reviews for: listing #53265 - Chincoteague Island, Virginia Villa rental

Waterfront Sunset Bay Villas~Oct.Mini Wk.Special!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Bay Villas
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $128 - $256 /nt
    $950 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Truly a Dream Vacation for our family!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Captain's Quarters and Bonnie (the owner). The pictures are lovely, but truly do not do justice to the AMAZING views and well-appointed condo. The master bedroom is so nice and very romantic. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in (I didn't want to come home to my bed!) The kids each had their own room and plenty of room to spread out in. They loved having TV's in their rooms (a no-no at our home, but awesome for vacation!) The condo balcony is where we spent most of our time enjoying the ever-changing view and boat activity outside. It was a very private balcony--like a little oasis. We also loved just being one flight of stairs away from the cute and nicely furnished pool.

We enjoyed "water front dining" each night at the dining room table. You won't find a view like this at any restaurant on the island that is for sure.

Bonnie was really good to us and so quick to respond to our questions and even had a coffee maker delivered to us when we discovered that the one in the condo had been broken. She is just awesome!

Thanks you, Bonnie, for allowing us the chance to stay in your home. We plan to (God and finances willing!) to be back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jane,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time on the island and at Captain's Quarters.
Thank you also for sharing those great pictures of your family.
I look forward to having you back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beats all the rest

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

I only have good things to say about Captain's Quarter's at Sunset Bay Villas. The condo was lovely in every way. Although it was not ours, it felt just like home for the entire length of our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the simple ammenities such as televisions and cable in every bedroom, nicely equipped kitchen, beach chairs and crabbing cages. My husband loved kayaking in the bay and catching the crabs everyday. He never kept the crabs but simply enjoyed the process of baiting, catching and releasing. The island itself was so peaceful. We have never been there in late May, now we will never visit at any other time. Assateague was simply gorgeous as usual. All i can say is we will definitely be back next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed several days on the eastern Shore. We took our tandem bicycle and explored the towns: Saxis and Wachapreague. We enjoyed walking to the theatre, wonderful seafood restaurants just down the street from the Captain's Quarters. The condo is very clean and true to the photos and reviews. My favorite part was waking up to the water views in the Master bedroom! Try it for yourselves!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

My husband, I, and our two kids, ages 9 and 13 stayed at Captain's Quarters for a week in the end of August. The condo is spacious and full of light. It is very clean and well maintained. It has a home feel to it and has all you need. We appreciated all the extras - books for every age and interest, movie collection, lobster traps, and beach chairs. We loved the porch/balcony - the view is fantastic; a great place to sit with a book and a glass of wine. My daughter loved sitting on the porch and drawing the boats.
The location is excellent - we walked to all the restaurants and shops in the evening. Bonnie gave us great recommendations for local restaurants. Our two favorites were Don's for seafood and Channel Bass Inn for high tea.
The condo was pretty quiet even though there were quite a few families with kids staying.
Overall - this was a very relaxing vacation. We all loved it. We'll definitely come again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sister's Reunion

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

Perfect place for our five sister's reunion - we've stayed at other condos in Sunset Bay, this is our favorite! Comfortable, quiet, beautiful sunset views, convenient location to town - everything we could have possibly needed was provided by owner in this lovely condo. No question - we'll be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeds expectations!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

The photos of Captain's Quarters are lovely; however, I wondered whether or not the condo would live up to the photos. It not only lived up, but exceeded our expectations. The condo is spacious, beautifully decorated, and has the perfect lay-out. In addition, be prepared for beautiful sunsets off the deck each evening. The location is also very convenient to town, restaurants, shops, etc. In short, it's the perfect quiet get-away. We would love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Vacation - Will Be Back

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Captain's Quarters. We had 4 adults (2 couples) and found the condo to be very comfortable for us. We spent a week there and could not have had a better time or better weather. We were even lucky enough to see a rocket launch from Wallops Island Space Center while we were there.

The condo is situated in an ideal location for enjoying all that Chincoteague has to offer. Once we arrived and parked our car, we did not move it again. We brought 2 bikes and rented 2 bikes - and literally biked everywhere - to the beach, to the grocery store, to mini-golf, to pick-up clams and oysters, to restaurants, etc. When we didn't want to ride our bikes we walked. The area is ideal for biking and walking - locals are respectful of bikes on the road (there is a bike lane though), and some of the friendliest people we have ever met.

The water views and sunsets from the condo are spectacular - we didn't miss one during the entire week. We were fortunate enough to be able to enjoy dinner on the balcony every night and an occasional lunch as well - each morning we enjoyed our coffee watching the ducks and seagulls. We did do a little crabbing from the dock under our balcony and were actually able to catch enough to make some crab cakes.

While the condo does include (4) TV's, (3) DVD units, a Stereo, Phone, and High Speed Wireless Internet - I don't think we really had the TV on much at all - way too much to do and see while we were there.

We are all in agreement that we would definitely go back again. Our stay here was very enjoyable, the location of the condo could not have been better, the ease of getting around town on bikes and on foot was so much fun. We agree that a great part of what made this a special stay was the pleasure of dealing with Bonnie every step of the way as we planned our trip. She could not have been more responsive and pleasant whenever we asked one of our numerous questions. She was always quick to respond and with good information - she delivered on all that she said she would.

Gerry, Linda, Mike and Kathy

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pony Swim & Captain's Quarters - Perfect Together!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We couldn't have asked for better! The condo exceeded all our expectations, with its spectacular views of the sunsets, and amenities that were on a par with a 5-Star Hotel. And for an ex-Navy man, what could be better than breakfast on the Condo Deck, watching the deep-sea fishing boats passing by each day, gulls squawking, ducks quacking, and geese honking. Then there was the delight of an easy walk to shops and restaurants, and proximity to one of the most spectacular beaches that we have ever seen in the US - on Assateague Island State Park.

Oh, let's not forget all the helpful hints and recommendations you gave us that made our daily outings so memorable, especially "Afternoon Tea" at the most authentic tea house outside of London!! One of the most vicious thunder and lightening storms added a whole new perspective to the spectacular Pony Swim, but coming home drenched like drowned rats to the comfort of the Captain's Quarters made everything worthwhile!.

Thanks for the memories, and we'll be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Mary and Andrew,
WOW! Thank you, thank you!
I so enjoyed reading your wonderful review and especially, knowing that you had a fun Pony Week and a comfortable stay at Captain's Quarters.
You made me smile (: (: because I love hearing that my guests enjoyed the condo and the island. I agree with you, Assateague and Chincoteague are so special and unique!
I look forward to having you again and if you should need a little break from the busy world, fall on the island is busy with wildlife and winter is so peaceful.

Thanks again,
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Want to visit again.

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely condo. It was as the pictures showed, clean and beautiful. Wonderful view. We enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony and then later watching the sunsets. It was great to be able to walk to the shops and places to eat. Your list of things to do was so helpful as you were in answering all my questions. Had a good time on the islands, with a nice place to stay, good food and great friends. The only problem was having to leave, but hope to return again. Thank You!.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Dory!
I appreciate your kind words and I'm so glad that you had a good vacation. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Bonnie (: (:

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cool Watching the Rocket Launch on the Balcony!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Bonnie,
It’s my first day back at work and for that matter back on-line. We just wanted to let you know that we had a great time at your condo. It was pretty cool sitting on your balcony and watching the rocket launch on 4/21. Thanks for the restaurant tips too as I think we hit everyone on your list. Overall it was a very relaxing week and we hope to return soon. Thanks Again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Most Wonderful Stay at Captain's Quarters!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Just wanted you to let you know that we had a most wonderful stay at Captain's Quarters. Everything was special, your condo is beautiful and the trip was a much needed delight for this very busy family! Thank you for everything, you helped make our stay most enjoyable!! Have a wonderful summer!

Susan

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Spacious, comfortable, clean and nice view.

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

The condo was spacious and comfortable, just the way the pictures showed it to be. We had a good time there over a long weekend with 5 adults in the 3 bedrooms. The location is good, facing west and walking distance to restaurants, shops, grocery store and coffee shop. The pool was looking pretty though it was very cold and 28 MPH winds for most of our stay. We did use the exercise bikes and tread mill in the fitness center on a bad weather day. Bonnie provided a thorough list of things to do while on the island. Our family enjoyed renting bikes and biking all over Chincoteague and Assoteague Islands. I recommend the Chincoteague Wildlife Refuge (on Assoteague Islands) for biking, hiking, birdwatching and beach walks. Bonnie was very responsive to my questions ahead of time and during our stay. We liked this island's flounder and shell fish.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Anne,
So glad you enjoyed your stay, but sorry the weather was not so great.
Maybe you can catch another visit and some sunshine.
Kind regards,
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded our Expectations!

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Our group of 4 adults, 2 children, and a baby had a wonderful time staying at the Captain's Quarters. The condo looks good in the photos but is even more fabulous in person. When we woke the first morning in the master bedroom, my husband and I commented that we thought the bed was even more comfortable than our own bed at home. It was like sleeping on a cloud! We found the unit, as well as the entire complex, to be very clean and well maintained. The owner, Bonnie, is very pleasant, responsive and reasonable. Our stay went smoothly with no issues and we received our full security deposit soon after we returned home. We would definitely choose to return for another stay, or, as my 6 year-old niece said, "I wish we could live here forever!"

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful and well equipped condo for a wonderful stay

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

We stayed in the owner's condo a few weeks back and felt very comfortable there with our two small children. A highlight for us, apart from being on the beach in Chincoteague, was having breakfast on the balcony. One day we even saw some dolphins! Our children loved observing the boats come back every morning from the fishing.

If you want to have a very comfortable place without having to worry to take your household along this is the condo to be. Well equipped with many personal touches that make you feel at home. And the condo is well located with shops and restaurants nearby, as well as with a pool on site.

Also, the owner provides a lot of information for things to do and find on-site which is very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Helen,

Thank you for your kind words!
I'm so glad that your family enjoyed their stay at Captain's Quarters and the island. The children must have been thrilled to see the dolphins right near the balcony! Some of my previous guests have seen them too, but they have not been there when I come, LOL. Thank you for taking such good care of the condo too. I'm glad you found it to be well equipped. I keep putting more gadgets in the kitchen because I know some of our guests like to cook on their vacation.
We look forward to having you stay at Captain's Quarters again!

Sincerely,
Bonnie (:

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Still reminiscing about our lovely stay at Captain's Quarters!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

Even though our vacation was almost a year ago, we are still reliving the memories of Captain's Quarters. What a beautiful condo! It was the perfect size for my husband and I and his parents. The location can't be beat and so easy to find! Bonnie was great to work with and we felt right at home. Our favorite part was setting a pretty table and then dining on the balcony. We did this several times. And the views are spectacular! The weather was so pleasant compared to week of rain and floods back in our home area of York, PA. We loved being able to walk to town to shop and eat. We never miss going to Don's & Bill's! We also enjoyed breakfast at the Channel Bass Inn (delicious!) and taking an island boat tour with Captain Dan's (so fun!). I grew up in Salisbury and have always loved Chincoteagueand still visit as often as I can. My husband and I plan on many more trips to the island and hope to stay again at Captain's Quarters. We love it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Room with Beautiful Views

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I want to start by saying that before we even left for our trip, Bonnie made us so excited to come! She was so sweet and gave us all the information we needed. We could not wait to go. In our party were 4 adults, a three year old, a 6 month old and a 4 month old. We went Memorial Day week. When we opened the door to Captain's Quarters, we were amazed at the size of the condo and the amazing view. Right away we felt like we were on vacation. Bonnie had left a really nice note and shovel and bucket for my son. Once we started to explore, we had to flip to see who would get the huge master bedroom with a huge bathroom that included a beautiful view. All the bedrooms were large with plenty of space to put clothing. The kitchen was so open and nice. It was stocked with all the utensils you may need. The location was great. Not far from anything but not in the middle of it all. Our favorite part was at night after we put the kids to bed, the four of us sat out on the deck and played games. The view of the bay was so relaxing. We really felt like we were on vacation! Thanks so much and we are hoping to make this our new yearly vacation spot.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We look forward to having you next year and we will be adding more special touches to make Captain's Quarters even better. You are so right, it's so restful on the balcony and our views and sunsets are amazing. It's definately my favorite spot too.

See you next year! (:

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Immaculate Rental Property with Amazing Bay View

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The view from the glass enclosed porch is spectacular and the unit is pristine clean. Every where you looked you could find staff working hard to ensure the standard of this property was maintained throughout the building. The property owners, below this unit were very kind and helpful with crabbing advice and even offered advice on the best method for preparing them. If you like to stay home and cook, the kitchen is very well equiped and if you prefer to go out, the nicer resteraunts have got hospitality down to a science. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great view, great time

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

We are four retired seniors from Michigan on a tour of the Atlantic coast. This place made our visit to the island special. As soon as we walked in we were impressed by the view, the decor, the homeyness. This is a great place to kick back and relax. We had really good meals by just following the owner's recommendations. To top everything off, on our last day we spotted 3 ponies and 2 foals right by the road.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful anniversary getaway!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We just returned from a lovely week at Captain's Quarters. The condo exceeded our expectations! All of the owner's information about the property and the surrounding area was accurate and most helpful. We spent many peaceful hours walking the trails and beaches of nearby Assateague Island, enjoying the wildlife, including birds, ponies, turtles, and deer. The sunsets were incredible, and the restaurant and other touring suggestions helped make our anniversary week very special. The 500+ photos we took are a testament to our level of enjoyment. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and relatives. Thank you, Bonnie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We spent a week at this condo during the first week of March. Upon our arrival we were very impressed by the unit. The furniture was comfortable and we had all of the essentials you'd ever need when you're away from home. She put a personal touch to the decor which we found appealing. We can also vouch that the sunsets were beautiful. We recommend this unit to anyone that is looking to rent in that area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a great time. The condo is large, very clean and well maintained, with all the quality amenities to make one's stay more than confortable. The location is perfect, right by the water, with incredible views of the marshes and the waterway.

We enjoyed long walks in the Assateague island wildlife sanctuary and on the beaches, and good meals at some of the local restaurants suggested by the owner.

All the information that we received from the owner regarding the condo and the local attractions were accurate.

We would definitely recommend Captain's Quarters to anybody looking for a vacation in the area - we are considering returning in the near future as well.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend with UK friends

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Captain's Quarters. Despite rain most of the weekend, we enjoyed our time bird-watching from the balcony, sheltered from the weather. We were near enough to Assateague NWR to dash over there when the skies cleared. The condo is beautifully furnished and spacious. Our favorite restaurant on the island was just a few minutes walk away.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Captain's Quarters is Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This is our second stay at Captain's Quarters and, once again, we were extremely happy with the condo. It is decorated beautifully and feels like "Home away from Home". The condo is spotless, linens (if you choose to request) are top quality, and the view from balcony is pure bliss. It can be 100 degrees outside, but that balcony is placed in such a way to shield you from the hot sun and is very pleasant. The placement of the condo is in a quiet section - the only things I hear are distant boat motors and seagulls. You are in walking distance to downtown... and more importantly... Sugarbakers Bakery for a morning treat, and Bill's Restaurant for the best crabcakes on the island. Other guests and residents at Sunset Bay Villas are very friendly. Once again, we had a very enjoyable experience at Chincoteague and will certainly return to Captain's Quarters. Thank you Bonnie!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Mark,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review.

We look forward to having you and your guests again and promise to continue to offer a Vacation Home that exceeds your expectations.
In 2012 we plan to add a few things to Captain's Quarters to enhance your future visits!

My Best to You,
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Pony Penning Week

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Captains Quarters. Bonnie was wonderful to work with and easy to get ahold of. The condo has everything a family, large or small, could ask for. The kitchen had everything we needed for our home cooked meals. The views of the sunsets were terrific and we enjoyed the evenings crabbing from the piers. There was plenty of room for us to be comfortable and the kids enjoyed the wide selection of available games, books and movies. We look forward to our vacation next year at the Captains Quarters.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Captain's Quarters

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

We highly recommend the Captain's Quarters! It's difficult to find a place for a family of 8, but the owner didn't even blink. The kitchen is well equipped, there were plenty of linens, and seating for everyone. It's so clean it looks brand new. And it's within walking distance of several restaurants and only a 10 minute drive to Assateague beach. Every day, we would eat our meals out on the deck, taking in the views and enjoying the sunsets. And Bonnie was wonderful. She was available by phone if we needed anything, provided us with a welcome basket, and anticipated all our needs. We'll gladly stay at the Captain's Quarters on future Chincoteague visits. Thank you, Bonnie!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great rental!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in early March at Captain's Quarters. The condo is beautiful and all the amenties are as advertised. We enjoyed the views from the balcony every night and had a great time just hanging out. It's a great location and we really enjoyed being able to walk so easily into town. Will definitely come back!

Thanks for your hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hello Vicki,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Captain's Quarters and thank you for your kind comments!
Spring is a lovely time of the year to come and just relax.
I hope you were able to see that Bald Eagle at the marina.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

My best to you and your family!
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVED Captain's Quarters!!!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

Recently my boyfriend I spent an amazing week at the Capitan’s Quarters in Chincoteague! Beautiful fall weather! Loved running in the mornings either in town or by the wild life lake and the beach! The best part was coming back to the beautiful apartment with the most amazing view!! My boyfriend Ignacio and I enjoyed picking up fresh oysters fm local shops and some great Virginia chardonnay and relaxing on the porch! Fall sleep under the sun, read, listen to music! It was the most relaxing vacation… We loved Bonnie’s apartment, as it felt like we were home, clean and comfortable! We could have stayed another week or two! Thank you Bonnie for making our stay so pleasant!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded ALL Expectations!

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

My husband and I recently were guests at Captain's Quarters in October, 2010. Upon arriving we were both so elated to find the property and accommodations beyond that which was stated and shown in the photos! The pictures, as inviting as they are, do not convey the experience of refreshment and relaxation that you discover upon opening the door of your "home away from home." A hostess gift placed by the owner ensuring our creature comforts to be met in every area awaited us, and for that personal touch, I do thank you so very much. The Tips and Suggestion Sheet provided by the owner was referred to several times during the week, and the restaurant suggestions were most accurate as were the suggested activities. We tried as many as possible of the restaurants while vacationing and were quite fond of Bill's and The Creamery! The condo itself is so very tastefully decorated that I found myself quite content to read, relax, nap, and enjoy the gorgeous sunsets and the quiet retreat your property provided. I have conveyed to many friends since returning home that I have yet to vacation anywhere where I truly felt an insulation from the hustle bustle of life's demands of our fast-paced world. Captain's Quarters provided this haven for us. I would not only return myself, but I HIGHLY RECOMMEND without reservation a wonderful retreat awaiting anyone who ventures to stay. Thank you again, Bonnie for your investment in assuring our investment a wonderful return!

R

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Well Furnished, You Don't Need to Bring a Thing

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Two thoughts come to mind when I think about Captain's Quarters; first how well it is furnished. You don't need to bring a thing. Secondly, the location. Much thought must have gone into selecting a place where the sunsets can be viewed without obstructions. Certainly one of the big plusses as the deck in a terrific place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sun recede

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Choice!

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Hy husband & I and our daughters, ages 6 & 9, loved our stay at CQ. The condo is immaculate and beautiful. It's even prettier in person than in the web photos. Great location, very close to good bookstores, record shop, interesting boutiques, & the movies. We got lots of use out of the balcony-- --the best place to enjoy the spectacular sunsets. One morning, we watched a large pod of dolphins swimming by (baby dolphins too!). Lots of fun crabbing and fishing for porgies from the dock. Beach chairs & umbrella were very useful, too. Woodys, Steamers, and the Creamery were our favorite spots for food on the island. We loved our vacation & certainly made the right choice on where to stay! We certainly hope to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family with 2 Small Children

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

had a great time, beautiful condo. very helpful owner in making sure we had everything we need.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise in Chincoteague

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Our family trip was perfect because of Captain's Quarters! It is such a spacious and tastefully decorated condo--- the pictures are 100% accurate! The patio is perfect for the morning coffee and the evening glass of wine. The sunsets were spectacular as well as the view of the bay! My teenagers loved the pool and were able to meet other teens their age. I congratulate you on how clean the condo is. I have been coming to Chincoteague for over 25 years. I am going to rent Captain's Quarters every year. I have found Paradise in Chincoteague. The Village and Don's are still the best restaurants and Mr. Whippy's is a must. Thank you, Bonnie, for a memorable vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED Capitan's Quarters!!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

Recently my boyfriend I spent an amazing week at the Capitan’s Quarters in Chincoteague! Beautiful fall weather! Loved running in the mornings either in town or by the wild life lake and the beach! The best part was coming back to the beautiful apartment with the most amazing view!! My boyfriend Ignacio and I enjoyed picking up fresh oysters fm local shops and some great Virginia chardonnay and relaxing on the porch! Fall sleep under the sun, read, listen to music! It was the most relaxing vacation… We loved Bonnie’s apartment, as it felt like we were home, clean and comfortable! We could have stayed another week or two!

Thank you Bonnie for making our stay so pleasant!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Exceeded ALL expectations!

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

My husband and I recently were guests at Captain's Quarters in October, 2010. Upon arriving we were both so elated to find the property and accommodations beyond that which was stated and shown in the photos! The pictures, as inviting as they are, do not convey the experience of refreshment and relaxation that you discover upon opening the door of your "home away from home." A hostess gift placed by the owner ensuring our creature comforts to be met in every area awaited us, and for that personal touch, I do thank you so very much. The Tips and Suggestion Sheet provided by the owner was referred to several times during the week, and the restaurant suggestions were most accurate as were the suggested activities. We tried as many as possible of the restaurants while vacationing and were quite fond of Bill's and The Creamery! The condo itself is so very tastefully decorated that I found myself quite content to read, relax, nap, and enjoy the gorgeous sunsets and the quiet retreat your property provided. I have conveyed to many friends since returning home that I have yet to vacation anywhere where I truly felt an insulation from the hustle bustle of life's demands of our fast-paced world. Captain's Quarters provided this haven for us. I would not only return myself, but I HIGHLY RECOMMEND without reservation a wonderful retreat awaiting anyone who ventures to stay. Thank you again, Bonnie for your investment in assuring our investment a wonderful return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Admiral: Two thoughts come to mind when I think about Captain's
Quarters; first how well it is furnished. You don't need to bring a thing.
Secondly, the location. Much thought must have gone into selecting a place where
the sunsets can be viewed without obstructions. Certainly one of the big plusses
as the deck in a terrific place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sun
recede.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Great Choice

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Hy husband & I and our daughters, ages 6 & 9, loved our stay at CQ. The condo is immaculate and beautiful. It's even prettier in person than in the web photos. Great location, very close to good bookstores, record shop, interesting boutiques, & the movies. We got lots of use out of the balcony-- --the best place to enjoy the spectacular sunsets. One morning, we watched a large pod of dolphins swimming by (baby dolphins too!). Lots of fun crabbing and fishing for porgies from the dock. Beach chairs & umbrella were very useful, too. Woodys, Steamers, and the Creamery were our favorite spots for food on the island. We loved our vacation & certainly made the right choice on where to stay! We certainly hope to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

family with 2 small kids

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

had a great time, beautiful condo. very helpful owner in making sure we had everything we need.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise in Chincoteague

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Our family trip was perfect because of Captain's Quarters! It is such a spacious and tastefully decorated condo--- the pictures are 100% accurate! The patio is perfect for the morning coffee and the evening glass of wine. The sunsets were spectacular as well as the view of the bay! My teenagers loved the pool and were able to meet other teens their age. I congratulate you on how clean the condo is. I have been coming to Chincoteague for over 25 years. I am going to rent Captain's Quarters every year. I have found Paradise in Chincoteague. The Village and Don's are still the best restaurants and Mr. Whippy's is a must. Thank you, Bonnie, for a memorable vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Natalie,

Thank you for your kind words.
We plan to surprise you with additional improvements that will be added to the condo this winter!
Our goal is to make Captain's Quarters more and more cozy and inviting each visit...
Natalie, consider Captain's Quarters "Your August Home".
We've reserved your August week exclusively for you next year!

My best wishes to you and your family,
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Bonnie: Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful condo. The accommodations were clean, spacious and a true pleasure. Your pictures do capture an accurate description of Captain's Quarters! The views breathtaking. One week is way too short and goes by way too fast. Your tip sheet came in handy - went to AJ's, Chincoteague Inn and Bill's all were very good. Ann was wonderful and a pleasure to meet. We are already talking about a return trip! Take good care and thank you again.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family Escape

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

I wanted to take a quick minute to let you know about our stay in Captain’s Quarters. We had a wonderful time. The condo was fabulous, exceeding our expectations. The set up of the Master was great; I enjoyed sitting in the chairs overlooking the water. After mornings at the beach, our children enjoyed swimming in the pool in the afternoon.

Thanks for the tip sheet. We visited Bill’s restaurant on more than one occasion and took a trip with Captain Dan. The kids also enjoyed the donuts at Sugarbakers.

We will definitely be coming back to Chincoteague in the future and would enjoy staying at Captain’s Quarters again.

Thanks for helping us have a great vacation,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We enjoyed our stay so very much and actually hated to leave!

From the moment you wake in the door you breathe a sign of relaxation. The best part was waking up each morning to the most fabulous view from the bed. Bonnie, you did an excellent job of taking advantage of the views! Loved sitting in the chairs at the end of the bed in the morning before the grand kids woke with a morning cup of coffee and evenings on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the sunsets. The grand kids enjoyed their stay as well and really enjoyed the pool and waking each evening for ice cream.

Thank you so very much for letting us rent your place! we look forward to more stays in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Jan and ET!

So glad you all enjoyed your stay!
The views and sunsets are so special that we wanted to make sure our guests were comfy while enjoying them.
Many nights we have watched the fishing boats head out for the ocean all lit up...that's a sight to see too!

Perhaps the two of you can get away for a nice romantic weekend...just let me know and we'll order a special sunset and a bottle of vino for you!
Fall is lovely on the island and the rates are lower too.

Thank you for choosing Captain's Quarters as your home on the island...
We look forward to having you again,
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Condo was Fabulous, Exceeding Our Expectations

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Hi Bonnie,

I wanted to take a quick minute to let you know about our stay in Captain’s Quarters. We had a wonderful time. The condo was fabulous, exceeding our expectations. The set up of the Master was great; I enjoyed sitting in the chairs overlooking the inlet. After mornings at the beach, our children enjoyed swimming in the pool in the afternoon.

Thanks for the tip sheet. We visited Bill’s restaurant on more than one occasion and took a trip with Captain Dan. The kids also enjoyed the donuts at Sugarbakers.

We will definitely be coming back to Chincoteague in the future and would enjoy staying at Captain’s Quarters again.

Thanks for helping us have a great vacation.

Matt

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Extraordinary Week

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We loved our week in Chincoteague.Our accomodations were spectacular.The views of the bay and sunsets from the balcony and from the bedroom were absolutely beautiful.The unit was very spacious and the decor was outstanding.We were provided with lots of information about restaurants and attractions in the area by the owner.We highly recommend this unit.WE WILL BE BACK!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Kenny and Sue,

Our Condo, Captain's Quarters is a very special place for our family and our guests. We try to continuously add more "goodies" to the space. It is important to us that our guests feel special and that the condo is clean, cozy and complete.
Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to having you again!

Best to you,
Bonnie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

My husband and I and my sister and brother-in-law had a wonderful time. The condo is beautiful and had everything we needed. We were there in November and the weather was perfect...50 to 62 degrees and sunshine every day. Walking barefoot in cool sand at Assateague, seeing the ponies and visiting the lighthouse were great experiences. We're so happy we made the trip.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall is a great time for birding and exploring...

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

We spent a lovely week just after Thanksgiving in this beautifully furnished, comfortable condo. The area is great for birding and exploring, eating seafood, watching the channel for interesting activities. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bonnie was great to work with...

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful vacation week in Chincoteague. What a great place to visit! The condo was perfect-beautiful and spacious, great location, nice pool and fully furnished! Bonnie was great to work with. When we return, we will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great week!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The condo is just as described, beautiful.

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

The condo is just as described, beautiful. It is a great place to stay, with wonderful decor and an awesome view of the bay and sunsets. Very clean and comfortable, and just a block or two from downtown. Highly recommended

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Saw horses every day!

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We had a great vacation and found this condo to be superb. The quality and amenities were perfect. The complex was well-kept and the people friendly. It is clean, safe and lovely with amazing views. Our kids loved catching crabs and fishing right off the deck, and all of Bonnie's recommendations were right on. We also enjoyed early morning walks on the beach and picking up shells. We saw horses every day, and even came upon them within arm's length on the road to the beach. Thank you Bonnie!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Captain's Quarters

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Hi Bonnie, Just wanted to say what an awesome condo you have. It's beautiful. We loved our stay there. Sitting on the deck as the sun sets is so nice. You have certainly made it very warm and inviting. My wife loved the decor and furnishings. Thank you for the zucchini bread also. It was delicious. It was a pleasure working with you, and we hope to do it again. Thanks again, Mark

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

We stayed for a wonderful week at the end of the summer of 2009. We have stayed in other units here, but this one is surely the best of the bunch. The view is amazing and tranquil. It's quiet, elegant and relaxing. You won't be sorry making this your vacation destination. The unit is amazing.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

We spent a lovely week just after Thanksgiving in this
beautifully furnished, comfortable condo. The area is
great for birding and exploring, eating seafood,
watching the channel for interesting activities. We
hope to return. Susan Pierce, Temple, NH.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful vacation week in Chincoteague. What a great place to visit! The condo was perfect-beautiful and spacious, great location, nice pool and fully furnished! Bonnie was great to work with. When we return, we will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great week!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

The condo is just as described, beautiful. It is a great place to stay, with wonderful decor and an awesome view of the bay and sunsets. Very clean and comfortable, and just a block or two from downtown. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We had a great vacation and found this condo to be superb. The quality and amenities were perfect. The complex was well-kept and the people friendly. It is clean, safe and lovely with amazing views. Our kids loved catching crabs and fishing right off the deck, and all of Bonnie's recommendations were right on. We also enjoyed early morning walks on the beach and picking up shells. We saw horses every day, and even came upon them within arm's length on the road to the beach. Thank you Bonnie!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Hi Bonnie,

Just wanted to say what an awesome condo you have. It's beautiful. We loved our stay there. Sitting on the deck as the sun sets is so nice. You have certainly made it very warm and inviting. My wife loved the decor and furnishings. Thank you for the zucchini bread also. It was delicious.

It was a pleasure working with you, and we hope to do it again.
Thanks again,
Mark

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time at Captain's Quarters! Chincoteague is a unspoiled, family friendly community great for all ages! Opportunities for biking, crabbing, relaxing and unwinding abound

Captain's Quarters was the right place to call home during our time away! The view and cozy balcony topped it all off!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

We just returned from spending a week in this gorgeous condo. As others have said, it's beautifully furnished, it's large, so comfortable & immaculate. The owner was great to deal with - she made every effort to accommodate our wishes and her extra touches throughout the condo were very much appreciate.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 15, 2008   Date of arrival: October 15, 2008

Captain's Quarters is a beautiful condo with a wonderful view! If you are looking for a wonderful getaway to a beautiful home that is in a convenient to everything in Chincoteague you should definitely stay here. My husband I thorougly enjoyed our stay and will be returning again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2008   Date of arrival: September 19, 2008

We really enjoyed our time together in your very special condo - inside and out.
As many others have noted, it is decorated beautifully and has lovely furnishings!

These things, along with your extra touches, the card awaiting us along with chocolates, are so appreciated and were very enjoyable.
Thank You !!
R & J Watson, VA
(the above note was from a Honeymoon couple)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

We wish we had rented for 2 weeks - not just one!
Unfortunately we have commitments to return back to next week!
This apartment has made our vacation very special. We have enjoyed spending time in it - it is a beautiful unit in a beautiful setting. We are thrilled to have finally made it over to Chincoteague and just wish we lived closer.

We look forward to future visits here.
Thank you!
The Radford Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

I can't believe I haven't heard of this beautiful Island before. How gorgeous. The views from your balcony breath-taking. We just loved listening to the birds in the morning from it and watching the sun set in the evening.
We packed many things into our four day stay. Right away we rented bikes for the entire stay (best idea ever).
One can really see the island by bike. We especially loved biking to the seashore & stopping along the way to watch the wildlife. Our youngest (age 15) probably took 500 pictures!
We rented a boat for the day and took it to Assateague where we saw four ponies on the beach (one we even pet).
We enjoyed the local restaurants especially the Chicken Parm. at Mr. Baldie's.
Will be finishing our vacation with a meal at Bill's Seafood Restaurant.

The best way I can describe this place is Cape Cod unspoiled and without the crouds!

We'll definately be back!
The Kamphaw Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this week. You have a lovely condo...beautiful views, beautiful furnishings...extremely comfortable.
The condo was perfect for us.
Thank you so much for having the wireless internet installed. It allowed us to keep up with our jobs while still being on vacation.
We would love to stay here again. Chincoteague was fun in a laid back way...
Very relaxing!
R.,J. & K. Nilsen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

This week was a ton of fun. Your house is beautiful. Since we were here during pony swin week, we went to see them swin there. It was a very cool thing to see. We definately enjoyed our stay here.
Thank you so much.
Jeanette, Kevin and the Kids

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

We loved your place so much. It is beautiful here. I would love to come back next year.
Thank you.
P. Holdorff

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

Awesome time this week at your gorgeous home. The weather was just perfect and our family had some quality bonding time as well.
We really love the quaint island atmosphere, no crouds or noise like we had when we went to the shore in Jersey.
Your home is absolutely perfect in every way. It was so nice to wake up to the gulls and the water every day. We spent many hours on the deck just reading or talking to each other. What a concept!
Would love to come back next year if possible.
Thanks again!
D. Chipollini, PA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

We enjoyed your suite. We had so much fun! I loved going in the pool! And the beach! My mom and dad enjoyed the balcony. They loved the sound of the ocean and the cool breeze. Plus, I must add, that it is the best suite I have ever been to in my life! The suite was clean, my dad and brother enjoyed the fishing, my sister LOVED the shopping as well as my mom and I loved the horses. My dad and brother cought so many fish! It was cool! It was an awesome adventure! Even though we were only here for five days it was packed with a weeks worth of fun! Thank you!

Lindsay and The Sabellas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 21, 2008

Thank you for letting us use your beautiful home this week. We had a wonderful time. We have spent time on the beach, ridden our bikeson the trails, swam in the pool, shopped, enjoyed sitting on your balcony early morning and late evening and just enjoyed being here.
Thanks again for the use of your home. It is beautiful.

Faye

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 25, 2008

Thank you for a lovely week at your beautifully decorated home- we hope to be back next year!

L. Crowe

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review