reviews for: listing #53182 - Folly Beach, South Carolina Villa rental

Gorgeous! Walk to Beach! Pool!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Turtle Bay Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $950 - $1,700 /wk
    $1,990 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Grandparents and family

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this townhouse. Everything was neat and clean. We came to Folly for the first time 2 yrs ago and fell in love. We were used to the hustle and bustle of Myrtle Beach. There is still plenty to do in Folly Beach, but we loved the more relaxing atmosphere. Just what a vacation should be. This place was less expensive than the one we stayed in before but don't let that worry you. The quality of things was so much better. The sheets and towels were definitely better. One thing we really appreciated was having the wagon to take chairs, etc to the beach and my 2 yr granddaughter liked being able to ride. Even the futon and linens for it were comfortable for my 9 yr old grandson. Thanks, Marguerite, for a great place to stay and for prompt refund of our deposit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

We loved this condo and the area!! The condo is beautiful and clean and there was so much room. We will definitely come back to Folly Beach and to this condo again! We were in the area for a family wedding. We rented a golf cart and were able to get around and never needed our car!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So convenient and it had everything!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This condo was absolutely perfect for our stay in Folly Beach. I was here for a wedding, and staying with two other couples. This was one of the very few properties that had 3 queen beds and 3 full bathrooms-- no bunk beds which was perfect for what we needed. The kitchen was fully stocked (which was great because we cooked a few big items for the family before the wedding-- there was a hand mixer for my cake I baked!)
The furniture, amenities and everything were way better than what we came across with other family members who rented houses elsewhere on Folly Beach, and I was so glad we got this condo.

Marguerite is wonderful to work with and we loved staying here! Amazing price too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you had a good time, Kerry. Thank you for the nice comments. I do work hard to keep the house cozy, pretty, and updated.

Clarification for future renters: The house has one KING bed and two Queens.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Nice Property!!! Great Location!!!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

I recently spent a few days at this property with my husband, 1 yr old daughter and my parents. We couldn't has been more pleased with the place. It was very clean upon arrival and all of the details about key codes etc... were just as described by Marguerite, the owner. The condo is very spacious and gave us more than enough room. We loved the garage, balconies and the short distance to the dock and pool. There are a lot of stairs in and outside the condo so it could be difficult for some people to stay here. The pool was in a somewhat shaded area and was a little too cool for our daughter....but that was expected this time of year. It is a little bit of a walk to the beach (approx. 8 min.) but not bad at all, especially if you rent or bring bikes (we biked to Morris Lighthouse one day and down the beach another....beautiful!!!! we even saw dolphins...the end of the beach/island is very natural and secluded). We enjoyed the walk from the condo to the beach and appreciated the extra calorie burn after eating such delicious food all week! :) The Crab Shack on Folly is wonderful and we really loved Woody's Pizza. Taco Boy was okay but I found it very strange that they don't offer hard shell tacos!...my dad was very disappointed by that....the food we did order was mediocre and service was poor...it was definitely our least favorite. The beach is great especially at low tide for little ones...my daughter had a blast in the tide pools. Charleston is very close and Hyman's Seafood on Meeting St. is a MUST!!!! We ate there twice. My husband and dad fished at both the on-site dock and at the pier with not much luck (not many people were fishing so it was probably not a good time...my husband said the water was too murky). All and all, this was a great condo, clean, easy access to everything, owner had everything provided like linens, hand soap, clothes detergent etc...it felt just like home!!! We'll definitely be back!!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couples weekend at the beach

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Super getaway weekend for 3 couples. The property was perfect - clean, well maintained with all needed amenties. Walking distance to everything in Folly Beach. We watched Dolphins from the dock. Took a long walk on the beach. Ate great meals at Rita's, Locklear's, and the Crab Shack. Spent a day in Charleston.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wells Family

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Great townhouse!!!! The location was convenient to the beach and Charleston. Our trip was short but we enjoyed every bit of the time we stayed at Turtle Bay and Folly Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Get-Away

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Brought family to Folly Beach to do some fishing and site seeing. House was nice and clean and suited our needs.
The fishing was good and downtown Charleston is a very short drive. Had a great time touring the downtown area.
We ate at Rita's the first night and had excellent food and service. The food and service at Taco Boy's was also excellent.
Be careful parking by the beach - especially on Friday afternoon: You can get a parking ticket even if all four tires are not on the roadway. Appeals must be made in person during the week, so we would have to make another trip to Folly Beach.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

terrific fishing made cloudy days worth it

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

There's nothing really worse than rain or heavy clouds during your beach vacation. Fortunately there was the dock on the river behind the Turtle Bay complex that had terrific fishing. We pulled croakers up one after another and even were able to catch several crabs, and we enjoyed a full seafood dinner for three one night solely from what we could catch. It's a great fall back solution to unpredictable weather, and I'm pretty sure we'll be going back just for that reason.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great family vacation!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful week! The apartment was great and very spacious for the 7 of us. It was clean, cute, updated and a very close walk to town. We loved the beaches and the swimming and surfiing were fantastic. I definitely recommend eating at the crab shack, it's worth the wait! Thank you, Marguerite for answering all of our questions an being so helpful!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Florida Visitor

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had a great vacation and the villa was perfect! There was plenty of room and close to the beach. I would recommend this villa to people vacationing in Folly.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

I would recommend this property to anyone! The townhouse was in a great location, just a short walk to the beach. Very quiet surroundings, well maintained, and had everything we needed. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay that's close to the beach

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

The condo was very nice and roomy and the location was wonderful! We enjoyed walking into town a few times to have dinner and walk on the beach. Very good restaurants nearby. We felt very safe walking around at night. It's very easy to find and only 15-20 minutes from downtown Charleston and shopping.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Owner Posting--Email from renter

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

A recent renter just sent me this email with useful restaurant info for future guests. So, I am pasting it here:

I just wanted to share some of our experiences with you. we really enjoyed our stay & your home is lovely, better than we had anticipated. it was too cold to be able to enjoy the beach, but we did make our way around the area quite a bit. just an fyi......we ate at Rita's...fabulous hamburgers, well worth the $10 pricetag....went to Folly Beach Crab Shack....nice outside enclosed patio, food was really good too, and not overly pricey....we ended up at the Sandbar one evening our of desperation....yeah, not the greatest....the food was good, but service was lacking.....we never got our coleslaw which was supposed to be part of the meal, and at 7:30 they were out of the soup....we were one of 3 tables occupied....leads me to wonder when that soup was made (yesterday, perhaps???) we ordered carryout from Planet Follywood,....it was wonderful. I ordered a side of breaded mushrooms that were out of this world....we had their wings, eh, not the best but the terriyaki shrimp pita was wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy well-equipped condo in great condition

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

I rented this condo for a 3-night stay because I was visiting Charleston for a wedding. Before we could go inside, we were met by the maintenance guy, who was eager to make himself available if necessary. When we walked inside, we were pleasantly surprised by how cozy and attractive the condo was. It was clean and well-equipped with all the basic necessities and conveniences. The only difficulty we ever had was in figuring out how to operate the dish washer. It worked fine, but was confusing at first. Otherwise, the only issue I could imagine having is that the condo is at least a 10-minute walk from the beach with only so-so views. For us, we were visiting in the fall and not planning to spend a lot of time on the beach. If we had been, the distance would have felt inconvenient. As it was, it worked out well to take short walks for very short beach visits just a couple of times during the trip. It's a very nice condo at a reasonable rate, and with an owner that's very easy to work with. Really can't complain. I'd certainly stay there again, if I needed a place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I'm very glad you had a good time. Please note that there is a direct short-cut to the beach from 3rd St. This short-cut makes it a short 5 block walk--around 8 minutes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Get-Away

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

We recently rented this condo and loved it. We will come back again. When we opened the front door, the kids (4) were strikingly surprised by the place. It's got nice appeal. The river is beautiful (although not much of a view from the lower porch). The beach is a nice walk as is downtown Folly. On days that it was cloudy, we hit Charleston for tours/shopping. The restaurant favorites were the Crab Shack followed by Bowens. We really had no concerns or issues and ownership was very easy to work with. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time at Folly Beach!

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely townhouse. The bedrooms were very nice, the layout of the house was great for our family gathering. We enjoyed the outdoor patio as well as the large living room as a place to relax and unwind. The kitchen was well appointed and very functional for our group of 7.
We enjoyed using the pool area. It is not huge but accommodated our group nicely.
We were an easy walk to the beach. Lots of bars, restaurants and shops. We had a great dinner at Rita's - the hamburgers were unbelievably good!
We found this was great value for the money. We loved having our own spot to hang out in while we were having down time from the wedding. Our group ranged in age from 21-60 and we all enjoyed staying here.
Marguerite was helpful - provided good information before we got there and was available by phone when we needed information about the wireless connection.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly What We Were Looking For

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this home in Turtle Bay. It was just as described. No disappointments at all. The owner was very helpful before and after our stay, even helped us locate a missing watch we left behind! The house was clean and well-stocked. We enjoyed some time down by the Turtle Bay pool, which has a great view on the Folly River. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go! This is definitely the best "deal" we found for what we needed/wanted and I would/will stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for a newer, cleaner, rental home on Folly. Each bedroom has its own full bathroom, so it is great for 3 couples or a family with children too. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Turtle Bay

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We had a Wonderful week in Folly at your townhome. The location was perfect just a short walk to the beach or downtown folly. We enjoyed the pool and walking out on the dock at sunset sitting in the swing. Marguerite was very easy to work with and helpful with making our vacation wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Our family of 6 just returned from a fantastic trip to Folly! We loved the villa and it suited our family perfectly. Marguerite sent several helpful items prior to our trip from grocery store suggestions to retaurant reviews. We went to Piggly Wiggly several times and please note that they will steam their fresh seafood for you to take home. We loved this. We also found a small walmart a couple of miles before PW where we could stock up on small containers of staple items (syrup, parm cheese) just right for a week at the beach. We could not have asked for a better home. It was extremely clean and gave everyone privacy and room to spread out. Our teen boys used the downstairs room that had the bed and futon. Our girls loved the pink room and we loved the MB. The bed was extremely comfortable. The washer and dryer was a must for us and used often. The kitchen was well stocked with items though the blender was broken but we replaced it since it was important to have! No big deal since those things happen. We loved the screened in porch though for 3 days a giant u-haul was parked there-- again, just one of those things and not a make or break deal. The garage was great as were the beach supplies. The pool was a bit small but a beautiful setting and we met locals and renters which was fun. We generally walked to the beach but during the week we drove since we had so much stuff and it was easy to park. The beach was great, not too crowded though near the pier it was. We had a professional photographer take family pictures who was fantastic: Hana with Selador Images. We ate great meals at many of the restaurants: crab shack, shrimp company and taco boy were all great. We missed Lost Dog this trip. Black Magic had the best coffee. But don't miss Tokyo Crepes. Even our pickiest eater loved the strawberry crepe. We did eat at the Sandbar and food was okay but the setting was very nice. Our boys parasailed with Captain John and we took an eco kayak tour with Flipper Finders that was definitely off the beaten path. Ask for a tour with Andy. Folly Beach is very laid back and not overly commercialized. Spent 1 day in Charleston and took a carriage ride and shopped at World Market where we found some unusual things. This vacation was very special for our busy family. No one watched the clock, ate when we wanted, relaxed alot and had an excellent time. It was hard to leave! Thanks Marguerite!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Turtle Bay Vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My family and I had never stayed in this part of Folly Beach and we weren't sure what to expect, sometimes the pictures on line don't quite always show you the whole picture, this location exceeded our expections. It is very modern and clean. The bottom porch is completly screened in and allows you to sit outside at night and enjoy the weather. There is also a porch off of the main room upstairs(not screened in) but is a wonderful place to get away from the kids. It is with in walking distance of the beach and dowtown Folly Beach and about 15 minutes from downtown Charleston. The owner made everything easy for us when in came to getting in the condo and supplied us with a list of places to go. An overall great experiance We will be staying here. again. The

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun vacation spot

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We found the property very comfortable and easy to live in. It was close to the beach (though the walk home in 90+ degrees got hot!), spacious, well-stocked with kitchen and household items, and close enough to walk to restaurants and shops in Folly. The bedrooms with their own baths meant family members could really spread out and enjoy their own space. We enjoyed the pool too. And it was a really short drive to all the history, restaurants, and shopping in Charleston. Only the parking was a little complicated...with two cars, one car parks directly in back of the other inside, so we had to move the cars around when the driver of the first car in wanted to be the first car out. Loved the Lost Dog Cafe and the Crab Shack.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

summertime family get away!

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Our family recently stayed here to kick-off the summer! There were 8 of us, and we were thrilled with our stay at Turtle Bay! Great location!!! None of us had ever stayed in Folly Beach, but several of us had been to Charleston before. We all fell in love with this area of town. We were a short drive from downtown Charleston, so we got to do a lot of sightseeing there....but our favorite part of the trip was hanging out in Folly Beach. We were only a few blocks from the restaurants in Folly Beach (which were all really good - Crab Shack, Folly Beach Shrimp Company, Lost Dog Cafe - just to name a few). We were about an 8 minute walk from the beach which was lovely. We also loved hanging out at the condo, where we could read books out on the screened-in balcony, or sit as a family and play games or watch a movie in the living room. The pool was very nice to sit at, too. The condo owner was extremely helpful and a great communicator. The place was clean and spacious, and we did not feel too cramped with 8 people, although 8 people would probably be the most you'd want to stay there at a time. We really had a lovely time, and I would definitely love to come and stay here again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

going home

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Back in Charleston for a wedding, we chose this villa for location and size. It was great! Spacious, clean, well stocked, everything as advertised. Screened porch very useful. We recommend this to any visitors wanting the beach and downtown Charleston. The new crosstown makes this a super location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful rental-spacious, clean, super convenient

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

The home is much nicer than the pictures on VRBO indicate. Open, Spacious living/kitchen area and great screened porch Nice view from the second floor deck

Easy walk to the beach and the little town area, and a quick drive to Charleston

Three nice bedrooms-and located to allow privacy for all

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 55+ ladies who travel a lot and just found another paradise!

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

This property is very clean and spacious with a great location. The sunsets on the river are beautiful. This island is small so we rented a golf cart to ramble around the island and we would reccomend this to anyone who stays at this property. we took it to the beach, downtown, the washout and all over the place. Our favorite restaurant is The Crab Shack. It was fun to be able to walk to so many places and use a golf cart instead of always having to pull out the auto. I would reccomend this property to everyone who has an interest in south Carolina. also, we spent one day in Charleston and had a wondefull time. We definetely will come back to this piece of paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

3 55+ lady friends who travel together to many places and found another paradise!

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

This is a beautful condo with lots of space. The location is great and the sunsets on the river are spectacular! This is a very small island so everything is close by. We rented a golf cart to ramble around the island and I would suggest everyone do this. We took it to the beach, downtown, the washout and all around this georgous island. We have always gone to the sugary white sands of the Gulf but I must say this was a wonderful change. The downtown is small and lots of fun to walk around and see everything. Our favorite resturant is The Crab Shack. I myself am not a seafood lover but I decided to go outside the box and try something different. We chose the seafood pie and I was amazed at how good it was. We will definitely come back to this lovely place as soon as we canand we suggest anyone interested in the South Carolina area vist this place......you won't be dissapointed!amiracle133@att.net

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Folly Beach vacation

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Perfect location, good price, house was clean and very nice. Walking distance, so close to beach, and shops. Close to Charleston downtown, will come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Folly beach vacation

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We stayed here for the labor day weekend, we had a blast while here. The house had plenty of space for the 6 of us to sleep and have dinner together. The walk to the beach only takes a few mins, you could really walk to any of the main resturnats on the main strip of folly beach from here. This was also one of the only places we have stayed that had beach supplies for use which came in handy when packing. I would highy recommend stay here is anyone is looking to stay in the folly beach area. This will be our go to place when we head back to folly beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Nice house great location and views. You can walk to all the resturants and attractions almost. I would recommend a golf cart if you have have one to take. We really enjoyed waking up and eating at the Lost Dog for breakfast, then going to the beach. All of the dining on the island is good. Hope to come back soon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thomas(Richmond,Va)

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

The property was clean and well maintained.We were very pleased with everything.Our first family vacation and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Had a run in with a couple(or three)water bugs(very fast),scared the heck out of my wife & daughter.The property mge.was very friendly and cooperative(allowed to paralell park our conversion van in front of car port..didn't block access to steps or neighbors car port).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place to stay on Folly Beach.

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My family and I went to Folly Beach this year (August 2011), and we stayed here at this Turtle Bay townhome. We have two kids (6 & 4), and this was a great place for them and us. Our kids enjoyed the beach and the pool. We loved Folly Beach as well - many cute restaurants (Ritas, Lost Dog, Sandwich Doctor, Drop In Deli, Taco Boy - we'd recommend all these). The property was very clean. The walk to the beach is not that far - our kids were able to do it without any trouble, but we did bring a wagon to haul all our stuff, and we were glad we had that. I definitely recommend this property. It is also an easy walk to the town in Folly, and it's only a 10 minute drive into Charleston - very convenient.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

week of June 4 - 11

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful and in a great location. We especially enjoyed the pool as we had a 2 year old with u and close enough to the ocean to walk. The property is big enough for 6 adults to live conforably. It was especially nice to have a washer and dryer. We tried several restaurants. We really liked the big hamburgers at Rita's and the seafood at the Crab Shack. The property was very clean when we got there and the owner was very helpful with information about Folly, such as the shortcut to the beach and some restaurant recommendations. There were brochures at the property for some restaurants and that helped with the decisions as to where to eat. I would definitely like to go back and I would recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Vacation Stay

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

We enjoyed the stay! Close to the beach and marina, dock and pool open for use as well. House was much larger than we expected and the balconies were a great addition. We will definitely be coming back to stay soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time on Folly Beach!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

Stayed at this property 3/14/11-3/21/11. Our family of four had plenty of space in a "home" atmosphere. Clean and up to date conditions made us feel very comfortable. Three bedrooms, three bathrooms for less than a hotel. Town of Folly Beach was close and charming. Beach was a short walk or drive. Pool was nothing to brag about, but who needs a pool with the ocean just blocks away. Easy access to shopping, food, and of course downtown Charleston. When I visit Charleston in the future, I will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charleston Getaway

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Very nice townhouse for a group. (6-8) Each bedroom has it's own bathroom. Large family room/kitchen/dining area accommodates everyone easily. Convenient location to beach without being in a congested area. Very quiet.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great choice!

Review submitted: March 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

We shared this condo with another couple, and absolutely loved it! We felt right at home. It was very clean and cozy. There was plenty of space, and the little homey touches made it absolutely great. Staying at the condo was much better than staying in a hotel. We also really enjoyed the little book about Charleston left on the coffee table.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for noticing the little touches. I visit 2-3 times per year. Each time I go, I try to add some nice touch, or major new improvement to keep the house updated, fresh and fully of nice surprises for repeat visitors.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great rental

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

My family and I visited Folly in the winter, so we were inside most of the time, but this townhouse was perfect for us. It's very roomy and each bedroom has lots of privacy. The beds are comfortable. Everything looked new. The kitchen was great as was the downstairs porch which was screened and had lots of furniture. The location was within a few blocks of town...only one street over from the Lost Dog Cafe, which is our favorite.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED IT!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

This was a beautiful condo. The photos don't show how comfortable it really was. The condo is fully equipped. All you need is a beach towel and sunscreen. The location is a short walk to the beach or the center of town. Center Street had lots of good places to eat and music to enjoy. It was only a 15-20 minute drive into Charleston. My favorite part of the condo was the sunset views from the private dock on Folly River. We did see the dolphins a few times. I can't wait to go back. Thanks for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

The condo is lovely and comfortable, very well equipped. The beach is glorious. The Lost Dog Cafe was a favorite and we had a good lunch at Rita's. Shopping...not so much. We had a wonderful day in Charleston which was easy to get to. Our only problem was no Internet for several days, but it was remedied for our final three days.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

Condo was just as advertised. Great location, clean and well appointed. Owner was a joy to work with. Very good experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Guest: Mitch
Date of Stay: 05/30/09 Review Submitted: 05/30/09

Marguerite, we had a great time!! I must say that your place was perfect! We go to the coast at least twice a year and have done so for most of my life. I've got to tell you that this is the first time the rental was nicer than the pictures and description. It was outstanding. We could tell you take great pride in it. We treated it as if it were our own. Thank you for sharing it with us. We're already talking about trying to rent it again the same time next year. Your resturant picks were right on target and your tips were great. --This is from an email sent to me (the owner). I copied and pasted it here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at Turtle Bay! Folly Beach was an absolutely perfect little beach town, and the drive to Charleston didn't seem any longer than 15 minutes. The short walk to the beach was so pretty, and we loved the complex. Downtown Folly Beach is a short walk from the house, so cute shops and delicious food is just down the road. You wouldn't really ever have to drive anywhere if you didn't want to. I highly recommend the restaurant Taco Boy (an easy walk from the house); excellent food, and a really fun, noisy dining experience. These home owners were kind and helpful! Our family voted unanimously to make this our annual getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We rented this property for a family vacation. We had a blast. We were within walking distance of the beach and every shop and restaurant on Folly Beach. It was so nice being able to come 'home' after what ever activity we did that day and relax somewhere more personal than just a hotel room. The beds were comfortable, the house was clean, and we had everything we needed right there. I would definately reccomend this property to others and would definately rent again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Easy to Relax at Folly Beach

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

This condo was a wonderful place to stay at Folly Beach. The dock area offered great sunsets, breezes & a place for us to learn how to catch crab. The beach was a quick walk and local eateries were just as close. You can really get everywhere you need to by walking. The condo was comfy and offered plenty of space for all to kick back and relax. The decks offered a place for reading, relaxing & sunning. The pool area was close and offered a nice break from the beach. Downtown Charleston was a quick drive and we loved the outdoor market there and the carriage ride through the city. Folly Beach was full of wonderful folks and great food. No tie required kind of place. Families or honeymooners this is an awesome place to relax!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, fun-filled vacation!

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

This townhome was very comfortable and well maintained. It is located on Folly River with a boat dock for good fishing or just relaxing in a swing. This home is conveniently located wihin walking distance of the beach, restaurants, and local shops. My whole family enjoyed their stay and plan on returning. I would highly recomend this to my friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Folly Beach Townhouse

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

A delightful well appointed home suitable for the more discerning holiday family(s) set in a safe and pleasant location in a residential area.
Only a 10 minute walk to the beautiful beach and dunes and about the same to the main street
The house is well supplied with all of the necessary items that you require during your holiday stay, washer. dryer, TV, plus a selection of games for all ages. There was also a selection of information brochures that describe various activities and places of interest in the area.
Fully air conditioned the accommodation is comfortable and spacious and even for a family of 6 people there was plenty of room for all.
For you complete protection the house has a fire sprinkler system.
Would we stay here again?........Yes we would.
June 2010

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Turtle Bay Villa Condo

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Although my stay was really too short to visit anything, we had a great time. It was our son's wedding and he rented a beach house. What I liked best was the 3 spacious bedrooms and the 3 bathrooms. Each bedroom had their own bath.
My dad, My brother, My husband and I, and 2 granddaughters were with us. My husband did get a chance to fish off the dock near the bay. Only complaints was their was no coffee but a coffee maker. Not their fault, hard to know what to bring. Need that fix in the morning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Note from owner: Yes, rentals don't generally come with coffee. However, I do try to keep my kitchen stocked with staples like this including sugar and creamer. Renters have been great about replacing what they use so that things don't generally run out. As I don't get to Folly nearly as often as I would like, occasionally things do run out. I will give a call to my local property management helper and ask her to restock. Thanks for letting me know.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Very neat and comfortable! Only a 10 minute walk to beach and only 15-20 minutes to Charleston. We enjoyed the amenities and the owner goes over and above to supply the guest with the "necessities". Beautiful sunsets from the dock. Plenty of space for people to stretch out. Have seen similar propreties listed for higher rents - so a lot of value for the money!

We will definately look to rent again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

I copied this comment from a renter's email to me
--Marguerite

Well we are packing up to leave early in the morning (sad). We really hate to leave. We have had the best time. We all agree this has been our best vacation ever. Worth every bit of the 2-day 19 hour drive. Your condo is great, very comfortable, beautifully decorated, great location and feels like home. My boys fell in love with crabing off the pier (they did it every night) and it was so great to just be steps away from the condo to do it. We all feel in love with this little town and I feel in love with Charleston. Thank you for sharing your special place with us.
-Annette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

Clean and convenient. Close enough to walk to food joints, do a little local shopping or just relax on the beach. Park area is great for kids, showers and bathroom facilities as well as a nice little snack bar. Parking is $7 a day and it is not crowded. Townhouse was a joy, enough space for everybody in a quiet area. Enjoyed the stay and look to coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

We spent a week in this very clean, very comfortable
townhouse. A short walk to the beach, church and
beautiful beach. Easy ride to Charleston. Don't miss
dinner at the Holiday Inn, no kidding, we went twice.
Would not have a problem renting again the six of us
had a ball.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

My wife,daughter, son in law and myself stayed at this fantastic condo memorial day week. We travel to the coast two or three times a year and have done so for over thirty years. I must say this is the first time the description and pictures did not do the place justice. Marguerite's place is fantastic!! Everything is top shelf. Just beautiful. Clean as a pin and very fresh. Great appliances and furnishings. Perfect!! Walking distance to any kind of resturant you want. A very short walk to the beach. Marguerite treats you like royalty. No complaints here, we'll diffently be staying again!!! Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

Marguerite, we had a great time!! I must say that your place was perfect! We go to the coast at least twice a year and have done so for most of my life. I've got to tell you that this is the first time the rental was nicer than the pictures and description. It was outstanding. We could tell you take great pride in it. We treated it as if it were our own. Thank you for sharing it with us. We're already talking about trying to rent it again the same time next year. Your resturant picks were right on target and your tips were great.

--This is from an email sent to me (the owner). I copied and pasted it here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

This condo was cozy and had everything our 6 guests needed. Very clean & fresh smelling. Made me feel like I was at home. Location was great because it wasn't right on the beach with the chaos of tight parking but still was only a 7 min walk to the shore. Will def. rent again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

A very nice, clean, comfortable townhome. It was the perfect layout for me and my friends. Each bedroom has its own private bath. Convenient walk to bars, restaurants, and the beach. Plus it was a quick and easy drive to downtown Charleston. Having all the kitchen amenities makes cooking dinner at home to save money a wonderful convenience. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 4, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this beach house. The house was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. it had everything we needed, and was very relaxing. It was perfect and my family and I greatly enjoyed our time there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: March 4, 2009

The house is absolutely beautiful, and so well
maintained. It is in a gorgeous part of this sleepy
seaside town. We stayed in the winter so the
weather was not as nice as it probably is in the
summer, but it was still incredibly beautiful and
relaxing. The area surrounding the house is a quiet
neighborhood, and within a short brief walking
distance to fun restaurants and low key bars.
Another hop over is the beach! The house has all
the necessities and more, the beds are comfortable,
and everything is so clean.

If you are looking for a stay in Folly Beach, this is
the place to rent!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

The vacation was great! Marguerite was so helpful
and provided us with a beautiful place to stay. She
went out of her way to make our stay perfect. We
loved Folly Beach and will hopefully return soon.
Chiara O'Connor

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

My family and I returned on Oct 4th from a fantastic week long vacation in Marguerite's townhome. The home is beautifully decorated and nicely furnished. You feel like you're tucked away from the rest of the world. It was very peaceful and very relaxing there. We loved it back on the river either walking on the dock or gliding on the large wooden swing. I can't say enough good about our whole vacation experience. Our children loved the ocean and playing in the tidal pools too!
We will definately come back to Folly Beach!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 20, 2008   Date of arrival: September 20, 2008

We had a delightful stay at Marguerite's beach town house at Folly Beach. She was great to work with: VERY helpful and professional. So nice to be dealing directly with the owner and not an agency. The property was so nicely decorated and well provisioned. The condo was very clean and the rugs had just been steamcleaned. Loved the porches. Great "cooks kitchen" for when we wanted to eat in for dinner. The condo had everything we needed - as others have stated, it definitely did not have a that "rental" feel. Turtle Bay is very nice and quiet and the pool is great. Easy walk to the beach and to town. No question, we will be back to stay again. Thank you, Marguerite for a great vacation!!!

RE Folly Beach: Lost Dog and Taco Boy are great family friendly places to eat - healthy fresh food choices. You can rent an umbrella at the beach for $10 for all day, chaise lounge option also. Great beach with long stretches of shallow water to wade with young kids. Try to get out to the end of Folly (go out to the end of East Ashley) where you can see Morris Lighthouse. It is gorgeous at sunset (just wear mosquito repellent). Just a short walk from the parking to the beach. I have stayed at Isle of Palms and Folly and I definitely prefer Folly for a more laid-back and pleasant family vacation.

Owners response: I do have a couple of beach umbrellas. 4 beach chairs, kids floatie toys, and 3 boogie boards ranging in size from tiny tot to adult. There is also a bike. Guests are welcome to use these items. Just please put them back the way you found them so other guests can take advantage of them. (Please note, I can't guarantee all of these items will be there. They tend to come and go and I cannot be there to monitor it.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2008   Date of arrival: July 23, 2008

We loved our stay at this townhouse. It was very spacious and everything was there that we needed. It was quiet and within walking distance of everything. We would stay there again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 6, 2008

Just returned from a fabulous week in Folly Beach at Turtle Bay. We loved everything about this unit...our daughter especially loved the pink room! This unit has everything that you need for a perfect vacation. We got up every morning, went to the dock, fished, saw dolphins, and then made the short walk to the beach. The pool is ideally located near the river and is a great place for some fun in the sun!
We'll definitely be back! Thank you Marguerite!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 13, 2008

We had a delightful anniversary/vacation/visit with daughter that lives on James Island! The home was very comfortable and clean. We especially liked having a garage & carport to put our vehicles in to keep them out of the hot sun. It was especially nice to have 3 bedrooms with 3 baths. The master bath with the walkthru closet was great. Our 11 1/2 month granddaughter (just started walking) had fun walking back & forth from the Living Room & Kitchen. Thanks for providing a grill to cook on too. I have one suggestion that I would like to comment on. The MBR covering, pillows & sofa had feathers/down filling. That is not a good choice when someone like myself has allergies & is allergic to feathers. I did bring my own pillow with me so I was alright. Thank you Marguerite.

Owners response: Clarification: The master bedroom does NOT have any down coverings or pillows, only the sofa cushions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

Very nice townhouse - perfect for attending a graduation at the Citadel and an easy walk to the beach/town. I too was pleasantly suprised at the partially stocked kitchen - staples really, but it prompted us to leave behind unused items to keep the practice going. The owner is responsive and was great to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 30, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised by the easy comfort and generously stocked kitchen. We have stayed at Turtle Bay in the past, and we would opt for this unit hands down.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2008   Date of arrival: April 13, 2008

Our time was so enjoyable that we have re-booked a second six week stay for the upcoming year. The townhouse is lovely, very spacious, and extremely quiet. The beach is a short five minute walk. Charleston and the surrounding historical locations are very easy to get to. The sunsets are gorgeous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 27, 2008   Date of arrival: March 27, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay! We definitely felt right at home the time we were there. Very clean and all the amenities we needed. Thank you. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 7, 2007   Date of arrival: August 7, 2007

This was our best family vacation ever!!! The beach
house is beautiful and was a great place to call
home. The house was much bigger than we
expected and was well furnished.

We enjoyed the beach, the pool, Charleston and the
shops and restaurants of Folly Beach. We will
definitely return... Thanks for sharing your home
with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

This may have been our family's best vacation ever! Your home is beautiful, spacious, clean and quiet. My children especially enjoyed fishing from the docks while I enjoyed relaxing in the swings. They also loved riding their bikes to the beach. After last year's Disney World vacation, we needed something more peaceful and we certainly got that! We will definitely visit Folly Beach and, hopefully, your home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2007   Date of arrival: May 28, 2007

Really enjoyed staying in your place! The house is big, neat, and doesn't have that "rental house" feel. The kitchen with some food for the first day, alcohol bar, lots of beer (from previous renters?) in the fridge and free bicycles in the garage made our stay even better!

We also loved Folly Beach, the Wash (great place to learn surfing), nice beaches (even comparing to snow-white sandy Gulf beaches), and charming Charleston, which was just 20 min drive away.
We would also recommend "11" restaurant with great tapas, and Costal Expeditions for kayak tour/rentals.

Enjoy!

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation! Future renters, please note that there is now only one bicycle. However, there are places nearby where you can rent a bicycle for use during your stay. Also "11" restaurant has been taken over by another restaurant, same address: 11 Center Street. The ambiance indoors and out is great. It even has a very nice open air/covered roof top section. Food is inexpensive and home style southern for the most part--good breakfast.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2007   Date of arrival: May 20, 2007

The property was much bigger and nicer than we expected. Very large and beautiful kitchen, great hardwood floors and lots of amenities. The house has everything and is really a home away from home. The secluded beach was a short walk or bike ride. We had a blast and can't wait to go back. Thanks for sharing your vacation home with us Marguerite!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 20, 2007   Date of arrival: May 20, 2007

The property was much bigger and nicer than we expected. Very large and beautiful kitchen, great hardwood floors and lots of amenities. It felt like a home away from home. The secluded beach was a short walk or bike ride. We had a blast and can't wait to go back. Thanks for sharing your home with us Marguerite!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2007   Date of arrival: May 15, 2007

I was very impressed on what a difference there was from the pictures that I saw online to when I actually walk in. I loved the stay at this well put together to townhouse and felt very at home. I also Like the fact the we choosed a family area where there were very frendliy people all around us. The walk to the beach was very short thru the neighborhood, where you could admire the home in the neighborhood. i will defently rent again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review