reviews for: listing #536 - Destin, Florida Condo rental

Maravilla - Snowbird Wanted - Jan/Feb
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Maravilla
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $60 - $150 /nt
    $350 - $900 /wk
    $925 - $1,025 /mth

sort by:

Meh.

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

First, the positives....
1. Proximity to the beach. Just a short walk!
2. Proximity to restaurants and shopping. Everything you may want to access seems to be just around the corner!
3. The owner of the condo has the kitchen well stocked. If you want to stay in and cook she has what you need.
4. Use of the beach chairs and umbrella-love this!

Now to the negatives...
1. The front door and master bedroom are directly across from the only elevator access to this building. Many nights we were startled awake for people having conversations while waiting at all hours to get on the elevator. There will be times you can't leave or enter the unit for the people waiting on it as well.
2. I'm told that our experience wasn't the norm but when we arrived the floors were slick-but not wet-and the unit had a bad smell to it from our first entrance to our last exit. The floors were dirty as well as other parts of the unit. Upon giving the owner a heads up she precedes to give my personal phone #, not the condo phone #, to the very angry cleaning person to whom I then had to defend myself and opinions. I'd already cleaned the infractions and took care if the floor myself so I didn't need then to come back over-not that I would want the "emotional Brazilian" (owners words) cleaning lady anywhere near me or my family after the phone conversation we'd had.
3. The bed is terrible! If you move a pinky toe it squeaks! The hallway mattresses are hollowed and flattened in the middle. So if you are looking for a great night sleep be sure to exhaust yourself on the beach so your sleeping arrangements don't even matter!

I want to relax on a vacation-not be exhausted because I can't get a good nights sleep because of noise and general discomfort. I want to feel comfortable walking barefoot in the place I'm staying for a week. Thise didn't apply this year so we will not be renting this unit again and I can't recommend it for anyone either.

Owners response: I want my renters to experience a condo with all the comforts of home and all the pleasures of being away. I am sorry that this was not the case with this renter. She emailed me to complain about the housekeeping but never called the housekeeper herself as is on the instructions sheet. So to remedy her complaint I asked my housekeeper to call her to remedy what she complained about. The adult way to do something is directly contact the person that can fix this. She complained about the 1/2 roll of toilet paper. The leave a single roll, whereas a lot of people are used to double rolls and a roll under each vanity. She also complained there was a bag of sheets on the sofa. They are for the sofabed and were clean but my housekeeper will now label as such. They also said they mopped with Lysol so maybe that was the smell she wasn't used too. My housekeepers (a man & wife team) have been with me a long time. They would do anything for you. If they didn't do something to your liking let them remedy it. Everyone has a job to do and to cut them off was rude and not respectful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Time Around in This Unit

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

This was my wife and my second visit to this same unit. We first stayed here in 2012. It did not disappoint the second time around. We feel this is a great value for its closeness to the white, sandy beaches Miramar Beach (Destin area).
We like the first floor location and the ample parking in front of the unit. Unit has all the comforts of home. The only thing we missed was our DVR.
We love not having to lug beach chairs and umbrellas to the beach every day. Bech crew had everything set up by 9 in the morning. Crew was polite and helpful. They did not have their hands out for tips every time you turned around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great accommodation & reasonably priced

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Very comfortable stay and reasonably priced. My seven year old son and I spent Spring Break here in Maravilla. For being a single mom, I felt very safe in the gated community. The brief walk to the beach was worth every penny. We spent most of our time on the beach, and the beach service was an excellent perk! The condo was very accommodating, and I appreciate the opportunity stay in such a beautiful community on one of the most beautiful beaches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maravilla is a great family friendly complex located in beautiful Miramar Beach. Everything is close by. This first floor condo is easily accessible with no stairs or elevator to contend with. The beach chair & umbrella set up means bringing just your own beach towels & cooler.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great First Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Maravilla condo was nice and clean. It was definitely represented exactly as described. Perfect condo for our family and conveniently located to beach as well as all the restaurants and attractions in Destin. Thanks to the owner of the property, she was very accessible for any questions. We would absolutely rent from owner again and be back to Destin for another family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Value at the Most Beautiful Beach in the USA

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Just like a home away from home right on the Gulf at a reasonable price. We especially liked the beach lounge chair setup daily included in the renta;, the quite, safe gated community; and very ample parking close to the unit. Also the unit is on the first floor and made loading and unloading of personal luggage a breeze.

WE WILL BE BACK In THE FUTURE!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This was our second time in Destin for spring break as we usually go to St. Pete or Siesta Key. We love this just as much or even more since the beach is perfect. We loved the location of the condo and the beach service. The condo was clean and the description was very accurate of what to expect. We had one issue with the shower in which we needed to call Veronica and she had it fixed by the next morning. We definitely liked what the resort had to offer and it's location to the beach and restaurants was great. Thanks for helping give our family more wonderful memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maravilla is a great family resort. Its 500 ft of private gated beach makes sure it is never crowded. No need to lug beach chairs & umbrella, a set up will be waiting for you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

maravilla gated family complex

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Thank you Veronica for sharing your Destin, Florida condo with us. We had a wonderful vacation. The condo had everything we needed, plus more. All the bedding, kitchen appliances and cookware were very clean. I was surprised at the partial ocean view we also had. Restaurants were close, some walking distance. The 2 pools were close and clean, courts were nice and having the 2 chairs and umbrella set up on the beach were the best. Oh, and the price was excellent. Check into this condo, it's well worth it! Hope to be back in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Good location

Review submitted: January 17, 1970   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

This property was a great location. First time in Destin for us but won't be our last. The proximity to the beach was great as we have three small children and it was nice to have such a short walk. The beach was great and the chair/umbrella service was awesome. Thank you for sharing this with us and allowing us to make some great memories!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maravilla is a family friendly gated complex and with their own spacious gated beach it is no wonder that once you come, you will return. Walk out the front door and across the parking area to the pool & hot tub. Everything is so convenient. Oh and the returning guest discount helps!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review