reviews for: listing #53611 - Santa Fe, New Mexico House rental

New Beautiful Home - Walk to Plaza - with AC
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Artists Crossing
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $450 /nt
    $1,750 - $3,150 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible Memorial Day weekend!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My daughter and I had an amazing experience at the Artist Retreat house. The owners were incredibly gracious and generous hosts that made us feel welcome in their home and Santa Fe. The house is absolutely stunning and in a wonderful, quiet neighborhood close the Plaza and Canyon Road. We absolutely fell in love with the house and we can't wait to go back and stay again. We highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Artist retreat

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

My friends and I spent a wonderful 3 days and found the Artist Retreat to be everything we hoped for. It was spacious and elegantly designed. The spacious apartment had everything we could want. We also found Justin's recommendations for attractions and dining to be outstanding and very helpful.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Artist's Retreat is a Dream

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Justin and Sandra for letting myself and my group of girlfriends stay in this fabulous house. It was beautifully maintained and tastefully decorated/furnished. I want to live there permanently! Both Justin and Sandra were a wealth of information re: all things Santa Fe. They gave us excellent restaurant and spa recommendations (ten thousand waves is about a 5 min drive from the house!). The pictures on the website were spot on and my group loved the accommodations. The house is a comfortable walking distance to the plaza. This house is perfect for girls' weekends or a family getaway/reunion. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Santa Fe. They took care of us like family...

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House in a great location!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

The artist's retreat house is an amazing place, and added immensely to our enjoyment of our time in Sante Fe! The house is really in a perfect location, not so close that you hear any noise from town, and you feel secluded, but close enough that you can be to a restaurant downtown walking in 5minutes! The place itself is first class! The attention to detail is incredible, and the amenities, i.e. kitchen, and bathrooms(over the top!) make the place a destination in and of itself. Not to mention, the guide book that Justin and Sandra have constructed for your use, along with a short welcome intro from Justin, are essential for really experiencing the best that Sante Fe and the surrounding areas have to offer. Go ahead and bring a guide book, but you will barely crack it after your sift through their homemade guide book. The balconies are a joy to relax on and take in the views of the surrounding of mountains. There are great little hikes within seconds from the place, and incredible hikes within a couple miles. You really can't go wrong with this place! Have fun!!! Sante Fe is an awesome and unique place, and staying at the Artist's Retreat really magnifies and completes the experience!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great space for a large group

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

We traveled to Santa Fe for a winter holiday vacation with friends.
We were very happy to have found this listing and that it was available for our desired dates.
It was a great location and the house was decorated beautifully.
It was very comfortable for 7 of us. House layout was great with the 3 separate living areas. We especially enjoyed cooking in the wonderfully appointed kitchen! Great find and owner's were very accomodating. Easy access to downtown, the ski basin, and so many other activities!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation and beautiful home!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My family lives in Santa Fe, so we are very familiar with the area and homes. We found this property and from our initial interation with the owners it was a great experience. The house is beautifully appointed and very contemporary. If you are seeking a traditional, older adobe with more new mexican artifacts, a wood-burning fireplace, oriental rugs, etc--this is not the rental property for you. The kitchen was fully furnished with top of the line appliances. It is functional for a family with kids or for a group. The location is superb and within walking distance to the Plaza and to Ft. Marcy park with an outdoor walking track, children's play area and indoor pool facility. It is right off of the road to the ski basin and within close proximity to just about anything you may need.

The owners were very helpful and had created an informative notebook with detailed info on our location, restaurants, activities and galleries in the area which was really helpful for our friends that had not been to Santa Fe previously.

The neighborhood is very quiet and quaint.

There were only a few things that were disappointing with our stay:

the fireplace is gas and although puts out a lot of heat, we would have preferred a traditional wood-buring fireplace which is so common in this area.

The house has no views. Although in a great location, and has a great outdoor patio and upper deck off of master, there are no views of the beautiful Sangre de Cristos.

The mattresses and pillowd are not very comfortable--especially the King BR. We are not high-maintenence, however for the caliber of rental property, we all just expected more comfortable beds. Although bedding is new, pillows are flat and mattresses are very springy. Our friends that stayed in the "suite" also said that the futon and upstairs full bed were not the most comfortable. Would be great for the price of this place to have fluffy pillows, not flat ones, and mattress toppers at the minimum.

If you are seeking a contemporary property that is beautifully appointed and in a great location--this is the place for you to rent in Santa Fe!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

I arranged a vacation for 4 parties to meet for vacation. The location of this house is perfect as it is walking distance to many areas and a great jumping off location for side trips. We were a party of 6.

The Space:
The house is designed to give you ample room that allowed multiple people to cook, dine, and enjoy an evening of games around the table or watching TV. The bedrooms allowed people to seek privacy without compromise or feeling cramped in a hotel room.

The Location:
Great is about all I can say. Those that were mobile could easily walk downtown and catch-up with the rest of the group for the planned activity. The neighborhood is clean, quite, and beautiful. Best of all, the local refuse pickup wasn't at the crack of dawn. We did many day trips while there and it was extremely easy to get around and reach the highways for the trips.

Owners:
Extremely helpful and responded to questions when we had them. Great experience.

Overall:
Would I lease this house again? Definitely. As my nephew stated, "...the house was spectacular...".
I would recommend this house for a location to meet up with friends, family, etc. Perfect location for those that have never been to Santa Fe or the area and trying it out for size (the local guide book at the house was great).

Those that have limited mobility such as climbing stairs or walking long distances will find that they will have to drive to downtown as the road down is hilly and some without sidewalks. However, we had planned for that and it made the return trip much easier for those of us that walked down.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing House in a great location!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

Chicago, IL
Review Submitted April 28, 2011 Date of Stay April 3, 2011
The artist's retreat house is an amazing place, and added immensely to our enjoyment of our time in Sante Fe! The house is really in a perfect location, not so close that you hear any noise from town, and you feel secluded, but close enough that you can be to a restaurant downtown walking in 5minutes! The place itself is first class! The attention to detail is incredible, and the amenities, i.e. kitchen, and bathrooms(over the top!) make the place a destination in and of itself. Not to mention, the guide book that Justin and Sandra have constructed for your use, along with a short welcome intro from Justin, are essential for really experiencing the best that Sante Fe and the surrounding areas have to offer. Go ahead and bring a guide book, but you will barely crack it after your sift through their homemade guide book. The balconies are a joy to relax on and take in the views of the surrounding of mountains. There are great little hikes within seconds from the place, and incredible hikes within a couple miles. You really can't go wrong with this place! Have fun!!! Sante Fe is an awesome and unique place, and staying at the Artist's Retreat really magnifies and completes the experience!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Artist's Retreat is a Dream

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Salem, OR
Review Submitted June 15, 2011 Date of Stay June 9, 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank Justin and Sandra for letting myself and my group of girlfriends stay in this fabulous house. It was beautifully maintained and tastefully decorated/furnished. I want to live there permanently! Both Justin and Sandra were a wealth of information re: all things Santa Fe. They gave us excellent restaurant and spa recommendations (ten thousand waves is about a 5 min drive from the house!). The pictures on the website were spot on and my group loved the accommodations. The house is a comfortable walking distance to the plaza. This house is perfect for girls' weekends or a family getaway/reunion. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Santa Fe. They took care of us like family...
Rating:5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Great house and great hospitality from owners. Will stay again

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing home!!

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Couldn't have asked for anything more...Myself and a group of friends travel to Santa Fe annually. This is by far the greatest accommodations we've experienced in Santa Fe. The owner welcomed us upon arrival, which was a first in Santa Fe. The home was very spacious, clean and beautiful. The group of 7 had plenty of room to spread out not to mention, having 3.5 bathrooms is a great advantage with such a large group. The house was amazing but one of the appealing experiences was the homeowners being so welcoming and involved, they also met us upon departure. We felt as if we were staying at a friends home! We'll be staying in this home next year as well. If for any reason this home is not available, we definitely want to stay in a home owned/managed by Justin and Sandra! Without a doubt, an excellent experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review