reviews for: listing #53630 - Cayuga Lake, New York House rental

Cayuga Sunrise
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  west shore
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

Paradise on Cayuga Lake

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This beautiful house, superbly appointed, promoted a perfect mix of tranquil relaxation on the spacious dock and porch with the many enriching activities to be found in and around Ithaca, such as Buttermilk and Taughannock Falls and the various attractions to be found on the Cornell campus. The congenial owners were not only landlords, but fine neighbors, ready to advise and assist if and whenever they might be needed. All systems in the house were of the highest quality, the kitchen spacious and workable, the sleeping quarters comfortable. The gentle cadences of the lake water, the presence of lake wildlife (particularly the herons and other birds) and the feeling of seclusion at night on the dock gives the vacationers a sense of a transport to another simpler and richer time. At one point in our week, the house easily accomodated eight people without the slightest sense of crowding. I would number at least four separate areas on the property (the dock; three separate places on the large front porch) where one could settle in for some reading, some water-gazing and some pure contemplation. This was a week in paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wish we could stay longer

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We spent a wonderful week relaxing, swimming, kayaking, boating and fishing.

Location is conveniently close to Ithaca with its many restaurants, hiking trails and other attractions.

Driveway goes all the way down to the cottage and waterfront rather than having to go down several flights of stairs as with some cottages.

The cottage was clean and comfortable with plenty of room and then some for our family of four. My favorite part was the front porch with comfortable seating for reading or just watching to boats go by and a picnic table for meals and board games. When I wasn't enjoying the porch, I could be found in a lounge chair on the dock which was delightful as well. The kitchen is spacious and well stocked and the downstairs bathroom is large and contains a washer and dryer which was very helpful with beach towels and bathing suits.

Owners are close by and very helpful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

great place for outdoor activities and Ithaca too

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our week at this house. Great porch for sitting on - and watching the sun come out over the lake, and the dock was wonderful for sunning and reading. (Those Adirondack chairs are really delightful!)Although houses are nearby - the house faces in such a way that you have a lot of privacy.

The property was clean and rooms were comfortable. The owners were helpful.

Since the lake is right there - we spent a lot of time kayaking and swimming. (Saw quite a few fish too, though we weren't fishing.)

Also within a few miles of lots of amazing hiking trails (the slogan Ithaca is gorges really is true), Ithaca, and wine country.

No air conditioning - but lake breeze made that fine, for most of the time.

All in all, would be very happy to spend another vacation here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We have added air conditioner units to each bedroom.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

great place - especially if you love the outdoors

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our week at this house. Great porch for sitting on - and watching the sun come out over the lake, and the dock was wonderful for sunning and reading. (Those Adirondack chairs are really delightful!)Although houses are nearby - the house faces in such a way that you have a lot of privacy.

The property was clean and rooms were comfortable. The owners were helpful.

Since the lake is right there - was great for kayaking and swimming. (Saw quite a few fish too, though we weren't fishing.)

Also within a few miles of lots of amazing hiking trails (the slogan Ithaca is gorges really is true), Ithaca, and wine country.

No air conditioning - but lake breeze made that fine, for most of the time.

All in all, would be very happy to spend another vacation here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review