaches. We loved the geckos and wildlife that visited the property. We even had a nightly visit by the local barnyard owl on the prowl, but couldn’t return as it stands now. If the cleaning issues were rectified, we'd have no problem going back, because we prefer renting over staying in a hotel, but as things stand now, we wouldn't nor would we recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: When Dr. Fran checked out he left a nice note about how lovely the house was and didn't report a single complaint. It was only after we charged him $10.00 for leaving the house covered in pet hair that the stories about cleanliness started. I can only conclude he is angry about the fee, which frankly should have been much more (I had to get rid of the master bedroom comforter because the dog hairs were so tangled in the fibers). I think our other reviews speak for themselves.

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 

A relaxing place

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

My family and I had a great time staying here. The kayaking was wonderful and we enjoyed grilling on the back deck. The house was clean and nicely decorated. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review