reviews for: listing #53483 - Yuma, Arizona House rental

Martinez Lake Secluded Hideaway w/ Dock
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt

sort by:

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

As a frequent visitor to Martinez Lake, we have stayed at quite a few places. This by far meets our needs the best. The house has always been clean each time we have rented it, and we make sure we leave it the same way. The owner has always provided us great customer service. We are aware of the restaurant and bar, however we enjoy the seclusion that this house give us while staying there. All of the amenities are as described, and the house is quite comfortable. We have had the opportunity to meet the owner, and shared with him how much we enjoy his property. Can't wait to go again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Filthy

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

House had not been cleaned. I spent 15 minutes cleaning refrigerator before I could use it. Tried cleaning sink and countertop, cabinet doors were caked with grime, no dish washer so untensils were dirty, studio smelled like the sewer had backed up plus to much more to explain. When my wife complained to Rupe about it he said " If you don't want to stay I will refund your money"!!
We stayed the night because it was to late to find another place. I emailed him that we were leaving in the morining.
He refunded ony about 1/2 of our rental fee and will not answer my emails.
This the worst experence we have had with a house rental.

Owners response: This is a review by a couple who apparently were having a fight about their plans before they even got there. I had driven over from San Diego to meet them and the house was clean and ready to be occupied. Although the husband wanted to stay, the wife was rude and offensive. They abandoned the tenancy within days and expected me to refund all their rent. I was able to re-rent it for several weekends of their tenancy and refunded more than half their rent and their deposit. Over the next two month period, they tried to extract the balance, with the threat of a bad review. Owners should be aware of this tactic. Our vacation home is a source of great pride to my family and is enjoyed by many guests every year. I hope this pair is an anomaly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Great place to have fun on the River!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this nice little home on the river. The private dock was a nice amenity and made for easy access to the river. Too bad the lake had such a heavy weed undergrowth or the kids would have just as easily swam in the lagoon like part of the lake. The house had everything we needed to accentuate our stay on the river. The A/C kept the house comfortable despite the 105-110 temps that were running outside. I would recommend this home to anyone with a boat and a desire to get on the river and have fun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Get Away

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

This rental was great! Its a large house with plenty of room for a small group to spend the weekend. The house had everything we needed: dishes, linen, bbq pit, and a/c. It was around 110 degrees, but the river is right there to cool off. There are two bars within walking distance and you can rent canoes and paddle to a sandbar where others meet up and spend the day; just be aware of the current and don't go to far. My only regret is not owning a boat or jet ski to see more of the river or to visit more sandbars.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location & Family Fun!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

This was a great house for our family trip. The location was great. Right around the corner from the river and sandbars and right around the corner from the lake. It is private and out of all of the hoopla, but still close enough. Nice to be able to walk to the resturant and bar. The deck was beautiful. There were a lot of weeds in the water for swimming off the deck - however the water was very clean. The ladder down was nice. You want to swim in the river anyway. Some of our adult children had to share a bedroom, but they didn't mind. The studio was great for the other couple. The racoons were adorable. The house was well supplied with dishes and towels and bedding. The view and seclusion was spectacular! We could not have asked for a better home or location. Many thanks to Rupe and Michele. We look forward to a return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Best House

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

This is the river house I have ever stayed at!!! I have been renting this same house now going on 2 years. I have would recommend this home to anyone wanting a quit getaway with affordable accomidations. I personally take my family which includes 5 people as well as in-laws and friends all have the same feeling that I do. The Home may not be a 5 star resort but if you are looking for that at the river maybe you should re-think your vacations next year and leave more dates open for my family. I will continue to use this home as long as the land-lord allows. I also have used it in the winter or during the off-season and found the home in tip top shape. I appreciate the chance I have recieved to stay here and plan to stay there for many trips in the future...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great house, great location, needs cleaned badly

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Loved the location and house ammenities, but unfortunately, it had been a VERY LONG TIME since the property had been cleaned. We sent pictures to the owners after our stay, and were told that they had been to the property days prior and hadn't even noticed. There were dead bugs covering the sink areas, mouse turds in the kitchen, black filth and hairs on the shower floors, dirt tracks on the tile floor. We had to clean the kitchen before we could use it. We were travelling with an infant and it was very upsetting. If we hadn't arrived so late in the evening we would have left and found other accomodations. However, not to be completely negative, the view from the porch was lovely and layout of the house worked well for us. If it had been clean, it would have been the perfect vacation spot.

Owners response: Unfortunately, you sometimes get renters during the off-season that don't know what to expect. Folks, this is the RIVER, and our place sits on over an acre on secluded South end of the lake. There are gnats, bats, mice, raccoons, coyotes, bobcats, you name it. I drove 210 miles to clean the place for them, and when I returned after their stay, the place needed a couple of hours of cleaning, but it gets that after every guest. I had to make 2 trips from San Diego to accommodate them; they got "Winter rates" and the most relaxing view at Martinez, and they found it "upsetting". Go figure.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful place to play and relax!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

The weather was outstanding, which enhanced our stay. The house had all the comforts of home. Anything you would need in the kitchen is there. Even some can goods from previous vacationers, so if you forgot your food, you will be in luck! We ate breakfast out on the deck over the lake. Not over looking the lake, the deck is actually over the water, which makes the view that more breath taking! There was a picnic table there with plenty of chairs. They have a fire pit, which we used every night we were there, so glad we brought fire wood. The have a grill and we had ribs, mmmmmm! My husband and son really liked the bigger screen TV. My favorite place was the seat in front of the window. I could read and drink some tea, while the guys were out playing on the water. Wonderful memories and I would not hesitate to visit there again. In fact, if I ever go back to Lake Martinez, I will rent the same home again. I already feel comfortable with it. I would recommend it to friends and family alike. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weekend

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

Nice place to stay. This is our second time staying at this house. Only one large bed and two twins but we had brought a couple air mattresses and there is plenty of room to lay them out so it worked out fine. The private dock would work good but the water level was so low that we could not use it. We had come out in the spring and the water level was high enough that we could use the dock. It is a very short walk to the launch ramp. Very peaceful location. The house was very clean for the most part, we did find some broken pieces of glass in the bathroom. Plenty of parking for our boat trailer and cars. We were happy to see that there is a DVD player and satellite dish for regular TV. Don't forget your mosquito repellant for when it gets dark. We appreciated that we could bring our dog and he loved it. I would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review