reviews for: listing #5317 - Bahamas, Caribbean Villa rental

Bahamas Castaway at Double Bay
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Double Bay
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $550 /nt
    $2,200 - $3,700 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 21, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

We ten ladies stayed at Bahamas Castaway, and it was the best vacation ever. The home, beach, and all the amenities are everything they say they are, and more. The island itself is so peaceful and quite. It is like a world all its own. We plan to return again, whereas nothing else we have ever done could compare to this home and island... Thank You for sharing your home with us. We will never forget it.... Fondly, The 10 Ladies

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely house just by the beach on the Atlantic side

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 8, 2014

Arriving at Eleuthera was a great experience itself - just a small house which welcomed us. the House keeper John had arranged with a car, which was waiting for us outside the small airport.
It took us about 1,5 hour to drive to the house which is situated about 15-20 min drive from Governors harbor. You def. need a car to get there.
The house was situated up on the top of the beach, so no worries for the waves to hit the house. Beautiful beach with a few houses.
The house itself had very comfortable beds, had pretty much everything you needed to cook. The only con was that the wifi wasn't stable, with all the power cuts that's seems to be going on in Eleuthera. Even though they don't last very long.
The house provided us with towels, bed linen, snorkel equipment, canoes (even though it was to choppy for us to go out with small children).
Ten bay beach is situated on the other side of the highway and was just the best! So many beautiful beaches on the island - breathtaking!
I highly recommend this island if you need some peace, and why not stay at Bahamas Castaway at the same time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We've been fortunate to travel to Eleuthera on several occasions, and have stayed at Castaway 4 times. We think it is a perfect spot. You can't do better. Our family considers this our second home. We have traveled to other islands in the Bahamas and keep coming back to Castaway. The only reason we haven't stayed there on every trip is because it was already booked by someone else. We have 2 kids. We've stayed in the house with another family of 3 kids as well as with just our family. All great experiences. The back bunk room is big enough to sleep 4 kids comfortably and 6 kids comfortably if 2 of the kids are younger/smaller. So many things what makes Castaway special and set it apart. Here are a few: -Proximity to a great beach -Site on a hill, giving it a great view and the breeze keeps bugs away (Yes, unfortunately just about everywhere on Eleuthera has no see ums and mosquitos) -AC, enabling you to close up if there is no wind and stay away from bugs -Incredibly big deck with outdoor shower. Great for lounging, reading, lunching, sorting shells, etc. -Huge open kitchen, dining living room for evening entertainment -Separate back room with 2nd TV where kids can convene -Great location in central Eleuthera, close enough for easy access to Governor's Harbour, Ten Bay, Tarpum Bay and even Rock Sound is not too bad. Although, you don't really need to go anywhere. -Kayaks are awesome But most of all you will find the owner and caretaker incredibly accommodating. From the big things (like making sure there is always water... yes, this can be a problem at some houses) to the little things (ensuring the house always has laundry, shampoo, soap, and other necessities), all make for a great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bahamas Castaway

Review submitted: November 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

If you are looking for a remote quiet spot with good accommodation then Bahamas Castaway is the place for you. The accommodation was well equipped, clean and spacious. Shopping facilities are few as one would expect on an island but you will not starve!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Eleuthera is a great place for a vacation and you found that out. Thanks for the nice comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bahamas Castaway

Review submitted: November 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2010

If you are looking for a remote quiet spot with good accommodation then Bahamas Castaway is the place for you. The accommodation was well equipped, clean and spacious. Shopping facilities are few as one would expect on an island but you will not starve!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular place - a caribbean dream.

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

The listing description was quite accurate, but if anything the property is even more breathtaking in real life. The house is clean and spacious and has anything you might need. It offers awesome views of palms, pristine beaches, and endless ocean. The customer service was friendly and efficient. I would recommend this place to anybody looking for peace and quiet away from all hustle and bustle. The 20 or so steps down to the beach might be a challenge for elderly people, or someone who has trouble getting around, but other than that we would love to go back. Going out to the nearby islands on the kayaks was a lot of fun. We did some sightseeing on Eleuthera, but at the end I think I preferred the beach right by the house - there was always a nice breeze and the view was stunning. Most stores closed earlier than expected (in particular the fresh produce stand in Palmetto which closes at noon, and the souvenir shops), by 4 or 5pm. We really liked Tippy's restaurant in Governor's Harbor, and the Rainbow Inn further north. The only thing we did not enjoy were the mosquitoes - but they won't spoil that trip for me!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Simply paradise. We visited Bahamas Castaway in January 2008 and could not have been happier. Great house, spectacular views, and convenient to good resturants and other beaches if you feel the need. Hope to be back soon . If you want to relax and unwind this is the place to be!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We stayed in the castaway house the first year it was open and in fact we were married on the beach with our kids present.You could not ask for a more beautiful setting for a wedding.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 22, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

The house is gorgeous, and the view is spectacular! In person the house looks even better than it does on the website. Its a great place to spend a very relaxing week.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 22, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Our family stayed at Bahamas Castaway for a week in Jan. '06 and had a wonderful time.
If you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy the wonderful beach and the peaceful area this is the place for you. We only saw five other people on the beach the entire week.
The new house has everything you need to enjoy fun fulled days and nights weather it is reading, snorkeling boating or just sitting or resting on the beach.
We found John the site manager only a (supplied) cell call away if we had a question. We had Annis come in to cook for us and she was a joy.
Don't miss the farm stand about a mile or so on the left back up Queens Highway towards GH. Clyde has pick your own salad and bread, honey etc that are out of this world. All in all once you go you will want to stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 27, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

If you want a beautiful view, only steps away from the beach, in a quiet location, then this is the house for you. It is a new home with all the amenities. Owner prompt and helpful; quite a value. We have already booked a return for next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review