reviews for: listing #53432 - Lake Arrowhead, California Cabin rental

Mountain Retreat in Skyforest
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Skyforest
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $900 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely lovely!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

Absolutely lovely cabin and the owners are very lucky to have such a unique and beautiful place to decompress. We were up in the area looking at cabins to buy and this cabin made the experience that much more enjoyable.
The cabin was well stocked and very clean. It was also nice that we could bring our very well behaved labs who were so excited to be there. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely cabin and I would recommend it to others and definitely will stay there again.

Troy and Steve Blain

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

From our guestbook: "It was a pleasure of the highest degree staying in your personal slice of heaven. What a lovely home in a lovely area. It was a birthday weekend I will never forget. Thank you, thank you, thank you."

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will certainly be back!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

From our guestbook: "Thank you for sharing your cozy cabin with us. We enjoyed the quiet ambience it provided. Your suggestion of the Antler Inn Grill was perfect for a birthday dinner. Thank you for all your promp responses to my questions and allowing us to stay here. We will cerainly be back!"

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxed and Happy

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

From our guestbook: "We loved our weekend in the woods! Thank you fro recomending the locat trail through deep forest. So gorgeous. We are going home relaxed & happy!"

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Quiet

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

From our guestbook: "Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. It was such a luxury having such nice furniture and kitchen supplies. Makes the world of difference. It's so peaceful & quiet here - such a good break from the city."

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

It really felt like "Home Away from Home"...

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

My family just returned home from a 3 day stay at Carol & Tim's beautiful Skyforest Cabin. We had the most amazing trip with our 2 kids (ages 4 & 7). First of all the home is VERY clean which we really appreciated. 9 times out of 10 we spend an hour or 2 cleaning any place we stay whether it is a hotel room, vacation rental, etc... We like to disinfect door handles, toilets, bathtubs, sinks, etc... That was NOT necessary here, as the place was already spotless. The cleaning fee is money very well spent. The owners are an absolute pleasure to deal with. We were emailed very detailed instructions on how to get to the cabin, and a short list of things to do while at the cabin. All of the amenities you desire are most likely included in this rental, and the decorations are so appropriate. Everything was much better than we expected and it made our trip feel more like a great experience. I really have nothing to complain about, but if I was asked to come up with a list of cons there would only be a couple minor things I would suggest.....but by no means are any of these things critical to your enjoyment of this cabin. Since we have 2 young children we brought their new Nintendo WiiU game system which uses an HDMI cable to hook-up to the TV. We thought it would be good to have for them at night while we relax with some wine. Since the TV was an older model there was no HDMI input to connect the system. Also, there is no cable service so you literally have 2 channels on the TV (ABC & some Spanish station). We did not go to the cabin to watch TV, but it's nice to have at night when you want to wind down and keep up with the news. The most basic cable service (which has plenty of channels) is roughly $30-$40 per month. We think it would be well worth the investment for a newer TV and basic cable service. Please don't think we are complaining about this....we are just trying to provide a comprehensive review of this beautiful cozy mountain retreat we wished we owned :) Lastly, we wanted snow, and we had plenty of it. The whole mountain side was covered in white, and it made our kids 1st trip to the snow very memorable. Thank you again Carol & Tim!!! We will be back!
~The Earll Family~

Owners response: We just installed wifi! And we put in a new TV along with a ROKU system.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Skyforest Getaway!

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

This cabin was perfect for a quiet weekend retreat! We had an easy drive from Orange County and arrived in the middle of the afternoon to a sun-drenched deck, bright and airy cabin and peaceful surroundings. The cabin was perfect for us and the other couple that joined us.

The owners made sure we knew everything we needed to have an enjoyable experience including where their best hiking spots were, where to boat, where to fish and a few of their favorite restaurants.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

My husband and I have spent 2 anniversaries at this charming cabin. We thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet in this warmly decorated home. The cabin has a cozy fireplace and is equipped with everything to make your stay extremely comfortable and hassle-free. The large deck is one of the best features of this place...plan to spend an afternoon there with a good book or if you care to venture out, there are plenty of local hiking trails nearby. The cottage is also located close to Rocky's, a must-try sandwich joint! I highly recommend the Ruben-DELICIOUS!!! We definitely plan to visit again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will definitely book this place again

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

"This cabin has met our expectations and more. We were very impressed with the location as well as the floor plan of the cabin and the cleanliness. Dealing with the owners when booking the place was very professional. We will definitely book this place again on our next trip." From our guestbook.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hideaway in the Woods

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

"What a wonderful retreat! I’ve been looking for a place like this for years – a cozy cabin that feels like you’re staying at a friend’s well-loved vacation home instead of just a rental . Thanks for sharing your beautiful hideaway in the woods! My husband is looking forward to coming up with me next time." From our guestbook.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Cabin has Peace Within

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

"Your cabin has peace within. We can feel your care and love for this place. We love the area so may come back for the snow season." From our guest book.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bel Air of Lake Arrowhead

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

This was the most delightful house, perfect in every way. Especially loved the deck (felt like we were living in a forest “canopy”) and large and wonderfully comfy couch. Splendid neighborhood, too – it really is the “Bel Air of Lake Arrowhead.” From our guest book

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tranquil and Peaceful

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

"We have thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here in Skyforest. This home is so lovely and cozy. It was a very tranquil and peaceful place to stay. It felt like we were in our own private forest." From our guest book.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Retreat

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

"What a warm and comfortable place. We loved every minute of our stay, and our children were given some wonderful memories to cherish! We are so thankful we found your amazing retreat and look forward to spending many more years to come in your home." (from our guest book)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No Need to Look Anywhere Else...

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

I did an enormous amount of research for our family vacation, including several advance trips to view rental locations throughout Lake Arrowhead. What we truly enjoyed here, I don't think you will find anywhere else.

First, I think Skyforest may be the most enchanting area on the mountain. Gorgeous pines everywhere, and homes with plenty of breathing room between them. The roads are newly paved which makes for easy and safe driving. You will take lots of long, peaceful walks.

This incredible cabin is tucked away just far enough to provide privacy (seriously, you barely see any houses around you) and yet a few minutes from Kuffel Canyon Road (the most scenic road into the Lake) and an incredible deli that I think may have some of the best food on the mountain.

The house itself is exactly what you dream of when you think of the ideal cabin in the mountains, including exceptionally clean. Beautiful wood floors, beamed ceilings, french doors and casement windows that allow the perfect amount of breeze and forest sounds. Several cars can park easily on the driveway - rare for rentals. Furnishings are tasteful & comfortable! August can be warm at the Lake, but the house stayed cool the entire visit. I 'll be back in winter to enjoy the woodburning fireplace and some snow!

Two comfortable bedrooms downstairs with a large bathroom / laundry room. A private suite upstairs with a balcony overlooking the living room. Quiet with plenty of space, including closets and dressers if you need them.

The kitchen is great - - the owners have stocked it with dishes, glasses and utensils that I would love to have in my own home. We cooked many meals there and took advantage of the gas barbeque and HUGE deck. I have to stress that you have the feeling of complete privacy even when outdoors.

Since we were all pretty much new to the area, we took our time exploring things to do. The kids really enjoyed Lake Gregory that offers boat and kayak rentals, as well as a pretty great water slide. This lake is about 15 minutes from Skyforest with easy parking and nominal entrance fee. We also took advantage of fishing in the lake on two afternoons.

The photos provided are accurate, if not understated. The rental fees are quite reasonable considering the quality of lodging and amenities. The owners were great to work with before and after our trip. It was always easy to reach them by phone or email. Very nice, special people.

Thank you Carol and Tim!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm so glad that your stay was pleasant and I do hope that you come back again to enjoy a different season. Carol

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

"We loved our visit to this Skyforest cabin. The cabin is wonderful, well decorated and clean, clean, clean. The decor is warm, inviting and very conducive to keeping the cabin clean (clean is big with us and our usual complaint about mountain getaways). The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was wonderful and everything we could want was available to us. The quiet location in the woods seemed remote and very rustic, however we were only minutes from everywhere we could possibly want to go.

The owners were a pleasure to deal with and the process was straight forward and hassle free.

We defintely plan on returning and everyone who has seen the photos has remarked then want to visit their next trip.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We loved our visit to this Skyforest cabin. The cabin is wonderful, well decorated and clean, clean, clean. The decor is warm, inviting and very conducive to keeping the cabin clean (clean is big with us and our usual complaint about mountain getaways). The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was wonderful and everything we could want was available to us. The quiet location in the woods seemed remote and very rustic, however we were only minutes from everywhere we could possibly want to go.

The owners were a pleasure to deal with and the process was straight forward and hassle free.

We defintely plan on returning and everyone who has seen the photos has remarked then want to visit their next trip.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We loved our stay at this Skyforest cabin. The cabin is gorgeous and very, very clean with everything that we could possibly need available to us. The transaction with the owners simple, straightforward and hassle-free. Everyone has raved over our photos of the cabin and it is true to the photographs. No trickery there. We will definitely be coming back.

The only thing we would change were it a longer stay would be the addition of cable tv. We didn't miss it for a weekend away, but it might be nice for a longer vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Perfect Forest Rental Home

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We rented this beautiful cozy forest home for our family's Thanksgiving vacation. It was so nice to be up in the forest surrounded by nature out of every window.We had a very nice time walking and playing in the snow fall, followed with hot coco by the fireplace. This mountain home was very clean and well decorated, with modern guest and master bathroom. The kitchen had all stainless steel appliances and a nice new sink. Our little dog enjoyed playing and running around on the huge out door deck. We were able to see many blue jays and chipmunks, and bring home a nice collection of pine cones. We look forward to returning and experiencing a different season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderal cabin in the woods

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend at this cabin. The house is ridiculously cozy--especially the living room, aided by the wood burning fireplace (with plenty of wood) and comfy sofa. The surrounding area is beautiful and there is a great 2 mile hike right outside the door. Beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are newly remodeled. Great kitchen and outdoor deck. 2 minutes from the village. It was perfect for us. And the owners are very nice.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect!!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

The cabin was charming and the setting wonderful. The weather outside was frightful but the fire inside was delightful. I would strongly recommend this property and will likely book it again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our New Favorite Spot on the Planet!

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

Our new favorite spot on the planet! Skyforest, CA! The cabin is so very charming and done to perfection! Love the quaint touches, vases in niches, lush towels and all the comfortable furnishings. We enjoyed endless walks in the woods, reading on the deck, and BBQing. All the comforts of home & more!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Beautiful Cabin; great location

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights, and it was the perfect escape... The cabin is in impeccable condition, and ideally located 5-7 minutes from the Village. It was easy and a pleasure working with the owners to reserve the cabin (on very little notice!). I've already recommended the cabin to friends and family!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Heaven in the Pines

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

We LOVED this "Mountain Retreat"! It was just perfect! It was set up with everything one needs without having a lot of extra. Everything was so easy and well thought out -- from the location of the keys to the lighter for the fireplace on the mantle. The owner was both efficient and thoughtful; making a few helpful suggestions and giving timely responses to our questions. We had the best and most relaxing time. It was everything represented in the VacationRentals.com listing and more. Tastefully appointed and truly fabulous! We hope to return in the future. We spent time on the deck just enjoying the birds, trees, coolness.....it was Heaven.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Surprise!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Our adult children arrived prior to our arrival at your beautiful cabin retreat. They got everything ready for the big surprise. My husband had no idea where I was taking him for his 70th Birthday. He was delighted with the surprise and the coziness and warmth of your lovely cabin. I was so pleased with the cleanliness and beauty of the cabin. We felt right at home, enjoying the expansive deck and peaceful ambiance. We relaxed, hiked and explored the area. A wonderful time was had by all. Anita

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Home and a Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

We had a great time at this beautiful mountain cabin. The home is private and in a beautiful setting among the trees. Everything is well-maintained and well-equipped. There are restaurants within walking distance, so you don't have to drive everywhere. The walk around the area has a beautiful view of Lake Arrowhead. We found snow and went tubing just a short distance away. This is a charming home and a relaxing vacation. The owners are responsive and nice to deal with. We have already recommended this home to several friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay!

Review submitted: January 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 5, 2010

We wanted to personally thank you for the opportunity to stay in your wonderful cabin. We loved our stay! All of us and the dog were very comfortable. The seclusion, beautiful forest setting, and 2 mile family hike were a relaxing way to end our Winter Break.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Charming Home and a Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

We had a great time at this beautiful mountain cabin. The home is private and in a beautiful setting among the trees. Everything is well-maintained and well-equipped. There are restaurants within walking distance, so you don't have to drive everywhere. The walk around the area has a beautiful view of Lake Arrowhead. We found snow and went tubing just a short distance away. This is a charming home and a relaxing vacation. The owners are responsive and nice to deal with. We have already recommended this home to several friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Real Find

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

“Your cabin has been a special place and a real find for us.”

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a warm cozy, welcoming & comfortable cabin!

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

“What a warm cozy, welcoming & comfortable cabin!”

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Goldilocks has nothing on your beautiful and so incredibly comfortable home.

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

“Goldilocks has nothing on your beautiful and so incredibly comfortable home.”

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What An Ideal Mountain Retreat!

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

July 5, 2009 “What an ideal mountain retreat! You have a beautiful, warm & welcoming home here – we enjoyed our stay so much. This was our first time to the area and we were very impressed with Skyforest and the little shops and great deli – We had a wonderful relaxing weekend.”

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review