reviews for: listing #53535 - Puerto Vallarta, Pacific Coast Villa rental

Beachfront Casa Carole MARCH SALE 30% OFF New Lower Rates
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Conchas Chinas
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $850 - $1,750 /nt
    $5,950 - $12,250 /wk

sort by:

Paradise in PV!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We just returned from a week's stay at the wonderful Casa Carole and only wish we had many weeks more to spend! Of course Puerto Vallarta is a terrific destination in and of itself. It's tropical locale, the friendliness of the people and the ease of getting there make for a great vacation for most people.

But what made our particular trip outstanding was the villa and it's staff of wonderful caretakers. First, the villa. It's huge! Plenty of room for the 9 of us. Rooms tastefully decorated...views of the Pacific from each room. I've been to many VRBO locations and none has been as well cared for and maintained as Villa Carole.

Since our moment of arrival the staff made us feel welcome. Maria was in the kitchen already preparing our welcome dinner. Pepe was showing us around the villa giving us the grand tour. Shortly thereafter, he was down by the pool with a pitcher of margaritas and a happy hour assortment of delicious appetizers! All the while, Carmen was quietly making sure our rooms were spotlessly clean. This pattern continued all week as we quickly became accustomed to being totally pampered. Choosing from a wide selection of breakfast, lunch and dinner options was a daily treat. The 2 times we did eat out, we wished we hadn't. Maria's meals were that superior! ( The shrimp stuffed with manchego cheese and wrapped in bacon was a favorite).

As the week came to an end and we reluctantly had to say goodbye, we all realized that this wonderful staff had truly become a part of our family. Their exemplary service should be commended. As Pepe opened the taxi door for me on that last day, I shook his hand and gave him a big hug. As the cab pulled away, and we were heading to the airport I had to wipe a tear from my eye.

Thank you John and Carol for opening up your beautiful home to us. You were a pleasure to deal with and provided us with a week we will never forget. We will certainly not hesitate to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

As I'm looking into booking another trip here, I realised I hadn't left a review for the last time we were here. Maybe I subconsciously didn't want to let everyone know how perfect this spot is, because I wanted to keep it my own little secret slice of heaven!

My husband and I spent a lot of time communicating with John & Carol about everything ahead of time, including local activities, meal planning, laundry, etc. They were very helpful and did some research for us on the things they weren't certain about.

Once we arrived we were still taken aback with how exquisite this villa was. The staff was extremely accommodating. I have very specific diet restrictions, and they were willing and able to do the research to make sure everything they provided was within my diet restrictions. It took a huge load off my mind, and was a huge bonus. Often it is difficult to keep to diet restrictions when travelling, especially when travelling outside one's own country. It was such a breath of fresh air to not have to worry about that.

The pool was fabulous. The villa was incredibly comfortable, and felt like 'home' right away. The staff was great about helping us plan our activities from day-to-day, and they were very honest and trustworthy.

Ahead of time we had been concerned about safety, but the villa is very, very safe, and the staff keep the villa secure at all times.

The grounds were gorgeous and very well-maintained.

The villa is an open-air style, which is refreshing and relaxing. It always felt like it was just the right temperature. We had a couple ladies come right to the villa to give us massages, and that was wonderful.

The bedrooms feel private and the bathrooms are so much fun. Some of the bedrooms have bathrooms are open to the outside, which sounds awkward, but it really isn't. Our favourite is the room that has a hammock in the shower area. We took several naps there, after spending an afternoon in the sun and water.

Now we are planning a trip to go back, but this time we are bringing our 3 kids, and another family. We like to travel and rarely go to the same place twice, so it speaks volumes that we are itching to get back to Casa Carole!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

As I'm looking into booking another trip here, I realised I hadn't left a review for the last time we were here. Maybe I subconsciously didn't want to let everyone know how perfect this spot is, because I wanted to keep it my own little secret slice of heaven!

My husband and I spent a lot of time communicating with John & Carol about everything ahead of time, including local activities, meal planning, laundry, etc. They were very helpful and did some research for us on the things they weren't certain about.

Once we arrived we were still taken aback with how exquisite this villa was. The staff was extremely accommodating. I have very specific diet restrictions, and they were willing and able to do the research to make sure everything they provided was within my diet restrictions. It took a huge load off my mind, and was a huge bonus. Often it is difficult to keep to diet restrictions when travelling, especially when travelling outside one's own country. It was such a breath of fresh air to not have to worry about that.

The pool was fabulous. The villa was incredibly comfortable, and felt like 'home' right away. The staff was great about helping us plan our activities from day-to-day, and they were very honest and trustworthy.

Ahead of time we had been concerned about safety, but the villa is very, very safe, and the staff keep the villa secure at all times.

The grounds were gorgeous and very well-maintained.

The villa is an open-air style, which is refreshing and relaxing. It always felt like it was just the right temperature. We had a couple ladies come right to the villa to give us massages, and that was wonderful.

The bedrooms feel private and the bathrooms are so much fun. Some of the bedrooms have bathrooms are open to the outside, which sounds awkward, but it really isn't. Our favourite is the room that has a hammock in the shower area. We took several naps there, after spending an afternoon in the sun and water.

Now we are planning a trip to go back, but this time we are bringing our 3 kids, and another family. We like to travel and rarely go to the same place twice, so it speaks volumes that we are itching to get back to Casa Carole!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful spot

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Took the whole family here for a week. We had a wonderful time. Each bedroom as a real sense of privacy. Each also has a great bathroom and front facing deck. The view is divine. The staff was very wonderful. It was such a pleasure never have to cook, do dishes or clean. We felt very pampered by all three of them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your prompt review of your week at Casa Carole. It sounds like you had a great time. You certainly covered the waterfront with the kinds of people who you recommend should come and enjoy Casa Carole. Over the years, we have had some of every kind that you have recommended. Thanks again.
John Hethrington
Co-Owner (with my wife Carol) of Casa Carole

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven by the beach

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

It's hard to write a review for Casa Carole right now because three days back, we're still missing it tremendously! After several extremely helpful conversations with owners Carol and John, and hours spent looking at the pictures of the property online, Casa Carole somehow exceeded our expectations in every way. We were a group of five adults and four children and here's what we loved about Casa Carole:

- A house offering the perfect balance between wonderful gathering spots (the dining room, the pool) and privacy afforded by bedrooms on different levels.
- Nature's sound machine of breaking waves lulling you to sleep every night.
- Tidepools for the kids to explore and snorkeling among the lava rocks just steps away from your private pool.
- The perfect crow's nest for parents. Sit on one of the two decks (one shaded, the other warmed by the sun) above the pool reading a book while the kids swim. Each hour or so, look over the railing and say, "be nice to your sister, don't hold her head underwater." Resume reading.
- Waverunners and private boats brought directly to your beach for affordable hourly rentals.
- Views, views and more views. From every window and deck on the house.

But most of all, we miss Pepe, Maria and Carmen. They are more than a staff, they are completely invested in your happiness on your trip. Pepe does a little of everything, from booking trips to serving drinks, always with a smile and care. Maria cooks the most delicious food that we know little about Puerto Vallarta's restaurants...because we only visited one in a week. And Carmen slips quietly in and out of rooms like a shadow converting your room from a mess to immaculate and you wondered when she did it.

From the moment we inquired about the property to the moment we sadly left Casa Carole's driveway, this was an A+, luxury experience. I cannot recommend it highly enough, provided you don't book the week we want to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Most relaxing vacation ever!!!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

This was the most relaxing and enjoyable trip I have ever been on! Such a beautiful home, much more than we ever expected! The staff (Pepe, Mari and Carmen) tended to every need, and always with a smile. The food was also absolutely amazing. Everyone agreed that each meal far surpassed any that we had at a restaurant. The whole house was always clean and quickly tended to. We were truly spoiled with that villa and the fabulous staff. Can’t wait to return to Casa Carole! An unforgettable trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Private Puerto Vallarta Villa

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We could not be more pleased with our stay at Casa Carole for our Puerto Vallarta vacation. The villa is breathtakingly beautiful, with its traditional Mexican decor. We felt so at home, and at the same time, we enjoyed the "exotic" nature and surroundings. The Casa Carole staff literally spoiled us with their amazing cuisine and services. Every meal they served us was delectable. They even prepared a birthday cake for my husband on our fifth night and helped make the evening that much more special. Puerto Vallarta is a great city to visit. We also had the great adventure of visiting an old village called San Sebastian and a tequila factory in the remote hills of the Sierra Madre mountains. Of course we also sampled lots of locally made tequila and learned so much about Mexican culture and traditions. Thank you so much to the Casa Carole owners John and Carol and staff for making this holiday a memorable one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Incredible Time At Casa Carole

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

I cannot begin to describe the incredible time we had at Casa Carole. The villa was even more beautiful than I was expecting!! Absolute paradise!!

But what made it the trip of a lifetime for us was, not only the incredible villa, but Pepe, Carmen and Maria. They were awesome, and totally spoilt us rotten! Carmen is so sweet, and kept the house immaculate. Maria’s beautiful smile every morning was as magnificent as the view – but her cooking, that was worth the trip alone!! And Pepe, what a gentleman! He organized everything for us, always made sure we had the best margaritas I’ve ever tasted, and always made us laugh! When it came to tours that we wanted to do, Pepe took care of it all for us and booked us on the best ones (swimming with the dolphins will always be one of my fondest memories!!). It was our friend Fred’s birthday while we were there, and he received a cake and a wonderful birthday serenade from Carmen, Maria and Pepe.

I have to say, Carmen, Maria and Pepe are Casa Carole’s biggest assets!! We miss them every day since we’ve returned. I hope you know how wonderful they are.

The house was amazing, and in such a great location. The pool was spectacular – in fact we didn’t leave the villa at all for the first 3 days, except for dinner on Sunday night – and even that was just 1 minute walk down the beach!! Now if I didn’t know better, I would guess that you also organized the weather for us, because it was just as perfect as everything else!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We recently visited Casa Carole for a week long, family, 60th Birthday celebration for my mother. A TRUE vacation for all! The staff, foremost, made the experience a true experience. The food was fresh, simply prepared & delicious. The variety was also amazing & we had no desire to eat anywhere other than at home. Samuel, Maria & Carmen are so hospitable & served our EVERY need.....from arranging massage therapists, snorkeling trips, shopping locations, cocktails poolside & birthday cakes to laundry! The house is beautifully decorated, updated & clean. We were fortunate to observe whales & dolphins every day of the trip. The house's location is also wonderful.....being only a few miles from city center. It worked perfectly for the 5 families & 4 small children. It's worth noting that we all felt safe during our entire travels & stay in PV.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Memorable Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Thank you to John and Carol for opening up your Puerto Vallarta home to us! We had an amazing time thanks to Samuel, Lola and Carmen! We couldn't have asked for better service from the staff ~ Samuel booked fun adventures for us and made fabulous cocktails poolside, Lola cooked amazing meals, and Carmen kept the casa clean and tidy at all times. It was very fun to have the banana boat pick us up right on our very own beach and all the boys were grateful for Samuel hooking them up with a very sucessful fishing trip. Taxis and restaurants were convenient - great location and so close to downtown. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Thank you so much to John and Carol for opening up your vacation home for us to enjoy! All 14 of us loved every minute of our stay. We looked forward to our 4pm happy hour with cocktails served poolside by Samuel and amazing appetizers from Lola. Every meal was to die for - thank you, Lola! Samuel arranged fun adventures for us and even had the banana boat pick us up on our own beach! Thank you to the rest of the staff for keeping the casa clean and beautiful! Taxis and restaurants were so convenient - great location. I can't wait to return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

December 12 – 19, 2009
“Thank you Casa Carole”
Big margaritas
Big Waves
Smiling Samuel
Helpful Carmen
Happy Lola
Big thank you for all
the fun times with our parents, baby and friend Eva.
The Staff here made our trip to PV sooo memorable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

Samuel, Lola & Carmen

Muchas Gracias from Texas! This our 3rd trip to the villa and it just gets better every time we come. The food and special attention given by you guys is outstanding, which is why we will continue to come back again and again. You are all very genuine and work very hard to please us in every way possible. It is obvious you take much pride in your work. Our Mexico vacations are very special to us with the busy lives we lead back home. This is by far our favourite place to come relax and enjoy our home away from home and to visit with our Mexican family here.
Until next time ….. mucho amor –

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

This was our first trip to Mexico and the villa played a major role in just what fun we had! Casa Carole is very beautiful and Samuel does an excellent job maintaining it! We had so much fun in the pool and hanging out in the villa I am afraid we might have missed out on something outside the villa. He He.
Lola’s food was absolutely amazing! I won’t even know what to eat when I get back home, nothing will compare. Carmen was so great as well. She was really funny and we appreciated her hard work greatly! Without this wonderful staff the villa wouldn’t be near as wonderful and amazing. Thank you!
Angela Meacham & family, Spokane, Washington

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

So much to say! What can I say!
I have been dreaming of this place, since I first heard of it in 2005.
I saw this place on the internet and couldn’t believe my eyes. When I got here it was better than my dreams could of let me believe. So much better than expected. What a week.
Great weather, great accommodations, great everything!
The best part, is the staff. Made us all feel so welcome and warm.
Good food and fabulous memories! We will be back!
Oakville, Ontario

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"This was the best vacation ever!"

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

August 22 2009
Our three generations of family had a great time at Casa Carole. Samuel, Lola and Carmen were terrific. We all loved Lola’s meals and Samuel arranged a snorkeling and cruise trip as well as a photographer for some family photos on the rocks. Great weather, although a little steamy this time of year. We will miss it all, especially the pool and the view. Great memories for all.
Jack, Joan and family – Atlantic GA.

August 22 2009
This was the best vacation ever! Casa Carole is a beautiful place – Samuel went way above and beyond to make sure our needs were met and Lola was the best cook – food was amazing! Carmen did a wonderful job at keeping up the rooms. We had such a wonderful time we will definitely be back!
Matt & Nina Fulltron, CA

August 22 2009
What a beautiful vacation! Samuel, Lola and Carmen were all wonderful. We enjoyed the house & the view very much. We will take home many amazing memories!
Jason & Kirsten… Newport Beach, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Thank you Casa Carole"

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

“Thank you Casa Carole”
Big margaritas
Big Waves
Smiling Samuel
Helpful Carmen
Happy Lola
Big thank you for all
The fun times with our parents, baby and friend Eva.
The Staff here made our trip to PV sooo memorable.
XO Otto and Karin Schaffner, + baby Stella too!
Vancouver, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bye Bye, Adios Casa Carole, Gracias!! Until next time …

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

John and Carol – your home is beyond beautiful and we thank you for the week in paradise! We look forward to visiting again and we will tell all of our friends about Casa Carole!!

Lola & Samuel, you made our vacation the most enjoyable and relaxing one we could ask for! The incredible meals prepared by Lola were by far the best in PV!! We will all think of Lola as we exercise the pounds away!!

Samuel, you are such a wonderful host and you’re attention to every detail is super!! We only had to worry about sleeping! Ha! We can’t imagine another vacation without you, Samuel! Gracias! Gracias! Gracias!
Tarra & Brian, Cypress Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our three generations of family had a great time..

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

“Our three generations of family had a great time at Casa Carole. Samuel, Lola and Carmen were terrific. We all loved Lola’s meals and Samuel arranged a snorkeling and cruise trip as well as a photographer for some family photos on the rocks. Great weather, although a little steamy this time of year. We will miss it all, especially the pool and the view. Great memories for all.”
Jack,Joan and family – Atlantic GA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“This was the most amazing vacation!"

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

"Our 6th time in Puerto Vallarta, but our favourite. (Didn’t like the 5 lb. wait gain each from Lola’s fabulous cooking!) We will be back next year”.
The Szelias

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review