reviews for: listing #53079 - Port St Joe, Florida Townhome rental

Beauitiful Beach Bungalow
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cape Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $190 - $210 /nt
    $900 - $1,350 /wk
    $1,900 - $6,144 /mth

sort by:

It's got it all!

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

An ideal combination- a well-furnished condo right on the beach; with a small, well-kept pool; and a bayou just steps away, full of crabs and shrimp. The area was uncrowded but friendly, with fresh seafood just minutes away. We plan to return to this bungalow, hopefully for longer next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so pleased you had such a good time and I am looking forward to your return visit!

Helpful votes: 25 / 26

 

Comfortable place in a good location

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

Townhouse is right on the beach facing the Gulf. It provides comfortable beds and seating. We liked eating our meals on the upstairs screened-in porch with a beautiful view. The only downside to the view was the Money Bayou which had changed course in the last storm. It now runs directly in front of the townhouse with red clay colored water.

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Triple Tails restaurant... be sure to try the Triple Tail fish. We fished from the Fishin' Xpress out of Port St. joe. This was the only boat which allowed fishing for Red Snapper this year. Went horseback riding on the beach with Rockin M Ranch.

We loved walking on the beach morning and evening with our two dogs. Thank you Mary for allowing us to bring this part of our family!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you had an enjoyable stay! I too feel that our pets are part of our family. Yes, we did have record rainfall which would effect the Money Bayou. When it flows like that it is usually good for crabbing (nets and string provided) and fishing. If you return to the area, please keep us in mind.
Thanks,
Mary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we wanted

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Can't say enough about what a wonderful set-up this vacation rental offers. Ideal location steps from the beach and pool. Furnished with more things that we would have imagined. With chairs and umbrellas and cooler and boogie boards, we were ready for the water! The views from the master bedroom were spectacular. Hope to vacation there again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic Time! Lovely place to stay!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

We were looking for a place at the beach that would allow our dog to join us. We could not have found a better location. Mary, the owner, was fabulous to work with. She's very personable and very interested in making sure each of her guests have what they need to have a great time. Our kids loved the bayou that is next to the property. Had a blast crabbing!! The beach was beautiful! I think my favorite part of the bungalow was the screen porches. It allowed us to enjoy all of the rooms AND the nice breeze off the gulf without the nasty biting bugs. Charming!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

What a perfect escape!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

My husband and I (and our dog) spent Christmas week at this lovely location. Not only did we find the property to be perfectly suited for visitors, the outdoor areas were exceptional. This lovely rental is right on the Gulf. We took one of our dogs and she loved the dog friendly beach (and stores) and the grassy areas around the home. Although we had neighbors we never heard a sound. One night there were significant winds and we were weather tight. On Christmas morning we were greeted by an American Bald Eagle sitting on a piece of driftwood right in front of us. What a beautiful sight! If you are looking for a place to relax, read, enjoy the beach, take long walks without tons of people around --- this is your spot. There are many environmental areas and wildlife refuges in their area with great hiking and biking paths. Inside there were books, games, jigsaw puzzles, books, a well equipped kitchen, everything you need including a tv and dvd player in each bedroom and one in the living room. You will not believe how perfect this location is. We loved the screened in porch on the first floor but the screened in master bedroom balcony was a real treat and the view was a feast for the senses. We spent lots of time watching the birds, dolphins, and the ever changing seascape with spectacular sunsets! We truly enjoyed our week and the owner was terrific. We are already checking our calendars for a return visit. Many thanks to Mary for sharing this wonderful pet-friendly home with us. It is everything the description says it is and much more!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Loved our stay in Port St. Joe

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

The property was just as described. Very nice layout and very clean....right on the water. Our dog loved it also. The owner was very easy to communicate with and quick to respond. We had no cell service during our stay ... not sure if that means all carriers but Sprint definitely has no service there, however the owner provided free wi-fi and long distance. I would definitely recommend this property to family and friends and plan on visiting again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We loved our stay in Port St. Joe

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Our stay in Port St. Joe was wonderful...very relaxing. The fact that we could take our dog along made the vacation complete. The condo was exactly as described right on the water with a nice layout and very clean. It was very easy to communicate with the owner and she was very quick to respond. We had no cell service... I'm not sure if all carriers have no service but Sprint definitely does not.. but the owner provided free wi-fi and free long distance. I would definintely recommend this property to family and friends and plan on visiting again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great place to stay!!!!!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This property met all our expectations. It was very clean, well-decorated and supplied with everything a person might have in their own home. From entering into the kitchen to the upstairs bedrooms and screened porches, everything had light, "beachy" colors etc. We opted for the master bedroom which opened out to a screened porch overlooking the beach and Gulf. It was great being able to just relax and stretch out on the comfy bed or sit on the porch and enjoy the gulf breeze. We walked in the Gulf, sloshed around in the swimming pool which was close to our place, went shopping and ate at the Dockside restaurant. Downtime was spent watching tv and reading from the big basket of books Mary had provided. There were also puzzles, games, cd/dvd players, radio etc for the more "ambitious"! She provided an assortment of beach supplies from chairs to beachtowels and toys, shovels for digging on the beach and nets. The essentials for cooking a meal were all provided (pans, dishes, silverware etc) so we did cook several meals and ate at our leisure. I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed Mary's Beach Bungalow but I think you can tell we really were happy with it, thanks to the thoughtfulness of our "landlord".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great fun!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

The condo was clean and very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you need. Lots of pots and pans, utensils, etc. There were plenty of beach towels, boogie boards, noodles, and three lounging beach chairs. The WiFi worked great! We only had to call the owner once for a minor question and she was easy to reach. We were close to the pool but it was not noisy. Just a few steps to the beach. One night we had a small fire on the beach and watched the meteors. It was wonderful. The beach was perfect for the teenage boys to skim board. It is a quiet beach with just families like us. Triple Tails restaurant and fish market was just down the road and is a great place to eat and pick up fresh seafood.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Bungalow heaven

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Wonderful place to stay!! Everything you need is available to you!! The bungalow was extremely well kept. Beds are very comfortable. Screen porches are wonderful for sitting and enjoying the ocean view and breeze!! We have stayed many places and by far this rates as a top stay!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderfull!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

OMG what an awesome week...I have done beach houses from Pensacola to Sanibel and Jamaica, Costa Rica and Antiqua and this was the best most relaxing week I have had. Everything in the townhouse was perfect. Having the pool and the beach and the perfect crabbing spot right outside was amazing. Other then going to the rawbar for dinner one night we had no reason to leave. Catching and eating the crabs for dinner one night was also the coolest. And the best part was that I got to bring my black lab with me for the first time. He loved the beach and I never saw him so calm and happy. He was definately happier then if I had boarded him, which I have always had to do. Loved it and will definately be back. Probably in October. Thanks Mary, you go the extra mile to make your guest happy and it shows!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

OMG what an awesome week...I have done beach houses from Pensacola to Sanibel and Jamaica, Costa Rica and Antiqua and this was the best most relaxing week I have had. Everything in the townhouse was perfect. Having the pool and the beach and the perfect crabbing spot right outside was amazing. Other then going to the rawbar for dinner one night we had no reason to leave. Catching and eating the crabs for dinner one night was also the coolest. And the best part was that I got to bring my black lab with me for the first time. He loved the beach and I never saw him so calm and happy. He was definately happier then if I had boarded him, which I have always had to do. Loved it and will definately be back. Probably in October. Thanks Mary, you go the extra mile to make your guest happy and it shows!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Beach Bungalow. Mary made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, down to lots of little added touches. Everything was clean and fresh; obviously recently renovated. Everyone we met on the uncrowded beach was very friendly. Mary's recommendations for dinner were perfect...don't miss the Indian Pass Raw Bar! We'll definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review