reviews for: listing #53379 - Nosara, Costa Rica House rental

Sounds of the Sea
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Playa Ostional
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $500 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,500 /wk
    $4,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

We'll Be Back!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

My family and I loved this house, and we are pretty sure we will be back! The living spaces are the best of the 4 houses in this gated community, a quick walk away from the beach. The house has a mater bedroom with a king, and another bedroom with two queen beds, separated by a hallway/closet. It would be great for two couples or for a couple and a little family, or couple with a bunch of kids!

The pool is amazing. You can swim in the infinity pool and look out onto the ocean. The veranda is huge with comfy couches and also looks out onto the ocean. There's also a little outdoor seating area under a shady tree which is the pest place to drink a coffee or a tequila. The bedrooms are lovely, the kitchen is big and beautiful. What more could you want?

A few things to note: don't rent a car, rent an SUV or truck because you pass through (small, deep puddle like) river beds to drive around in the area. There is no internet connection, and the rocket hubs you can buy are slower than dial-up. I think that's all you need to know. There is a guy who takes care of the four houses and he'll hook you up with whatever you need.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A magical spot

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Thank you for another wonderful, relaxing, funny, and inspiring time at your beautiful home in Costa Rica...a name befitting such a magical country and even more magical spot you have managed to make so comfortable and special.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation We Ever Experienced!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We wanted to express our deepest thanks for letting up enjoy your beautiful home! It was the best vacation we ever experienced! We are in love with Costa Rica. Hopefully we will see you again since we are extrememly interested in finding a place for ourselves in the near future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So much to do!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Our stay in Ostional at Sounds of the Sea is coming to an end in a few hours. When we booked our stay here we were a little concerned that there would not be much to do, but as we are packing to go, I feel such an ache to have to leave this place without having seen or done half of what we would have liked to do. Playa Guiones, Playa Pelada, Samara, Garza, Juanillo. We visited all these towns and beaches and loved all of their different personalities. We wish we could have returned to them more. I rode my first zip line with Miss Sky, watched terrified as my husband surfed waves, had our anniversary dinner as the sun set high on the hill at Lagarta Lodge. We have to say, however, that out of all of these things, Playa Ostional stole our heart. The view from the house is enough to make you cry and if you lay be the pool at night with no lights on, you are reminded how small we are and how infinite the universe is.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida!

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

From our arrival nurtured with Will's full attention to our last day here, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The sunsets are absolutely fantastic and the ocean view and gardens are beautiful. Your home is very liveable, with its open architecture which allowed us to enjoy the jungle landscape. Many cups of coffee were spent while enjoying the serenity of the early morning in the candle garden with humming birds and ocean breezes...or by the pool, watching iguanas, howler monkeys, and other exotic creatures. We lived the adventure of Costa Rica and it has brought us back to the simplicity of life. It gave a place to rest, renew and rejeuvenate. And we learned a new phrase, "pura vida". Thank you for your part in God's plan to teach us this. Merritt, Pat, Brennan and Kirsten (OK, USA)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Las maravillas de Dios!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Sounds of the sea:
Es un pequeño paraiso,un lugar en donde se combinan las diversas bellezas naturales y usted pasa a ser un miembro más de la hermosa creación de Dios. Es un refugio que emana paz y tranquilidad, donde se descansa no solo de la fátiga y cansancio físico;sino también,donde descansa el alma.
Este lugar cuenta con todos los atractivos naturales,para que tengamos un lindo encuentro con la naturaleza y por ende con El Creador del Universo.
Disfruté cada cada día,cada minuto...La mirada se pierde en el infinito mar azul,el sol te visita cada mañana y se despide haciendo pinceladas de colores en el bello cielo,con un fondo musical de distintas aves y los sonidos del mar...algo incomparable,sin palabras. Pero,no conforme con su actuación,el astro sol, al ocultarse le recomienda a la hermana Luna,seguir bañando con mucho amor y emotividad, ese paraiso.Los reflejos color de plata, hacen su aparición conforme avanza la noche... Fuimos testigos de la luna llena más grande del año,en los últimos veinte años.
La cálida casa complementa lo exterior y no sabe uno, si permanecer afuera,admirando tanta belleza o refugiarse,para esperar el siguiente amanecer.
Fue un paseo inolvidable! Dios bendiga ese hogar,Willy! Y quienes visiten este privilegiado lugar, sé que experimentarán algo igual o mejor...Descanso de alma y cuerpo y tener un fructífero encuentro con el Creador y la naturaleza.Nosotros fuimos bendecidos,al poder disfrutar estas maravillas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kristian Escapa

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

I cannot tell you how much we loved the home as well as Ostional & Nosara in general. Jose & I ended up having it the majority of the time to ourselves because the other couple was delayed a couple of days due to the bad weather you guys were having in New York. Everything from the aesthetics of the house, the amazing view (I saw a whale one day!), the surround sound, having the fridge where we could continually refill our water instead of feeling wasteful & having to buy new bottles, even the flashlights you provided. The first night there were no clouds in the sky and we sat by the pool and just watched the stars. We had never seen so many stars, it really was breathtaking. We will definitely return and will tell everyone we know about the home. I think the location was fantastic because we could go to the Nosara beaches in the day and return to walk Ostional beach for sunsets. The people in Costa Rica were so kind as well. And William...what an amazing person he was to meet and have as our contact. His helpful advice, from having us stock up on groceries in Liberia to where to get gas, pointing out Juanillo were definitely appreciated. I wish he had lived closer we would have liked to take him out to dinner to hear more of his hilarious stories. What I liked most about him, and I'm sure the same goes for you, is the concern for the enviornment. The recycling, the container for tossing compost, the rags instead of napkins, the minimal lights in the backyard to prevent confusing the turtles are all testiments to how you two feel about Costa Rica & the enviornment in general.

Thank you for being a part in such an amazing vacation, James, Costa Rica changed us.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review