reviews for: listing #53391 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Lake Tahoe VIEW steps to Lakefront Beach LUXURY
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Heavenly Ski Area
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $1,250 /nt
    $2,450 - $7,000 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Home near Heavenly!

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

Fabulous house perfect for 1-2 families! Minutes from Heavenly...across street from lake...great for winter and summer activites!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing home, fantastic experience

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Overall, we had a great experience in this place- exceeded our expectations.

We were on a family vacation and had 9 adults and 3 children with us. The house comfortably fit us in and there was plenty of rooms to have privacy and the kitchen was large enough to accommodate multiple people. The house is well fitted with appliances, utensils, plates and cookware. Additional bonus was 2 sets of washing machines -very useful with young kids especially after a beach visit.It is conveniently located near shopping, grocery stores, etc. There is a great roof top terrrace with grill etc if you like grilling.

The owner of the home has been very friendly and helpful prior to and during our stay. He is prompt in his communication and checked with us if all was OK as soon as we arrived.

We loved it and will definitely be back soon.

Sachin

Owners response: It is very gratifying to hear your comments about our home, The Essence Of Tahoe. It was a pleasure to host your family and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stunning home and Stunning Views!!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

The photos do not do this house any justice! We had our 4 adult children and their spouses with us. There was plenty of rooms to have privacy and retreat when you didn't want to be in the mix of the crowd. The commercial grade appliances made it easy to cook for the 10 of us and all the utensils, plates and cookware you could need were there.

The finishes and furnishings throughout the house are of the highest quality!

It is conveniently located near shopping, grocery stores, ski rental and Heavenly Village and Ski resort.

The owner of the home has been very friendly and helpful prior to and during our stay!

We loved it and will definitely be back to stay here again!!!

Nanette and Mark Beiner.

Owners response: It is guests like you who reinforce what an honor it is to share our home and help others make life long memories. It was a pleasure to host your family and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Super high quality

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

The house was amazing! We stayed after thanksgiving for a few days to do some hiking and be in the outdoors, and this was the perfect place to come back to. The location was fantastic - right near to stateline and the town, yet quiet and peaceful. It was also right across from the water with a park right in front of the house. The best thing about the house was the quality of the appliances, electronics, and house in general. Often at houses like this things can look nice but be fairly cheap. This was not the case here with a great surround sound system hooked up to the TV, great kitchen appliances, and great bathrooms! I'll definitely try to stay here again when I'm in south lake Tahoe, it can't be beat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Spot!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

The house was amazing! We stayed after thanksgiving for a few days to do some hiking and be in the outdoors, and this was the perfect place to come back to. The location was fantastic - right near to stateline and the town, yet quiet and peaceful. It was also right across from the water with a park right in front of the house.

The best thing about the house was the quality of the appliances, electronics, and house in general. Often at houses like this things can look nice but be fairly cheap. This was not the case here with a great surround sound system hooked up to the TV, great kitchen appliances, and great bathrooms!

I'll definitely try to stay here again when I'm in south lake Tahoe, it can't be beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Upscale Lake Tahoe Home

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

Driving up to this gorgeous house made me sit up in my seat with excitement. I was not disappointed! The exterior is only a little taste of how beautiful this home is. Attention to detail shows throughout in the construction, furnishings and amenities. Overlooking a grassy knoll and the lake, just perfect. An area downstairs with a flat screen and games kept the teens occupied for hours. The rooftop deck with a stunning lake view was the perfect place for wine appetizers each afternoon. The house is spacious enough for everyone to spread out and relax. We lacked for nothing as the kitchen is well appointed with everything you can think of, there are also board games& DVD's, The location is perfect: across from lake, walking trails, bike paths and just a quick jaunt around the corner for groceries and other necessities. When we did have questions (like "how do we turn on the deck lights?"), the owner was quick to respond via email and provided us with his phone number for any other inquiries. Everything worked well, there are detailed instructions provided for just about everything at the property, so it was easy going the whole week. I have already let the owner know that we will be back to enjoy his amazing home again soon!

Owners response: It is truly heartwarming to read your remarks. Sharing our home with guests like your family is a truly rewarding experience. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

This house is absolutely fantastic. We had three families stay here and the house was perfect for everyone! It is in a great location, simply walk across to the beach, - close to everything. This home has a very high end finish to details. Hutch was a pleasure to work with. We could not have wanted anything better that this home for the perfect vacation. The bathrooms, linens, etc. are all top notch! I would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a true pleasure to host you. Nothing is more gratifying than hearing your appreciation of The Essence Of Tahoe. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOVED this Tahoe house!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

I stayed here for five days with my family in April 2013 and had an amazing time. We were in Tahoe for a ski trip, so it was wonderful to be so close to the Heavenly ski lifts. The house is huge - there was plenty of room for our eight adults and one baby. The owner provided us with very helpful instructions to make sure we had everything we needed. My favorite part of the house was the kitchen - it was huge and very modern, with a great big fridge (plus separate wine fridge), a professional-grade stove and oven, lots of counter space, and every kind of pot/pan/dish/utensil we needed for cooking big family meals each night. Everyone in my family loved the house and thanked me for finding it for them. :) We will definitely look to stay here again the next time we are in Lake Tahoe!

Owners response: It was a pleasure hosting your family. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exquisite property!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

There are many wonderful things about this property but my favorite was siting in one of the rocking chairs in front of the large window and watch the view of the lake, especially at sunrise and sunset. We were a family of 10, all adults on a ski trip, and the layout was perfect for us. The description was very accurate. The jacuzzi tub in one of the master bedrooms was in high demand and highly appreciated after a day on the slopes as we took turns soaking in it. The kitchen was fit for a chef with plenty of cookwares, dishes, and silverware and we enjoyed few dinners at home prepared by one of us who happens to have trained as a professional chef. Thank you Hutch for a wonderful family vacation! We'll be sure to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It gives us so much pleasure sharing our wonderful home, The Essence Of Tahoe, with great guests like you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Place-Great Location

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving with mine and my sister's family, and had a wonderful time. The place was as nice as described, and the location and views are fantastic! We've stayed at numerous places over past holidays, as it's our chance to get together as a family each year, and everyone agrees this place was by far the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always satisfying and fulfilling to have guests like you, we are gracious you chose us and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Al Tahoe Rental

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

As one of the newest homes in this area Essance of Tahoe is all the pictures show it to be. We rented the house for our daughter's wedding at Edgewood so she would have a nice place to get ready and relax before her wedding. We absolutely enjoyed this. As previous South Tahoe residents we know that most of the rentals are older and get more than their fair share of use. This is truly a beautiful home. We enjoyed coming out to the living room in the morning and watching the sun come up on Tahoe. You can walk directly across to the the park and nice sandy beach. Regan beach also has nice swings and play area for kids. It is centrally located so you are close to everything. Our host was very accommodating and returned all phone calls promptly. Sometimes you think that pictures show a place to be nicer than it really is, but believe me this is not the case. This home is beautiful. If you are as picky as we are in where we stay you will really enjoy this home.

Owners response: We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Essence of Tahoe

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Wow!! This property exceeded my expectations. We are the over 50 gang and the home couldn't have been more perfect. I say home because that is just how it felt. The view is a million dollar view, The home was top notch and the owners paid attention to every detail of this home. The Layout was great!! I had my family of 4 then my sister and her husband and my lovely parents who are in their 80's. We had more than enough room and everyone had their private bathroom. A Must if you are staying with others. You know what they say about location. Location, Location, Location. Steps to the beach, minutes from Tahoe Blvd and the casinos, 5 minutes from the grocery stores and the ski lifts .The neighborhood is so very quiet. Wish we had reserved this home for a longer period of time. Next year we know we will be back and stay in this wonderful home. So on that note, Hutch we thank you again for the use of your wonderful home and we hope to be back very soon. KIM and BoB

Owners response: It was a true pleasure and honor to host you, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxury at Its Finest! Owners are professional and fast response time

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

The owner made our experience stress free and was very fast in responding to my inquiry. The pictures do not do any justice. This is by far the nicest house on the block. It is steps away from the beach and has easy access to local stores and shops. This place is super spacious and the kitchen was top notch. I would highly recommend this place and we plan to come back here on our next trip back to California.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always satisfying and fulfilling to have guests like, we are gracious you chose us and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The essence of the essence

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Great house.....I rented for a few guys and I for the weekend over memorial day. Great experience, everything was clean and the house was a great location. I would definitely rent here again - i think the only thing this house is missing is a hot tub.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing trip!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

This house is wonderful. Our whole family stayed here (ages ranging from 5 months - 60+) and the house was perfect for everyone! It is in a great location - close to shops, restaurants, ski areas, and of course, the lake! We could not believe how clean and neat the house was. The bathrooms, linens, etc. are all top notch! I would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Your words are so kind and give us great pleasure. We are honored to have you as our guests and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

Amazing views, outrageous house best rental I've experienced. Already planning a return trip! The pictures don't do it justice. The owner Hutch made the experience smooth and effortless.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

The views of the lake are astounding! The house is a high end fully stocked beautiful home away from home! Close to everything. It's perfect for a group or just the two of us, we are already planning a return trip! Thanks for everything Hutch!
Jim & Tonya

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a nice last minute treat for you two :) Look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home away from home!!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Tahoe and are looking for an amazing place to stay, look no further! The Essence of Tahoe was our home away from home for 4 days, it was warm, inviting, comfortable, decorated beautifully and has some amazing views of the lake from inside the home or from the 2 decks facing the lake. The kitchen has top of the line appliances and some amazing lighting throughout the house. Ten members of my family that went said they would love to make this a yearly trip with us staying every time in this wonderful home and I have to agree with them, we'll be back next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Impeccable Home

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

This home is absolutely beautifully done. It's clear that the owners spared no expense on the finishes. The appliances, the lighting, the bathrooms - it's just gorgeous. We really enjoyed the layout of the floorplan too - the kids were able to have their own "quarters" downstairs, even with their own Living area and TV. The location was perfect. Aside from the obvious amazing view, this home is super close to all of the Tahoe attractions (Heavenly, restaurants, casinos). We thank the owners for opening up their impeccable home to our family. What a nice getaway! Robyn

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: It is rewarding and satisfying to host special guests like you and your family. It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Property!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Location is fantastic!!, close to town and everywhere and right by the lake, the view from the windows is spectacular!!!

The house is beautiful and very comfortable, many amenities, beautiful decoration, kitchen is amazing, very roomy

Many games and toys for kids to play, we have a great time on the snow with the snowball machines and all kinds of snow toys to play
kids bedrooms are very nice, kids love to have their own space, wi fi all over the house, great for the teenagers and their laptops and I pads

Garage big enough for 2 cars, very necessary in winter

We definitely will stay there again, it has been the best house we rented in Lake Tahoe

We highly recommended

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It never gets old hearing what joy The Essence Of Tahoe brings to families like yours, we welcome your return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful lakeside home! Perfect for our get away!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

The house was perfect for our ski vacation!! It was very comfortable, immaculate & close to everything......we would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: What a pleasure it is to host another family who truly appreciates The Essence Of Tahoe. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

This property is absolutely phenomenal. The pictures do not disappoint. We went for a long weekend and the place and the location, could not be beat. We can not wait to return. Even though, there was a very slight bump, the wireless was on the fritz, the owners was extremely responsive and worked hard to resolve the issue. I would highly recommend with property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Essence Of Tahoe looks forward to hosting you soon in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cabin!!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

This cabin is so beautiful! The views are beautiful from it. Easy to get to and close to everything. Hutch the homeowner is great to work with. I would totally recommend this vacation home to everyone except during Superbowl weekend because its mine!!! LOL... :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always a pleasure to host return guests. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfecto

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Si esta pensando visitar South Lake Tahoe...este es el lugar perfecto para compartir con su familia. Es un lugar encantador, la vista al Lago es SOÑADA. Un sector lleno de paz, practicamente centrico donde encontrara todo lo que necesita muy cerca. Las comodidades de la casa, permiten sentirse muy complacido de estar alli. Espaciosas las habitaciones, baños muy completos, la cocina (que es muy importante para nosotros) FANTASTICA, y que no perdimos la oportunidad de utilizar la CHURRASTERA, formidable. en general esta propiedad esta en PERFECTAS CONDICIONES.

El soporte que nos brindo Hutch, increible, muy pendiente, y tuvimos unas dudas y el estaba pendiente, increiblemente pendiente, nos hizo nuestra visita sentirnos muy bien atendidos.

Definitivamente es un lugar que RECOMENDARE sin pensarlo.

recomiendo visitar: Heavenly Mountain (Ski and Snowboard), Squaw Valley,. Restaurantes Pasaretis, Red Hut,

usted debe visitar este lugar.

Owners response: It was a pleasure to host you. We hope to host you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home; Great Location

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

My family stayed here over Thanksgiving. The home is beautiful and spacious, with plenty of room for the 10 of us. The home looks over a lakeside park where you can walk down to the lake and a small beach. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment; the beds were comfortable; the bathrooms luxurious. The location is perfect for access to the lake, skiing, parks for hiking and exploring, shopping and the casinos. I would highly recommend this home for your family vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It was a Pleasure hosting you at The Essence Of Tahoe and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

My family and I rented this vacation home for a weekend getaway to celebrate my Mom's 60th Birthday. It was just what we wanted to surprise my mom with and turned out to be the best family vacation yet! The house was so clean and really felt like home. Beyond that, the views from this home are just truly breathtaking. We are already talking about our next trip to the "Essence of Tahoe"!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy to hear The Essence Of Tahoe was perfect for your Mom's 60th surprise birthday. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

When we pulled up to this place we were very impressed just by the manner which it was maintained on the outside. We even found people taking pictures of the exterior as they walked by.

Once we opened the door and came inside it got even better. The house is immaculate and very functional. The instructions were readily available and very clear. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed.

Our stay was during the Labor Day Holiday. The location was perfect for watching the fireworks. We could walk down to the beach in under five minutes.

I will definitely rent this place again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This home will dazzle you!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family was going to Lake Tahoe to attend the wedding of my niece, and many of our relatives were staying in Tahoe for the rest of the week for an extended vacation. We were looking for a rental that was close to my sister's rental, to make visits a bit easier. We found this beautiful home just 5 houses away, and can I just say how lucky we felt to have found this incredible home! From the moment that we drove up to the house, we knew we had booked the perfect spot for an amazing family vacation! "The Essence of Tahoe" is set in one of the most beautiful spots on the lake, directly across from Regan Beach (one of the premier wedding sites in South Shore). As we entered the home, we were delighted with the floor plan of the house. The three separate levels offered privacy for each of our guests (this trip included my husband and I, our son and daughter-in-law, and my mother). As you enter downstairs, there are two bedrooms, with a large bathroom (tub & bath!) and a laundry room. This level also offers a small living area / den with a flat screen TV. A quick walk upstairs, and you are now in the main entertainment area, with a large living room, dining room, and beautifully detailed contemporary kitchen. There is a deck right off this level, which offers an incredible view of the beach & lake. We spent many hours on the deck, soaking in the beautiful ambiance of this area. The main level also contains the master bedroom (you will love the comfortable bed and high end linens provided), and the master bathroom, which offers a large shower and also a jacuzzi tub. This level also offers one additional bathroom that serves the main entertainment area, as well as an addtional stacking washer & dryer discretely placed in a closet close by. Walk up one additional flight of stairs, and you are on the third level, where the fourth bedroom is located. This room has a small bathroom, and though a bit cozy, is still quite functional. There is yet one addtional flight of stairs, that leads you to the roof deck, which is equipped with a barbeque, chairs, and table, and offers an incredible view of the lake. This is not your typical rental. This home offers the BEST of everything! All amenities would be considered "top of the line"
(the way I would furnish my OWN home!). I can't begin to tell you how wonderful our experience was, and how we kept saying "this house is just amazing!". We can't wait to plan a return trip to "The Essence of Tahoe", our home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to re-hosting you next time and thank you so much for sharing the great experience you had at The Essence Of Tahoe. We are truly blessed and fortunate to own such an amazing destination.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular home and location

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My husband and I rented "The Essence of Tahoe" for our 33rd wedding anniversary and my 60th birthday during the summer, 2011. This home was the perfect location because it presented spectacular views of the lake and park immediately across the street, was directly accessible to the park and beach for lake swimming, provided great walks through the neighborhood, the Upper Truckee Marsh meadows, and an easy walk up to the main Hwy 50 route for those who wanted to shop/purchase at local shops and the art/craft fair.
The main living areas were up one level from the street, which provided privacy as well as the wonderful scenery of the lake. This home was completely perfect for us, as it was well equipped in the kitchen, and so very comfortable and lovely for dining, relaxing, and visiting with friends and family. My husband and I particularly appreciated that the main living level with kitchen and dining also had the master bedroom and spa bathroom, while the other bedrooms were on different levels. With friends, family and grandchildren staying with us at various time periods throughout our two week stay, this feature was one we came to thoroughly appreciate! We had so much fun all sitting around the dining table eating breakfast and dinner. Our family are game-players and card players when all together in the evenings, and the living room area provided us with cozy, comfortable seating. We enjoyed use of the gas fireplace with the flip of a switch.
We found the two sets of washer/dryer located on the entry level and the main level so helpful for all of our laundry needs - this was no small matter having grandchildren who came to us immediately from summer camps and once at Tahoe were out enjoying all Tahoe had to offer during their day.
We ate at the house every evening and found the rooftop grill and views another great benefit of this home. Cooking and clean up in the kitchen was easy as the kitchen was so well stocked both with pots, pans, serving dishes and utensils, and detergents. The dishwasher ran like a dream - very silent.
All of our groups of adults and children used the WiFi in the house all the time. We had quite a few electronics is use!
We have such fond memories of our stay with friends and family in this wonderful, tastefully decorated, and comfortable home! We recommend this stay for anyone looking to experience Tahoe in an upscale, serene, yet leisurely style.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is heart warming and rewarding to read your review. It never gets old reading what life-long memories The Essence Of Tahoe is creating and how fortunate we are to have it. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful South Lake Tahoe Location

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at The Essence of Tahoe. Our "trip" actually started months' before, with an extremely smooth and organized rental process. We really appreciated all the tips provided beforehand and the notebook awaiting us which provided step-by step instructions for the high-end entertainment systems located throughout the home.

The home itself looks exactly like the pictures, super clean , extremely high-end finishes and the 4-bedroom layout (2 down, 1 main, 1 up) was perfect for our group of 3 couples and 2 kids. The downstairs TV with game station, allowed the kids to play downstairs while the adults could chat and cook upstairs. We loved being able to bar-b-que on the state-of-the-art gas grill on the rooftop deck - what a view. The jetted tub and multi-head shower in the Master Suite was a big hit - even the kids were anxious to bath, just to try it out! You feel like you are staying in a 5-star lodge - all by yourself.

The location is excellent. You have an unobstructed view across a small public park to the water. We simply walked across the street and across the grass to launch our kayak or simply to let the kids play on the sand. While conveniently located to the downtown area of South Lake Tahoe, the home sits in a quiet residential section just West which enabled us to bike ride with the kids though quiet, peaceful streets. We also "discovered" that we were within walking/biking distance from the Upper Truckee Marsh which has a gorgeous walking/biking path with expansive views of the marsh, Mount Tallac and the lake - stunning!

The customer-service didn't end the moment we walked in the door - when we arrived, we couldn't connect via the wireless, so one quick call and we collectively figured out the power was off due to a tripped GFI outlet. And of course, we forgot coats hanging in a closet when we left but by the time we got home, we had an email waiting to let us know that they had been found, and asking where we'd like them shipped - concierge service at it's finest!

In closing, I would definitely recommend this rental to friends, family and everyone else. You wont' be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The Essence Of Tahoe is all about having guests just like you creating life-long memories. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Stay in South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We found this cabin and knew immediately that this was the perfect location for our Memorial Day weekend get away. The booking process was quick and easy and Hutch always responded to emails in a timely manner. We arrived and the cabin was in superb condition. The view is unmatched and is located literally across the street from the lake! The casinos are a short 5 minute drive away which makes for the perfect mix of relaxation and fun. We cannot wait for the next time we are in Tahoe as we know exactly where we will be staying!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Essence Of Tahoe WELCOMES your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous getaway

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

This home is FIRST CLASS from the door knob to the pillow you lay your head on. The owner took no short cuts on appliances and high end furnishings. The home offers great layouts and spacious room for all. The views and tranquillity of the property are superior to the many rentals my wife and I have enjoyed. Rent this home and be the envy of the neighborhood (seriously, people stop to take pics of home daily!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very fortunate to own The Essence Of Tahoe and we look forward to hosting your next stay. Thank you for staying with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect home away from home

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

We loved every single day we spent in this house. The house itself is beautiful and sitting by the window overlooking the Lake Tahoe makes it really perfect. We will definitely go back here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The essence Of Tahoe awaits your return to build more memorable family vacations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home, Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

This is our second year staying at this home. WE LOVE IT! It is clean, fully stocked, beautiful, and comfortable. The proximity to the lake is amazing. Having bedrooms on each level gives multiple families plenty of privacy. The views are stunning. A cup of coffee with the paper in the rocking chair is something I looked forward to every morning. The beds are cozy and comfortable. We BBQ'd on the rooftop deck despite the snow and cold weather. It was great! This is a great vacation spot for families, a girls' weekend, or a couples weekend. The casinos are a quick cab ride away as is Heavenly. DO NOT PASS THIS HOME UP!! You won't be sorry. It is perfect. We are already planning our third annual winter trip up there and can't wait to stay for a while during the summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Luxury high-end memorable family vacations is what The Essence Of Tahoe is all about. What a pleasure it was to host you and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place to stay on the lake

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

What a beautiful home, from the gourmet kitchen to the most comfortable beds this place exceeded our expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for you kind words, The essence Of Tahoe looks forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything was perfect!

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

From the moment we pulled up to the house we were impressed. New and exceptionally clean home. Beautiful inside and out with a view of the lake that was stunning. It was perfect for all the ages we had with us and slept our group very comfortably. Only about 5 minutes from Heavenly so very easy to get everyone snowboarding and back. Close to everything from the grocery store to the shoe outlet store. We will be recommending this to all we know and will definately be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to hosting you again at The Essence Of Tahoe.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a beautiful cabin!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

This property is so beautiful. Views are gorgeous. I would recommend this cabin to everyone. Our family was so happy in that cabin, we all felt so welcomed, and so comfortable. It was easy to find. We hope to rent this cabin out for more vacations for years to come.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Essence Of Tahoe welcomes your return with your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Vacation

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

This home is amazing. Very nice. I was pleasantly surprised. Everything is brand new. The home is absolutely gorgeous inside and out. The lake is amazing. Watched a wedding in the snow take place while we there right from the balcony! Walked with the kids to the meadow for a hike. I must admit the master shower with 6 shower heads was up there on the top of the list for my favorite. The jacuzzi tub follows in 2nd. We couldn't have had a better time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Luxury high-end memorable family vacations is what The Essence Of Tahoe is all about. What a pleasure it was to host you and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a very luxurious place to stay

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Essence of Tahoe.

This house is super spacious, has a fabulous layout (the main living room is great for a large group of people, the upper and lower levels offer privacy), and is filled with *tons* of nice custom features (too many to list, but our favorites were the stone fireplace (which works really well to keep the main living room warm), the master bathroom (amazing), the in-ceiling speakers, and the top-of-the-line kitchen appliances).

On top of that, it's in a prime location, just a couple minutes drive to Heavenly and lot of different shopping and restaurants, and just steps to Regan Beach, which was tons of fun for us and our toddlers, especially after it snowed..we built a huge snowman (5 ft tall) and sledded on all the hills surrounding the beach. It was so much fun.

When the power went out due to the strong winds before the snow came, we still had light (from the emergency flashlights and candles that came with the rental) and heat (from the fireplace and gas heater).

It was extra nice that the rental also had bikes and sleds that we were able to borrow during our time there.

Hutch is great to deal with. He replies to emails and phone calls quickly, gives you all the details you're looking for, and tries to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

There's just one thing to consider - for stays during the winter months - the first floor (which is where the futon and most of the beds are) is much colder than the 2nd and 3rd floors. We mainly all stuck to the main living area (which is the nicest area of the house), so it wasn't a huge issue for us, but..it is something to keep in mind..

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the house immensely and would recommend the home to anyone looking for a rental in the S. Lake Tahoe area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: What a pleasure it is to hear how The Essence Of Tahoe continues to help create lifelong memories for families like yours, we loved hosting you and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Fantastic!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

This is easily one of the most amazing houses I've ever set foot in. The view of Lake Tahoe is breathtaking. The close proximity to everything - shopping, skiing, casinos, marinas - is deceptive because the house feels so secluded. The shower in the master bathroom is awesome - 5 jets! The owner is super friendly and will do everything he can to make sure your stay is excellent. My husband and I plan to make renting this lovely home a yearly tradition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is truly a pleasure to know that The Essence Of Tahoe creates so many lasting memories for our guests. Look forward to your return, it was a pleasure hosting you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

24 Thumbs Up!

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

I came across this home when I was researching where in South Lake Tahoe to celebrate my 50th birthday. I wanted a vacation rental that was beautiful, centrally located, awesome lake views and large enough to accomodate my family which included 7 adults and 5 toddlers, but most importantly, one that was going to provide very special memories. When I saw the photos of this gorgeous home, I knew this was the one! We had a great time! The kids loved being so close to the beach. We loved cooking in the kitchen using the top-of-the line appliances. The beds were very comfortable. Everything was immaculate.

The owner, Hutch, is a very nice man. He responded quickly to all of my questions and was considerate and flexible regarding the rental. He returned our full deposit within a few days after our stay.

The whole experience was top notch. I will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it to those looking for an amazing vacation rental while staying in South Lake Tahoe. My one regret is that my stay in this home was not long enough...I'll fix that next time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are blessed to have great guests like you and we look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Tahoe Retreat!

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

This is a beautiful house in a Great location in South Lake Tahoe! Property is right across the street from the beach and a park. It has beautiful amenties, an open floor plan to accommodate lots of people, and spectacular views! It is very close to everything water sports, parks, golf, shopping, restaurants, casinos. However, it is in a more residential location so there is not a lot of traffic. It says it sleeps up to tweleve people, but that is with two to a bed. It really only has five beds, a futon, and a couch. Everything about the rental is absolutely awesome, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always a pleasure sharing our home with great guests like you. We look forward to your return. Hutch

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The place was absolutely amazing!!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

The place was absolutely amazing and surpassed all our expectations.

The house is immaculately kept and offers every amenity needed to make stay comfortable and enjoyable. The views are amazing and the location is perfect for those wishing to take advantage of South Lake Tahoe's restaurants and casinos.

Although, there is a beach right in front of the property, we also found a secluded beach within walking distance from the property -- I highly recommend a visit. You can ask the landlord for directions.

The landlord was great -- really I can say enough good things about him. We will definitely be staying at this property the next time we are in Tahoe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always a pleasure to make memorable Tahoe visits for our guests, but I must admit, "The Essence Of Tahoe" (our home) does most of the work.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great Rental House

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

My entire immediate family (6 adults and 3 children ages 7, 5, and 13 months) stayed at this beautiful property in late July 2010 while in South Lake Tahoe for a wedding. The house appears to have been built or remodeled very recently, as it features state-of-the-art appliances and stylish furnishings. It was in excellent condition.

The owner ("Hutch") was very helpful both before and after we arrived (we had a couple of questions upon our arrival). The location is nice too--about 100 yards from the Lake. If you stay here, ask Hutch to give you directions to the nature preserve that is a quarter mile west of the house. The preserve includes a marsh with walking paths that lead to a long, sandy, and almost tourist-free beach.

All told, we highly recommend this property. Thanks Hutch!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure hosting you Chris, look forward to your return.Hutch

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Tahoe Getaway

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Our stay in Tahoe was so nice. I'm a firm believer in the accomodations make the trip and this rental sure did it's job. This home is in top condition and is finished with high quality features throughout. The architecture is beautiful and the setting is perfect. The rooms are all large and very comfortable. We would not hesitate to spend another week here. Our favorite feature is the LARGE windows facing the lake. It was so nice to sit in the rocking chair and watch the hot air balloons, weddings in the park across the street and the tranquility of the lake.

Lake Tahoe was a nice town to visit on the lake. It was easy to reach from the Reno airport. It also had multiple grocery stores and loads of restaurants within minutes of the house.

I only have a few complaints. There is no air conditioning and the neighborhood is noisy at night in the summer when you need to sleep with the windows open. Also, the owner requires you to throw out any spices that you buy for sanitary reasons which makes it a pain for the next renter to replenish everything and throw away again! My favorite rentals are setup like a real kitchen full of spices where you can step in and start cooking.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

South Lake Tahoe Gem

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

As you may have already read in other reviews... this home is beautifully built and very well maintained we could not have been happier with choosing this vacation home. The park and beach right across the street worked perfect for us. We were able to leave the cars in the garage and walk over to play and relax.
There are also plenty of stores and restaurants within an easy walk or short drive.
Just sitting on the balcony off the main floor or BBQing up on the rooftop deck overlooking Lake Tahoe was my favorite part of a very fun relaxing week.
Working with Hutch was not work at all... he has the entire rental process well planned and easy to do.
We would definitely like to come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to host you and we loook forward to your return

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Our family enjoyed this extraordinary home for the celebration of our wedding. Architecturally, this home is stunning inside and out with many custom details throughout. It has a wonderful view of Lake Tahoe and was the perfect setting for a beach wedding across the street and a family dinner afterwards. The well-equipped kitchen was wonderful to prepare meals.Hutch was very accommodating to our needs and we felt right at home. The home is furnished beautifully with may high-end furnishings and details. It is perfect for a family or couples getaway with a short walk to Reagan Beach and close to all the seasonal activities Lake Tahoe has to offer.We would definitely come back for a longer stay...perhaps an anniversary!.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Tahoe Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

I just returned home from an extended weekend at this incredible home. After a beautiful, snowy drive from the Bay Area, we were so excited to arrive at this stunning property. The three level layout of the home is perfect for more than one family to have a fun weekend together but still have much needed privacy. The beds were so comfortable, especially the bunk beds!! The kitchen is beautiful, roomy, and had everything we needed to prepare and serve our meals. The views are stunning, the proximity to the lake unbelieveable, the decor and amazing. Coffee on the front deck in the morning was peaceful. Our bbq's on the top deck everynight while the sun went down were so memorable. We cannot wait to go back to this property. We can only imagine how much fun we are going to have there in the summer. Do not hesitate to rent this cabin for a romantic getaway, family reunion, or just for fun. YOU WILL BE SO PLEASED!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Jennifer, it was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2010

We just returned from a fantastic weekend at this property. We were so excited to see how beautiful and clean this house is. The design of the home is perfect for a single family, a girls weekend, or a family reunion. The layout is fantastic with 3 levels, each with at least one bathroom and one bedroom. The views and proximity to the lake are amazing. The kitchen is roomy and very user friendly. We had coffee on the back deck while looking a the lake, bbq's up top while watching the sun set, and took peaceful walks around the neighborhood. We could not be any happier with our stay at this house. DO NOT HESITATE TO BOOK A VACATION HERE!!! You will not be disapointed!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Absolutely beautiful property. The
photos do not do it justice. It has the
perfect layout for a vacation getaway.
A great living and dining room for
spending time in style while viewing the
lake. Extremely clean and well
maintained. Very close to Heavenly ski
resort and Stateline casinos. The large
garage was a real bonus as we got feet
of snow during our stay. A first class
place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Stunning property

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

Absolutely beautiful property. The photos do not do it justice. It has the perfect layout for a vacation getaway. A great living and dining room for spending time in style while viewing the lake. Extremely clean and well maintained. Very close to Heavenly ski resort and Stateline casinos. The large garage was a real bonus as we got feet of snow during our stay. A first class place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for opportunity to host your family and we look forward to having back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

If you want all the comforts of home and even more, this is the place to go. I felt like I was walking into a five star resort. Very clean, well kept,and nicely decorated. All the kitchen ammenities you'd ever want.
Location was perfect. close enough to Casinos- 5miles, but right across the street from the lake, Beautiful view from living room windows.
Renting from the owner was very professional and quick to respond.
I have already recommended to it friends and family.
The only thing it didn't have that our group wanted was a hot tub.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to having back again :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

This is a beautiful home in a perfect location! We had 2 families in the house (4 adults, 4 kids) and couldn't have been more comfortable. It took only minutes to get to Heavenly where we skied each day. And, the kids enjoyed sledding right across the street. Would definitely recommend this to our friends! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First class property

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Our two families fit comfortably into this very nice home. The home is in a perfect location, and the views are as advertised. The home is tastefully decorated, yet very comfortable. Everything that you need is in the home, and it is all very good quality. Have gone to Tahoe are 7 times, and this was the best stay for us by far.

Communication was excellent. Great experience. Highly reccomend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful South Lake Tahoe home

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

This home is every bit as beautiful as the description indicates. It is well maintained, well equipped, and has a great location. We felt as if we were at home here. And the details within the house are lovely. In addition, the owner provided great details of what to expect prior to arrive, at arrival, and upon departure. Very good service.
And finally, you can't beat the location, it is across from a park that is attached to a beach, and is close to Heavenly, restaurants, grocery store, pharmacy, and Starbucks:) Good choiceI highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

This house is beautiful in the winter and have to imagine in the summer as well. The details within the house are beautiful. And the location is close to Heavenly which was incredible and across the street from the beach. And in addition, you have a beautiful view of the lake. I highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

"The pictures on the site are great, but they can't compare to the real beauty of being there in this property!

We came in right after Christmas with our parents and college and high school kids. The house was ready and waiting for us. Lake Tahoe had lots of snow before our arrival. So, it was picture perfect!

The house is located across from the park on the lake and has amazing views from the big picture windows from most rooms. It is centrally located with a short drive to the grocery store, ski resorts, shopping, restaurants, etc.

We skied at Sierra, Homewood, and Heavenly and did the snowmobile tour from Zephyr Cove. There is so much to do close by, we had a hard time choosing what we wanted to do everyday.

This house is beautifully built and well appointed. It has an awesome kitchen with top of the line appliances. We were able to cook great dinners, play games and just spend time together in this great spot. The master bath has a great shower or a jetted tub for soothing your aches after a day on the mountain!

If you are looking for an amazing property to spend some down time with family or friends, I highly recommend this property. It is not furnished and equipped like a typical rental, more like you are a guest in a beautiful private home.

The owners of this property are great to deal with, very organized and efficient. There were great instructions in the property to answer any questions you might have in your stay.

If your planning a trip to the South Lake Tahoe area, I highly recommend this property. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

7 Days of Heaven in South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

The pictures on the site are great, but they can't compare to the real beauty of being there in this property!

We came in right after Christmas with our parents and college and high school kids. The house was ready and waiting for us. Lake Tahoe had lots of snow before our arrival. So, it was picture perfect!

The house is located across from the park on the lake and has amazing views from the big picture windows from most rooms. It is centrally located with a short drive to the grocery store, ski resorts, shopping, restaurants, etc.

We skied at Sierra, Homewood, and Heavenly and did the snowmobile tour from Zephyr Cove. There is so much to do close by, we had a hard time choosing what we wanted to do everyday.

This house is beautifully built and well appointed. It has an awesome kitchen with top of the line appliances. We were able to cook great dinners, play games and just spend time together in this great spot. The master bath has a great shower or a jetted tub for soothing your aches after a day on the mountain!

If you are looking for an amazing property to spend some down time with family or friends, I highly recommend this property. It is not furnished and equipped like a typical rental, more like you are a guest in a beautiful private home.

The owners of this property are great to deal with, very organized and efficient. There were great instructions in the property to answer any questions you might have in your stay.

If your planning a trip to the South Lake Tahoe area, I highly recommend this property. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

This home was beautiful. The kitchen was a chef's delight. The fireplace was gorgeous and warm. The first floor was on the cold side. This home is not for elder or handicapped persons. Otherwise, everything was great and the owners were a pleasure to work with. thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Cooks Delight

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

My family was visiting from New York for Christmas and wanted to host Christmas dinner in Lake Tahoe and decided to rent this vacation rental home. This was a great choice for a vacation rental. The pictures don't due it justice. This home had a beautiful kitchen with everything needed to make a gourmet dinner. The many serving trays in different shapes and sizes made hosting Christmas dinner a pleasure and a hit with the quests. The fireplace was gorgeous and created alot of heat. This was a very cold holiday and it did take a long time for the first floor to get warmed up. It stayed on the cold side during our stay. Also, for future renters I would agree with the owners that this home is not for elder or handicapped guests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

I looked at many homes in the search for the perfect place to fit my family’s needs during the Thanksgiving holiday. Pictures can only tell so much, but when we arrived the home exceeded our expectations, it was absolutely beautiful, inside and out! The first level of the house featured the 2 bedrooms and extra living area...which were mostly where our 8yr old was…playing the play station and watching movies. The second level had the kitchen, which contained everything we needed to prepare our thanksgiving dinner, plenty of cookware, dishes, 6 burners, all updated appliances, and plenty of counter space. It was a joy for entertaining and cooking in. There was a gorgeous view of the lake from all the large windows on this level. The living room was very elegant with beautiful ceilings and décor. It was also very cozy and was a joy to spend time with the whole family in, playing games and watching movies. The dining table was elegant and large enough to fit our whole family. The master bed on this floor was amazing! The king size bed was very comfortable and we loved the Jacuzzi tub, large shower with 6 shower heads, and the heated floor was a major plus! The 3rd floor contained a second master bedroom perfect for our sixteen yr old, she had plenty of privacy. The view from the roof top deck was amazing and had a large grill which is where we grilled our second turkey. The lake was only a short walk. It snowed the second day we where there and the views from and of the house where very beautiful. Thank You Hutch for sharing your home with us, we would love to comeback in July!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 5, 2009   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

I looked at many homes in the search for the perfect place to fit my family’s needs during the Thanksgiving holiday. Pictures can only tell so much, but when we arrived the home exceeded our expectations, it was absolutely beautiful, inside and out! The first level of the house featured the 2 bedrooms and extra living area...which were mostly where our 8yr old was…playing the play station and watching movies. The second level had the kitchen, which contained everything we needed to prepare our thanksgiving dinner, plenty of cookware, dishes, 6 burners, all updated appliances, and plenty of counter space. It was a joy for entertaining and cooking in. There was a gorgeous view of the lake from all the large windows on this level. The living room was very elegant with beautiful ceilings and décor. It was also very cozy and was a joy to spend time with the whole family in, playing games and watching movies. The dining table was elegant and large enough to fit our whole family. The master bed on this floor was amazing! The king size bed was very comfortable and we loved the Jacuzzi tub, large shower with 6 shower heads, and the heated floor was a major plus! The 3rd floor contained a second master bedroom perfect for our sixteen yr old, she had plenty of privacy. The view from the roof top deck was amazing and had a large grill which is where we grilled our second turkey. The lake was only a short walk. It snowed the second day we where there and the views from and of the house where very beautiful. Thank You Hutch for sharing your home with us, we would love to comeback in July!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

What a spectacular house! From the moment we drove up we knew we had chosen wisely. The exterior of the home is absolutely gorgeous - beautiful wood and appealing architecture. We were even more impressed when we climbed the stairs to the main floor. The decorative detail is extraordinary, the kitchen is a chef's dream and the balcony overlooking the park and lake across the street is a perfect spot for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. The bedrooms are ample and the bathrooms lovely. As for activities, we spent lots of time in the park and on the beach with our 1 1/2 year old daughter. The immediate beach is not as picturesque as the beach a 1/2 mile along but the water is nice and shallow for young children and there is a small play area in the park as well. We used both beaches throughout our stay. The supermarket is very convenient and a cruise to Emerald Bay on the Bleu Wave yacht, a trip on Heavenly's gondola or a hike on one of South Lake Tahoe's many trails are all just a short drive away. We had a fabulous time in this stunning home and will definitely return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Holiday

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

What a spectacular house! From the moment we drove up we knew we had chosen wisely. The exterior of the home is absolutely gorgeous - beautiful wood and appealing architecture. We were even more impressed when we climbed the stairs to the main floor. The decorative detail is extraordinary, the kitchen is a chef's dream and the balcony overlooking the park and lake across the street is a perfect spot for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. The bedrooms are ample and the bathrooms lovely. As for activities, we spent lots of time in the park and on the beach with our 1 1/2 year old daughter. The immediate beach is not as picturesque as the beach a 1/2 mile along but the water is nice and shallow for young children and there is a small play area in the park as well. We used both beaches throughout our stay. The supermarket is very convenient and a cruise to Emerald Bay on the Bleu Wave yacht, a trip on Heavenly's gondola or a hike on one of South Lake Tahoe's many trails are all just a short drive away. We had a fabulous time in this stunning home and will definitely return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

High School Reunion

Review submitted: September 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

Three high school friends and I rented the house for 4 days. The house is beautiful with a large open living area and four bedrooms. We spent most of our time in the open living area and on the deck looking out over Lake Tahoe. The kitchen had all the latest conveniences - although we ate out almost all meals, I would definitely appreciate the kitchen more if I rented the place with my family. My three kids would just love the area.

The location of the house is ideal - in a neighborhood but centrally located. It is right across from a park that is on Lake Tahoe so you get views of the lake from several areas of the house. We spent mornings walking the trail by the lake, grabbing coffee at Rude Brothers (about 4 blocks away) and walking down to the grocery store. If I had went went my family, my kids would have spent time at the playground in the park. The rest of the day we rented Seadoos, hiked the area, and ate a ton (house is centrally located so we could walk to a number of restaurants).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Mike wishes to come back with his family and we'd love to have him back. Thank you for staying with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

When we saw the pictures of this house on the website it looked wonderful. But it's even better than it looks in the pictures. The house is absolutely beautiful. The beds are comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped with plates, glasses, pots, pans, knives, everything. They've really done everything right with this house. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous house

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

When we saw the pictures of this house on the website it looked wonderful. But it's even better than it looks in the pictures. The house is absolutely beautiful. The beds are comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped with plates, glasses, pots, pans, knives, everything. They've really done everything right with this house. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We looked at dozens of vacation home alternatives for a family trip to Lake Tahoe, and the location and amenities of this home seemed perfect. We chose well. This is a fabulous, beautiful home. The photos don't do the home justice...it is gorgeous! The home is spotlessly clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. We prepared most of our meals at the house, as we felt it was easier. The location is perfect. It has incredible views of the Lake, and is right across the non-busy street from a lovely, warm, and very accessable beach and Regan Park, which my kids and grandkids loved. There were five weddings at the park while we were there, which speaks highly of the beauty of the surroundings Its location is ideal, being close to all the Tahoe activities. Take the paddle-wheel boat tour of the Lake...you'll love it! Have a huge and delicious breakfast at Heidis restaurant. We brought a ski boat, which we used at nearby Fallen Leaf Lake, and it was super. We almost had the lake to ourselves Last year, I took my family to Hawaii for a week. They all agreed that this trip was better. There were no crowds and there seemed to be more to do. The home owners were a joy to work with,and helped make our total experience outstanding. We will definitely be returning to this home in the future, and I highly recommend it for your family's memorable vacation. My family also enjoyed a large amount of nearby shopping and two different craft fairs , and I took advantage of the casinos just down the street. You will have no regrets if you stay at this home in beautiful Lake Tahoe!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A FABULOUS VACATION HOME!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

We looked at dozens of vacation home alternatives for a family trip to Lake Tahoe, and the location and amenities of this home seemed perfect. We chose well. This is a fabulous, beautiful home. The photos don't do the home justice...it is gorgeous! The home is spotlessly clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. We prepared most of our meals at the house, as we felt it was easier. The location is perfect. It has incredible views of the Lake, and is right across the non-busy street from a lovely, warm, and very accessable beach and Regan Park, which my kids and grandkids loved. There were five weddings at the park while we were there, which speaks highly of the beauty of the surroundings Its location is ideal, being close to all the Tahoe activities. Take the paddle-wheel boat tour of the Lake...you'll love it! Have a huge and delicious breakfast at Heidis restaurant. We brought a ski boat, which we used at nearby Fallen Leaf Lake, and it was super. We almost had the lake to ourselves Last year, I took my family to Hawaii for a week. They all agreed that this trip was better. There were no crowds and there seemed to be more to do. The home owners were a joy to work with,and helped make our total experience outstanding. We will definitely be returning to this home in the future, and I highly recommend it for your family's memorable vacation. My family also enjoyed a large amount of nearby shopping and two different craft fairs , and I took advantage of the casinos just down the street. You will have no regrets if you stay at this home in beautiful Lake Tahoe!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

We just got back from this beautiful home in Tahoe. I can tell you, the pictures don't do it justice. The home is high quality in every area. It is set up wonderfully for three groups or couples. Each floor has it's own set of bedroom(s) and a private bathroom. You walk across the street and you are at a small public park that overlooks the lake. The lake is directly below. You can dock your boat here or swim. Our kids loved the lake...it was shallow for at least 100 feet and they walked and walked before it was too deep. You are a quick five minute drive to the Tahoe Queen, for night cruises, and another beach that rents water skiis, kayaks, boats, etc. There are two grocery stores near by....

I just can't say enough about this property. I hope to come back for winter skiing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

We just got back from this beautiful home in Tahoe. I can tell you, the pictures don't do it justice. The home is high quality in every area. It is set up wonderfully for three groups or couples. Each floor has it's own set of bedroom(s) and a private bathroom. You walk across the street and you are at a small public park that overlooks the lake. The lake is directly below. You can dock your boat here or swim. Our kids loved the lake...it was shallow for at least 100 feet and they walked and walked before it was too deep. You are a quick five minute drive to the Tahoe Queen, for night cruises, and another beach that rents water skiis, kayaks, boats, etc. There are two grocery stores near by....

I just can't say enough about this property. I hope to come back for winter skiing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying in this home the week preceding the 4th of July. We enjoyed relaxing in such a beautiful setting, it was everything the owner had expressed it would be. Since our son was being married across the street and we were arriving after three days in North Carolina the location could not have been more convenient and for the remainder of the week - shopping, casinos and of course the lake were just as convenient. We were able to see many of the fireworks going on in different locations from the rooftop deck so we did not have to fight the crowd. The home had all the amenities you could ask for, which made for a very relaxing vacation. We look forward to staying there again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

This house is beautiful! My family stayed for 1 week and it was so awesome. There is granite counters, exquisite bathrooms, and a lovely deck to sit out and look at Lake Tahoe. The beds were some of the most comfortable away from home beds I have slept in. The house was immaculately clean and decorated exceptionally well. It's location is perfect for seeing the Tahoe sights. We hope to stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

This place has it all, great lake and mountain views, access to beach and great walking trails, walk to town, close to great hiking, water activities, ski slopes and so much more. You cannot look for greater convenience! And the home is immaculate! Beautifully appointed, new state-of-the-art appliances, luxurious beds, leather couches, killer master bath and open living/kitchen area and decking perfect for entertaining!

The owner was extremely responsive to my late request (booked 1 week prior) and provided all of the information necessary to make this an outstanding experience. Thank you! I will definitely stay here again on another trip to Tahoe!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Inspiring Escape

Review submitted: June 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

This place has it all, great lake and mountain views, access to beach and great walking trails, walk to town, close to great hiking, water activities, ski slopes and so much more. You cannot look for greater convenience! And the home is immaculate! Beautifully appointed, new state-of-the-art appliances, luxurious beds, leather couches, killer master bath and open living/kitchen area and decking perfect for entertaining!

The owner was extremely responsive to my late request (booked 1 week prior) and provided all of the information necessary to make this an outstanding experience. Thank you! I will definitely stay here again on another trip to Tahoe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review