reviews for: listing #5333 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Villa Sombrero - Exclusive Affordable Waterfront Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sombrero Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,850 - $3,950 /wk
    $7,000 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation Getaway!

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

Our family has been staying at this home every September for the past several years and we love it! The seawall is a magnificant place to watch the colorful sunsets; not to mention the great igauna and manatee watching that goes on there! We do a lot of fishing off the seawall too. The fish cleaning table is handy when we unload from our boat that is docked off the seawall. The pool is a fun place to keep cool and watch all the boat traffic - the lobster and fishing boats returning for the day. The house has a perfect layout and is very comfortable. It is conviently located near grocery and souvenir shopping. I would recommend it for families of all ages! We can't wait for next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We take great pleasure in making our home available to the many visitors of the Florida Keys. Our Villa Sombrero extended family visit from far away places like Austria, Germany, South and Central America, to visitors from all parts of the US including our backyard of Florida.

We strive in making our home your home away from home.

Please give us a call to discuss your Keys vacation needs. You will love it here.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Relaxing, Private, Perfect for large families

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Located in the heart of Marathon, This house is in a perfect setting for exploring the The Florida Keys. Younger visitors without cars will find a wide range of close by things to do. For travelers wanting to visit Key West, it is within an hour away. If you do not want to drive the Key West Transit bus service is available to Key West on the same block; the same bus runs through the lower keys in the other direction. Car owners will find plenty of parking including boat/trailer parking. There is a Publix, Walgreens, liquor, bait, bar and McDonalds within walking distance. The property is very clean (newly painted, new appliances) home could not be more perfectly located. If you have a boat this property is ideal with easy access to both the Atlantic and Gulf side. The split house provides privacy for multiple families on a relaxing vacation. There is no way you should ever rent a vacation home without a pool and this house has a perfect one over looking the canal.

We have rented this home each May for over 5 years. We enjoy having a private boat slip, pool, separate living quarters, large private lot, location and relaxed setting. Fishing off the dock is one of the family’s favorite things to do in the evenings. There are several rental houses in the Marathon area but we have found this property to be the best when having such a huge age range. The property is an older property but has been well taken care of.

There is a washer and dryer, outside shower & deep freezer on back patio. You can normally find a few tennis balls and pool floats (if the vacation renters before didn't take them). The view from the upstairs unit is breath taking.

If you are looking to relax in The Keys this is the place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Better Place to Stay in the Keys!!

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Our elderly mom, 5 adults, and 3 kids all stayed very comfortably in this great home and had an idyllic week of fun, sun, fishing & relaxation together! Gary even got us a powered recliner for Mom so that we didn't have to worry about comfort/mobility! Gorgeous location on a waterway (great nighttime fishing off the dock!) that's a quick access either way to the ocean; minutes to a nearby boat-rental if you don't want to drag yours down; we rented a pontoon with a 150-horse motor that got us out in the ocean quickly!! Quiet neighborhood, terrific pool, comfy beds, very clean, lots of hdtvs throughout the house, awning by the pool so you can sit outside without broiling, gas & charcoal grill, absolutely everything you need to just really relax and enjoy, whether you're with friends or family! Dolphins in the water, iguanas, crabs, and wading birds visiting poolside -- it feels like you have a Key to yourself when you're on the patio or dock, or in the pool or hammock -- but you're 2 minutes from Publix, Winn Dixie, KMart, CVS, Walgreens -- super convenient! One hour to Key West (though why anyone wants to go there is beyond me, except for the Cuban food...).

You can't beat the price for what you get -- a hotel couldn't have provided the same amenities and comfort, and would have cost so much more for our large family to stay at! Gary, the owner, is absolutely dedicated to ensuring that Villa Sombrero is everything it's advertised to be -- we won't look anywhere else to stay again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Great vacation home. We stayed for a week, two families of four. In organizing the rental, Gary was always available and pleasant to work with. When we got to the house it was clean and wildlife welcomed us. Iguanas, crabs, birds, eels, dolphins, lots to see. The location is great. It is very private and quiet. The golf course has a mile and half loop nice for walking in the mornings. We rented a boat and had a great time fishing, snorkeling, soaking up the sun, and docked it at the house. The kids spent hours in the pool. The only complaint was the no-see-ums in the evening, so your either in the pool or in the house at that time. But being so close to the wildlife and private location made it worth it. No problems with the return of the security deposit.

Owners response: "Villa Sombrero" is what the Florida Keys is all about. Wildlife, Sun, Fun, Fishing, Boating, Snorkeling, Diving, Relaxing, Family time and much much more. I hope more families get the opportunity to enjoy this great location.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Unfortunate interruptions and unfair fee

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Stayed with family and two small kids, had a pleasant time overall. Bugs were typically bad. Iguana was swimming in the pool upon arrival. Really fun to fish off the cement seawall. We launched a kayak and paddleboard pretty easily. Mangrove island across the channel has lots of trails to wander through and see an occasional snake or tree crab. Tennis court needs some TLC but played fine. Not enough tennis balls so we bought some. Grill works fine. Kitchens are stocked with fairly inexpensive cookwear; not the perfect place to cook gourmet meals. Outside pool furniture is getting old. One of the lounge chairs was broken -- almost everyone fell victim at least once to its busted plastic backrest (older folks could have been hurt). Some of those outside lounge chairs stuck waffle like burns on our skin (the imprint of the plastic stayed visible for days). Inside downstairs, the dining table was wobbly and not easy to get along with. Coffee table had a broken leg and sharp, jagged glass, protected by a piece of pool foam. Sliding glass doors were hard to use and did not roll easily. Upstairs shower was faulty and although there were several toilets, we counted just one plunger. Otherwise the upstairs was nice, the patio upstairs was probably our favorite place to have dinner or coffee. The owner unfortunately had 2 service visits scheduled during our week; our breakfast on Tuesday was interrupted to come home and let the first person in. Then the owner had another inspector come, but he said previously that the 2nd inspector could have come the following week (when no was there); so we discussed, and I thought we agreed that this 2nd inspector would instead come the following week. But that 2nd person then ended up coming the next day anyway. Again, our privacy was interrupted but this time it because we had to deal with an inspector who could have come when none one was there? Owner said dogs welcome, and before we arrived he had commented on his own dogs and how a prior guest had been cut a break on the “dog deposit” fee. This was nice to hear. So our dog was there and stayed downstairs. He did not go upstairs more than briefly. When we left, we noticed insufficient cleaning supplies. Good thing we had kept it pretty tidy. Before we departed by by the 9 am checkout, we cleaned both floors, including sweeping up with the broom. The owner later hit us with an extra $75 fee for dog hair cleaning, which we felt to be unfair, all things considered.

Owners response: Really surprising review.

I received a text when they departed that said:

Thanks Gary, we had a great time. Everything was Great! I said : I Hope you come back next year. They said Me too, We will be in touch.

This family initially reserved the house without an animal then made arrangements at a later date and the brother who made the reservations did not want his funds to be used for any dog issues. This should have tipped me off. The sister fronted the dog deposit and I charged them for dog hair removal. I advised them that I would charge for hair removal . They claimed they swept three times and doubted my claims until I sent them pictures.

I guess the extra charge set them off to discredit my great vacation rental property. With regard to service visits - I asked for their permission and they agreed. When they arrived they disabled and broke the pool alarm on the sliding glass door, thus the need for one of the service calls. They of course denied breaking the sensor after my house engineer observed them hiding the damaged part.

Outside pool furniture and coffee table have been replaced but perhaps a towel could have been used to protect their skin, just a thought.

All things considered this family appeared to have a good time but did spend some time looking for complaints after I charged them for the dog hair removal.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great house, great location

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Me and my 2 sons just returned from our fabulous vacation and are already planning next years vacation. The house was great, fully equipped and very comfortable. The house is located on a quiet street but close to grocery stores and Kmart as well as Sombrero beach. My boys loved the pool and fished every day. There is a separate freezer to keep bait and a cleaning station on the sea wall. It was nice to be able to enjoy eating the fish we caught that day while watching the sunset from the house, doesn't get much better than that! The owner was extremely helpful.

We would definitely recommend staying at Villa Sombrero.

Owners response: It is with great pleasure to know that my guests enjoyed their stay at "Villa Sombrero". "Villa Sombrero" is a home away from home for many of my customers. The Florida Keys is definitely a great vacation destination even if you do not fish or dive. If you are looking for a stress free environment "Villa Sombrero" is the place for you and your family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

My husband and myself, his parent's, his sister's and spouse's stayed at the Villa Sombrero for a fantastic week. Gary was WONDERFUL...calling to ensure we had arrived and found everything we needed. The house is beautiful and the location was perfect! We caught mullet from the dock...dolphin swam by daily...docked our rental boat at residence...it was really the ultimate vacation! We are rounding up some friends to come with us on our next trip! This is THE place to stay!!!!! (by the way...GREAT dining at Island Fish Company and Lazy Daze)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home and Great Location

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We have been vacationing in the Keys for the past 12 years. Villa Sombrero was the best location we have ever stayed. The house was the perfect size for our family which includes our adult children and a grandbaby. The location was just a short ride by boat to Sombrero Reef, which we find to be the best snorkeling!! We fished off the seawall every night and actually caught fish! The property is also pet friendly, which was great. The grocery stores and Kmart are right at the corner. The owner was very helpful and was always there to answer any questions. It was a lovely house and a very relaxing atmosphere...Thanks again for sharing your home with our family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We had the best time ever, had a reunion with friends we had not seen in 30yrs and could not have asked for a better place to spend it. Perfect set up to seperate the guys from the ladies and to be able to enjoy a great leisure time without having the chance to withdraw from joint activities or just swim in the pool, which was frequently cleaned. We had the best time ever.

Thanks Gary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Villa Sombrero is truly the perfect vacation home to enjoy the many natural resources it has to offer. Large waterway leading to the Atlantic, natural preserve with many birds visiting daily, no neighbors to speak of, jogging biking and walking path adjacent to the golf course and much much more.

We look forward to sharing our vacation house with many more quests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Property !!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

My wife and I entertained 6 teenagers for a week of spring break at this wonderful home . The docks were most accommodating for our 46 foooter and 22 footer . Only a short idle to the Atlantic . The pool and tennis court were great . The floor plan works great for families and guest providing privacy with the two totally separate living areas . This home is very clean and well maintained . The owner was very responsive to any of our request. It's a great value !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We love to share our vacation home with families that appreciate the Villa's unique characteristics.
A short cruise to the Atlantic or Gulf, the ability to visit the many great eating establishments and attractions, fishing from the seawall, relaxing in the lounge chairs around the pool, viewing great sunsets, less than an hour drive to Key West, private tennis court and the golf course in your front yard. We encourage feedback from all our guests and will continue to strive and improve the vacation home experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

May 2011 Review

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

My family and I, three generations total, stayed at Villa Sombrero for a week in May 2011. The property description was very accurate and the owner was very helpful—provided all of the necessary information to enjoy his property, plus provided directions from MIA airport. The property was well maintained, clean, and in a great location. Our family enjoyed fishing in the early morning and late afternoon and saw dolphins, manatees, various fish, octopus, and a wide variety of boats. The pool was clean and the local beaches were gorgeous. I would certainly recommend this property, especially as my family plans to use it again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable Vacation

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Our fourth trip back to this house. Love the location, pool, tennis court and area. House is comfortable; owner was very responsive to our needs. Will be coming back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: "Villa Sombrero" is the perfect vacation spot for families. The location on Sisters Creek is just minutes away from the Atlantic or Gulf. The outdoors can not be beat with its breathtaking views of the waterway, natutal preserve and golf course. The heated pool and tennis court and absence of neighbors makes Villa Sombrero a very private, exclusive and affordable location to enjoy your family vacation. Call the owners now to book your spot in paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for a getaway!

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

We arrived very late, so could not see exactly where we were. However, come morning, the view was worth being alive in itself! It is in a beautiful location. I spent hours fishing from the dock, and caught some lovely fish for the barbie. The location is worth the money. OK, the house could do with a few upgrades. Upstairs is better furnished than downstairs, and there are no modern tvs so we couldn't play with the Wii we took with us incase of rainy days. ( We had wonderful weather). The patio furniture lets the place down. Plastic chairs and table, but there are some decent loungers, and the pool was too cold to use until half way through our holiday, but all this aside, we had a great time and I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a holiday in the Keys. I would go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ultimate Vacation Spot

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

My title says it all! This is truly the ultimate vacation spot in the Florida Keys. We stayed at the home for the first time in May of 2010 and had the time of our lives and we have been coming to the Keys for 15 years. Whether you are into fishing, golf, boating, or just relaxing by the pool, this place has it all. The owners were very accomodating and made sure we had everything needed to make the most of our stay. We cannot wait to get back! I would recommend Villa Sombrero to anyone considering a vacation in the Keys. It is our first choice of accomodations and should be yours too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very pleased to share our vacation homes great features with the many visitors we have had over the years. The minute you pull up to the driveway and view the natural waterway and its beautiful features the stress level that many of us carry with us automatically vanishes. The large heated pool, lounge chairs, hammock nested amongst the palms, tennis court, sun room overlooking the pool and waterway with over 200' of seawall, front porch that overlooks the gold course and comfortable accomodations within the Villa makes it all worth the drive and travel arrangements to get to the beautiful Florida Keys.

"Villa Sombrero" is in the beautiful Sombrero area where you find large single family lots and homes and only one of the two professional Golf Courses located in the Florida Keys. The Villa has only one neighboring property and overlooks a natural preserve, thus it is private, seclusive and affordable. The waterway behind the Villa is a short way to the Atlantic to all the great fishing and diving spots or you can travel through Boot Key Harbour and visit the many waterfront dining establishments or exit to the seven mile bridge to enter the Gulf.

What are you waiting for make your reservation today.
You will love it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

September Every Year

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

Our family has been staying at this home every September for the past several years and we love it! The seawall is a magnificant place to watch the colorful sunsets; not to mention the great igauna and manatee watching that goes on there! We do a lot of fishing off the seawall too. The fish cleaning table is handy when we unload from our boat that is docked off the seawall. The pool is a fun place to keep cool and watch all the boat traffic - the lobster and fishing boats returning for the day. The house has a perfect layout and is very comfortable. It is conviently located near grocery and souvenir shopping. I would recommend it for families of all ages! We can't wait for next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family vacation spot

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

We have spent two weeks in Marathon for the last nine years and spent last summer renting this home. We spent two wonderful weeks in this home last. It was an absolute perfect location for all activities. The home, pool and grounds are well kept and beautiful. We can't wait to stay here again. It is perfect for all ages as we had grandparents and children. The owners were helpful and available if needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Yearly fishing Vacation

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

For the last 3 years my whole family has gone down in late May and early June . The three daughters loves the pool and the fact that its less that 1 hour to Key West . All us guys love the fact that the boat is right there and that were gone and fishing in less that 20 mims. We all fish right off the sea wall at night and every year thats one of our best times together. Grilling out swimming and fishing altogether right there at the house. You will find everything you need right there on Marathon Key. We are looking forward to this year (2009) vacation at the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Villa Sombrero

Review submitted: July 29, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

We spent two weeks here, with various family members joining us for a day or two as time allowed. Everyone was very happy with the property -- a nice intimate place to hang around, not sharing a pool with strangers or having to schedule tennis court time. Pretty much the ideal Keys experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review