reviews for: listing #53381 - Seattle, Washington Apartment rental

2 Bedroom Downtown Seattle Oasis
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $215 - $275 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,750 /wk
    $5,300 - $5,800 /mth

sort by:

Great Location

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

The location was great. We were in walking distance of all the downtown locations; such as Pike's market, Space Needle and the Aquarium just to mention a few.
The codo was clean and comfortable. Our only problem was that we brought steaks and seafood back to grill on the rooftop deck and both grills on the roof had empty propane bottles. It wasn't the same in the condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Mike,

Glad you had a great time. I am sorry about the Propane Tanks as that is something that the building manager is in charge of taking care of. If it was a nice weekend when you stayed, other residents may have used up the gas without notifying the office. Unfortunately not everyone knows how to use common amenities and be considerate to others in the building.

When in a bind (like running out of gas mid grill) I have finished off steaks in the oven and had them turn out nicely. Just thought I'd mention it as you may want to look online and give it a try sometime.

Let us know when you are back in town, happy to host you again.

Darik Eaton
Seattle Oasis Vacation Rentals

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't stay there if you want a decent night's sleep

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

The condo is located on a very noisy street with a bus stop RIGHT under the condo's windows. There's also no AC and on a warm day it gets very stuffy inside. We couldn't open the windows at night at all because it was just too noisy and there are no screens on the windows (which was a huge surprise, is it not done in Seattle?). There are fans in the bedrooms but they are noisy and I am a light sleeper so I couldn't use them. Other negatives include semi-transparent bathroom door that doesn't even closes fully and gives you very little privacy. I went with my mom and my sister so it wasn't a huge problem for us, but if you go with another couple or with grown kids it can get very awkward. This is a strange decorating choice for a condo that's supposed to accommodate more than 2 people; a folding door, a pocket door or at least a sliding door made of solid material that closes fully would've been a better and much more practical choice.

Also, I sometimes wondered if the owners even visit their condo, because if they did, they'd see that some vertical blind are missing which makes it even harder to get any sleep - there's a very bright street light right across the street.

The bathroom has a washer and dryer, which was very nice, but the bathroom counter is very small, you'd get more counter space in a hotel bathroom. We appreciated having full size shampoo, conditioner and soap in the bathroom, that was a nice touch, I didn't expect to find shampoo/conditioner there since it's not a hotel.

The bedrooms are small (just enough space to walk around the queen sized beds, they don't look as spacious in person as they look in the pictures), the beds are nice and comfortable and the linens are great. I would've enjoyed my bed even more if it wasn't so noisy and stuffy and if I could get any sleep.

I definitely wouldn't recommend that anybody sleeps in the living room, it's pretty small and if you open the sleeper couch there won't be any place to move, plus there is this bright street light shining right into the living room.

The condo is nicely decorated in contemporary style, was very clean when we arrived, a welcome basket with water bottles and a bottle of Pelegrino is a very nice touch. The kitchen is fully stocked and everything looks new, there are even spices and things like toaster and blender.

Overall I would not recommend this condo because of the lack of AC and street noise in spite of it's proximity to all the sites.

Helpful votes: 7 / 11

 

Condo ~ Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and the condo was a perfect location to just about anything in the city. We not only walke to the Space Needle and the SciFi Musuem, but walked all the way down to SafeCo field for a Mariners game one evening. Once in the city, we didn't use a cab until we headed back out to the airport!

The condo was very well furnished and stocked. Everything we needed was there not only in the kitchen but with laundry facilities also. The shampoo/conditioner was a nice touch in the shower too. Check in and check out was a breeze.

Our only complaint was the street/bus noise. It is very loud during the bus hours- 6 am until after 11 pm each day. Granted, we live in a small town and are not used to the city sounds... Bus stop is just below the sliding glass doors and when they stop by- every 45 seconds or so- you know, especially with the windows open. Suggest purchasing a good set of ear plugs if you want to sleep in! With that said, we slept peacefully and never worried about the neighborhood as the building was very secure and we never had any issues with people on the street.

This is our 11th VRBO stay and it is still the best travel site around!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo in the heart of downtown Seattle

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We enjoyed our long weekend stay in Seattle due in large part to our comfortable stay in Belltown. The kitchen was well stocked and the beds were comfortable. I would agree with people's comments about the bathroom door but everything else in the condo is as advertised. We also appreciated that the condo rental included parking. Darik was easy to work with and gave us very thorough directions for our time there.

For out-of-towners, this condo is centrally located between the Space Needle and Pike's Market. We were also walking distance to Serious Pie (great pizza) and Macrina Bakery (perfect for our morning coffee runs). I would highly recommend this rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good choice for 4 people max

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Our stay at this apartment was fun, though I would say having more than 4 people is a bit cramped. We were 5 and with the sofa-bed out there wasn't a lot of room to move around. The doors to the second bedroom and bathroom are also fogged glass and don't close completely (they are sliding doors with inch gaps between door and wall) which meant that there wasn't much in the way of privacy for anyone - a pretty bizarre decorating choice that none of us really understood. The location was great, however, a short walk to all the good finds in downtown Seattle, which, for the price, is a pretty good deal.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback. The design choices of the doors are due to the efficient use of space when this building was designed. Due to this, the sliding doors were the only options for the second bedroom and bath. We have up to 6 stay in the condo on a regular basis, however yes, the unit is set up for four to sleep in beds. So if you aren't willing to fold up the sleeper sofa in the morning a good part of the living room space will be used by the sleeper sofa. That is true for any two bedroom condo in Downtown Seattle that sleeps 6 with a sleeper sofa. Its ideal for families who want to stay together, and don't mind sharing the space so they have an affordable option in the heart of downtown Seattle. As you mention all the sights are within walking distance of our great condo, which for our price which is comparable to single hotel rooms in Downtown Seattle is a great deal!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend for my wife's birthday

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Had a great time. Exceptionally detailed directions on how to get to the condo and how to get in. Great stay close to a lot that the city has to offer. Get reservations at the "Purple Cafe and Wine Bar" for dinner if you like wine and great tapas. Fabulous! If you're planning on taking the Victoria Clipper to Victoria B.C. (this is also very close to the condo) then get there at least an hour early. Unknown to us they assign you a return trip group number on your first leg. This means that if the boat is crowded and you get there late you'll get crappy seats both there and back no matter how early you get there on the return trip. Also, if you can carry on your bags (same rules as airline sizes) that would speed up getting off the boat because they let you depart first with carry on bags. Overall we had a great time. We're looking forward to our next trip to Seattle!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bill --

Glad you had a great time! Purple Cafe is one of our favorites as well. For those who are costco members, at the Seattle area stores they often have discounted gift certificates for there! Also, thanks for the advice on the clipper. I didn't realize that was the policy, as I don't remember that last time I road the clipper. I wonder if this is a new policy? Let us know next time you are in town, love to host you again!

Darik & Sally
The Urban Oasis
"Redefining Accommodations"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

August stay at the Urban Oasis

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

My wife and I, and our kids (10 & 13) enjoyed our visit to the Urban Oasis. Excellent communication throughout the booking process, Condo was as promised. Nicely appointed, clean and perfect for our stay. We loved the rooftop for relaxing nights. Property is very safe and secure; location for getting around Belltown and Seattle is perfect. We did not have a car, we walked or took cabs during our stay. Only complaint is 3rd Avenue, way too many buses to enjoy the condo with open windows, or for sitting on the balcony. There is a bus every 45 seconds, all day long.

But, aside from that, everything was very nice and as promised. Would recommend.

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dan --

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! 3rd Avenue is a major bus route which is a blessing and a curse. From our great location as you menionted you can walk anywhere, or take a free bus from right outside the door to nearly anywhere in downtown seattle. Or take a paid bus to anywhere in the Seattle Area! So for those that rely on public transit, a bus every 2-5 minutes is a great feature, a trade off that comes with our great Urban location.

Please keep us in mind for future visits to downtown Seattle!

Darik & Sally
The Urban Oasis

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seattle Stay

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Our stay at the Belltown property was great! The location could not have been more perfect and the condo was extremely nice. We had a great time and would highly recommend the Belltown Condo.

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We do love our location, walkable to nearly everything in Downtown Seattle. Please let us know next time you or any friends come to Seattle. We'd love to host you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

We had a great time, thanks!
Rajiu

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Great place to crash for Bumbershoot. Loved the place!
Sean, Victoria BC

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 4, 2009   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

December 4-12, 2009
We had a great time in Seattle and were in walking distance to everything. We loved Serious Pie and Lola and enjoyed a week of unusual sunshine and frigid temperatures. We will definitely be back in Seattle soon.

Jona and Mathew Green
Washington DC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 28, 2009   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

Nov 23-Nov 27, 2009Great apartment and great location. With our family tradition to travel somewhere every Thanksgiving, this trip worked out perfectly. I’ve never visited Seattle in the past and as my first time I was impressed with how pedestrians-friendly the city is. I recommend Golden Singha (Thai food) in Belltown. The Mexican restaurant down the street (2nd Ave, I think Mama’s Mexican Kitchen) is also very good. The Seattle Aquarium is also worth visiting. All in all a great apartment and a great trip. Thank you!Ryan and Elise JohnsonCarlsbad, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2009

Nov 22, 2009Great condo! Very nice and stylish! We’ll come back soon that’s for sure!Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 10, 2009

Nov 10-12, 2009Had a great time. The apartment was perfect. We felt very much at home. We had two beautiful days with very little rain- walked wherever we needed to go.Had a great dinner at our favorite Italian restaurant, Machivellie’s- we tried the Purple Café and joyed the extensive wine list!Thanks to our wonderful hosts, we will be back!Jennifer and SameSpokane, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Oct 22-26, 2009
Great stay!
Weather was overcast, but very little rain. Great location- walking distance to all the attractions; space needle, boat tours, etc. Free buses were great, #16 to the ferry terminal was very handy. Pioneer Sqaure and Pike Place Market were our favorite areas.
The apartment was very comfortable and the kitchen was very well stocked. Our only complaint was the buses and their users.
Wish we had more time to see more things.
Thanks for everything!
Chris, Jean, Phillip Brinkman
Ottawa, ONTARIO, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

October 2009 3-10
Seattle has been wonderful, the weather has been sunny and perfect- who says it rains a lot here? Free buses on 3rd are great. The unit was very good, had everything we needed in it. Thanks so much!
Susan
Melbourne, Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

October 2009We enjoyed the jazz at Dimitrious Jazz Alley (and a great meal). Tula’s was a more casual jazz venue (eat before you go!).Sleeping on 3rd Ave with the windows open was a bit difficult.Seattle is a beautiful city with leaps to keep us busy- the Space Needle, Pikes Market, the waterfront, the Ballard Locks. Don’t forget the Underground Tour or Smith’s Tower.SuzanneMelbourne, Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

September 28, 2009- October 3, 2009The unit is tastefully furnished and we really appreciated the “home” feel. It’s ideally located with easy bus rides to farther areas. The bus drivers are friendly and helpful. I was planning on renting a car but soon realized I didn’t need to- plenty to do nearby. The kitchen had everything we needed. It was fun to pick up fixings at the market and cook up dinner. The flowers were amazing!I’ve been to Seattle several times and do not get tired of visiting the tourist spots..The aquarium, space needle (at night of course) pioneer square, underground tour, Fremont troll, pike place, Alki (see Greg at Alki tours, wonderful!) and so on. I was 100% comfortable and so happy with the internet connection, tv/stations. The building is very secure and we never felt unsafe. There were a couple confrontations with homeless folks at night but just need to be aware of where you are, where you’re going and remember you are in a big city. The section of a sliding door blinds were missing and the peek-a-book bathroom caused some laughs some times. I suggest having a broom/dustpan available; the vacuum seemed to be having some issues. The blinds on the street side bedroom were not working very well and I felt uncomfortable leaving the unit unlocked when I left, but there is no way to lock it from the outside without keys. Great place, wish I knew about it sooner, definitely would come back!Thank you!Jen and Irene, San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

September 1, 2009
My family of four had a wonderful 9 night stay. Although there was a bit of street noise, the condo itself was very quiet. If you have children, we would recommend the Duck Tour and the Boeing Tour in Everett.
Suzanne- Woodbridge, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

August 12, 2009Wonderful condo! You’ve done a great job decorating and setting it up. It was enjoyable and comfortable.Loved being able to walk everywhere downtown. My favorite was watching some jazz legends at Dimitrou’s Jazz Alley- wow! Ruth’s Chris had an amazing steak dinner, and we enjoyed Pike Place Market, Seattle Center, the waterfront and Westlake/Monorail. My only regret was doing my grocery shopping before I arrived. I had to pass on the best looking produce at Pike Place without buying. Amazing flowers too!I would love to return- thanks for a great stay.Tammy W.- Dayton, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

July 15-22, 2009Arriving from South Carolina and Illinois late, we set out to visit as much o Seattle as we could in a week. Our daughter began graduate school here last July, we were lucky to have someone familiar with the area to guide us.Some of the places we visited for yummy food were:Lola for Breakfast ?Top Pot for great doughnutsSalty’s at Alki AWESOME, food unbelievable and the view was priceless, go for sunset!Pike Place Clam Chowder- the best everMama’s Mexican Kitchen- hole in the wall two blocks away but decent foodThe Alley as part of Seattle Bites Festival in Seattle Center from Tom Douglas and others, offered gourmet single servings.Ray’s Boathouse in Ballard was also VERY, VERY good! The view was wonderful as well.We visited the Space Needle, EMP (if you’re a music lover or have kids interested in music of any kind, you CANNOT pass this up)Ride the Ducks (corny but fun), Science Fiction Museum, rode the monorail, Pike Place Market, rode the ferry to Bainbridge, and spent a beautiful afternoon in Ballard and visited the locks there.We also booked a day long escape to Mt. Rainier with Evergreen Escapes that was unforgettable and included lunch with wine! Savor Seattle, I highly recommend.We visited Kerry Park and Golden Gardens and saw weddings in progress at both locations as well as one at the locks! Everyone we meet was kind and helpful. We enjoyed the location of the condo because it was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. We did not enjoy the warmth in the condo with Seattle’s unseasonable temperatures and the noise outside we had to endure from keeping the windows open. The condo itself is very nice, and the kitchen is well-stocked with everything we needed. We especially appreciated the started necessities. By the way, there is a small grocery store just past the dog park. Fans were provided to help us cool down and Darik and Sally made sure we had we needed for our computer.We really enjoyed our trip here and hope to visit again to do some of the more-consuming jaunts into the countryside. There is simply too much to do in one week!Susan, Ron, Joyce and Davep.s. The view from the Space Needle at night is beautiful. Columbia Tower also has an observation deck for daytime viewing that is less expensive than the Space Needle. (But we didn’t get to see a Seattle Mariners baseball game, boohoo!)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

July 12th, 2009 from San Antonio
Really enjoyed our stay here in Seattle! The apartment was cute and clean! Good location- everything was walking distance. The roof top deck was our favorite- amazing views!
Lola- was our favorite breakfast spot
Serious Pie- had yummy pizza
Brooklyn- great food and cozy seats!
*We do wish the unit had AC!
Look forward to our next visit,
Trey, Marissa, Stell and Erica

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

July 2nd-5th
My family and I had a great time in Seattle. Condo was pretty nice although AC would have been great considering the unusual Seattle temperatures.
Ideally located, we pretty much walked everywhere we needed to go. Went to Pike Place Market a couple of times and the Space Needle as well. We to Kerry Park for our photo opportunities. Twent to the Woodland Zoo, Aquarium, Harbor Tour, and Pioneer Squeare, Underground Tour and today, we are going to the Museum of Flight.
Look forward to visiting again.
The Markey Family, J
Jim, Tina, Nousan and Corbin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

June 25-30,2009We came to Seattle to watch our granddaughter win in the Rock n Roll marathon. The weather was been beautiful, no rain. We took the ferry to Bainbridge and Paulsbo and really enjoyed it. We rented a car and drove to Rainier Mountain, about 2.5 hours, wonderful views. Enjoyed eating at Lola’s and the The Pink Door.Grocery down 1 block, was great for wine, ice, drinks etc.Apartment is great. Would recommend putting a bag of ice in the freezer for guests.Thanks for the use of the robes.Sincerely,Thomason and Molony from South Carolina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 12, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

June 12-18, 2009We meet our friend (Toshiro and Aya), they flew from Japan. We (John and Shimi) have been traveling together once a year. This condo is very comfy, we were at home right away. Pikes market, space needle, all in walking distance…many restaurants nearby. Condo is conveniently located in the heart of Belltown. We all are enjoying our visit very much.Thanks,John, Shimi, Toshiro and Aya

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

June 5-6th, 2009Arrived here from Victoria, but actually we are from Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. Four of us, Grace, Laura (my sisters)my 85 year old mom (Antonia) and 80 year old aunt Susie. This place was just perfect for the 4 of us. Close to the market and restaurants. The only complaint would be the lack of air conditioning. We loved the shopping in Seattle and will hopefully return again sometime- less seniors! Lots to see and do here- we really appreciated the extra’s provided here- soap, spices, cooking supplies etc.Thanks so much!Grace, Laura, Antonia and Sue

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

May 15th-18th, 2009We’re still a little disappointed that the Mariners took the series against the Boston Red Sox, but the joys of this city, the impeccable weather, and the comforts of this lovely condo quickly eases our discontent.Three of moved to Portland, OR after college in the late 90’s. We’re all from Massachusetts. One friend is a native Oregonian, but has been converted to a Red Sox fan. One other friend flew out from Boston to take her granddaughter (9 ½ months) to her first Red Sox game/series. All that really matters is that we had fun and smiles were shared, though winning would have been nice ?.Thanks for the memories!Modesty, Stella, Lynda, Joelle and James

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

May 10 2009 (Happy Mother’s Day!)Thank you an amazing trip to your city. The condo was fabulous and we made ourselves right at home…how could you not??! We enjoyed the “night life” off our deck- somewhat of a culture shock from our sheltered lives back in Idaho ?.We loved walking all around town. We road in the Space Needle (much recommended) despite the fear of heights. It was an amazing view of everything and a great photo opportunity. We enjoyed the Pike Street Market- wish we had a few days to see everything- it can’t be done in one! (The flowers are incredible!) And of course the view of the water all around. We were lucky enough o be here on a 3-day stretch f gorgeous, sunny , warm weather so we took advantage of every moment outside.You’ve done a great job on the condo- super location and we’ll be sure to come back someday.Much Thanks,The Hodgson Family- Postfalls, ID

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review